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2023 -2024 SUMMARY OF
FISHING, HUNTING AND BOATING REGULATIONS

LICENSES, SEASONS, LIMITS, REGULATIONS, CONSERVATION, EDUCATION, BOATING SAFETY
VALID SEPTEMBER 1, 2023 THROUGH AUGUST 31, 2024

This guide is a SUMMARY of regulations and statutes governing hunting, fishing, and boating. For more detailed information, 
please contact a TPWD Law Enforcement office (pg. 88) or call (800) 792-1112 (8 a.m.–5 p.m., Monday through Friday). A 
complete description of current regulations can be accessed at tpwd.texas.gov/oa/tac under Title 31 of the Texas Administrative 
Code. The Parks and Wildlife Code can be accessed at: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/statutes. Information and/or regulations MAY 
CHANGE due to action by the Legislature, Commission, U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) or other appropriate authority.

Regulations are also available in Spanish. Reglamentos también se encuentran disponibles en español: 
tpwd.texas.gov/espanol.

Mandatory Hunter Education
Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education 
Course. Proof of certification or deferral is required to be on your person while hunting, either printed or electronically (including 
the Texas Outdoor Annual mobile app). Certification is not required to purchase a hunting license. Minimum age of certification 
is 9 years. In-person course cost is $15. Persons 17 years of age and older have the option of taking the course in person or on-
line. Online course costs vary. Call (800) 792-1112 or visit tpwd.texas.gov/oa/HunterEd for information about course options. 

If you were born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, and you are:
• under age 9, you must be “accompanied”
•  age 9-16, you must successfully complete a hunter educa-

tion in-person course or be accompanied

•   age 17 and over, you must successfully complete an 
in-person or approved online-only hunter education 
course; or purchase a “Hunter Education Deferral” and be 
“accompanied”

“Accompanied” refers to a resident or non-resident who is at least 17 years of age, is licensed to hunt in Texas, and has 
passed hunter education or is exempt (born before Sept. 2, 1971), and is within normal voice distance. 

HUNTER EDUCATION DEFERRAL ITEM FEE
Allows a person, age 17 or older, who has not completed hunter education to defer completion for up to one year. A deferral 
may only be obtained once and is only valid until the end of the current license year. A person who has been convicted or has 
received deferred adjudication for violation of the mandatory hunter education requirement is prohibited from applying for 
a deferral. 

Hunter Education Deferral 166 $10
 
• Certification is not required to purchase a hunting license.
• Bowhunter Education Certification is required on the Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge, Pottsboro. 
• Bowhunter Education does not substitute for Hunter Education certification.

MILITARY/LAW ENFORCEMENT HUNTER EDUCATION EXEMPTIONS
The following persons are exempt from requirements to complete a hunter education course to hunt in Texas: 
• Active duty members and honorably discharged veterans of the United States armed forces; 
•  Active duty members or those who have previously served as members of the Texas Army National Guard, Texas Air National 

Guard, or the Texas State Guard; or
•  Persons who are serving or have previously served as a peace officer as described by Subdivision (1), (2), (3), or (4), Article 

2.12, Code of Criminal Procedure.

Overview of Fishing and Hunting License Items
License fees ARE NOT refundable, exchangeable or transferable. 100% of license fees fund on-the-ground conservation 
efforts that help make Texas one of the best places in the country to hunt and fish. Thank you for supporting outdoor recreation 
and conservation.

It is legal to display an image of information from TPWD’s website or a photograph of a hunting, fishing, or combination license 
on a wireless device for the purpose of verification of possessing a valid license. 

You MUST have your physical license for any activities requiring tags, unless you have purchased a digital license that 
specifically authorizes electronic tagging:  tpwd.texas.gov/digitaltags

RESIDENT: a person who has lived continuously in Texas for more than six months immediately before buying their license, 
officially documented members of the Kickapoo Traditional Tribe of Texas or members of the U.S. Armed Forces (and their 
dependents) on “active duty” (pg. 85) anywhere. A person who claims residency in any other state for any purpose and 
is not an officially-documented member of the Kickapoo Traditional Tribe of Texas or a member of the U.S. Armed Forces (or 
dependent) on active duty is not a resident.

Proof that a person has lived continuously in Texas for more than six months (any three of the following):
• a current Texas homestead property tax statement
• the most recent six months of utility bills
• the most recent six months of paycheck receipts
•  the most recent tax return from the Internal Revenue Service
•  a statement from a parole board or probation officer 

stating that the person has continuously resided in Texas 

for the six months immediately preceding the application 
for a license or permit

• a valid Texas driver’s license*
• a current Texas voter registration certificate*
• a current vehicle registration*

* issued at least six months prior to license or permit application

© 2023 Texas Parks and Wildlife Department    PWD BK L2000-1170 (8/23) 
TPWD receives funds from the DHS and USFWS. TPWD prohibits discrimination based on race, color, religion, national origin (including limited English proficiency), disability, 
age, and gender, pursuant to state and federal law. If you believe you have been discriminated against by TPWD, please visit tpwd.texas.gov/nondiscrimination or call (512) 
389-4800 for information on where you can file a complaint. To obtain information in an alternative format, please contact TPWD on a Text Telephone (TTY) at (512) 389-
8915, by Relay Texas at 7-1-1, (800) 735-2989, or by email at accessibility@tpwd.texas.gov. If you speak a language other than English and need assistance, please email 
lep@tpwd.texas.gov. You can also contact Department of the Interior Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Civil Rights, 1849 C Street, NW, Washington, D.C. 20240 and/or U.S. 
Department of Homeland Security Office for Civil Rights and Civil Liberties (CRCL), Mail Stop #0190 2707, Martin Luther King, Jr. Ave., SE Washington, D.C. 20528.

In accordance with Texas State Depository Law, this publication is available at the Texas State Publications Clearinghouse and/or Texas Depository Libraries.

LICENSES, TAGS AND ENDORSEMENTS
Where To Buy Licenses
Recreational hunting and fishing licenses and endorsements are available at tpwd.texas.gov/oa/BuyLicenses, at 
approximately 1,800 retail locations throughout the state and at Austin headquarters and offices listed on pg. 88. Some 
commercial hunting and fishing licenses are available ONLY at the Austin headquarters and offices listed on pg. 88.
Select recreational licenses may be purchased by phone or online with approved Visa, Discover, or MasterCard. A $5.00 
administrative fee will be charged. Call (800) TX LIC 4 U (800-895-4248) between 8 a.m.–5 p.m. Monday through Friday 
(closed Saturday, Sunday and most holidays), or buy a license online at any time. Many licenses may be purchased for 
immediate use except where tagging is required (such as for deer and turkey).

TEXAS PARKS AND WILDLIFE DEPARTMENT HEADQUARTERS
4200 Smith School Road, Austin 78744       (800) 792-1112 or (512) 389-4800 (Mon.–Fri., 8 a.m.–5 p.m.)

TPWD REGIONAL AND FIELD LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICES (pg. 88)

A MESSAGE FROM DAVID YOSKOWITZ, PH.D.:
SUPPORTING WILDLIFE CONSERVATION WITH YOUR LICENSE PURCHASE
Today, many Texans enjoy the natural bounty of our state through the timeless pursuits of 
hunting and fishing on stewarded lands, in pristine waterways, and along our bountiful coastline. 
In addition to the many benefits of spending time in nature, we appreciate the challenge of 
matching wits with wildlife to harvest our own food. Imagine the smile that can start your Monday 
morning after enjoying a weekend outdoors with friends or family.
Whether you are a lifelong enthusiast or are looking for your first opportunity to hunt or fish, you 
can be sure that your license dollars are a wise investment in Texas’ future. You can be proud 
to be a conservation partner who supports efforts to 
protect, restore, and conserve native fish and wildlife 
habitat through your license purchase and by following 
the regulations in this Texas Outdoor Annual.
Together, we can conserve Texas’ natural treasures for 
future generations.

DAVID YOSKOWITZ, PH.D.
Executive Director,
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/tac
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/statutes
http://tpwd.texas.gov/espanol
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http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/BuyLicenses
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All documents must reflect the applicant’s name and a physical address in Texas. Except for a valid driver’s license or other state-is-
sued identification card, additional residency documentation is not required at time of purchase or while hunting or fishing.

NON-RESIDENT:  A person who is not a Texas resident (proof of residency requirements, pg. 6). Non-residents under 
17 years of age are considered residents for the purchase of the youth hunting license (Item 169).

VALID LICENSE DATES:  Most hunting and fishing licenses are valid from the date of sale through August 31, 2024. Hunting 
and fishing licenses and packages that do not meet the August 31, 2024 date:
• Temporary hunting and fishing licenses and packages
• Year-from-Purchase fishing license
• Lake Texoma fishing license

ENDORSEMENTS (historically called “stamps”)
In addition to license requirements, the purchase of a license endorsement may be required to engage in certain hunting and 
fishing activities:
•  Archery Endorsement - required to hunt during an archery-only season (required to hunt deer at any time in Collin, Dallas, 

Grayson, or Rockwall counties).
• Migratory Game Bird Endorsement - required to hunt migratory game birds at any time.
• Upland Game Bird Endorsement - required to hunt upland game birds at any time.
• Freshwater Fishing Endorsement – required to fish in public fresh water.
• Saltwater Fishing Endorsement – required to fish in salt water.

All fishing and combination packages include one or more endorsements. Additional endorsements may be purchased at any 
time during the effective dates of the license/package.

LOST OR DESTROYED LICENSES, PACKAGES OR ENDORSEMENTS:  may be replaced at any license sales location by signing 
an Application for Replacement License affidavit. Fees vary from $3–$10.

UNLAWFUL ACTIVITIES
It is UNLAWFUL to:
•  hunt or fish without a valid license, permit and applicable endorsement(s) on your person and available for inspection by a 

game warden, unless exempt by age, program, or a reciprocal agreement with another state.
• use another person’s license or tag to hunt or fish.
• let someone else hunt or fish with your license or tags.
• purchase or obtain more than one license valid for the same hunting activity.

Collection of Social Security Number (SSN) is mandated by federal and state law (42 U.S.C.A. 666 and Texas Family Code, 
Section 231.302) for the purpose of child support collection enforcement; however, state law exempts persons 13 years of age 
and younger from having to provide a SSN to purchase a license, if they choose. TPWD cannot force persons older than 13 years of 
age to provide the SSN, but if it is not provided, a license will not be sold.  
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/nossn, tpwd.texas.gov/oa/nossnspanish

Combination Hunting and Fishing License Packages
TEXAS RESIDENTS ONLY
The “Super Combo” includes a Resident Hunting License, a Resident Fishing License and five state endorsements (archery, 
freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing with a red drum tag, upland game bird, and migratory game bird) at a discounted price.  
The Federal Duck Stamp, which is required for waterfowl hunting, is not included. For residents who hunt and fish freshwater 
and/or saltwater, the “Super Combo” package can save purchasers up to $18. Senior Super Combo license packages are 
available for residents age 65 and older.

The “Combo” packages include a Resident Hunting License, a Resident Fishing License and either the saltwater endorsement 
(with a red drum tag), freshwater endorsement, or both. Residents who purchase “Combo” packages specific to either salt or 
freshwater fishing may upgrade to the “All-Water” package by purchasing the additional endorsement not included in the initial 
package they purchased. Senior Combo license packages are available for residents age 65 and over.

2023-2024 COMBINATION LICENSE PACKAGES ITEM FEE

Super Combo / Digital Super Combo 111 $68

Combo Hunting and Freshwater Fishing 503 $50

Combo Hunting and Saltwater Fishing 504 $55

Combo Hunting and All-Water Fishing 505 $60

Senior Super Combo / Digital Senior Super Combo 117 $32

Senior Combo Hunting and Freshwater Fishing 506 $16

Senior Combo Hunting and Saltwater Fishing 507 $21

Senior Combo Hunting and All-Water Fishing 508 $26

TEXAS RESIDENT ACTIVE DUTY MILITARY LICENSE PACKAGES ITEM FEE

Available to any Texas resident on full-time active military service in the U.S. Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, Coast Guard, 
Reserves, National Guard or Texas State Guard. Proof of residency for this license is: military service record(s) indicating 
that the person’s home of record is in Texas or that the person’s duty station for the six months immediately prior to the 
time of application is in Texas. Official proof can be digital or hard copy.

Super Combo Hunting and All-Water Fishing Package 510 FREE
Includes five state endorsements. Federal Duck Stamp is NOT included, but  is required for waterfowl hunting (pg. 13). 

All-Water Fishing Package 511 FREE
Includes fishing license, freshwater and saltwater endorsements, and red drum tag. 

Hunting Package 512 FREE
Includes hunting license, plus archery, upland game bird and migratory game bird endorsements. Federal Duck Stamp 
is NOT included, but is required for waterfowl hunting (pg. 13). 

DISABLED VETERAN (RESIDENT AND NON-RESIDENT)  
LICENSE PACKAGE ITEM FEE

Available to a resident or non-resident qualifying as a disabled veteran, as defined by the Veterans Administration, 
consisting of the loss of the use of a foot or leg, or a disability rating of 50% or more, and who is receiving compensation 
from the U.S. for the disability. Official proof of disability (issued by the V.A.) or a Texas Driver License with “Disabled 
Veteran” designation must be shown each year when applying for this license and must state the rate of disability. Official 
proof can be digital or hard copy.

“Super Combo” Hunting and All-Water Fishing Package 502 FREE
Includes five state endorsements. Federal Duck Stamp is NOT included, but is required for waterfowl hunting (pg. 13).

Lifetime Licenses
Only Texas residents are eligible to purchase hunting and fishing licenses valid for the lifetime of the license holder.

Lifetime Resident - Combination Hunting and Fishing $1,800

Lifetime Resident - Hunting $1,000

Lifetime Resident - Fishing $1,000

Lifetime Resident (Hunting or Fishing) - upgrade to Combination Hunting and Fishing $800

Non-resident Military, their dependents and non-resident individuals under 17 years of age are not eligible for lifetime licenses. 
A lifetime license includes all state endorsements other than the Reptile and Amphibian endorsement. Lifetime license holders 
are not exempt from the Federal Duck Stamp requirement. Lifetime licenses are not valid for commercial fur trapping or 
for other commercial fishing and hunting uses. Physical lifetime tags may be obtained at retailers or online. Digital tags are 
ONLY available online at no additional fee. The Harvest Information Program (HIP) certification and the bonus red drum tag 
must be added, whenever applicable. Applications for lifetime licenses are available online at tpwd.texas.gov or by calling 
1(800)792-1112, or in person at TPWD Austin headquarters and all TPWD Law Enforcement offices (pg. 88). Lifetime 
license applications can only be processed at a Law Enforcement office or TPWD Austin Headquarters.

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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Fishing Licenses and Endorsements
A valid fishing license with a freshwater or saltwater endorsement is required of any person who fishes or takes fish, mussels, 
clams, crayfish, or other aquatic life in the public waters of Texas. A hunting license is required to take turtles and frogs. In 
addition, recreational anglers must have a Texas fishing license and saltwater endorsement to possess in state water any fish 
taken in federal waters or possess fish on a vessel in the tidal waters of Texas (see also State Waters – Federal Waters, pg. 38).

RESIDENT FISHING LICENSES
Required of any resident (RESIDENT, pg. 5) who fishes in the public waters of Texas.

A license/package is NOT REQUIRED for:
• a person under 17 years of age;
• a person born BEFORE Jan. 1, 1931;
•  a person with an intellectual disability fishing as part 

of medically approved therapy, under the immediate 
supervision of personnel approved or employed by 
a hospital, residence, or school for persons with an 
intellectual disability. The person with an intellectual 
disability must carry an authorization identifying the entity 
supplying the service. This authorization may be in the 

form of an identification card that contains the name of 
the sponsoring entity; or

•  a person with an intellectual disability fishing under 
the direct supervision of a licensed angler who is either 
a family member or has permission from the family to 
take the person fishing. While fishing, the person with an 
intellectual disability needs a note from a doctor stating 
the person has been diagnosed as having an intellectual 
disability.

NON-RESIDENT FISHING LICENSES
Licenses/packages are NOT REQUIRED for:
• non-residents under 17 years of age;
•  Louisiana residents 65 years of age or older who possess-

es a valid Louisiana Recreational Fishing License (includes 
Senior Fish/Hunt License); or

• Oklahoma residents 65 years of age or older.

FISHING LICENSES AND PACKAGES
License Year Fishing Packages 
(Resident and Non-resident)
Includes a resident, senior resident, special resident, or 
non-resident fishing license valid from the date of sale to 
August 31, 2024, and either a freshwater endorsement, a 
saltwater endorsement with a red drum tag, or both,  
depending on the package selected.

Senior Resident Fishing Packages 
Available to any Texas resident who is at least 65 years of age 
and was born on or after January 1, 1931. The packages in-
clude a senior resident fishing license, and either a freshwater 
endorsement, a saltwater endorsement with a red drum tag, 
or both depending on the package selected.

Special Resident All-Water Fishing License 
Available to any Texas resident who is legally blind. 
Endorsements are not required for this license. Includes one 
red drum tag.

One-Day All-Water Fishing License 
(Resident and Non-resident)
Valid for the selected day or days purchased. Endorsements 
are not required for this license. Consecutive days may be 
bought at the time of purchase. One red drum tag (Item 598) 
is available at no additional charge (limit one per customer).

Year from Purchase All-Water Fishing Package 
(Resident ONLY)
Fishing license, a freshwater endorsement and a saltwater 
endorsement with a red drum tag are all valid from the date of 
purchase through the end of the purchase month of the next 
license year.

Fishing Guide License
Required for any person who, for compensation, accom-
panies, assists, or transports any person engaged in 
recreational fishing in Texas state waters. For information to 
apply, refer to the Texas Commercial Fishing Guide, or visit 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CommercialFish.

2023-2024 FISHING LICENSE ITEMS AND FEES
RESIDENT NON-RESIDENT

FISHING LICENSE OPTIONS ITEM FEE ITEM FEE
Freshwater Package 231 $30 250 $58
Saltwater Package 232 $35 251 $63
All-Water Package 233 $40 252 $68
Senior Freshwater Package 234 $12
Senior Saltwater Package 235 $17
Senior All-Water Package 236 $22
Special Resident All-Water License (for legally blind) 244 $7
Year-from-Purchase All-Water Package 237 $47
One-Day All-Water License 213 $11 214 $16
If you purchase any valid freshwater fishing package, you can also purchase a saltwater endorsement. If you purchase 
any valid saltwater fishing package, you can also purchase a freshwater endorsement.

SPORT OYSTER BOAT LICENSE ITEM FEE
Required when using a sport oyster dredge or tongs to harvest oysters recreationally. 
For this license only, residency is based on the boat’s records. 

Resident 328 $13

For boats with a current registration in Texas or having a current certificate of documentation from the U.S. Coast Guard 
that shows the owner’s address is in Texas. 

Non-resident 428 $51
For boats with a current registration NOT in Texas or having a current certificate of documentation from the U.S. Coast 
Guard that shows the owner’s address NOT in Texas. Available only at TPWD HQ or Law Enforcement offices (pg. 88).

