Note: This item is more than three years old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references.

PrintPlain TextPermalink

News Release
Media Contact:
TPWD News,, 512-389-8030

May 1, 2013

Texas State-Fish Art Contest Announces 2013 Winners

ATHENS—The Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center, headquarters for the Texas division of Wildlife Forever’s State-Fish Art Contest, has announced the Texas division winners for 2013.

In the K-3 category, winners were: First Place, Sofia Elena Di Stefano of Keller; Second Place, Tatyana Panchishna of Flower Mound; Third Place, Gabriella Malapitan of Flower Mound.

In the grades 4–6 category, winners were: First Place, Erin Werner of Santa Fe; Second Place, Amy Liu of Sugar Land; Third Place, Madeleine Alexander of Keller.

In the grades 7–9 category, winners were: First Place, Casey Nixon of Longview; Second Place, Daniel Heaney of Roanoke; Third Place, Candice Ma of Sugar Land.

In the grades 10–12 category, winners were: First Place, Brady King of Livingston; Second Place, Jessica Hooks of Fred; Third Place, Mary Campbell of Fort Worth.

Texas artists and their families will be recognized at an expo and banquet at the Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center in Athens on June 15.

First-place winners will advance to the national level and compete against winners from other states. National winners will be announced at an expo to be held at the Go Fish Education Center in Perry, Georgia, July 12–13.

Prizes and financial assistance for Texas winners to attend the state and national expos are provided by the Toyota Texas Bass Classic. Texas winners receive $1,000 for first place, $750 for second place and $500 for third place in the grades 10–12 division. Prizes in the K–3, 4–6 and 7–9 grade levels are $100 for first; $75 for second; $50 for third.

Honorable mentions for Texas students also went to the following students in grades K–3: Lawson Loveland of Flower Mound; Elli Barnir of Flower Mound; Emma Barnard of Southlake; Eva Perez of Dickinson; Elaina Mullins of Dickinson.

Honorable mentions in grades 4–6 were awarded to: Tanmay Karandikar of Coppell; YiYun Li of Sugar Land; Rohun Kulshrestha of Flower Mound; Sarah Slator of Coppell; Nancy Shao of Sugar Land.

Honorable mentions for grades 7–9 were: Christy Kendall of Paris; Ninarika Jetty of Irving; Nasa Xu of Katy; Raashi Kulshrestha of Flower Mound; Kriti Sinha of Irving.

Honorable mentions for grades 10–12 were: Jermaine Castillo of Chandler; Olga Linares of Denton; Luis Castillo of Irving; Rama Imad of Houston; Sophia Anthony of Dallas.

The State-Fish Art Contest is a project of Wildlife Forever. Located in Brooklyn Center, Minnesota, Wildlife Forever is a non-profit multi-species conservation organization dedicated to conserving America’s wildlife heritage. Working at the grassroots level, Wildlife Forever has funded conservation projects in all 50 states, committing millions of dollars to “on-the-ground” efforts. Wildlife Forever supports habitat restoration and enhancement, land acquisition, research and management of fish and wildlife populations.

On the Net:

LH 2013-05-01

More Information:

Publication — Permission is granted to publish, in whole or in part, any news releases on this page.

Print — A print-friendly version of the news release shows only the release with font sizes set to the browser default.

Plain Text — Plain text versions of TPWD news releases are provided for copying and pasting into editing software.

To copy text into an editing software:

  • Click a Plain Text link to display the plain text page in your browser.
  • Select all.
  • Copy.
  • Paste in a document in your editing program.

Permalink — This is a direct link to the news release, omitting the navigation context from the URI.

English/Spanish — News releases posted in both English and Spanish have one of these links.

If you have any suggestions for improving these pages, send an e-mail to and mention Plain Text Pages.

(5.1.6 i)