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Protection of State-Listed Species 
 
State law prohibits any take (incidental or otherwise) of state-listed species.  State-listed species may only be handled by 
persons possessing a Scientific Collecting Permit or a Letter of Authorization issued to relocate a species.   
 

• Section 68.002 of the Texas Parks and Wildlife (TPW) Code states that species of fish or wildlife indigenous 
to Texas are endangered if listed on the United States List of Endangered Native Fish and Wildlife or the list of 
fish or wildlife threatened with statewide extinction as filed by the director of Texas Park and Wildlife 
Department.  Species listed as Endangered or Threatened by the Endangered Species Act are protected by both 
Federal and State Law.  The State of Texas also lists and protects additional species considered to be threatened 
with extinction within Texas.   

 
• Animals - Laws and regulations pertaining to state-listed endangered or threatened animal species are contained 

in Chapters 67 and 68 of the Texas Parks and Wildlife (TPW) Code and Sections 65.171 - 65.176 of Title 
31 of the Texas Administrative Code (TAC). State-listed animals may be found at 31 TAC §65.175 & 176.   

 
• Plants - Laws and regulations pertaining to endangered or threatened plant species are contained in Chapter 88 

of the TPW Code and Sections 69.01 - 69.9 of the TAC.  State-listed plants may be found at 31 TAC 
§69.8(a) & (b). 

 
Prohibitions on Take of State Listed Species 
 
Section 68.015 of the TPW Code states that no person may capture, trap, take, or kill, or attempt to capture, trap, take, 
or kill, endangered fish or wildlife. 

 
Section 65.171 of the Texas Administrative Code states that except as otherwise provided in this subchapter or Parks 
and Wildlife Code, Chapters 67 or 68, no person may take, possess, propagate, transport, export, sell or offer for sale, 
or ship any species of fish or wildlife listed by the department as endangered or threatened.  
 
"Take" is defined in Section 1.101(5) of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Code as:  

"Take," except as otherwise provided by this code, means collect, hook, hunt, net, shoot, or snare, by any means 
or device, and includes an attempt to take or to pursue in order to take. 

 
Penalties 
 
The penalties for take of state-listed species (TPW Code, Chapter 67 or 68) are: 
 

• 1ST Offense = Class C Misdemeanor: 
$25-$500 fine 

 
• One or more prior convictions = Class B Misdemeanor 

$200-$2,000 fine and/or up to 180 days in jail. 
 

• Two or more prior convictions = Class A Misdemeanor 
$500-$4,000 fine and/or up to 1 year in jail.  

 
Restitution values apply and vary by species.  Specific values and a list of species may be obtained from the TPWD 
Wildlife Habitat Assessment Program. 