FISHING ENDORSEMENTS AND TAGS ITEM FEE

Freshwater Fishing Endorsement 256 $5
Required in addition to a valid fishing license if you take or attempt to take fish in the public fresh waters of Texas. If you are 
not required to hold a fishing license, this endorsement is not required. This endorsement is automatically included as part of 
the freshwater package, all-water fishing package, lifetime combination and lifetime fishing license.

Saltwater Fishing Endorsement 211 $10
Required in addition to a valid fishing license if you take or attempt to take fish in the public salt water of Texas. If you are 
not required to hold a fishing license, this endorsement is not required. A red drum tag will be issued at no additional 
charge with each saltwater fishing endorsement. This endorsement is automatically included as part of the saltwater 
package, all-water fishing package, lifetime combination and lifetime fishing license.

Red Drum Tag included in package
Required to take one red drum longer than 28 inches per license year. Included with the purchase of a saltwater fishing 
endorsement or any package that includes the saltwater fishing endorsement (tagging information, pg. 40). Anglers 
who want a red drum tag and are EXEMPT from fishing license requirements may purchase an Exempt Angler Tag 
(Item 257) for $3.

Bonus Red Drum Tag 599 $3
Required to take an additional red drum longer than 28 inches per license year. Can be purchased at any license sales 
location. Only one allowed per angler per license year.

Saltwater Trotline Tag 307 $5
Required for each 300 feet, or fraction thereof, on all non-commercial trotlines and sail lines placed in the coastal waters 
of Texas. Available at TPWD Coastal Law Enforcement offices (pg. 88).

Individual Bait-shrimp Trawl Tag 334 $37
Required for trawls used to take shrimp for any purpose under a recreational fishing license. Available at TPWD Coastal 
Law Enforcement offices (pg. 88).

Get the most up-to-date regulations at OutdoorAnnual.com

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CommercialFish
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS FOR BORDER WATERS
ALL fish landed in Texas MUST COMPLY with TEXAS bag and length limits.
Texas-Arkansas
In Arkansas waters of the Red River, requirements of that state apply. 

Texas-Oklahoma
•  In Oklahoma waters of the Red River, requirements of that state apply. 
•  A person may fish in Texas or Oklahoma waters on Lake Texoma only with the appropriate license from Texas or Oklahoma, 

unless the person possesses a Lake Texoma fishing license (Item 208).
•  A person must have a valid Texas fishing license to fish from the Texas bank from Denison Dam to Shawnee Creek. An 

Oklahoma fishing license is required to wade-fish or fish from a boat in these waters. 
• An Oklahoma resident 65 years of age or older is exempt from fishing license requirements in Texas, including on Lake Texoma.
•  The upstream boundary of Lake Texoma is Sycamore Creek at Latitude 33°53.663’, Longitude -96°59.009’.

33° 49.135' N Lat
96° 34.0833' W Long

33° 49.1917' N Lat
96° 33.3367' W Long

ITEM FEE
Lake Texoma License 208 $12

Valid until December 31 following the date of issuance, a person may fish in both the Texas and Oklahoma waters of Lake 
Texoma without any additional licenses. Texas resident 65 years of age or older does not need this license to fish in the 
Oklahoma portion of Lake Texoma. Valid ONLY on Lake Texoma.

Texas-Louisiana
Residents of either state, who are properly licensed in their state (or are exempt because of age), or persons who hold  
valid non-resident fishing licenses issued by either state may fish in any portion of the lakes and rivers forming a common 
boundary between Louisiana and Texas inland from a line across Sabine Pass between Texas Point and Louisiana Point. 

Texas-Mexico (Border states include Tamaulipas, Nuevo León, Coahuila, Chihuahua)
A recreational fishing license or Permiso de Pesca Deportiva [managed by the Mexican federal agency CONAPESCA (Comisión 
Nacional de Acuacultura y Pesca)] is required to fish in Mexican state or federal waters. Recreational anglers can buy permits 
for a single day, week, month or year: conapesca.gob.mx/wb/cona/permiso_de_pesca_deportiva

FREE FISHING OPPORTUNITIES
Free Fishing Day: June 1, 2024 
On the first Saturday in June of each year, everyone can fish recreationally without licenses or endorsements.  This opportunity 
exists so that more people can try fishing for the first time. If you already have your license, thank you for your support! Please 
consider inviting a friend or family member to join you.

Fishing in State Parks 
Anglers can also enjoy free fishing all year at more than 70 state parks (park entry fees still apply). All other fishing regulations, 
such as length and bag limits, remain in effect.  A fishing license and endorsement are not required if fishing on state park 
property or in waters completely enclosed by a state park. On man-made structures (docks, piers, jetties, etc.) within state 
parks, fishing is allowed by pole-and-line only, and each person is limited to two poles. Please check with the park before 
participating in any fishing activity and to confirm any additional regulations. 
More details: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/familyfish

Fishing on Private Property
A fishing license is not required to fish on waters completely enclosed within private property (i.e. ponds, lakes).

Hunting Licenses, Permits and Endorsements
All hunting licenses are valid from date of purchase until August 31 unless otherwise noted. In addition to a hunting 
license, additional endorsements may be required (pg. 13). Specific information on Lifetime, Disabled Veteran, Texas 
resident active duty military, and Combination licenses (pg. 7). 

For more information about public hunting opportunities 
including an interactive map of over 1 million acres of  
accessible lands: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/PublicHunting.

A hunting license is required of any person (resident or non-
resident), of any age, to hunt any animal, bird, frog or turtle in 
this state, EXCEPT the following:

•  coyotes, if the coyotes are attacking, about to attack, 
or have recently attacked livestock, domestic animals, 
or fowl.

•   feral hogs on private property with landowner 
authorization. 

•  fur-bearing animals, if the hunter possesses a commercial 
trapper’s license. 

•  depredating fur-bearing animals, if a landowner (resident 
or non-resident) or landowner’s agent is taking fur-bearing 
animals causing depredation on the landowner’s land. No 
portion of the nuisance fur-bearer may be possessed, sold 
or retained for any purpose.

All laws and regulations governing hunter education still apply 
(pg. 6).

HUNTING LICENSES ITEM FEE
Resident Hunting 101 $25

Valid to hunt any legal bird or animal (terrestrial vertebrates). Endorsement requirements apply. Required of any 
resident (RESIDENT defined, pg. 6) unless the resident possesses a valid Senior Resident Hunting License, Youth 
Hunting License, Super Combo or Resident Combination Hunting and Fishing License Package, Lifetime Resident 
Hunting License, Disabled Veteran Super Combo Hunting and Fishing License Package, Lifetime Resident Combination 
Hunting and Fishing License, Texas Resident Active Duty Military Super Combo Hunting and Fishing License Package, 
or Texas Resident Active Duty Military Hunting Package.

Youth Hunting License / Digital Youth Hunting License 169 $7
Valid for any person, resident or non-resident, under 17 years of age at the date of license purchase. Exempt  
from state hunting endorsement requirements, except for Reptile and Amphibian Endorsement (pg. 13). State 
endorsement exemptions remain valid for the entire license year. The Harvest Information Program (HIP) certification 
must be added when applicable.

Senior Resident Hunting  102 $7
For residents 65 years of age and older. Valid to hunt any legal bird or animal. Endorsement requirements apply.

Non-resident General Hunting 105 $315
Valid to hunt any legal bird or animal (including deer). Endorsement requirements apply. If hunting white-tailed deer 
or mule deer including MLDP tags, pronghorn or bighorn sheep, this is the only valid license available to participate in 
those activities for non-residents.

Non-resident Spring Turkey 118 $126
Available after Feb 1. Valid to hunt turkey only during the open spring turkey season. Non-residents purchasing this license 
are required to purchase a $7 Upland Endorsement. It is unlawful to possess both this license and a valid Non-resident 
General Hunting License.

Non-resident Special Small Game/Exotic Hunting 107 $132
Valid to hunt exotic animals (pg. 67), all legal game birds (except turkey), all non-game animals, fur-bearing 
animals, squirrel, javelina and alligator (not valid for white-tailed or mule deer including MLDP tags, pronghorn or 
bighorn sheep). Endorsement requirements apply.

Non-resident Special 5-day Small Game/Exotic Hunting 157 $48

Legal for any period of five consecutive days (valid hunting dates will be printed on the license when issued). Valid 
to hunt exotic animals (pg. 67), all legal game birds (except turkey), all non-game animals, fur-bearing animals, 
squirrel, javelina and alligator (not valid for white-tailed or mule deer including MLDP tags, pronghorn or bighorn 
sheep). Endorsement requirements apply.

Non-resident Banded Bird Hunting  120 $27

Valid only to hunt banded bobwhite quail, partridge, pheasant, and mallard ducks on private bird hunting areas. 
Upland and Migratory Game Bird endorsement requirements apply.

Trapper’s License – Resident
Trapper’s License – Non-resident

106
115

$19
$315

Required for persons of any age to hunt, shoot, or take for sale fur-bearing animals including pelts and carcasses 
(pg. 66). See the Fur-bearing Animal Digest for more information, available at tpwd.texas.gov/oa/FurBearing.

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://conapesca.gob.mx/wb/cona/permiso_de_pesca_deportiva
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/familyfish
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/PublicHunting
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/FurBearing
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HUNTING LICENSES ITEM FEE
Hunting Lease License – 1 through 499 acres
Hunting Lease License – 500 through 999 acres
Hunting Lease License – 1,000 acres or more

132
133
134

$79
$147
$252

Required of a landowner or landowner’s agent who leases hunting rights to another person on property they own or 
control for pay or other consideration. The license must be displayed on the property. 

Federal Sandhill Crane Hunting Permit (must be issued by TPWD)  590 FREE

Required to hunt sandhill cranes. Permit must be issued by TPWD to hunt sandhill cranes in Texas. Permit can be 
obtained at TPWD Law Enforcement offices (pg. 88) and TPWD headquarters in Austin. Also available by phone at 
1(800) 792-1112 or (512) 389-4820, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Friday or online any time at tpwd.texas.gov/
oa/BuyLicenses. Please keep a record of hunting activities because 26% of crane hunters are chosen for a federal 
harvest survey.

Harvest Information Program (HIP) Certification  137 FREE

Required to hunt migratory game birds. Inform the clerk you intend to hunt migratory game birds and need to be HIP-
certified. The clerk will ask a few simple questions. “HIP-certified” will appear on your license. 

HUNTING ENDORSEMENTS ITEM FEE
The Archery Endorsement (Item 135), Migratory Game Bird Endorsement (Item 168), and Upland Game Bird 
Endorsement (Item 167) are included with a Lifetime Resident Combination or Lifetime Resident Hunting license. 
They are NOT required for any hunter (resident or nonresident) under 17 years of age. The Reptile and Amphibian 
Endorsement (Item 178) and the Federal Duck Stamp (Item 138) are required if applicable for your specific activity.

Archery Endorsement  135 $7
Required to hunt game animals during an Archery-Only open season. Required to hunt deer at any time in Collin, 
Dallas, Grayson, or Rockwall counties.

Texas Migratory Game Bird Endorsement 168 $7
Required to hunt any migratory game bird (waterfowl, coot, rail, gallinule, snipe, dove, sandhill crane, and  
woodcock). A valid Federal Duck Stamp and HIP Certification are also required of waterfowl hunters 16 years of age or 
older. A free Federal Sandhill Crane Hunting Permit is required to hunt sandhill cranes, which is available at TPWD Law 
Enforcement offices, online (tpwd.texas.gov/oa/BuyLicenses), or by calling 1(800) 792-1112.

Upland Game Bird Endorsement   167 $7
Required to hunt turkey, pheasant, quail, or chachalaca. MAY NOT be used to hunt turkey with a Non-resident Special 
Hunting License (Item 107) or a Non-resident 5-Day Special Hunting License (Item 157).

Federal Duck Stamp (Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp) 138 $25 plus 
fulfillment

Required for all waterfowl (pg. 87) hunters 16 years of age or older; available at most U.S. Post offices, TPWD 
Law Enforcement offices (pg. 88), Austin headquarters, and all license retailers. Must be signed on its face by the 
hunter. A valid hunting license, HIP Certification, and Texas Migratory Game Bird Endorsement are also required. If the 
Federal Duck Stamp is not received within 30 days of purchase, call 1(800) 792-1112.

Reptile and Amphibian Endorsement  178 $10
Required to capture indigenous reptiles or amphibians on the shoulder of a road or on the unpaved area of a public 
right-of-way. 

Annual Public Hunting Permit  173 $48
Required for an adult (age 17 years of age or older) to access designated public hunting lands owned or administered 
by TPWD for hunting and other recreational purposes.

BOATING AND WATER SAFETY
Game wardens and other peace officers certified as marine safety enforcement officers by TPWD may 
stop, board, and inspect any vessel to determine compliance with applicable provisions. 

Title, Registration and Identification Requirements
TITLING REQUIREMENTS
The following vessels/boats and outboard motors must be titled:
•  All motorized vessels, regardless of length (including any 

sailboat with an auxiliary engine); 
•  All non-motorized vessels (including sailboats) 14 feet in 

length or longer; and 
•  All internal combustion (gasoline/diesel/propane pow-

ered) outboard motors.
•  Trailers are registered/titled through the applicant’s local 

county tax office. 

Title application, bill of sale, and either a Manufacturer’s 
Statement of Origin (MSO) for new vessels/boats and 
outboard motors, or an original signed title for used vessels/
boats and outboard motors, must be submitted to obtain 
title in applicant’s name. DO NOT purchase a used vessel/
boat or outboard motor without receiving an original title 
(signed on the front and back) along with a signed bill of 
sale from the person(s) listed on the title or from their legally 
documented representative. If a legal representative signs 
the title or bill of sale for the recorded owner(s), the applicant 
must obtain a copy of the documentation authorizing the legal 
representative to act on behalf of the owner(s). Applications 
for title must be submitted not later than 45 days from the 
date of purchase.
Purchases or gifts of boats or outboard motors that do not 
acquire the title and bill of sale (or statement of gift) will not 
be eligible for immediate transfer. These may be titled through 
a more expensive and lengthy bonded title process requiring 
additional documentation to be acquired and supplied. An 
abandoned boat or outboard motor may be eligible for titling 
through the bonded title process with appropriate documen-
tation. An “abandoned vessel or outboard motor” means a 
vessel or outboard motor that has remained on private property 
without the consent of the owner or person in charge of the 
property for more than seven consecutive days. 

Vessels Exempted from Titling – All U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) 
documented vessels (documentation must be current), and 
all non-motorized canoes, kayaks, punts, rowboats, or rubber 
rafts (regardless of length), or other vessels under 14 feet in 
length when paddled, poled, oared or windblown.

REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS
A Texas boat registration is valid for two years. The following 
vessels/boats when on Texas public water are required to 
have current registration, including when docked, moored, 
or stored:

•  All motorized vessels, regardless of length (including any 
sailboat with an auxiliary engine); 

•  All non-motorized vessels (including sailboats) 14 feet in 
length or longer; and 

• USCG documented vessels. 

Vessels Exempted from Registration – Non-motorized 
canoes, kayaks, punts, rowboats, or rubber rafts (regardless 
of length), or other vessels under 14 feet in length when 
paddled, poled, oared or windblown.  Adding an outboard or 
trolling motor to one of these vessel types requires titling and 
registration. 

Exempted USCG Documented Vessels – Commercial tug-
boats; vessels exceeding 115 feet in length; and pilot or crew 
boats transporting freight, supplies, or personnel to or from 
cargo ships, freighters, or offshore oil infrastructure. 

TAX AND BILL OF SALE REQUIREMENTS
TPWD is required by law to collect tax for vessels/boats (115 
feet or less in length) and outboard motors purchased in Texas 
or brought into Texas on or after January 1, 2000. The tax rate 
is 6.25% of the sales price. Tax is assessed at the time of reg-
istration/title transfer and is due within 45 working days from 
the date of sale or date brought to Texas. Applications filed 
later than 45 working days are subject to tax penalties and 
interest. A signed bill of sale or invoice is required for every 
transfer of ownership. Trailers are handled through the local 
county tax office and the price of the trailer must be separated 
from the price of the boat and motor. 

New Resident Tax - $15.00 New Resident tax is assessed 
(not sales tax) for new Texas residents bringing their previously 
titled or registered boat and/or outboard motor from another 
state into Texas. 

For more information call (800) 262-8755 or visit 
tpwd.texas.gov/fishboat/boat. 

PLACEMENT OF TX NUMBER AND DECAL ON 
VESSELS

•  The TX number must be painted on, or otherwise attached 
to, each side of the forward half of the vessel, in such 
position as to provide easy identification. 

•  The TX number must read from left to right, be in BLOCK 
characters of good proportion not less than three 
inches in height and be of a color that contrasts with the 
background. 

•  The numerals must be separated from the prefix and 
the suffix by hyphens or equivalent spaces such as the 
following examples: TX 0001 GG or TX-0001-GG. 

•  The validation decal must be affixed in line with and three 
(3) inches towards the rear of the boat from the TX number. 

(continued)

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/BuyLicenses
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/BuyLicenses
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/BuyLicenses
http://tpwd.texas.gov/fishboat/boat
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•  The number printed on the decal must match the number 
listed on the certificate of number card issued for the 
vessel described on the card. 

•  Vessels registered as antique boats are permitted to 
display the registration decal on the left portion of 
the windshield. In the absence of a windshield, the 
registration decal must be attached to the certificate of 
number and made available for inspection when the boat 
is operated on public water. 

Decals on USCG Documented Vessels:
May display ONLY the Validation Decal (not the Registration 
TX Number) on both sides of the bow of the vessel and must 
maintain current USCG Documentation.

TEXAS CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER
The certificate of number (registration), if required: 
•  must always be aboard and available for inspection by an 

enforcement officer; 
•  is valid through the expiration date shown on the 

certificate; and 
•  must also be aboard USCG Documented vessels that 

require Texas registration. 

HOMEMADE BOATS
Homemade boats require an affidavit from the applicant as 
to the origin of the boat and proof of the materials used in the 
construction of the boat (i.e., invoices from marine and hard-
ware dealers for parts, etc.). Homemade boats are required to 
be inspected and issued an HIN by a TPWD game warden. 

HULL IDENTIFICATION AND MOTOR SERIAL 
NUMBERS
It is illegal to possess or intentionally sell, offer for sale, or pur-
chase a vessel or an outboard motor with a hull identification 
number or serial number that has been altered, defaced, mu-
tilated, or removed. To acquire registration or title for a vessel 
or outboard motor with a serial number that has been altered, 
defaced, mutilated or removed, a sworn statement must be 
filed with TPWD describing the vessel or outboard motor, 
providing proof of legal ownership, and stating the reason 
for the destruction, removal, alteration or defacement of the 
number. This statement must be accompanied by a fee of 
$25.00 and an inspection certificate from a game warden 
stating the vessel or outboard motor has been inspected. 
This section does not apply to USCG Documented vessels. 

