
AFFIDAVIT OF STATUTORY LIEN FORECLOSURE SALE 
BY SELF-SERVICE STORAGE FACILITY (PWD 309B) 

 
This form is completed when transferring ownership to the purchaser of a vessel and/or outboard motor sold under a 
self-service storage lien.  The form must be completed by the storage facility and include their notarized signature.  For 
a list of each step and additional required forms see Instructions for Foreclosure Sale under Self-Service Storage Lien 
(PWD 309C).  A separate form is required for each vessel and/or outboard motor. 

 
WARNING:  FALSIFYING INFORMATION ON DOCUMENTS IS A PUNISHABLE OFFENSE. 

Texas Penal Code, Section 37.10.  Any person who knowingly makes a false entry in, or false alteration of a governmental 
record is guilty of a felony of the third degree punishable by confinement in jail for any term of not more than 10 years or 
less than 2 years and punished by a fine not to exceed $10,000. 

 
A. GENERAL INFORMATION. 

(1) This information is about the foreclosure of a (check only one):   VESSEL      OUTBOARD MOTOR 
 
 (2)  Description:  ___________________________________________________________________________________ 
   Make Year Built Length 
  _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
  HIN/MIN/Serial Number State Registration Number Horsepower 
 
 (3) Name and address of tenant(s) who rented the storage unit where the vessel or outboard motor was found: 
 
  _____________________________________________________________________________________________ 
   Name Street Address City and State 
 
B. STORAGE LIEN INFORMATION. 
 (1) Date of storage agreement (lease): _________________________________________________________________ 
   Date Location 
 (2) Location of storage facility:     ______________________________________________________________________ 
      Street Address   City and State 
   
  Mailing address (if different):   ____________________________________________________________________ 
                                                           Street Address                                  City and State                                                     
 
 (3) The storage agreement (lease) contains an express lien on the contents in paragraph ____ of the agreement.  A 

photocopy of the storage agreement (lease) is attached. 
 
C. TITLE/REGISTRATION OWNER VERIFICATION.   
 Attached is the title/registration owner verification in writing from TPWD or comparable agency from another state.  The 

verification is either a printout by the state agency, or a document on the state agency’s letterhead describing the 
vessel/outboard motor and listing the owner(s) and lienholder(s) names and addresses.  Or, if such verification is 
unobtainable, documentation of compliance with Texas Property Code, Section 70.006(c) is attached. 

 
D. FORECLOSURE INFORMATION. 
 (1) Date each storage facility tenant was given a “notice of claim” under Texas Property Code, Section 59.043: 
  ___________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 (2) Date all owner(s) and lienholder(s) of record were given notice by the storage facility owner of (i) amount of unpaid 

charges, and (ii) request for payment under Texas Property Code, Section 70.006(a):  _________________________ 
    
 (3) Dates of newspaper publication of public sale notice under Texas Property Code, Section 59.044:  
  Week 1:__________________________________, Week 2:____________________________________________ 
 
 (4) Date foreclosure sale (auction) was held:  ____________________________________________________________ 
    
 
 (5) Location of foreclosure sale: _____________________________________________________________________ 
      Street Address   City and State 
 
E. AFFIDAVIT OF REPRESENTATIVE OF SELF-SERVICE STORAGE FACILITY. 

As a duly authorized representative of the undersigned statutory lienholder, I certify that the following facts are true and 
correct:  (1) the vessel or outboard motor described above was stored at self-service storage facility under the storage 
agreement described above;  (2) the storage facility sent notice of claim to the tenant(s), as required by statute; (3) the 
storage facility sent notice of intent to sell to owner(s) and lienholder(s) not later than 30 days after the notification to the 
tenant(s) and/or date of seizure, as required by statute; and (4) all other statutory lien sale procedures have been 
complied with. 
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In consideration of the issuance of a Certificate of Title being applied for, the storage facility agrees to indemnify and hold 
harmless Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, its employees and officers from and against all claims, demands, and 
judgments because of or in connection with the issuance of the requested Certificate of Title for the above described 
vessel or outboard motor. 

 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 Name of Storage Facility   Street Address   City and State 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
       Mailing Address (if different)                           Street Address   City and State 

 
Signature of Affiant (representative of Storage Facility):  ____________________________________________________ 

 
 Subscribed and sworn to before me this ____ day of ____________________, _______. 
 Month Year 
 SEAL 
 ____________________________________________________ 
 Notary Public, ____________________ County, Texas 
 
 
F. BILL OF SALE  [Note:  This bill of sale does not preclude a separate, more comprehensive bill of sale.] 
 
 By virtue of the Public Sale outlined above and in accordance with the laws of the State of Texas, I, as representative of 

the undersigned self-service storage lien, hereby sell and assign the above described vessel or outboard motor to the 
highest bidder at said sale, namely:  ____________________________________________ for the sum of $_________.  

 [This figure must be the same as shown on the PWD 143/144.  Do not include price of trailer.] 
 

_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 Name of Purchaser    Street Address    City and State 
 
Signature of Seller or Agent  (representative of Storage Facility) ______________________________________________ 

 
 Subscribed and sworn to before me this _____ day of ____________________, ______. 
 Month Year 
 SEAL 
 ____________________________________________________ 
 Notary Public, ___________________ County, Texas 
 
LIST OF REQUIRED TPWD FORMS AND ATTACHMENTS TO THIS AFFIDAVIT: 
1. Completed and signed Forms PWD 143 or PWD 144, and PWD 504. 
 
2. Photocopy of entire storage agreement (lease). 
 
3. Photocopy of both newspaper publications of public (foreclosure) sale, required under Texas Property Code, Section 

59.044 
 
4. Notice to tenants(s) under Texas Property Code, Section 59.043, as evidenced by the following: 

• Photocopy of notice of claim to tenant(s); 
• Evidence of mailing.  One of the following must be submitted: 

o Certified mail receipt PS form 3800 (original or photocopy); or 
o Evidence of electronic confirmation of certified mailing from the USPS website; or 
o Unopened certified mail letter(s) returned by the post office; or 
o Proof of hand delivery. 

 
5. Notices to all owner(s) and lienholder(s) under Texas Property Code, Section 70.006, as evidenced by the following:  

• Photocopy of notice to all owner(s) and lienholder(s); 
• Evidence of mailing certified mail with return receipt requested. One of the following must be submitted: 

o Certified mail return receipt PS form 3811 (original or photocopy of green card); or 
o Evidence of electronic confirmation of mailing by certified mail, return receipt requested from the USPS 

website; or 
o Unopened certified mail letter(s) returned by the post office. 

 
6. Written title/registration owner verification from TPWD or state agency of another state, or a PWD 314 signed statement of 

compliance with Texas Property Code, Section 70.006(c), with photocopies of documentation required by that section. 
 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department maintains the information collected through this form. With few exceptions, you are entitled to be 
informed about the information we collect. Under Sections 552.021 and 552.023 of the Texas Government Code, you are also entitled to 
receive and review the information. Under Section 559.004, you are also entitled to have this information corrected. 