FEE CHART FOR BOATS, OUTBOARD MOTORS AND RELATED ITEMS FEE

VESSEL REGISTRATION
Less than 16 feet in length  (Class A) $32
16 feet but less than 26 feet in length  (Class 1) $53
26 feet but less than 40 feet in length  (Class 2) $110
40 feet or more in length  (Class 3) $150
Livery Boat less than 16 feet in length  (Class A) $32

CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER (registration ID card)
Transfer of Ownership (any Texas registered vessel) $11
Replacement Certificate of Number Card $11
Corrected Certificate of Number Card $11

REGISTRATION REPLACEMENT DECALS
Replacement Registration Decals with new certificate of number card (required) $22

TEXAS CERTIFICATE OF TITLE
Certificate of Title - Vessel / Outboard Motor $27
Certificate of Title - Transfer of Vessel / Outboard Motor $27
Certificate of Title - Replacement of Lost or Destroyed Title $27
Certificate of Title - Correction Transaction $27
Certificate of Title - Bonded Title $37
“Quick” Certificate of Title - Expedited  Replacement of Lost or Destroyed T itle (includes $27 title fee) $64

TAXES
New Resident Tax (applies to owner relocating from out of state to Texas) $15
Sales / Use Tax (percentage of the sales price) 6.25%
Penalties and Interest (apply 45 business days after sales date – see form PWD 930 to calculate amount owed)

OTHER
Game Warden Inspection / State Assigned Hull Identification Number $25
Ownership History Request $11
15-Day Boater Ed Deferral (Item 850) $10

FEE CHART FOR BOATS, OUTBOARD MOTORS AND RELATED ITEMS FEE

PARTY BOATS
Annual Party Boat Inspection $132
New Party Boat Operators License $132
Renew Existing Party Boat Operators License $53
Replace a Lost or Destroyed Party Boat Operators License $53
Update an Existing Party Boat Operators License $53

MARINE DEALER LICENSE
New License Application $500
Additional License Decal and ID Card $126
Replacement License ID Card $11
Renewal of License $500
Transfer Business (New Owner) $500
Transfer Business Location (Same Owner) $11
Correction / Update of Information $4

OWNERSHIP TRANSFER (SALE, REMOVAL, ABANDONMENT OR DESTRUCTION) 
OF BOAT/OUTBOARD MOTOR
The recorded owner must provide notice to TPWD within 20 days after the date the boat and/or outboard motor are: 
• sold, donated or gifted to a new owner; 
• permanently removed from this state to another state or country; or 
• abandoned or destroyed (the Certificate(s) of Title must be surrendered to TPWD). 

Mandatory Boater Education Requirements 
Boater Education training is RECOMMENDED for all boat operators and REQUIRED for those born on or 
after September 1, 1993. 
Successful completion of a TPWD-certified boater education 
course and possession of a valid photo I.D. are required for 
any person born on or after September 1, 1993 to operate:
•  a vessel powered by a motor of more than 15 horsepower; 

or 
•  a windblown vessel over 14 feet in length. 

No person may operate a personal watercraft (PWC) or  
motorboat powered by a motor of more than 15 horsepower 
on public waters unless the person is at least 13 years of age 
and has successfully completed a Boater Education Course or 
is supervised by another person who: 
•  is at least 18 years of age
• can lawfully operate the motorboat
• is on board the motorboat when under way

Proof of completion of the requirements to obtain a vessel op-
erator’s license issued by the USCG satisfies the requirement 
for completing a boater education course in this state. 

A person guilty of one of the following (operating) violations, 
shall be required to successfully complete an approved 
boater education course AND pay a fine. Failure to complete 
the boater education course within 90 days will result in the 
person committing an offense that is a Parks and Wildlife 
Class A misdemeanor. 
• any personal watercraft (operating) violation
•   reckless or negligent operation
•  excessive speed

• reckless operation and excessive speed
• hazardous wake or wash
•  circular course around any swimmer or occupant of a 

vessel engaged in water activities
•  interference with markers or ramps
• obstructing passage
• operating boats in restricted areas
•  operating vessels in scuba diving or snorkeling areas
•  skiing during illegal hours
•  skiing in a manner that endangers life or property

Boater education courses from other states are acceptable if 
approved by NASBLA (National Association of State Boating 
Law Administrators). 

For information on boater education courses, call 
(800) 792-1112, ext. 4999, or visit 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/BoaterEd. 

Paddlers are encouraged to take the FREE comprehensive 
canoe, kayak, and paddleboard safety course offered online 
at boaterexam.com/paddling. This course is a great way to 
help make your outing more enjoyable and safer. This course 
WILL NOT replace the boater education course required by 
law.  Visit tpwd.texas.gov/oa/paddling for a complete list of 
officially designated paddling trails including average float 
times, public access points, paddler safety and more.

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/BoaterEd
http://boaterexam.com/paddling
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Required Safety Equipment

REQUIRED EQUIPMENT POWERBOATS
(Including electric motors)

SAILBOATS
(If any type of propulsion)

MANUALLY 
PROPELLED

(No motor
or sail)

Find the column to the right which 
applies to your vessel. A dot in that 
column indicates a specific applicable 
requirement. 
A letter indicates either a specific 
exception to the requirement or 
specific additional requirements for the 
associated equipment. Pe
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TITLE • • • • • A • • • A
REGISTRATION NUMBERS • • • • • A • • • A

PERSONAL 
FLOTATION 
DEVICES

One Type I, II, III or Type 
V wearable device for 
each person on board.

B C C • • C C C C C

One additional Type IV 
PFD (throwable device) 
on board.

• • • • • •

FIRE  
EXTINGUISHERS

One type B-1. • D D
Two types B-1 or one 
type B-2. •
Three types B-1 or one 
B-2 plus one B-1. •

VISUAL 
DISTRESS 
SIGNALS

Federal waters and 
waters under USCG 
authority.

E • • • E • • • E

Inland waters under 
State authority.

SOUND 
PRODUCING 
DEVICES

Whistle or horn, or some 
other sound producing 
device.

• • • •

Whistle and a bell. •

LIGHTS

Red and green side 
lights, white masthead 
light and stern light.

•

Red and green side 
lights and white all-
round white light.

• • •

Red and green side 
lights and stern light. F F • • F

VENTILATION • G G G G
BACKFIRE FLAME ARRESTOR • H H H H
EXHAUST WATER MANIFOLD • • • • •
ENGINE CUT-OFF SWITCH LANYARD
MIRRORS J J J J J

A Does not apply to: canoes, kayaks, punts, rowboats, rubber rafts (regardless of length) or other vessels under 14 feet in 
length when paddled, poled, oared, or windblown. 

B PFDs MUST be properly worn by all occupants. 
C Passengers under 13 years of age must wear a Type I, II, or Type III wearable PFD while underway on vessels less than 26 

feet in length. 
D Fire extinguishers not required on outboard motorboats less than 26 feet in length, of “open construction” with no 

permanently mounted gas tanks. 
E Visual distress signals not required on boats under 16 feet in length, unless operated between sunset and sunrise. 
F If sidelights and stern light are not practical, it must have and exhibit at least one bright light, lantern, or flashlight from 

sunset to sunrise in all weather. 
G Applies to all vessels, except a vessel of “open construction,” using as fuel any liquid of a volatile nature. 
H Backfire flame arrestor not required for outboard motors. 

 If equipped, cut-off switch or lanyard must be attached to operator, operator’s clothing, or operator’s PFD at all times 
when a PWC is underway, and at greater-than headway speed for all other motorboats other than a PWC.

J Rearview mirror of a size no less than four inches in width and height must be present when towing a person unless an 
observer, other than the operator, 13 years of age or older is present onboard and acting in that capacity. 

NAVIGATION LIGHTS
Power Driven Vessels Underway: Power driven vessels of less than 20 meters (65.6 ft.) but more than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) shall 
exhibit navigation lights as shown in Figure 1. Vessels of less than 12 meters in length, shall show the lights in either Figure 1 
or Figure 2.

Operation of Your Boat 
It is UNLAWFUL to: 
•  operate at a rate of speed greater than is reasonable and 

prudent or greater than will permit the driver to stop the 
vessel within the assured clear distance ahead. 

•  operate in a manner to cause a hazardous wake or wash. 
•  operate in a circular course around another vessel, PWC, 

or individual engaged in water activities unless retrieving 
a downed or fallen water skier or a person engaged in 
similar activity. 

•  moor or attach to any buoy, beacon, light marker, stake, 
flag or other aid to safe operation, or to move, remove, 
displace, tamper with, damage or destroy the same. 

•  anchor in the traveled portion of a river or channel so as 
to prevent, impede, or interfere with safe passage of any 
other boat through the same area. 

•  operate within an area designated as bathing, fishing, 
swimming, or otherwise restricted. 

•  operate within a designated “no wake” area except at 
headway speed without creating a swell or wake. 

•  engage in water skiing, surfboarding or other similar 
activity between the hours of 1/2 hour after sunset to 
1/2 hour before sunrise.  This shall not apply to vessels 
used in recognized water ski tournaments, competitions, 
exhibitions or trials, provided that the water area is 
adequately lighted. 

•  operate while intoxicated (loss of mental or physical 
faculties, or blood alcohol content of .08 or higher). 1st 
conviction punishable by a fine not to exceed $2,000, 
confinement in jail not to exceed 180 days or both; 2nd 
conviction punishable by a fine not to exceed $4,000, 
confinement not to exceed one year or both; 3rd 
conviction punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000, 
imprisonment for not more than 10 years or less than 2 
years. **Failure to submit a specimen to determine blood 
alcohol content may result in suspension of your driver’s 
license. 

•  operate any vessel or manipulate any water skis, aqua-
plane or similar device, in a willful or wanton disregard of 
the rights or safety of others and at a speed or in a manner 
to endanger or likely to endanger any person or property. 
(Conviction punishable by a fine of not less than $200 nor 
more than $2,000 or by confinement in jail not to exceed 
180 days or both.) 

•  swim or dive within 200 yards of any sight-seeing or 
excursion boat except for maintenance purposes or unless 
within an enclosed area. 

•  operate within 50 feet of a “Diver Down Flag” or operate 
a boat within 150 feet of a “Diver Down Flag” except at 
headway/steerage speed. 

• fail to comply with the USCG Inland Rules of the Road. 
The engine cut-off switch must be worn by the operator on any vessel under 26’ in length that is equipped with the ECOS, and 
the vessel is being operated at greater-than headway speed.

ONLINE BOAT SERVICES
Access common boating services, forms and other customer services online:
• Replace lost or destroyed documents 
• Renew registration
• Update owner information

• Notify transfer of ownership
• Calculate boat taxes
• Find office locations

Visit: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/BoatServices
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FIGURE 1 FIGURE 2
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Clean, Drain, Dry Your Boat
Boaters are required to drain all water from their boat and gear 
before approaching or leaving a public fresh water body (pg. 
27). Failure to immediately remove and lawfully dispose 
of any harmful or potentially harmful aquatic plant or animal 
life that is clinging or attached to a vessel, watercraft, trailer, 
motor vehicle, or other device used to transport or launch a 
vessel or watercraft is unlawful. The penalty for the first of-
fense is a fine of up to $500. The penalty for a repeat offense 
is a fine of up to $2,000, and/or up to 180 days in jail.

It is recommended these steps be followed each time upon 
leaving the water:

1.  CLEAN. Inspect your boat, trailer and gear and remove all 
plant material, mud and foreign objects.

2.  DRAIN. Remove all water from the boat, including the 
motor, bilge, livewells and bait buckets.

3.  DRY. Open all compartments and allow the boat and trailer 
to dry for a week or more before entering another body of 
water. If the boat and trailer cannot be dried for at least a 
week, wash them with high-pressure, hot soapy water.

Personal Watercraft
Personal watercraft (PWC) is defined as a type of motorboat 
which is specifically designed to be operated by a person or 
persons sitting, standing, or kneeling ON the vessel rather 
than INSIDE the vessel. Includes jet skis, wet bikes, etc. Any 
person being towed by a PWC is considered an occupant of 
the PWC and is required to wear a life jacket. 

OPERATION OF PERSONAL WATERCRAFT
All operational rules for regular motorboats also apply to 
PWC. In addition to those requirements, it is unlawful for any 
person to: 

(1) operate PWC at night (sunset until sunrise);
(2) operate PWC within 50 feet of another PWC, motorboat, 
vessel, platform, person, object, or shore except at headway 
speed (headway speed—slow, idle speed, or speed only fast 
enough to maintain steerage) without creating a swell or 
wake; and
(3) operate a PWC and jump the wake of another vessel 
recklessly or unnecessarily close.
Children under 13 are specifically prohibited from operating 
a PWC unless accompanied on board by a person at least 18 
years of age who can lawfully operate the PWC. 

Boating Accidents
To report a boating accident, call: (800) 792-1112 or (512) 389-4848 (24-hour dispatch). 

ACCIDENTS AND CASUALTIES
Operators of any vessel must report accidents and casualties 
to a local law enforcement agency or to the Texas Parks and 
Wildlife Department within 30 days of the occurrence (48 
hours if a fatality occurs) if the collision, accident or casualty 
resulted in: 
•  death (or missing person); or 
•  injury (requiring treatment beyond first aid) to any person; 

or 
•  property damage exceeding $2,000.

STOP AND RENDER AID
The operator of any vessel involved in a boating accident must 
stop and render whatever assistance is necessary unless 
such action would endanger his/her own vessel, crew or pas-
sengers. The operator must give his/her name, address and 
vessel identification number in writing to any injured person 
and to the owner of any damaged property. Failure to do so in 
an accident that results in death or serious bodily injury is a 
Parks and Wildlife Code felony. Failure to do so in an accident 
that does not result in death or serious bodily injury is a Parks 
and Wildlife Class A misdemeanor. 

OVERVIEW OF FISHING AND
HUNTING LAWS
General Laws
The following information addresses some common questions about hunting and fishing laws and regulations. 

UNLAWFUL ACTIVITIES
It is UNLAWFUL to: 
•  take, attempt to take, or possess wildlife resources within 

a protected length limit, in greater numbers, by other means, 
or at any time or place, other than as indicated within this 
guide or as may otherwise be provided by law.

•  hunt on public roads or the right-of-way of public roads; 
except for certain reptiles and amphibians (pg. 64).

•  store, transport, or abandon an unsecured firearm in a place 
where children can obtain (unsupervised) access to the 
firearm. A person under age 17 who has lawful access to a 
firearm may hunt with the firearm if the youth has successfully 
completed the hunter education course, or is accompanied 
by a licensed hunter age 17 or older who has complied with 
the hunter education requirement, if applicable.

•  drive a motor vehicle in the bed of a navigable freshwater 
stream, unless approved by a local river access plan estab-
lished by a city, county, or river authority. This law does not 
apply to the Canadian River and Prairie Dog Town Fork of the 
Red River. Other exemptions may be found in the Parks and 
Wildlife Code, Chapter 90.

•  fish on privately-owned waters, fish in public water from 
private land, or hunt on privately-owned lands without the 
permission of the owner or the owner’s agent. 

• fish on public water from private land without a fishing license.
•  enter property that is agricultural, fenced, posted with a 

sign(s), or marked (purple paint) without the express  
permission of the owner (Texas Penal Code §30.05). Posts 
or trees bearing a purple paint marking of not less than eight 
inches in length and not less than one inch in width and 
not less than three or more than five feet from the ground, 
constitute notice that the property is posted. 

• hunt any animal without landowner consent.
•  kill a desert bighorn sheep, pronghorn, white-tailed deer, or 

mule deer without landowner consent (Parks and Wildlife 
Code state jail felony). Upon conviction, hunting and fishing 
license is automatically revoked. 

•  discharge a firearm on or across a public road.
•  possess a deer or any part of a deer that has been hit by a 

motor vehicle.

PERSONAL IDENTIFICATION
While hunting, fishing or trapping, persons 17 years of age 
or older must carry on their person a valid driver’s license 
or personal identification certificate issued by the Texas 
Department of Public Safety. Non-residents must carry  
similar documents issued by the agency in their state or 
country of residence that is authorized to issue driver’s 
licenses or personal identification certificates.

INSPECTION AUTHORITY
A game warden who observes a person engaged in an 

activity governed by the Parks and Wildlife Code or reasonably 
believes that a person is or has been engaged in such an activity 
may inspect:
•  any license, permit, tag, or other document issued by the 

department and required by the Parks and Wildlife Code of a 
person hunting or catching wildlife resources;

•  any device that may be used to hunt or catch a wildlife 
resource;

• any wildlife resource in the person’s possession; and
•  the contents of any container or receptacle that is 

commonly used to store or conceal a wildlife resource.

WASTE OF GAME
It is an offense if a person while hunting, kills or wounds a 
game bird or game animal and intentionally or knowingly fails 
to make a reasonable effort to retrieve it and include it in the 
person’s daily or seasonal bag limit. It is an offense if a person 
intentionally takes or possesses a game bird, game animal, 
or a fish and intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly, or with 
criminal negligence, fails to keep the edible portions in an 
edible condition.

RETRIEVAL OF GAME AND HUNTING DOGS
No person may enter any property to pursue wounded game, 
retrieve a dog, or for any other purpose, without the consent 
of the landowner.

SALE OF INEDIBLE WILDLIFE PARTS
The following inedible wildlife parts may be purchased or sold 
if lawfully taken or possessed:
•  Hair, hide, antlers, bones, horns, skull, hooves, or sinew 

from the following game animals: mule deer, white-tailed 
deer, pronghorn, desert bighorn sheep, gray squirrels, fox 
squirrels, and javelina.

•  Feathers, bones, or feet of game birds (turkey, pheasant, 
quail, and chachalaca) may be used, purchased, or sold 
for making fishing flies, pillows, mattresses, and other 
similar commercial uses. 

•  Feathers from migratory birds may not be purchased or 
sold for hats or ornamental purposes nor may a person 
purchase or sell mounted migratory game bird specimens 
or their parts taken by hunting.

HARASSMENT OF HUNTERS, TRAPPERS, 
OR ANGLERS
Under the Sportsmen’s Rights Act (Parks and Wildlife Code, 
§62.0125), harassment of hunters, trappers, or anglers is 
punishable by a fine of $200 to $2,000 and/or 180 days in jail.

HUNTER ORANGE
Hunter orange is RECOMMENDED for hunter safety but is not 
required while hunting on private property.

Get the most up-to-date regulations at 
OutdoorAnnual.com

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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Criminal Penalties and Civil Value Recovery
If you violate fish and wildlife laws, you may:  
• be fined for misdemeanors 

 - Class C – $25-$500
 - Class B – $200-$2,000 and/or 6 months in jail
 - Class A – $500-$4,000 and/or 1 year in jail); 

•  be fined for state jail felonies ($1,500-$10,000 and/or 
up to 2 years in jail);

•  face automatic suspension or revocation of licenses for up 
to five years; and

•  forfeit hunting gear, including firearms, used to commit 
a violation.

CIVIL RESTITUTION
In addition to the criminal penalty for hunting and fishing 
violations, the department will seek the civil recovery value for 
the loss or damage to wildlife resources. Failure to pay the civil 

recovery value will result in the department’s refusal to issue 
a future license, tag, or permit. Hunting or fishing after failing 
or refusing to pay civil restitution is a Class A misdemeanor 
punishable by a $500 - $4,000 fine; punishment in jail (not to 
exceed one year); or both. For questions call (512) 389-4630.

LICENSE REINSTATEMENT
A person who seeks to reinstate their license after revocation, 
denial or suspension must apply for license privilege rein-
statement and pay a $100 fee. 

INTERSTATE WILDLIFE VIOLATOR COMPACT
Texas is a member of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact 
(IWVC) which allows member states to share information 
about wildlife violators and to deny licensure to persons who 
have failed to comply with conservation law in member states. 
For more information call (512) 389-8801. 

Operation Game Thief
Operation Game Thief (OGT) is an official Texas wildlife 
crime-stopper program and a privately funded 501(c)(3) 
nonprofit. Please consider supporting efforts to protect 
precious natural resources and keep the waterways safe by 
sending a tax-deductible donation to OGT, or by becoming an 
OGT member, ogttx.org. Donations can also be sent to TPWD, 
4200 Smith School Road, Austin, Texas 78744, or received 
by phone (512) 389-8801.

REWARD HOTLINE: (800) 792-4263
Make a difference by reporting poaching, pollution and 
dumping, arson in state parks and intoxicated boaters! Up 
to $1,000 may be paid for information leading to arrest and 
conviction of a person for a violation of our state’s wildlife and 
fisheries laws, laws related to environmental crime, arson and 
intoxicated boaters. 

Transfer and Importation of Wildlife Resources
TRANSFER OF WILDLIFE AND AQUATIC 
RESOURCES
A person may give or receive any legally taken wildlife or 
aquatic resource, or part of the resource, that is required to 
be tagged or that is protected by a daily bag / possession 
limit if the resource is accompanied by a Wildlife Resource 
Document (WRD) (pg. 89). A person may use the WRD 
provided in this guide (pg. 89) or a handwritten document 
that includes the same required information. The WRD is 
available online: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/transfer.
•  For additional information for deer and pronghorn related to 

tagging, proof of sex, transporting animals, and processing of 
game animals, see pgs 46-47.

•  For turkey, the WRD must remain attached until the turkey 
reaches its final destination and is finally processed (pg. 47). 

For all other wildlife resources, a properly executed WRD must 
accompany the resource until it reaches the possessor’s 
permanent residence or a cold storage/processing facility, 
EXCEPT, no WRD is required if a person receiving the wildlife 
resource does not exceed the possession limit (or bag 
limit if in the field) and is lawfully licensed or possesses the 
applicable license. Migratory Game Birds have different 
documentation requirements (pg. 59). 

IMPORTATION OF WILDLIFE AND AQUATIC 
RESOURCES
•  It is unlawful to import a wildlife or aquatic resource into 

this state or possess a resource taken outside this state 
unless:

 -  the person possesses a valid hunting, fishing, or other ap-
plicable license, endorsement, tag, permit, or document 
for the state or country in which the resource was legally 
taken; and

 - a person produces, upon request of a game warden, a 
valid driver’s license or personal identification certificate.

•  See pg. 50 for information related to importation of 
carcasses from CWD-positive states.

•  IMPORTS FROM MEXICO: The requirements listed above 
are waived if a United States Customs Officer’s Statement 
is obtained from the United States Customs Office at 
the port of entry showing that the wildlife resource was 
brought in from Mexico. The Customs Officer’s statement 
must accompany the wildlife resource to its final 
destination.

FISHING
What’s New for Fishing
Fresh Water: Modified fishing regulations for community fishing lakes and applied these regulations to additional water 
bodies; modified blue and channel catfish harvest regulations for five lakes; returned to statewide limits for largemouth bass 
on Lake Nasworthy; implemented catch-and-release only for largemouth bass on Lake Forest Park; established boundaries for 
Choke Canyon and O.H. Ivie reservoirs.
Salt Water: Shortfin mako shark is now a prohibited species; anglers must use descending devices on reef fish with 
barotrauma, the bag limit for cobia is 1. 
Good Fishing Depends on Clean Water
Harmful algae blooms can affect fishing spots, creating “dead zones” where no aquatic life can survive. The cause 
is usually pollution from fertilizers, septic systems, animal waste, and sewage treatment plants. Learn more at 
epa.gov/nutrientpollution. Supporting water quality protection supports great fishing! 
Kills and Spills Team
To report saltwater or freshwater fish kills, please contact the Kills and Spills Team (KAST) at (512) 389-4848.

General Regulations for Fresh and Salt Waters
For purposes of this guide, “salt waters” and “coastal waters” mean the same thing. 
GAME FISH (includes hybrids or subspecies of listed fish): 
Bass (Alabama)
Bass (Guadalupe)
Bass (largemouth)
Bass (smallmouth)
Bass (spotted)
Bass (striped)
Bass (white)
Bass (yellow)

Catfish (blue)
Catfish (channel)
Catfish (flathead)
Cobia
Crappie (black)
Crappie (white)
Mackerel (King)
Mackerel (Spanish)

Marlin (blue)
Marlin (white)
Pickerel
Red Drum
Sailfish
Seatrout (spotted)
Sharks
Snook

Spearfish (longbill)
Swordfish (broadbill)
Tarpon
Tripletail
Trout (brown)
Trout (rainbow)
Wahoo
Walleye

UNLAWFUL ACTIVITIES
It is UNLAWFUL to: 
•  take, kill, or disturb sea turtles. Species found in the Gulf 

of Mexico include Green, Loggerhead, Kemp’s ridley, 
Leatherback and Hawksbill. If you accidentally catch a sea 
turtle, immediately call (866) 887-8535 for information 
on how to help without injuring yourself or causing further 
injury to the animal.

•  take, kill, or disturb any endangered or threatened fish spe-
cies (e.g., paddlefish, shovel-nosed sturgeon, sawfish, etc.).

•  take or kill diamondback terrapin or marine mammals 
such as porpoises, dolphins or whales. Immediately call 
(800) 962-6625 (800-9-MAMMAL) to report a stranded 
marine mammal.
 place any game fish into public waters, other than the 
body of water where the fish was caught, without a valid 
permit issued by TPWD. This includes fish caught by pole 
and line. To apply for a permit to place fish into public 
waters (no fee required), call (800) 792-1112 (menu 4) or 
(512) 389-4742, or visit tpwd.texas.gov/oa/FishForms. 

•  use any vessel to harass, herd or drive fish including, but 
not limited to, operating any vessel in a repeated circular 
course, for the purpose of, or resulting in, the concentration 
of fish for the purpose of taking or attempting to take fish.

•  uproot or dig out any rooted seagrass plant from a bay 
bottom or other saltwater bottom by a propeller or any 
other means. For additional seagrass regulations: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/Seagrass. 

• transport live, nongame fishes taken from:
 -   the Red River and all tributary waters in Grayson, Fannin, 

Lamar, Red River, and Bowie counties below Lake Texoma 
downstream to the Arkansas border, 

 -  Big Cypress Bayou downstream of Ferrell’s Bridge Dam 
on Lake O’ the Pines (including the Texas waters of Caddo 
Lake), or 

 -  the Sulphur River downstream of the Lake Wright Patman 
dam. 
(Nongame fishes collected from these waters may be 
used as live bait on the water bodies where they were 
collected.)

•  intentionally or unintentionally possess or trans-
port aquatic invasive species without a permit; see 
“Possession and Transport of Exotic Aquatic Species” 
(pg. 27) for additional information.

• use any game fish or part of a game fish as bait.

Tagging Fish
Although it is legal to place an identification tag (use caution as tags can damage fish) on the exterior of a fish and release it 
back into public waters, it is unlawful to release a fish with a device or substance implanted or attached to produce an audible, 
visual, or electronic signal used to monitor, track, follow, or in any manner aid in locating it. 
Waste of Fish
It is unlawful to leave edible fish or bait fish to die without the intent to retain it for consumption or bait.
Bait Regulations
For regulations that apply to bait: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/Bait

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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http://epa.gov/nutrientpollution
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LEGAL FISHING DEVICES AND RESTRICTIONS
Only devices and restrictions listed may be used to take OR ATTEMPT TO TAKE aquatic life. Game fish may be taken only 
by pole and line (which includes rod and reel), except as otherwise provided in this guide. A person may fish with multiple 
poles or other devices, except as provided in this guide. In fresh water, it is unlawful to fish with more than 100 hooks on 
all devices combined. In fresh water, it is unlawful to take fish with a hand-operated device held underwater except that 
a spear or spear gun may be used to take NONGAME fish.

CAST NET: a net that can be hand-thrown over an area.
•  Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and other aquatic 

animal life (including crabs, crayfish, and shrimp).
• May not be greater than 14 feet in diameter.
•  In SALT WATER, nongame fish may be taken for bait 

purposes only.

CRAB LINE: a baited line with no hook attached.
No restrictions.

CRAB TRAPS (for use in SALT WATER only):
•  Only six crab traps at a time may be fished for  

non-commercial purposes.
•  May only remove crab traps from the water or remove 

crabs from crab traps during the period from 30 minutes 
before sunrise to 30 minutes after sunset.

Crab Trap Tagging Requirements
Must be used with a valid GEAR TAG, valid for 10 days 
(pg. 86) and attached within six inches of the buoy or pier 
to which the trap is tied.

Crab Trap Construction and Design Restrictions
• May not exceed 18 cubic feet.
•  Must be equipped with at least two escape vents in each 

crab-retaining chamber and located on the outside trap 
walls.

• Escape vents must be at least 2-3/8 inches in diameter.
•  Must be marked with a white floating buoy not less than  

6 inches in height, 6 inches in length, and 6 inches in 
width, bearing a 2-inch wide center stripe of contrasting 
color, attached to the crab trap.

•  Buoys or floats may not be made of plastic bottle(s) of any 
color or size.

•  Must be equipped with a degradable panel. A trap is  
considered to have a degradable panel if one of the  
following methods is used in construction of the trap:

 -  the trap lid tie-down strap is secured to the trap at one 
end by a simple loop of untreated jute twine, sisal twine or 
untreated steel wire with a diameter of 20 gauge or small-
er. The trap lid must be secured so that when the twine or 
wire degrades, the lid will no longer be securely closed; or

 -  the trap contains at least one sidewall, not including the 
bottom panel, with a rectangular opening no smaller in ei-
ther dimension than 3 inches by 6 inches. Any obstruction 
placed in this opening may not be secured in any manner 
EXCEPT it may be laced, sewn, or otherwise obstructed 
by a single length of untreated jute twine, sisal twine or un-
treated steel wire with a diameter of 20 gauge or smaller 
knotted only at each end and not tied or looped more than 
once around a single mesh bar. When the twine or wire 

degrades, the opening in the sidewall of the trap will no 
longer be obstructed; or

 - the obstruction may be loosely hinged at the bottom of 
the opening by no more than two untreated steel hog 
rings and secured at the top of the obstruction in no more 
than one place by a single length of untreated jute twine, 
sisal twine or untreated steel wire with a diameter of 20 
gauge or smaller. When the twine or wire degrades, the 
obstruction will hinge downward and the opening in the 
sidewall of the trap will no longer be obstructed.

Crab Trap Placement and Location Restrictions
•  May not place a crab trap or portion thereof closer than 

100 feet from any other crab trap, EXCEPT when traps are 
secured to a pier or dock.

•   May not fish a crab trap in public fresh waters.
•  May not fish a crab trap within 200 feet of a marked 

navigable channel in Aransas County; and in the water 
area of Aransas Bay within one-half mile of a line from Hail 
Point on the Lamar Peninsula, then direct to the eastern 
end of Goose Island, then along the southern shore of 
Goose Island, then along the eastern shoreline of the Live 
Oak Peninsula past the town of Fulton, past Nine Mile 
Point, past the town of Rockport to a point at the east end 
of Talley Island, including that part of Copano Bay within 
1,000 feet of the causeway between Lamar Peninsula and 
Live Oak Peninsula except that up to 3 crab traps may be 
fished for recreational purposes only if securely tethered 
to a fixed object (i.e. as a dock, pier, or bulkhead).

•  May not possess, use, or place more than three crab traps 
in waters north and west of Hwy. 146 where it crosses the 
Houston Ship Channel in Harris County.

•  May not use or place more than three crab traps in public 
waters of the San Bernard River north of a line marked by 
the boat access channel at Bernard Acres.

•  It is unlawful to place any type of trap within the area in 
Cedar Bayou between a department sign erected where 
Mesquite Bay flows into Cedar Bayou and the department 
sign erected near the point where the pass empties into 
the Gulf of Mexico.

DIP NET: a mesh bag suspended from a frame attached to 
a handle.
•  Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and other aquatic 

animal life (including crabs, crayfish, and shrimp).
•  May be used to aid in the landing of fish caught by other 

legal devices.
•  In SALT WATER, nongame fish may be taken for bait 

purposes only.
FOLDING PANEL TRAPS:
•  Only crabs may be taken.
•  Overall surface area (including panels) may not exceed  

16 square feet.

GAFF: any hand-held pole with a hook attached directly to 
the pole.
•  May only be used to aid in the landing of fish caught by 

other legal devices, means, or methods.
•  Fish landed with a gaff MAY NOT be below the minimum, 

above the maximum, or within a protected length limit.

GIG: any hand-held shaft with single or multiple points, 
barbed or barbless.
May be used to take NONGAME fish only.

HANDFISHING: fishing by the use of HANDS ONLY 
The use of ANY other fishing device while handfishing 
(including but not limited to gaff, pole hook, trap, spear or 
stick) is unlawful. 
•  May be used to take channel, blue, and flathead catfish in 

fresh water only.
•  No person may intentionally place a trap (including such 

devices as boxes, barrels or pipes) in public fresh water for 
the purpose of taking catfish by handfishing.

JUGLINE: fishing line with five or less hooks and a gear tag 
tied to a free-floating device. 
• For use in FRESH WATER only. 
•  May be used to take NONGAME fish, channel catfish, blue 

catfish, and flathead catfish only.
Jugline Tagging and Marking Requirements
•  Must be used with a valid GEAR TAG (pg. 86) attached 

within 6 inches of the free-floating device; gear tag is 
valid for 6 days after the date set out and must include 
the number of the permit to sell nongame fish taken from 
fresh water, if applicable. Properly-marked buoys or floats 
qualify as valid gear tags.

•  For non-commercial purposes, a jugline must be marked 
with a free-floating device of any color other than orange 
that is not less than 6 inches in length and 3 inches in 
width.

•  For commercial purposes, a jugline must be marked with 
an orange, free-floating device that is not less than 6 
inches in length and 3 inches in width.

 Jugline Placement and Location Restrictions
Juglines may not be used in the following:
• Community Fishing Lakes (definition, pg. 85)
• Lake Bryan in Brazos County
•  Reservoirs or sections of rivers lying totally within the 

boundaries of state park
• Bellwood Lake in Smith County
• Boerne City Lake in Kendall County
•  Brushy Creek Lake and Brushy Creek downstream from 

the lake to the Williamson/Milam County line
• Canyon Lake Project #6 in Lubbock County
• Dixieland Reservoir in Cameron County
•  South Concho River from Lone Wolf dam to Bell Street dam
•  Lake Bastrop in Bastrop County
•   Lakes Coffee Mill and Davy Crockett in Fannin County
• Lake Naconiche in Nacogdoches County
• Lake Pflugerville in Travis County
• North Concho River from O.C. Fisher dam to the Bell Street dam
•   Tankersley Reservoir in Titus County
• Wheeler Branch Reservoir in Somervell County

LAWFUL ARCHERY EQUIPMENT: includes longbow, 
recurved bow, compound bow, and crossbow.
• May be used to take NONGAME fish only.
•  Any fish that is edible or can be used for bait (includes 

all gar species, common carp, and buffalo) may not be 
released back into the water after being taken with lawful 
archery equipment. See also “Waste of Fish,” pg. 22.

•  State regulations permit bow fishing in most public 
waters (“Exceptions to Statewide Freshwater Harvest 
Regulations,” pg. 32, and “Restricted Areas in 
Counties,” pg. 68). Additionally, bow fishers are 
advised to check with local authorities that may have 
ordinances restricting use of archery equipment.

MINNOW TRAP:
•  Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and other aquatic 

animal life (including crayfish and shrimp).
•  Trap may not exceed 24 inches in length. The throat may 

not exceed 1 inch by 3 inches.
•  Must be marked with a floating, visible buoy of any color 

other than orange that is not less than 6 inches in length 
and 3 inches in width. The buoy must have a gear tag 
attached.

•  GEAR TAG (pg. 86) valid for only 6 days must be visibly 
attached.

OYSTER DREDGE:
May not be more than 14 inches in width.

PERCH TRAPS (for use in SALT WATER only):
•  Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and other aquatic 

animal life (including crayfish and shrimp).
• May not exceed 18 cubic feet.
•  Must be marked with a floating visible orange buoy not 

less than 6 inches in length and 6 inches in width. The 
buoy must have a GEAR TAG (pg. 86) valid only for 6 
days attached.

•  Must be equipped with a degradable panel as described 
for crab traps (pg. 23).

•  Buoys or floats may not be made of plastic bottle(s) of any 
color or size.

•  It is unlawful to place any type of trap within the area in 
Cedar Bayou between a department sign erected where 
Mesquite Bay flows into Cedar Bayou and the department 
sign erected near the point where the pass empties into 
the Gulf of Mexico.

POLE AND LINE: a line with hook, attached to a pole 
(includes rod and reel).
• May be used to take GAME and NONGAME fish.
•  It is unlawful to use a pole and line to take or attempt to 

take fish by foul-hooking, snagging, or jerking. A fish is 
foul-hooked when caught by a hook in an area other than 
the fish’s mouth.

•  In the Guadalupe River in Comal County starting 800 
yards downstream from the Canyon Dam release and 
extending downstream to the second bridge crossing on 
River Road, rainbow and brown trout may not be retained 
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when taken by any method except artificial lures. In this 
area only, artificial lures cannot contain or have attached 
either whole or portions, living or dead, of organisms such 
as fish, crayfish, insects (grubs, larvae or adults) or worms, 
any other animal or vegetable material, or synthetic scent-
ed materials. This does not prohibit the use of artificial 
lures that contain components of hair or feathers. It is an 
offense to possess rainbow and brown trout while fishing 
with any other device in that part of the Guadalupe River 
defined in this paragraph.

•  Pole and line is the only lawful method for taking game 
fish and nongame fish from Community Fishing Lakes 
(definition, pg. 85), sections of rivers lying totally 
within boundaries of a state park, the North Concho 
River from O.C. Fisher dam to the Bell Street dam, the 
South Concho River from Lone Wolf dam to Bell Street 
dam, Wheeler Branch Reservoir, Lake Pflugerville, Brushy 
Creek Lake and Brushy Creek downstream from the lake 
to the Williamson/Milam County line, and Canyon Lake 
Project #6.

SAIL LINE: a type of trotline with one end of the main line 
fixed on the shore, the other end of the main line attached to 
a wind-powered floating device or sail (for use in SALT WATER 
only).
•  Nongame fish, red drum, spotted seatrout, and sharks 

may be taken with a sail line.
• No more than one sail line may be used per fisherman.
•  The sail line must be attended at all times the line is 

fishing.
•  Sail lines may not be used for commercial purposes.
• Sail lines may be used seven days a week.

Sail Line Tagging Requirements
Must have a valid SALTWATER TROTLINE TAG for each  
300 feet of mainline or fraction thereof being fished.

Sail Line Construction and Design Restrictions
• Sail line may not exceed 1,800 feet from reel to sail.
•  Sail and the most shoreward float must be bright orange 

or red. All other floats must be yellow. No float may be 
more than 200 feet from the sail.

•  A weight of 1 ounce or more must be attached to the line 
not less than 4 feet or more than 6 feet shoreward of the 
most shoreward float.

•  Reflectors of not less than 2 square inches shall be  
attached to the sail and floats. They must be easily seen 
from all directions. This applies for sail lines operated from 
30 minutes after sunset to 30 minutes before sunrise.

• May have no more than 30 hooks.
• There is no hook spacing requirement between hooks.
• No hook may be placed more than 200 feet from the sail.
• May be baited with either natural or artificial bait.

Sail Line Placement and Location Restrictions

 Must meet placement and location requirements for  
saltwater trotlines (pg. 27).

SAND PUMPS: self-contained, hand-held, hand-operated 
suction device used to remove and capture Callianassid ghost 
shrimp.
•  May only be manually operated.
•  May not be used for commercial purposes.

SEINE: a section of non-metallic mesh webbing, with the 
top edge buoyed upwards by a floatline and the bottom edge 
weighted (includes a push net).
•  Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and other aquatic 

animal life (including crabs, crayfish, and shrimp).
•  May not be longer than 20 feet.
• May not have mesh exceeding 1/2-inch square.
•  Must be manually operated.
•  In SALT WATER, nongame fish may be taken by seine for 

bait purposes only.

SHAD TRAWL: a bag-shaped net which is dragged along 
the bottom or through the water to catch aquatic life (for use 
in FRESH WATER only).
•  Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and other aquatic 

animal life (including crayfish and shrimp).
•  May not be longer than 6 feet or with a mouth larger than 

36 inches in diameter.
•  May be equipped with a funnel or throat and must be 

towed by boat or hand.

SPEAR: any shaft with single or multiple points, barbed or 
barbless, which may be propelled by any means, but does not 
include arrows (may be used to take NONGAME fish only).

SPEAR GUN: any hand-operated device designed and used 
for propelling a spear, but does not include the crossbow. 
May be used to take NONGAME fish only, not a legal means to 
take fish in a community fishing lake.

THROWLINE: a fishing line with five or less hooks and with 
one end attached to a permanent fixture, a float attached 
at or above the water line, and a gear tag. Components of a 
throwline may also include swivels, snaps, rubber, and rigid 
support structures (for use in FRESH WATER only).
•  May be used to take NONGAME fish, channel catfish, blue 

catfish, and flathead catfish only.
•  Must be used with a valid gear tag attached. Gear tag is 

valid for 6 days after the date set out.
•  For non-commercial purposes, must be marked with a 

float of any color other than orange that is not less than 6 
inches in length and 3 inches in width.

•  For commercial purposes, must be marked with an orange 
float that is not less than 6 inches in length and 3 inches 
in width.

Throwlines Placement and Location Restrictions
Throwlines may not be used in the following:
• Community Fishing Lakes (definition, pg. 85)
• Lake Bryan in Brazos County
•  Reservoirs or sections of rivers lying totally within the 

boundaries of state park
• Bellwood Lake in Smith County
• Boerne City Lake in Kendall County

•  Brushy Creek Lake and Brushy Creek downstream from 
the lake to the Williamson/Milam County line

• Canyon Lake Project #6 in Lubbock County
• Dixieland Reservoir in Cameron County
• South Concho River from Lone Wolf dam to Bell Street dam
•  Lake Bastrop in Bastrop County
•   Lakes Coffee Mill and Davy Crockett in Fannin County
• Lake Naconiche in Nacogdoches County
• Lake Pflugerville in Travis County
• North Concho River from O.C. Fisher dam to the Bell Street dam
•   Tankersley Reservoir in Titus County
• Wheeler Branch Reservoir in Somervell County

TRAWL (Individual Bait-Shrimp Trawl): 
a bag-shaped net which is dragged along the bottom or 
through the water to catch aquatic life.

Only hand-operated trawls are permitted; use of mechanical 
devices is unlawful. For use in SALT WATER only.
• Only one trawl per boat is allowed.
•  Must have an individual bait-shrimp trawl tag in one’s 

possession while trawling (pg. 10).
•  Must not be greater than 20 feet in width between the 

doors.
•  Mesh size must not be smaller than 8-3/4 inches over a 

consecutive series of five stretched meshes.
• Boards must not be larger than 450 square inches each.
•  Nongame fish (EXCEPT those species regulated by bag or 

size limits) taken incidental to legal shrimping operations 
may be retained.

•  “Legal shrimping operations” means the use of a legal 
trawl in places, at times, and in manners as authorized by 
TPWD (see Shrimp section for details, pg. 41).

•  200 nongame fish taken with an individual bait-shrimp 
trawl may be retained per person for bait purposes only.

TROTLINE: a non-metallic main fishing line with more than 
five hooks attached, with each end attached to a fixture, floats 
attached at or above the water line, and a gear tag.
•  Nongame fish, channel catfish, blue catfish, and flathead 

catfish may be taken by trotline. 
•  Red drum, spotted seatrout, and sharks caught on a 

trotline may not be retained or possessed.

Trotline General Construction and Design Restrictions
Trotlines may not be used with:
• a mainline length exceeding 600 feet; 
• hooks spaced less than 3 horizontal feet apart; 
• metallic stakes; or
•  the main fishing line and attached hooks and stagings 

placed above the water’s surface.

Trotlines in FRESH WATER
Trotline (Freshwater) Tagging and Marking Requirements
•  Must be used with a valid GEAR TAG (pg. 86). Properly-

marked buoys or floats qualify as valid gear tags. Gear 
tags must be attached within 3 feet of the first hook at 
each end of the trotline and are valid for 6 days after the 
date set out.

•  For non-commercial purposes, must be marked with floats 
of any color other than orange that are not less than 6 
inches in length and 3 inches in width.

•  For commercial purposes, must be marked with orange 
floats that are not less than 6 inches in length and 3 
inches in width.

Trotline (Freshwater) Construction and Design Restrictions
May not have more than 50 hooks on any one trotline.

Trotlines (Freshwater) Placement and Location Restrictions
Trotlines may not be used in the following:
• Community Fishing Lakes (definition, pg. 85)
• Lake Bryan in Brazos County
•  Reservoirs or sections of rivers lying totally within the 

boundaries of state park
• Bellwood Lake in Smith County
• Boerne City Lake in Kendall County
•  Brushy Creek Lake and Brushy Creek downstream from 

the lake to the Williamson/Milam County line
• Canyon Lake Project #6 in Lubbock County
• Dixieland Reservoir in Cameron County
• South Concho River from Lone Wolf dam to Bell Street dam
•  Lake Bastrop in Bastrop County
•   Lakes Coffee Mill and Davy Crockett in Fannin County
• Lake Naconiche in Nacogdoches County
• Lake Pflugerville in Travis County
• North Concho River from O.C. Fisher dam to the Bell Street dam
•   Tankersley Reservoir in Titus County
• Wheeler Branch Reservoir in Somervell County

Trotlines in SALT WATER
No more than one trotline may be used per angler.

Trotline (Saltwater) Tagging Requirements
MUST have a valid SALTWATER TROTLINE TAG attached to 
each 300 feet of mainline or fraction thereof. MUST be pur-
chased at coastal TPWD Law Enforcement offices (pg. 88). 
MUST be used with a valid GEAR TAG (pg. 86) attached 
within 3 feet of the first hook at each end of the trotline. Tag 
does not need to be dated.

Trotline (Saltwater) Construction and Design Restrictions
•  Must be marked with a yellow floating buoy not less than  

6 inches in height, 6 inches in length, and 6 inches in 
width, bearing a two-inch wide stripe of contrasting color, 
attached to end fixtures.

•  Buoys or floats may not be made of plastic bottle(s) of any 
color or size.

•  May not be baited with other than natural bait. Natural 
bait is a whole or cut-up portion of a fish or shellfish or 
a whole or cut-up portion of plant material in its natural 
state, provided that none of these may be altered beyond 
cutting into portions.

•  May not be used with hooks other than circle-type hook 
with point curved in and with a gap (distance from point 
to shank) of no more than one-half inch, and with the 
diameter of the circle not less than five-eighths inch.
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Trotline (Saltwater) Placement and Location Restrictions
•  May not be used in or on the waters of the Gulf of Mexico 

within the jurisdiction of this state.
•  May not be placed closer than 50 feet from any other  

trotline, or set within 200 feet of the edge of the 
Intracoastal Waterway or its tributary channels.

•  May not be used in Aransas County in Little Bay and the 
water area of Aransas Bay within one-half mile of a line 
from Hail Point on the Lamar Peninsula, then direct to 
the eastern end of Goose Island, then along the southern 
shore of Goose Isl and, then along the causeway between 
Lamar Peninsula and Live Oak Peninsula, then along the 
eastern shoreline of the Live Oak Peninsula past the town 
of Fulton, past Nine-Mile Point, past the town of Rockport 
to a point at the east end of Talley Island, including that 
part of Copano Bay within 1,000 feet of the causeway 
between Lamar Peninsula and Live Oak Peninsula.

•  No trotline or trotline components (EXCEPT sail lines), in-
cluding lines and hooks, but excluding poles, may be left in 
or on coastal waters between the hours of 1 p.m. on Friday 
through 1 p.m. on Sunday of each week, except attended 
sail lines. In the event small craft advisories or higher marine 
weather advisories issued by the National Weather Service 
are in place at 8 a.m. on Friday, trotlines may remain in the 
water until 6 p.m. on Friday. If small craft advisories are in 
place at 1 p.m. on Friday, trotlines may remain in the water 
until Saturday. When small craft advisories are lifted by 
8 a.m. on Saturday, trotlines must be removed by 6 p.m. 
on Saturday. When small craft advisories or higher marine 
weather advisories are still in place at 1 p.m. on Saturday, 
trotlines may remain in the water through 1 p.m. on Sunday. 
It is a violation to tend, bait, or harvest fish or any other 
aquatic life from trotlines during the period that trotline re-
moval requirements are suspended under this provision for 
adverse weather conditions. For purposes of enforcement, 
the geographic area customarily covered by marine weather 
advisories will be delineated by department policy.

UMBRELLA NET: a non-metallic mesh net that is suspend-
ed horizontally in the water by multiple lines attached to a 
rigid frame.
•  Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and other aquatic 

animal life (including crabs, crayfish, and shrimp).
•  May not have within the frame an area that exceeds  

16 square feet.

OTHER DEVICES: Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) and 
bait launchers are approved methods for the delivery of bait. 
Federal regulations apply. 

POSSESSION OF FISH TAKEN FROM 
PUBLIC WATER
Fish caught and immediately released are not considered to 
be in possession. Any fish that are retained by using any type 
of holding device such as stringer, cooler, livewell, or bucket 
are considered in an angler’s possession and must adhere to 
established length and bag limits. While fishing, it is illegal to 
be in possession of more fish than the daily bag limit or fish 
that are within a protected length limit.
In order to verify length and species, a fish caught may not 
have the head or tail removed and may not be filleted until an 
angler finally lands the catch on the mainland, a peninsula, 

or barrier island not including jetties or piers and does not 
transport the catch by boat. For broadbill swordfish and king 
mackerel, the head OR tail may be removed but the remainder 
of the carcass must remain intact and may not be filleted. For 
sharks, ONLY the head may be removed. The remainder of 
the carcass (including the tail) must remain intact and may 
not be filleted.

Any fish taken from public water and landed by boat or person 
in Texas must adhere to the length limits and daily bag and 
possession limits established for those fish in Texas regard-
less of the state or country in which they were caught.

The bag limit for a guided fishing party is equal to the total 
number of persons in the boat licensed to fish or otherwise 
exempt from holding a license minus each fishing guide and 
fishing guide deckhand multiplied by the bag limit for each 
species harvested.

POSSESSION AND TRANSPORT OF EXOTIC 
AQUATIC SPECIES 
The intentional or unintentional possession or transportation 
of aquatic invasive species without a permit is illegal in Texas. 
For a list of harmful and potentially harmful aquatic species, 
visit tpwd.texas.gov/oa/invasives.

Learn how to properly dispose of aquarium plants and 
animals at tpwd.texas.gov/oa/aquarium.

It is UNLAWFUL to:
•  possess or transport any exotic aquatic plant or animal  

listed as harmful or potentially harmful. This includes: 
plants such as hydrilla, water hyacinth, and giant salvinia; 
fishes such as tilapia and invasive carps (grass, silver, and 
bighead carp); and zebra mussels. 

 - boats with attached zebra mussels may be moved to a 
maintenance shop for cleaning or other maintenance 
provided the department is notified at least 72 hours in 
advance using the Boat Maintenance Movement Notice 
form: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/zmform. Boats moving to 
another lake after maintenance may require inspection 
and decontamination. 

•  possess any tilapia, grass carp, or any other fish listed 
as harmful or potentially harmful without first killing the 
fish by gutting, beheading, gill-cutting, or other means, 
or placing the fish on ice, except on those waters where 
a valid Triploid Grass Carp Permit is in effect. In those 
waters, it is illegal to possess grass carp, and any grass 
carp caught must be immediately returned to the water 
unharmed. For a list of waters with a Triploid Grass Carp 
Permit: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/gcpermits.

•  fail to immediately remove and lawfully dispose of any 
harmful or potentially harmful aquatic plant that is clinging 
or attached to a vessel, watercraft, trailer, motor vehicle, 
or other device used to transport or launch a vessel or 
watercraft. Violators are subject to a fine of $25-$500.

MANDATORY DRAINING OF WATER FROM 
VESSELS USED ON PUBLIC FRESH WATERS
Persons leaving or approaching public fresh water are required 
to drain all water from their vessels and on-board receptacles 
(includes live wells, bilges, motors and any other receptacles or 
water-intake systems coming into contact with public waters). 

This rule applies at all sites where boats can be launched and 
includes all types and sizes of boats whether powered or not, 
personal watercraft, sailboats, kayaks/canoes, or any other 
vessel used to travel on public waters.
•  Live fish, including personally caught live bait, cannot 

be transported from the water body where the fish were 
caught in or aboard a vessel in water from the water body 
where the fish were caught. Personally-caught live bait can 
be used in the water body where it was caught.

•  Transport and use of commercially purchased live bait 
in water while fishing from a vessel is allowed, provided 
persons in possession of the bait have a receipt that 
identifies the source of the bait. Any live bait purchased 
from a location on or adjacent to a public water body that 
is transported in water from that water body can only be 
used as bait on that same water body.

•  A vessel leaving a public freshwater body may be trans-
ported on a public roadway without water being drained, 
provided the vessel is transported via the most direct route 
to another access point located on the same water body 
during the same day.

•  Persons participating in a fishing tournament confined 
to one water body are allowed to transport live fish in 
water from that single water body to an identified off-site 
weigh-in location, provided all water is drained and properly 
disposed of before leaving that location. Participants must 
possess documentation provided by tournament organizers 
that identify them as participants in a tournament.

•  Marine sanitary systems are not covered by these regulations.
•  Following these procedures does not exempt persons from 

complying with prohibitions against transporting exotic aquat-
ic species that are visible to the unaided eye, such as adult 
zebra mussels, which may be attached to boats or trailers.

RESERVOIR BOUNDARIES
•  Buchanan Reservoir in Burnet, Lampasas, Llano, and 

San Saba counties comprises all impounded waters of the 
Colorado River from Lake Buchanan dam upstream to the U.S. 
Hwy. 190 bridge.

•  Caddo Lake in Marion and Harrison counties comprises all im-
pounded waters of Big Cypress Bayou from the Texas-Louisiana 
border upstream to the State Hwy. 43 bridge. 

•  Canyon Reservoir in Comal County comprises all impounded 
waters of the Guadalupe River from the Canyon dam upstream 
to the U.S. Hwy. 281 bridge.

•  Choke Canyon Reservoir in Live Oak and McMullen counties 
comprises all impounded waters of the Frio River from the Choke 
Canyon Dam upstream to the State Highway 16 bridge, including 
all waters of San Miguel Creek downstream from the State 
Highway 16 bridge.

•  Lake Conroe in Montgomery and Walker counties comprises all 
impounded waters of the West Fork of the San Jacinto River from 
the Lake Conroe Dam upstream to the FM Road 1791 bridge.

•  Cooper Lake (Jim L. Chapman Lake) in Delta and Hopkins 
counties comprises all waters within the Corps of Engineers 
lands on Cooper Lake upstream from State Hwy. 19/154 and 
downstream from FM Road 71.

•  Falcon International Reservoir in Starr and Zapata counties 
comprises all impounded waters of the Rio Grande from Falcon 
Dam upstream to the Zapata/Webb county line.

•  Lake Georgetown in Williamson County comprises all impound-
ed waters of the North Fork of the San Gabriel River from the 
Lake Georgetown Dam upstream to the U.S. Hwy. 183 bridge.

•  Inks Lake in Burnet and Llano counties comprises all  
impounded waters of the Colorado River from the Roy Inks Dam 
(Inks Lake Dam) upstream to the Lake Buchanan Dam.

•  Lake Limestone in Leon, Limestone, and Robertson counties 
comprises all impounded waters of the Navasota River from the 
Lake Limestone dam upstream to the Fort Parker State Park 
Lake Dam.

•  Lake Livingston in Leon, Houston, Madison, Polk, San Jacinto, 
Trinity, and Walker counties comprises all impounded waters of 
the Trinity River from the Lake Livingston Dam upstream to the 
lock and dam near State Hwy. 7.

•  Lake Lyndon B. Johnson in Burnet and Llano counties compris-
es all impounded waters of the Colorado River from the Alvin 
Wirtz Dam (Lake Lyndon B. Johnson Dam) upstream to the Roy 
Inks Dam (Inks Lake Dam) including the Llano River upstream to 
the State Hwy. 16 bridge and Sandy Creek upstream to the State 
Hwy. 71 bridge.

•  Lake Marble Falls in Burnet County comprises all impounded 
waters of the Colorado River from the Max Starcke Dam (Lake 
Marble Falls Dam) upstream to the Alvin Wirtz Dam (Lake Lyndon 
B. Johnson Dam).

•  Lake Murvaul in Panola County comprises all impounded  
waters of Murvaul Creek Bayou upstream from the Lake Murvaul 
Dam and Murvaul Creek Bayou downstream from the dam to the 
FM Road 1970 bridge.

•  Lake O’ The Pines in Camp, Marion, Morris, and Upshur  
counties comprises all impounded waters of Big Cypress Creek 
from Ferrell’s Bridge Dam (Lake O’ The Pines Dam) upstream to 
the U.S. Hwy. 259 bridge.

•  Lake Palestine in Anderson, Cherokee, Henderson, Smith, 
and Van Zandt counties comprises all impounded waters of the 
Neches River from the Blackburn Crossing Dam (Lake Palestine 
Dam) upstream to the FM Road 279 bridge,  
including Kickapoo and Flat creeks in Henderson County.

•  Lake Pat Mayse in Lamar County comprises all impounded 
waters of Sanders Creek from Pat Mayse Lake Dam upstream to 
County Road 35610.

•  O. H. Ivie Reservoir in Concho, Coleman, and Runnels counties 
comprises all impounded waters of the Colorado and Concho 
rivers from the S.W. Freese Dam upstream to:  the F.M. 129 
bridge on the Colorado River; and the confluence of Amos Creek 
and the Concho River.

•  Purtis Creek State Park Lake in Henderson and Van Zandt 
counties comprises all waters within the Purtis Creek State Park 
boundaries.

•  Lake Somerville in Burleson, Lee, Milam, and Washington coun-
ties comprises all impounded waters of Yegua, East Yegua and 
Middle Yegua Creeks upstream from the Lake Somerville Dam.

•  Lake Texoma in Cooke and Grayson counties comprises all 
impounded waters of the Red River from the Denison Dam 
upstream to Sycamore Creek.

•  Sam Rayburn Reservoir in Angelina, Jasper, Nacogdoches, 
Sabine, and San Augustine counties comprises all impounded 
waters of the Angelina River from the Sam Rayburn Dam 
upstream to the Union Pacific railroad bridge.

•  Toledo Bend Reservoir in Newton, Panola, Sabine, and Shelby 
counties comprises all impounded waters of the Sabine River 
from Toledo Bend Dam upstream to the Texas – Louisiana state 
line in Panola County.

•  Lake Travis in Burnet and Travis counties comprises 
all impounded waters of the Colorado River from the 
Mansfield Dam (Lake Travis Dam) upstream to the Max 
Starcke Dam (Lake Marble Falls Dam), including the 
Pedernales River upstream to the Hammetts Crossing-
Hamilton Pool Road bridge.
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FRESHWATER/SALTWATER BOUNDARIES
All public waters east and south of the following boundary are considered salt water: 
Beginning at the International Toll Bridge in Brownsville, 
northward along U.S. Hwy. 77 to the junction of Paredes Lines 
Road (FM Road 1847) in Brownsville, thence northward along 
FM Road 1847 to the junction of FM Road 106 east of Rio 
Hondo, thence westward along FM Road 106 to the junction 
of FM Road 508 in Rio Hondo, thence northward along FM 
Road 508 to the junction of FM Road 1420, thence northward 
along FM Road 1420 to the junction of State Hwy. 186 east of 
Raymondville, thence westward along State Hwy. 186 to the 
junction of U.S. Hwy. 77 near Raymondville, thence northward 
along U.S. Hwy. 77 to the junction of the Aransas River south 
of Woodsboro, thence eastward along the south shore of the 
Aransas River to the Junction of the Aransas River Road at the 
Bonnie View boat ramp; thence northward along the Aransas 
River Road to the junction of FM Road 136 to FM Road 2678 
to the junction of FM Road 774 in Refugio, thence eastward 
along FM Road 774 to the junction of State Hwy. 35 south of 
Tivoli, thence northward along State Hwy. 35 to the junction of 
State Hwy. 185 between Bloomington and Seadrift, 

northwestward along State Hwy. 185 to the junction of  
FM Road 616 in Bloomington, thence northeastward along 
FM Road 616 to the junction of State Hwy. 35 east of 
Blessing, thence southward along State Hwy. 35 to the 
junction of FM Road 521 north of Palacios, thence 
northeastward along FM Road 521 to the junction of State 
Hwy. 36 south of Brazoria, thence southward along State 
Hwy. 36 to the junction of FM Road 2004, thence northward 
along FM Road 2004 to the junction of Interstate Hwy. 45 
between Dickinson and La Marque, thence northwestward 
along Interstate Hwy. 45 to the junction of Interstate Hwy. 
610 in Houston, thence east and northward along Interstate 
Hwy. 610 to the junction of Interstate Hwy. 10 in Houston, 
thence eastward along Interstate Hwy. 10 to the junction of 
State Hwy. 73 in Winnie, thence eastward along State Hwy. 
73 to the junction of U.S. Hwy. 287 in Port Arthur, thence 
northwestward along U.S. Hwy. 287 to the junction of 
Interstate Hwy. 10 in Beaumont, thence eastward along 
Interstate Hwy. 10 to the Louisiana State Line.

The following public waters ARE NOT considered salt water: 
1.   waters of Spindletop Bayou inland from the concrete dam at Russels Landing on Spindletop Bayou in Jefferson County; 
2. north of the dam on Lake Anahuac in Chambers County; 
3.  the waters of Taylor Bayou and Big Hill Bayou inland from the saltwater locks on Taylor Bayou in Jefferson County; 
4.  Galveston County Reservoir on State Hwy. 146 and Galveston State Park 

Ponds #1 through #7 in Galveston County; 
5.  Lakeview City Park Lake, West Guth Park Pond, and Waldron Park Pond in 

Nueces County; 
6.  Lake Burke-Crenshaw and Lake Nassau in Harris County; 
7.   Fort Brown Resaca, Resaca de la Guerra, Resaca de la Palma, Resaca 

de los Cuates; 
8. Resaca de los Fresnos, Resaca Rancho Viejo, and 

Town Resaca in Cameron County; and 
9. Little Chocolate Bayou Park Ponds #1 and #2 in 

Port Lavacain Calhoun County

SPECIAL RESTRICTIONS FOR ALLIGATOR GAR
Temporary Closures
When conditions are conducive for spawning of alligator gar, 
the TPWD Executive Director may temporarily prohibit taking 
or attempting to take alligator gar in a specified area for a 
period up to 30 days. Examples include water temperatures 
between 68 to 82°F and occurrence of moderate flood levels 
as defined and reported by U.S. Geological Survey gauges 
(tpwd.texas.gov/oa/WaterTemp). Notice of this action will 
be posted on tpwd.texas.gov, distributed to news media, 
and shared through social media. The notice will specify the 
area to be closed and the date by which lawful fishing for 
alligator gar may resume. For current closure notices, visit 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/GarClosure.

Mandatory Harvest Reporting
All alligator gar harvested from the public waters of the state 
other than Falcon International Reservoir must be reported 
within 24 hours to the department via mobile app or online. 

Report your harvest with “My Texas Hunt Harvest” app (the 
App Store for IOS devices, or Google Play for Android devices), 
or visit tpwd.texas.gov/oa/gar.

Drawing for Harvest Opportunity on Trinity River
From September 1-30, anglers can enter a drawing that will 
allow persons selected to harvest one alligator gar over 48 
inches in length from the Trinity River. Anglers will be selected 
through a random draw of applicants and those selected will 
be notified by October 15. You would have to possess a fish-
ing license (or be otherwise exempted) to enter the drawing. 
Anglers chosen would receive a non-transferable harvest 
authorization to harvest one alligator gar from the date of 
issuance through August 31, 2024. The harvest authorization 
could be used day or night, and alligator gar could be taken by 
any legal means including archery equipment and crossbows. 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/GarDraw

HOW TO MEASURE FISH AND CRABS
Use these guidelines to measure fish correctly:

1. Place the fish on its side with the jaw closed.
2.  Squeeze the tail fin together or turn it in a way to 

obtain the maximum overall length.
3.   Measure a straight line from the tip of the snout 

to the extreme tip of the tail fin.

TIPS FOR CATCH-AND-RELEASE FISHING
Give your fish the best chance at survival by following these tips:

• Play and land fish as quickly as possible. 
•  Minimize the time fish is out of the water (no longer than 

you can hold your breath).
•  Wet your hands to avoid removing the protective mucus or 

“slime” on the fish.
•  Hold smaller fish (under 5 lbs.) vertically by the lower jaw. 

Never hold fish horizontally by its jaw unless supporting 
the fish with a second hand under its body.

•  Fish using barbless hooks, or tamp down the barb of your 
hook using needle-nose pliers. 

•  Attempt to remove all hooks before releasing a fish  
(most will not rust out). For details on hook removal,  
depressurizing overinflated air bladders, and more fish 
survival tips, see tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CatchAndRelease 

RELEASING SALTWATER FISHES 
When releasing a fish that seems unable to swim, cannot right 
itself or is showing a distended air bladder:
•  Gently insert a thin point or an approved device through 

the side of the fish immediately behind the upper part 
of the pectoral fin base. This is usually directly below the 
fourth or fifth spine.

•  Hold fish upright in water and face it into the current, 
gently forcing water through gills.

Distended air
bladder and 

gut lining

POINT OF
PENETRATION Reproduced from Queensland FMA, 

Australia, 1989

Below fourth or fifth
dorsal fin spine

For tips on releasing sharks see: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/sharks.
For device regulations for releasing reef fish, pg. 37.

SPECIAL AREA DESIGNATIONS AND RESTRICTIONS
•  It is a violation to move, remove, deface, alter, or destroy any sign, depth marker, or other informational signage placed by the 

department within the Redfish Bay State Scientific Area or to delineate boundaries of the Redfish Bay State Scientific Area. 
•  Portions of the Rio Grande adjacent to the Black Gap Wildlife Management Area are designated as a National “Wild and 

Scenic River.” Federal fishing rules apply.  nps.gov/bibe/learn/management/fishing_regulations.htm

FISH CONSUMPTION BANS AND ADVISORIES
For information:
• visit tpwd.texas.gov/oa/seafood
• call (800) 685-0361 (shellfish) or (512) 834-6757 (fish)
• email: seafood.regulatory@dshs.texas.gov

A U.S. Highway 77
B FM Road 1847
C FM Road 106
 FM Road 508
D FM Road 1420
E State Highway 186
F U.S. Highway 77
G FM Road 774
H State Highway 35
I State Highway 185
J FM Road 616
K State Highway 35
L FM Road 521
M State Highway 36
N FM Road 2004
O Interstate Highway 45
P Interstate Highway 610
Q Interstate Highway 10
R State Highway 73
S U.S. Highway 287
T Interstate Highway 10
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Freshwater Fishing
GENERAL FRESHWATER FISHING
• In fresh water, it is unlawful to fish with more than 100 hooks on all devices combined.
•  Please review General Regulation for Fresh and Salt Waters (pg. 22) for additional regulations, legal fishing devices, and 

means and methods. 

HARVEST REGULATIONS
•  Statewide regulations apply for all public fresh waters 

except for those noted in the “Exceptions to Statewide 
Freshwater Harvest Regulations” (pg. 32).

•  Possession limits are twice the statewide daily bag limits 
except for striped bass from Lake Texoma and alligator 
gar from Falcon International Reservoir (pgs. 31-34). For 
locations that have larger daily bag limits for some species 
(Caddo Reservoir, Lake Livingston, the Sabine River below 
Toledo Bend Reservoir, Sam Rayburn Reservoir, and 
Toledo Bend Reservoir), possession limits remain twice 
the statewide daily bag limits (pg. 31).

•  It is a violation to leave unattended for any period of time 
or anchor a barge, boat, or fishing platform in the Trinity 
River below Livingston Dam in an area 1,000 feet from the 
dam to a point 1,500 feet downstream from the dam:

 - for more than 10 hours in a 24-hour period without mov-
ing 100 feet or more during that time, or for five or more 
consecutive days, whether or not it has been moved.

•  For saltwater finfish species caught in the brackish or fresh 
waters of this state, the same statewide bag, possession, 
and length limits as listed on pgs. 38-38 apply.

STATEWIDE BAG AND LENGTH LIMITS FOR FRESHWATER FISH

SPECIES DAILY BAG LIMIT
LENGTH IN 

INCHES
(minimum)

Bass - largemouth
(listing for “Southeast Texas” for largemouth bass limit, pg. 33) 5

(in any combination)

14

Bass - smallmouth 14

Bass - Alabama, Guadalupe and spotted No Limit
Bass - striped and hybrid striped  
(also known as palmetto or sunshine bass)

5
(in any combination) 18

Bass - white 25 10

Bass - yellow No Limit No Limit

Catfish - Channel and blue (includes their hybrids and subspecies)
25 (in any combination -

 only 10 can be 20 
inches or greater in 

length)
No Limit

Catfish - flathead 5 18

Crappie - white and black, their hybrids and subspecies 25
(in any combination) 10

Paddlefish No harvest allowed
Gar - alligator
See Special Restrictions - includes mandatory harvest reporting (pg. 29).
See notes on “Lawful Archery Equipment” (pg. 24). 

1 No Limit

Shad - gizzard and threadfin
Collection for bait or other personal use and transport from a public 
water body in containers that total 30 gallons or more requires the 
Permit to Possess or Sell Nongame Fish Taken from Public Fresh 
Waters, tpwd.texas.gov/oa/FishForms

No Limit No Limit

Sunfish - Various species including  
bluegill, redear, green, warmouth, and longear No Limit No Limit

Trout - Rainbow and brown, their hybrids and subspecies 5
(in any combination) No Limit

Walleye, Saugeye 5 (only 2 can be less 
than 16 inches in length) No Limit

For fishes not listed above, there are no statewide bag or length limits. However, there are special requirements associated with 
the harvest of harmful or potentially harmful exotic fishes (tilapia, grass carp), pg. 27.

EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE BAG AND LENGTH LIMITS FOR FRESHWATER FISH
Bait Fish Exceptions
In Brewster, Crane, Crockett, Culberson, Ector, El Paso, Jeff Davis, Hudspeth, Kinney, Loving, Pecos, Presidio, Reeves, Terrell, 
Upton, Val Verde, Ward, and Winkler counties, the only fishes that may be used or possessed for bait while fishing are common 
carp, fathead minnows, gizzard and threadfin shad, golden shiners, goldfish, Mexican tetra, Rio Grande cichlid, silversides 
(Atherinidae family) and sunfish (Lepomis).

Exceptions to Statewide Harvest Regulations
How to use the table: First, locate fishing location (listed in alphabetical order). Then check the counties listed to the right to 
make sure you have the correct location. If those match, note the regulation exceptions. Exception codes are listed beginning 
on pg. 34. EXAMPLE: Lake Bastrop is located in Bastrop County. Exceptions (to statewide regulations) are Bass7 and 
Gear3. Please read (and comply with) each exception. MLL = Minimum Length Limit. SLL = Slot Length Limit.
If your fishing location is not listed in the exceptions table, statewide regulations apply. If the lake is 75 acres or smaller and 
within a municipal, city, county, or state park, it is most likely a Community Fishing Lake (CFL, definition pg. 84). See the 
Community Fishing Lakes listing for regulation exceptions on these water bodies.

EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE FRESHWATER HARVEST REGULATIONS
LOCATION COUNTY EXCEPTIONS

Abilene State Park Lake Taylor Ctfsh2 Gear2
Alan Henry Garza Bass10
Athens Henderson Bass7
Bastrop Bastrop Bass7 Gear3
Bellwood Smith Bass1 Gear3
Belton Bell, Coryell Ctfsh1
Bob Sandlin Titus, Camp, Franklin Ctfsh1
Boerne City Park Lake Kendall Gear3
Braunig Bexar Ctfsh2 RDrm1
Bois d’Arc Lake Fannin Bass1
Brushy Creek Lake and Brushy Creek downstream 
from the lake to the Williamson/Milam County line Williamson Gear 2 CFL1

Bryan Brazos Gear3
Buck Kimble Bass4 CFL1 Gear2

Caddo* Harrison, Marion Bass11
Crpie1

Ctfsh3
WHB1 Ctfsh4

Calaveras Bexar Ctfsh2 RDrm1
Canyon Lake Project #6 Lubbock CFL1 Gear2
Casa Blanca Webb Bass6
Choke Canyon Live Oak, McMullen Ctfsh2
Cleburne State Park Lake Johnson CFL1 Gear2
Coffee Mill Fannin Gear3
Community Fishing Lakes Various - definition, pg. 85 CFL1 Gear2
Concho River (North Concho River from O.C. Fisher 
dam to the Bell Street dam and South Concho River 
from Lone Wolf dam to Bell Street dam)

Tom Green CFL1 Gear2

Conroe* Montgomery, Walker Bass5 Ctfsh1
Davy Crockett Fannin Bass1 Gear3
Deputy Darren Goforth Park Lake Harris CFL1 Gear2
Devils River (including tributaries) from State Hwy. 163 
bridge downstream to the confluence with Big Satan Creek Val Verde Bass3

Dixieland Cameron CFL1 Gear3
Elm Fort Bend CFL1 Gear2
Fairfield Freestone Bass6
Falcon Starr, Zapata Gar2
Fayette County Fayette Bass8 Ctfsh2 Gear4
Forest Park Denton Bass4 CFL1 Gear2
Fork Hopkins, Rains, Wood Bass8 Crpie2
Fort Parker State Park Lake Limestone Gear2
Generations Park Tarrant Bass4 

* Reservoir boundaries (pg. 28)      
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EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE FRESHWATER HARVEST REGULATIONS
LOCATION COUNTY EXCEPTIONS

Gilmer Upshur Bass6
Grapevine Denton, Tarrant Bass10
Guadalupe River (for additional restrictions on use of 
artificial lures, see “Pole and Line,” pg. 24 ) Comal Trout1 Trout2

Houston County Houston Bass7
Hubbard Creek Stephens Ctfsh1
Jacksonville Cherokee Bass10
Joe Pool Dallas, Ellis, Tarrant Bass7
Kirby Taylor Ctfsh1
Kurth Angelina Bass1
Kyle Hays C&R1 Gear2
Lady Bird (Town) Travis Bass7 Carp1

Lake O’ The Pines* Camp, Harrison, Marion, 
Morris, Upshur Crpie2

Lavon Collin Ctfsh1
Lewisville Denton Ctfsh1

Livingston* Houston, Leon, Madison, Polk, 
San Jacinto, Trinity, Walker Ctfsh3 Gar3

Lost Maples State Natural Area Bandera Bass3 CFL1 Gear2
Marine Creek Tarrant Bass6
Mill Creek Lake Van Zandt Bass1
Mineral Wells Parker Gear2
Monticello Titus Bass8
Moss Cooke Bass1
Murvaul* Panola Bass7
Nacogdoches Nacogdoches Bass1
Naconiche Nacogdoches Bass1 Gear3
Nasworthy Tom Green Crpie1
Nelson Park Lake Taylor Bass4 CFL1 Gear2
O.H. Ivie Coleman, Concho, Runnels Bass10

Palestine Anderson, Cherokee,  
Henderson, Smith Ctfsh1

Pflugerville Travis Bass6 Gear1
Pilant Fort Bend CFL1 Gear2
Pinkston Shelby Bass7 Gear4
Proctor Comanche Ctfsh2
Purtis Creek SP Lake* Henderson, Van Zandt Bass1 Gear1
Raven Walker Bass1 Gear2 Ctfsh2
Ray Hubbard Collin, Dallas, Kaufman, Rockwall Ctfsh1
Red River below Lake Texoma including Shawnee Creek Grayson STB3 Ctfsh6

Red River below Lake Texoma Bowie, Grayson, Fannin, 
Lamar, Red River Gar1

Richland Chambers Freestone, Navarro Ctfsh1
Sections of Rivers within State Parks Various Gear5
Sabine River (from Toledo Bend Dam to Sabine Pass) Jefferson, Newton, Orange Bass9  

Sabine River (from Toledo Bend Dam to I.H. 10 bridge) Newton, Orange Ctfsh3
STB2

Ctfsh4
WHB1

Crpie1

Sam Rayburn Angelina, Jasper, Nacogdo-
ches,, San Augustine Ctfsh3

Sections of Rivers within State Parks Various Gear5
Sheldon Harris Ctfsh2 Gear2
Southeast Texas (includes public waters bordering 
adjacent counties)

Chambers, Galveston, 
Hardin, Jefferson, Liberty (south 
of U.S. Hwy. 90), Newton, Orange

Bass12

* Reservoir boundaries (pg. 28)      

EXCEPTIONS TO STATEWIDE FRESHWATER HARVEST REGULATIONS
LOCATION COUNTY EXCEPTIONS

State Park Lakes (fishing from any dock, pier, jetty, or 
manmade structure) Various Gear5

Tankersley Titus Gear3
Tawakoni Hunt, Rains, Van Zandt Ctfsh1

Texoma Cooke, Grayson Ctfsh6 
STB1

Crpie3 
WHB1

 Gar1

Timpson Shelby Bass7

Toledo Bend* Newton, Panola, Sabine, 
Shelby

Bass2 
Crpie1

Ctfsh3 
STB2

Ctfsh4 
WHB1

Trinity River Polk, San Jacinto Ctfsh5 STB4 Shad1
Trinity River and all tributary waters (from the I-30 
bridge in Dallas downstream to the I-10 bridge in 
Chambers County, including the East Fork of the 
Trinity River upstream to the dam at Lake Ray Hubbard 
and Lake Livingston)

Anderson, Chambers, Dallas, 
Ellis, Freestone, Henderson, 
Houston, Kaufman, Leon, 
Liberty, Madison, Navarro, 
Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity, Walker

Gar3

Tucker Lake Palo Pinto, Stephens CFL1 Gear2
Waco McLennan Ctfsh1
Walter E. Long Travis Bass7
Welsh Titus Bass6
Wheeler Branch Somervell Bass7 Gear1

* Reservoir boundaries (pg. 28)      

REGULATION EXCEPTION CODES AND DESCRIPTIONS FOR FRESHWATER FISH

BASS (Alabama, Guadalupe, Largemouth, 
Smallmouth, and Spotted)
Bass1 - For largemouth bass, only bass 16 inches in length 
or less may be retained. Daily bag limit for all species of 
black bass is 5 bass in any combination. Bass 24 inches or 
greater in length may be temporarily retained in a live well or 
other aerated holding device and immediately weighed using 
personal scales. Bass weighing 13 pounds or more may be 
donated to the ShareLunker Program; otherwise, the fish must 
be immediately released in the lake where caught. Anglers 
wishing to donate their bass must immediately cease fishing 
and contact TPWD at (903) 681-0550. Anglers may not 
remove the bass from the immediate vicinity of the reservoir 
unless instructed to do so by TPWD staff. Bass not accepted 
by TPWD must be immediately released.

Bass2 - For largemouth bass, MLL = 14 inches. Daily bag limit 
for all species of black bass is 8 bass in any combination. 
Possession limit = 10.
Bass3 - Catch and release only for all five species of bass.
Bass4 - Catch and release only for largemouth bass.
Bass5 - For largemouth bass, MLL = 16 inches. Daily bag limit 
for all species of black bass is 5 bass in any combination.
Bass6 - For largemouth bass, MLL = 18 inches. Daily bag limit 
for all species of black bass is 5 bass in any combination.
Bass7 - For largemouth bass, SLL = 14–21 inches. Bass 
14 inches and less or 21 inches or greater in length may be 
retained. Only one bass 21 inches or greater may be retained. 
Daily bag limit for all species of black bass is 5 bass in any 
combination.
Bass8 - For largemouth bass, SLL = 16–24 inches. Bass 
16 inches and less or 24 inches or greater in length may be 

retained. Only 1 bass 24 inches or greater may be retained. 
Daily bag limit for all species of black bass is 5 bass in any 
combination.

Bass9 - For largemouth bass, MLL = 12 inches. Daily bag limit 
for all species of black bass is 8 bass in any combination. 
Possession limit = 10.

Bass10 - For largemouth bass, no MLL. Only 2 bass less than 
18 inches may be retained. Daily bag limit for all species of 
black bass is 5 bass in any combination.

Bass11 - For largemouth bass, SLL = 14-18 inches. Bass 14 
inches and less or 18 inches or greater in length may be re-
tained. Daily bag limit for all species of black bass is 8 bass in 
any combination of which no more than 4 may be largemouth 
bass 18 inches or greater. Possession limit = 10.

Bass12 -  For largemouth bass, MLL = 12 inches. Daily bag 
limit for all species of black bass is 5 bass in any combination.

BASS (Striped and their Hybrids)
STB1 - For striped bass and hybrid striped bass, no MLL, 
daily bag = 10 and possession limit = 20, and only 2 striped 
or hybrid striped bass, 20 inches or greater, may be retained 
each day. Culling of striped bass and hybrid striped bass is 
prohibited.

STB2 - For striped bass, no MLL, daily bag = 5, and only 2 
striped bass, 30 inches or greater, may be retained each day.

STB3 - For striped bass and hybrid striped bass, no MLL and 
daily bag = 5. Culling of striped bass is prohibited.

STB4 - For the Trinity River from the Lake Livingston dam 
downstream to the FM Road 3278 bridge, striped bass MLL = 
18 inches and daily bag = 2.

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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BASS (White)
WHB1 - For white bass, no MLL and daily bag = 25.

COMMUNITY FISHING LAKE
CFL1 - Daily bag limit of 5 (all species combined) with 1 black 
bass 14 inches or greater in length.

COMMON CARP
Carp1 - For common carp, only 1 carp 33 inches or greater 
may be retained each day. There is no daily bag limit for carp 
less than 33 inches in length.

CATCH AND RELEASE
C&R1 - No harvest of largemouth bass, channel catfish, or 
any sunfish species is allowed.

CATFISH (Blue, Channel, and Flathead)
Ctfsh1 - For blue and channel catfish, no MLL; daily bag limit 
= 25 fish in any combination. In the 25-fish bag, no more than 
5 fish 20 inches or greater in length may be retained, and no 
more than 1 of those can be 30 inches or greater in length.  

Ctfsh2 - For blue and channel catfish, MLL = 14 inches; 
combined daily bag limit = 15.  

Ctfsh3 - For blue and channel catfish, no MLL; daily bag and 
possession limit = 50 in any combination, of which no more 
than 5 may be 30 inches or greater in length.  

Ctfsh4 - For flathead catfish, MLL = 18 inches; daily bag and 
possession limit = 10.  

Ctfsh5 - For the Trinity River from the Lake Livingston dam 
downstream to the FM Road 3278 bridge, blue and channel 
catfish MLL=12 inches; daily bag limit=10, of which only 2 
fish can be 24 inches or greater in length.  

Ctfsh6 - For blue and channel catfish, no minimum length; 
combined daily bag limit = 15 fish. Only 1 blue catfish 30 
inches or greater in length may be retained each day. For 
flathead catfish, no MLL; daily bag = 5. 

CRAPPIE (BLACK AND WHITE)
Crpie1 - For black and white crappie, there is no MLL and 
daily bag = 25 in any combination.

Crpie2 - For black and white crappie caught from DEC. 1 
through the last day of FEB., there is no MLL, daily bag = 25 
in any combination, and all crappie caught must be retained.  
March-November, MLL = 10 inches. Year-round daily bag = 25 
in any combination.

Crpie3 - For black and white crappie, MLL = 10 inches and 
daily bag = 37 in any combination. Possession limit = 50.

GAR (ALLIGATOR)
Gar1 - During May, no person shall take alligator gar from, or 
possess alligator gar while on, the Red River (including Lake 
Texoma) and all tributaries that drain directly or indirectly 
to the Red River on the Texas/Oklahoma border in Cooke, 
Grayson, Fannin, Lamar, Red River, and Bowie counties.

Gar2 - For alligator gar, daily bag = 5. Possession limit = 10.

Gar3 - Only alligator gar less than 48 inches in length may 
be retained. Daily bag limit = 1. Between one half-hour after 
sunset and one half-hour before sunrise, no person may 
take or possess an alligator gar by means of lawful archery 
equipment or crossbow unless they possess a harvest 
authorization (Special Restrictions for Alligator Gar; Drawing 
for Harvest – pg. 29).

GEAR AND METHODS 
(Legal Fishing Devices and Restrictions, pg. 23)

Gear1 - Fishing is by pole and line only.

Gear2 - Fishing is by pole and line only. Anglers may use no 
more than two poles while fishing.

Gear3 - Use of juglines, throwlines and trotlines is prohibited.

Gear4 - Use of trotlines is prohibited.

Gear5 - Fishing is by pole and line only. Anglers may use no 
more than two poles while fishing from any dock, pier, jetty, or 
man-made structure.

RED DRUM
RDrm1 - For red drum, MLL = 20 inches and daily bag = 3 and 
no maximum length limit.

SHAD (GIZZARD AND THREADFIN SHAD)
Shad1 - For the Trinity River below Lake Livingston between 
Polk and San Jacinto counties, the daily bag for shad = 500 
and the possession limit = 1,000 fish in any combination.

TROUT (RAINBOW AND BROWN TROUT)
Trout1 - For rainbow and brown trout in the Guadalupe River 
800 yards downstream from the Canyon Dam release and 
extending downstream to the easternmost Hwy. 306 bridge 
crossing, length limit is a 12-18-inch slot. Trout 12 inches 
and less or 18 inches or greater in length may be retained. 
Daily bag = 5 trout and only 1 trout 18 inches or greater in 
length may be retained. Harvest of trout is by artificial lures 
only. Additional restrictions on use of artificial lures, pg. 24 
under “Pole and Line.”

Trout2 - For rainbow and brown trout in the Guadalupe River 
from the easternmost Hwy. 306 bridge crossing downstream 
to the second bridge crossing River Road, MLL is 18 inches 
and daily bag is 1 fish. Harvest of trout is by artificial lures 
only. Additional restrictions on use of artificial lures, pg. 24 
under “Pole and Line.”

Yellow bass
A Stripes distinct, broken above anal fin
B Color – silvery yellow
C Dorsal fins joined
D    Does not have a tooth patch near the 

midline towards the back of the tongue

White bass
A Stripes faint, only one extends to tail
B Body deep, more than 1/3 length
C Has one tooth patch near the midline 
 towards the back of the tongue

Striped bass
A Stripes distinct, several extend to tail
B Body slender, less than 1/3 length
C  Has two, distinct tooth patches near the 

midline towards the back of the tongue

Hybrid striped bass 
(also known as Palmetto or Sunshine bass) 
A  Stripes distinct, usually broken, several 

extend to tail.
B Body deep, more than 1/3 length
C  Has two, tooth patches near the midline on 

the back of the tongue. Tooth patches may be 
distinct or close together

NOTE: For hybrid striped bass, all characteristics 
should be considered for identification, as 
characteristics in individual fish may vary.

IDENTIFICATION OF YELLOW, WHITE, STRIPED, AND HYBRID STRIPED BASS

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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Smallmouth bass
A Vertical barring along the sides. 
B  Jaw does not extend BEYOND the back 

margin of the eye when mouth is closed.
C  Brownish-green color; white belly area does 

not extend high on the sides.

Largemouth bass
A Definite lateral stripe.
B Jaw extends well BEHIND the back margin 
 of the eye when mouth is closed.

Alabama, Guadalupe, and Spotted bass
A  Irregular lateral stripe is similar to but more 

broken than largemouth bass.
B  Jaw does not extend BEYOND the back 

margin of the eye when mouth is closed.
C  Spots on scales form “rows” of stripes on 

whitish belly area.

IDENTIFICATION OF ALABAMA, GUADALUPE, SPOTTED, LARGEMOUTH, AND 
SMALLMOUTH BASS

Saltwater Fishing
GENERAL SALTWATER FISHING
•   It is unlawful to anchor or moor a vessel, barge, or 

structure for a period exceeding two consecutive days 
within the area in Cedar Bayou between a department 
sign erected where Mesquite Bay flows into Cedar Bayou 
and the department sign erected near the point where the 
pass empties into the Gulf of Mexico.

•  For freshwater finfish species caught in the public salt 
waters of this state, statewide bag, possession and length 
limits as listed on pg. 31 apply.

•  Please review General Regulation for Fresh and Salt 
Waters for additional regulations, legal fishing devices, 
and means and methods.

STATE WATERS – FEDERAL WATERS
Anglers fishing more than 9 nautical miles off the coast of 
Texas are in federal waters and are subject to rules and regula-
tions that may differ from those in state waters. One example 
is the federal requirement to use non-stainless circle hooks 
when fishing for reef fish. Recreational anglers must have a 
Texas fishing license and saltwater endorsement to possess 
in state water or land in Texas any fish taken in federal waters. 

TPWD has the authority to open and close the red snapper 
fishery in federal water. Anglers may not possess more than 
4 red snapper while fishing in state waters. For the latest 
information regarding season dates: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/
RedSnapper. Federal commercial and recreational fishing 
rules are available at: gulfcouncil.org/fishing-regulations.

Anglers fishing for any species of reef fish must possess a 
descending device or venting tool ready to be deployed on fish 
exhibiting signs of barotrauma. Definitions, pg. 87. 

The limits and restrictions in this guide apply to aquatic life 
caught in the public waters of Texas out to 9 nautical miles 
in the Gulf of Mexico, and to aquatic life caught between 9 
and 200 nautical miles in the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) 
and possessed in state waters or landed in this state. Federal 
law also regulates species between 9 and 200 nautical 
miles managed under a Federal Fishery Management Plan. 
Importation of Wildlife Resources, pg. 21.

Fishing on state-sponsored offshore artificial reefs is subject 
to the same regulations as other offshore locations: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/ArtificialReef.

IT IS UNLAWFUL TO POSSESS AQUATIC LIFE IN TEXAS 
WATERS THAT WAS ILLEGALLY TAKEN IN FEDERAL WATERS.

BAG AND LENGTH LIMITS FOR SALTWATER FISH
The possession limit is equal to double the bag limit unless otherwise noted.

SPECIES DAILY BAG
LIMIT

LENGTH IN INCHES
CLARIFICATION

Minimum Maximum
Amberjack - greater 1 38 No limit
Bass - Striped, its hybrids and 
subspecies

5 (in any 
combination) 18 No limit

Catfish - Channel and blue, 
their hybrids and subspecies

25 (in any com-
bination-  only 
10 can be 20 

inches or greater 
in length)

No limit No limit

Catfish - flathead 5 18 No limit
Catfish - gafftopsail No limit 14 No limit
Cobia 1 40 No limit

Drum - black 5 14 30

No more than one black drum over 52 
inches may be retained per person per day 
and counts as part of the daily bag and 
possession limit.

Drum - red 3 20 28

During a license year, one red drum over 
the stated maximum length limit may be 
retained when affixed with a properly com-
pleted Red Drum Tag and one red drum 
over the stated maximum length limit may 
be retained when affixed with a properly 
completed Bonus Red Drum Tag* Any fish 
retained under authority of a Red Drum Tag 
or a Bonus Red Drum Tag may be retained 
in addition to the daily bag and possession 
limit as stated in this section.

*Digital tags must be reported using the My Texas Hunt Harvest (MTHH) mobile or online app in lieu of being affixed.

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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BAG AND LENGTH LIMITS FOR SALTWATER FISH
The possession limit is equal to double the bag limit unless otherwise noted.

SPECIES DAILY BAG
LIMIT

LENGTH IN INCHES
CLARIFICATION

Minimum Maximum

Flounder - all species, their 
hybrids and subspecies 5 15 No limit

Daily bag is 5 fish except Nov 1-Dec 14 
(fishery closed;  bag limit = 0). 
Possession limit = the daily bag.

Gar - alligator
See Special Restrictions - 
includes mandatory harvest 
reporting (pg. 29)

1 No limit No limit

Grouper - black 4 24 No limit
Grouper - gag 2 24 No limit
Grouper - goliath (formerly 
called Jewfish) 0 Catch and release only

Grouper - Nassau 0 Catch and release only
Mackerel - king 3 27 No limit
Mackerel - Spanish 15 14 No limit
Marlin - blue No limit 131 No limit
Marlin - white No limit 86 No limit

Mullet - all species, their 
hybrids and subspecies No limit No limit

12 
(during 

Oct - Jan)

May not take from public waters, or 
possess on board a boat, mullet over 
12 inches. No limits apply during other 
months.

Sailfish No limit 84 No limit

Seatrout - spotted 5 15 25

No more than 1 spotted seatrout over the 
stated maximum length may be retained 
per person per day. Counts as part of the 
daily bag and possession limit. 
Possession = double the daily bag limit.

Shark 
Atlantic sharpnose, blacktip, 
bonnethead

1

24 No limit Special Regulation: The daily bag limit 
is 1 fish for all allowable shark species 
INCLUDING Atlantic sharpnose, blacktip 
and bonnethead. Non-offset, non-stainless 
steel circle hooks MUST be used when 
fishing for sharks in state waters.

Shark 
Allowable species 64 No limit

Shark 
Hammerhead (smooth, great, 
scalloped)

99 No limit

Shark 
Prohibited species 0

Catch and release only.
Non-offset, non-stainless 
steel circle hooks MUST 

be used.

Atlantic angel, Basking, Bigeye sand tiger, 
Bigeye sixgill, Bigeye thresher, Bignose, 
Caribbean reef, Caribbean sharpnose, 
Dusky, Galapagos, Longfin mako, 
Narrowtooth, Night, Oceanic Whitetip, 
Sandbar, Sand tiger, Sevengill, Shortfin 
mako, Silky, Sixgill, Smalltail, Whale

Sheepshead 5 15 No limit
Snapper - lane No limit 8 No limit

Snapper - red 4 15 No limit
May be taken using pole and line. Only circle 
hooks may be used when using natural bait. 
Additional regulations, pgs. 24 & 37. 

Snapper - vermilion No limit 10 No limit
Snook 1 24 28
Tarpon 1 85 No limit
Triggerfish - gray 20 16 No limit
Tripletail 3 17 No limit

HOW TO ATTACH RED DRUM TAG
For printed license holders, immediately upon retaining a fish:

1. Remove tag from license and use entire tag.
2. Fill in ALL information spaces on front of tag.
3. Cut out day and month.
4.      Attach tag with a string or wire to the narrowest  

part of the tail, just ahead of the tail fin.
For electronic tagging instructions: tpwd.texas.gov/digitaltags

SALTWATER FREEZE EVENTS
When water temperatures on the coast are predicted to fall below 40°F, the TPWD executive director may close one or more of 
the sites listed on the website below for saltwater fishing until the threat from the freeze event is over. This Notice of Closure will 
be posted online and shared with news and social media. Names and images of coastal waters that may be closed to fishing 
during freeze conditions can be found at: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/SaltwaterFreeze. 

Shellfish and Other Aquatic Life
CRAB REGULATIONS
• It is UNLAWFUL to place, fish, or leave a crab trap or its components in coastal waters from Feb 16-25.
• Crabs may be taken for personal use (bait or food) with a recreational fishing license but may not be sold.
•  With a recreational fishing license, it is lawful to take, attempt to take, or possess crabs and ghost shrimp by means, in 

numbers, and of sizes ONLY as described below.

RECREATIONAL CRABBING DEVICES AND RESTRICTIONS
Crab Line
Crab Trap

Net
Folding Panel Traps 

Sand Pumps
Umbrella Net

Other Devices

Full list of definitions of these devices, pg. 23 

CRAB DAILY BAG, POSSESSION AND LENGTH LIMITS
SPECIES DAILY BAG POSSESSION MINIMUM LENGTH EXCEPTIONS

Blue crab No limit No limit

5 inches (measured 
across widest point of 
body from tip of spine to 
tip of spine, pg. 30)

No more than 5% by number, of undersized 
blue crabs may be possessed for bait pur-
poses only and must be placed in a separate 
container.
May not possess egg-bearing (sponge) crabs.
May not possess a female crab that has its 
abdominal apron removed.

Stone crab
(right claw
 only)

No limit No limit

2-1/2 inches claw 
(measured from tip of 
claw to first joint behind 
the immovable claw, 
pg. 30)

Only the right claw may be retained or pos-
sessed. Body must be immediately returned to 
the water from which it was taken.

Ghost shrimp 20 20 per person None

RECREATIONAL OYSTER REGULATIONS
•  Oysters taken for personal use (food) with recreational 

licenses may not be sold.
•  Oysters may be taken by hand, with tongs, or by oyster 

dredge. Oyster dredges may not be more than 14 inches 
in width.

•  A vessel used while engaged in fishing with tongs or a 
dredge requires the purchase of an additional “sport oyster 
boat” commercial fishing license (Resident: Item 328, $13; 
Non-resident: Item 428, $51). For information, pg. 10. 

•  Oysters may be taken only from waters ap-
proved by the Texas Department of State Health 
Services Seafood and Aquatic Life Group. 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/ShellfishHarvestMaps.  

•  Oysters may only be taken from marked private leases 
with permission of the lessee.

•  Recreational Seasons: Monday–Saturday, Nov 1 – Apr 30, 
sunrise–3:30 p.m.

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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Length and Possession Limits
•  Oysters must be 3 inches or larger as measured by the 

greatest length of the shell.
•  Oysters 3/4-inch to 3 inches and dead oyster shell greater 

than 3/4-inch (measured along any axis) must be culled 
and returned to the reef from which taken.

•  Oysters 3/4-inch to 3 inches and dead oyster shell greater 
than 3/4-inch (measured along any axis) may not make 
up more than 5% by number of oysters in possession.

•  No more than two sacks of legal oysters may be pos-
sessed per person. A sack is defined as 110 pounds of 
oysters including dead oyster shell and the sack.

The following minor bays are CLOSED 
to oyster harvest: 
• Christmas Bay, Brazoria County
• Carancahua Bay, Calhoun and Matagorda County
• Powderhorn Lake, Calhoun County
• Hynes Bay, Refugio County
• St. Charles Bay, Aransas County
• South Bay, Cameron County
•  Areas along all shorelines with state health department 

approved or conditionally approved areas for shellfish har-
vest extending 300 feet from the water’s edge or exposed 
oysters inside of the 300-foot area.

RECREATIONAL SHRIMPING REGULATIONS
•  Shrimp may be taken for personal use (bait or food) with a 

recreational fishing license but may not be sold.
•  A person taking or attempting to take shrimp from salt  

water for non-commercial purposes is required to have a 
valid fishing license and a saltwater fishing endorsement.

Legal Sport Shrimping Devices
• Cast Net (pg. 23 for cast net restrictions)
• Seine (pg. 25 for seine restrictions)

•  Individual Bait-Shrimp Trawl with Individual Bait-Shrimp 
Trawl Tag (Item 334 - $37) (pg. 26 and below)

 - Only one trawl per boat is allowed.
 -  Must have an individual bait-shrimp trawl tag in  
possession while trawling (pg. 26).

 -  Must not be greater than 20 feet in width between the 
doors.

 -  Mesh size must not be smaller than 8-3/4 inches over a 
consecutive series of five stretched meshes.

 - Boards must not be larger than 450 square inches each.

COASTAL WATER AREAS (all the salt waters of the state)

OUTSIDE WATER The Gulf of Mexico extending from the shoreline seaward to nine nautical miles. May not take shrimp 
from outside waters during closed seasons (pg. 42)

INSIDE WATER

All bays, passes, rivers, or other bodies of water landward from the shoreline along the Gulf of Mexico. 
In these waters, the tide rises and falls and saltwater shrimp are found or migrate. Shrimping is not 
permitted within any natural or man-made pass leading from the inside waters to the outside waters of 
the state

MAJOR BAYS

Sabine Lake north of Cameron Causeway to south of a line marked by the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway 
(Sabine Neches Canal/Sabine River) between the easternmost tip of Goat Island to the westernmost tip 
of Stewts Island
Trinity Bay southward from a line extending from the mouth of Double Bayou in Chambers County to 
Double Bayou Channel Marker 14, to Separator C-2, to Point Barrow in Chambers County
Galveston Bay
East Bay westward from a line extending from Frozen Point to the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway Marker 12
Matagorda Bay westward of a line extending from a location on the mainland (where a line running 
immediately northwest [bearing 330 degrees] from Shellfish Marker A intersects the mainland), thence 
southeasterly to Shellfish Marker A located near the mainland, thence to Shellfish Marker B located near 
the end of Shell Island Reef, thence to the tide gauge located near the Matagorda Peninsula, and thence 
southeasterly [bearing 153 degrees] to the Matagorda Peninsula
East Matagorda Bay
Tres Palacios Bay south of a line from Grassey Point to the mouth of Pilkington Bayou
Espiritu Santo Bay
Lavaca Bay southward of State Hwy. 35
San Antonio Bay southward of a line from McDowell Point to Mosquito Point
Aransas Bay
Corpus Christi Bay exclusive of the area bounded by a line extending from the Gulf Intracoastal 
Waterway at the southwest point of the Dagger Island chain, along Dagger Island to the southeast tip 
of Ransom Island, then southeast to the westernmost point of land north of Marker 14 in the Corpus 
Christi Ship Channel
All exclusive of tributary bays, bayous, inlets, lakes and rivers

COASTAL WATER AREAS (all the salt waters of the state)

BAIT BAYS
(includes major 
bays and those 
listed here)

Chocolate Bay
West Bay south and west of Interstate Hwy. 45 Causeway Bridge and the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway 
inclusive of the area south of a line extending westward from Interstate Hwy. 45 Causeway Bridge at 
Virginia Point, along the southern edge of Tiki Island to the northeastern tip of North Deer Island at 
Channel Marker 48
Trinity Bay northward from a line extending from the mouth of Double Bayou in Chambers County to 
Double Bayou Channel Marker 14, to Separator C-2, to Point Barrow in Chambers County
The Old Brazos River lying north of the Gulf Intracoastal Waterway in Brazoria County
Upper Laguna Madre
Baffin Bay
Alazan Bay
Barroom Bay
Lower Laguna Madre, including the Brownsville Ship Channel
The entire Gulf Intracoastal Waterway, exclusive of all tributaries

NURSERY 
AREAS
(All Shrimping 
Prohibited) 

Those coastal waters not specifically named above as Major Bays or Bait Bays are considered Nursery 
Areas. Includes tributary bays, bayous, inlets, lakes, and rivers that serve as significant growth and 
development environments for postlarval and juvenile shrimp. Does not include outside waters, major 
bays, or bait bays

RECREATIONAL BAIT SHRIMPING (MAJOR BAYS AND BAIT BAYS)
LOCATION SEASON HOURS LIMITS

Major Bays 
and Bait Bays Year-round 30 minutes before sunrise 

to 30 minutes after sunset

2 quarts/person (heads attached)
4 quarts/boat (heads attached) on boats with 
individual bait shrimp trawl
No count size restriction

RECREATIONAL SHRIMPING FOR PURPOSES OTHER THAN BAIT (MAJOR BAYS ONLY)
LOCATION SEASON HOURS LIMITS

Major Bays 
ONLY

Spring
May 15 – Jul 15

30 minutes before sunrise 
to 30 minutes after sunset

15 pounds/person/day (heads attached) 
No count size restrictions

Fall 
Aug 15 –Nov 30

30 minutes before sunrise 
to 30 minutes after sunset

15 pounds/person/day (heads attached) 
No count size restrictions

RECREATIONAL SHRIMPING IN OUTSIDE WATERS — SOUTHERN ZONE
(South of a line from the Corpus Christi Fish Pass [Latitude 27° 40’ 34”] to the Mexican Border). Dates may be changed by the 
department providing 72 hours public notice on new closing dates and 24 hours public notice on new opening dates.

LOCATION SEASON HOURS LIMITS

Beyond 5 
nautical miles

Dec 1 - May 15
Jul 16 - Nov 30 Day and Night 100 pounds onboard/day (heads attached)

Inside 5  
nautical miles

Jul 16-Nov 30
30 minutes before sunrise 
to 30 minutes after sunset 
(closed at night)

100 pounds onboard/day (heads attached)

CLOSED SEASON
Dec 1 - May 15 N/A N/A

Inside 9  
nautical miles

SUMMER CLOSED 
SEASON
May 15 - Jul 15

Day and Night CLOSED SEASON

The National Marine Fisheries Service (NMFS) may close the Exclusive Economic Zone off Texas (9-200 nautical miles) at the 
same time Texas waters are closed. For additional information call (727) 824-5305.
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RECREATIONAL SHRIMPING IN OUTSIDE WATERS — NORTHERN ZONE
(North of a line from the Corpus Christi Fish Pass [Latitude 27° 40’ 34”] to the Louisiana Border)
Dates may be changed by the department providing 72 hours public notice on new closing dates and 24 hours public notice 
on new opening dates.

LOCATION SEASON HOURS LIMITS

Beyond 5 
nautical miles

Dec 1 - May 15 
Jul 16 - Nov 30 Day and Night 100 pounds onboard/day (heads attached)

Inside 5 
nautical miles

Feb 16 – May 15
Jul 16 - Nov 30

30 minutes before sunrise 
to 30 minutes after sunset 
(closed at night)

100 pounds onboard/day (heads attached)

CLOSED SEASON
Dec 1 - Feb 15 N/A N/A

Inside 9 
nautical miles

SUMMER CLOSED 
SEASON
May 15 - Jul 15

Day and Night CLOSED SEASON

NUECES COUNTY RECREATIONAL SHRIMPING RESTRICTIONS
It is unlawful for any person to take or attempt to take shrimp with a trawl in the Laguna Madre north of a line starting on the 
mainland at the most northeasterly point on the north side of the entrance to Whiteley Channel then proceeding in a straight 
line to the north end of Pita Island; then continuing on a line to the southernmost point on the westerly most spoil island 
bordering the north side of the New Humble Channel (commonly referred to as Hap’s Channel); then continuing on a line along 
the north edge of the New Humble Channel (commonly referred to as Hap’s Channel) to its junction with the Gulf Intracoastal 
Waterway; then continuing on a straight line to the Nueces/Kleberg County line marker on Padre Island.

OTHER AQUATIC LIFE (FRESH AND SALT WATERS)
•  Aquatic life not addressed in this guide (except threatened 

and endangered species) may be taken only by hand or 
with the devices defined as lawful for taking fish, crabs, 
oysters, or shrimp.

•  Anglers and hunters may NOT harvest marine mammals 
such as porpoises, dolphins and whales.

•  In public fresh waters, a fishing license and freshwater 
fishing endorsement is required to take mussels, clams, 
crayfish, and other aquatic life for personal use. In salt 
water, a saltwater fishing endorsement is required with the 
fishing license.

•  A hunting license is required to hunt non-protected turtles 
and frogs.

•  Licensed recreational anglers may take no more than 
25 pounds of whole mussels and clams, or 12 pounds of 
mussels and clam shells per day for personal use.

•  Clams, mussels and other molluscan shellfish taken from 
public salt waters may be taken only from waters ap-
proved by the Texas Department of State Health Services 
(TDSHS). Maps identifying approved areas may be ob-
tained from the TDSHS, Seafood and Aquatic Life Group 
(512) 834-6757. Additional information concerning area 
closures may be obtained 24 hours a day, 7 days a week 
by calling (800) 685-0361.

•  Consumption of clams and mussels taken from public 
fresh waters is prohibited by the TDSHS.

• Mussels and clams may only be taken by hand.
•  Freshwater mussels of the following species may be taken 

only when they will not pass through a ring with an inside 
diameter (I.D.) specified for that species.

SPECIES RING ID IN INCHES SPECIES RING ID IN INCHES
Washboard 4.00 Tampico pearlymussel 2.75
Threeridges and roundlakes 2.75 Bleufer 2.75
Mapleleafs and pimplebacks 2.75 All other species of freshwater mussels 2.5

•  For information on harvesting native freshwater mussels 
and clams, including areas closed to harvest, call TPWD at  
(512) 389-4444.  

•  It is unlawful to take more than 15 live univalve snails 
during a day which include no more than two each of the 
following snails: lightning whelk, horse conch, Florida 
fighting conch, pear whelk, banded tulip, or Florida 
rocksnail. Exotic applesnails and giant ramshorn snails 
cannot be possessed live or dead unless removed from 
their shells.

•  It is unlawful to take or kill shell-bearing mollusks, hermit 
crabs, starfish, or sea urchins from Nov 1 through Apr 30 
within the following boundary: the bay and pass sides of 
South Padre Island from the east end of the north jetty 
at Brazos Santiago Pass to the west end of West Marisol 
Drive in the town of South Padre Island, out 1,000 yards 
from the mean high-tide line, and bounded to the south by 
the centerline of the Brazos Santiago Pass.

HUNTING
General Regulations and Information
What’s New for Hunting
New Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) zones established in Bexar, Frio, Gonzales, Hamilton, Sutton, Washington, and Zavala 
counties. CWD zones in Duval, Gillespie, Limestone, and Uvalde have been reduced in size.  For more information on zone 
boundaries, requirements, and dates and hours of operation of checkstations: tpwd.texas.gov/cwd. Mandatory harvest 
reporting for buck and antlerless deer remains in effect in Collin, Dallas, Grayson, and Rockwall counties, and for antlerless 
deer in 21 counties in south central Texas (pg 54). New rules allowing aerial wildlife management permit holders to take feral 
hogs at night with the aid of drones. tpwd.texas.gov/huntwild/apps

MEANS AND METHODS
It is LEGAL to:
•  hunt animals and non-migratory game birds from a motor 

vehicle, powerboat, sailboat, or from any other floating 
device within the boundaries of private property or upon 
private water. 

•  use calling devices (including manual and mouth- 
operated), recordings, and electrically amplified calls to 
hunt game animals and game birds. Electronic calls may 
not be used to hunt migratory game birds EXCEPT during  
the Light Goose Conservation Order season.

•  use decoys to hunt game animals and game birds. NO per-
son may use live decoys when hunting migratory game birds.

•  bait for game animals, nongame animals, and upland 
game birds, except for eastern turkey and migratory game 
birds. (Baiting is unlawful on most public property. Please 
check specific regulations for that public property.)

•  trap nongame/exotic animals (such as feral hogs, rabbits, 
etc.) on private property.

• use dogs to aid in the hunting of any game bird.

Firearms
Game animals and non-migratory game birds may be 
hunted with any legal firearm, EXCEPT:
•  rimfire ammunition (of any caliber) may NOT be used to 

hunt white-tailed deer, mule deer, desert bighorn sheep, 
or pronghorn.

• fully automatic firearms
•  shotguns are the only legal firearm that may be used 

during spring eastern turkey season.
•  magazine capacity (number of shells/cartridges 

allowed): there are no restrictions on the number of shells 
or cartridges a legal firearm may hold when hunting game 
animals or game birds (except migratory game birds, see 
Legal Shotgun, pg. 59).

•  muzzleloader deer seasons are restricted to muzzleload-
ing firearms only: any firearm designed such that a bullet/
projectile, and powder can be loaded only through the 
muzzle (as opposed to breech-loading firearms). A cap 
and ball firearm in which the powder and ball are loaded 
into a cylinder is not a muzzleloader. 

•  suppressors (aka “silencers”): may be used to take any 
wildlife resource; however, all federal, state and local laws 
continue to apply.

Air Guns and Arrow Guns
Alligator, game animals, furbearers, squirrels, and non-migra-
tory game birds (EXCEPT eastern turkey) may be hunted with 
air guns and arrow guns provided:
•  alligators, bighorn sheep, javelina, mule deer, white-tailed 

deer, pronghorn, and turkey (EXCEPT eastern turkey) may 
be taken only with pre-charged pneumatic arrow guns, or 
pre-charged pneumatic air guns.

•  pre-charged pneumatic air guns must fire a projectile of 
at least .30 caliber in diameter and at least 150 grains 
in weight with a minimum muzzle velocity of 800 feet per 
second or any combination of bullet weight and muzzle 
velocity that produces muzzle energy of at least 215 foot 
pounds of energy.

•  squirrels, pheasant, quail, and chachalaca may be hunted 
with air guns that fire a projectile of at least .177 caliber 
(4.5mm) in diameter producing a muzzle velocity of at 
least 600 feet per second.

•  arrows or bolts used with an arrow gun must conform to 
the same projectile standards for archery.

•  arrow guns may not be used to hunt deer or wild turkey 
during archery season. 

tpwd.texas.gov/oa/airgun

Archery
•  Only lawful archery equipment prescribed in this section 

may be used for taking game animals or game birds. 
•  Lawful archery equipment includes compound bows, 

crossbows, longbows, and recurved bows.
•  Lawful archery equipment may not be used to hunt deer 

during the Muzzleloader-Only Deer Season. 
•  Lawful archery equipment is lawful for non-protected 

nongame animals (pg. 44).
Longbows, compound bows, or recurved bows: 
• There is no minimum draw requirement.
•  Lighted pins, sight magnification, overdraw rests, and  

devices that allow a bow to be locked at full or partial 
draw are lawful during any season when lawful archery 
equipment may be used.

Crossbow: 
For current crossbow requirements, please refer to the 
Outdoor Annual Mobile App or visit: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/MeansMethods

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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•  In Collin, Dallas, Grayson, and Rockwall counties, no 
person may use a crossbow to hunt deer during the 
Archery-Only Open Season unless the person has an 
upper-limb disability and has in immediate possession 
a physician’s statement that certifies the extent of 
the disability. An upper-limb disability is a permanent 
loss of the use of fingers, hand, or arm in a manner 
that renders the person incapable of using a longbow, 
compound bow, or recurved bow.

•  An Archery Endorsement is required to hunt deer during 
the Archery-Only Open Season. An archery endorsement 
is required to hunt deer at any time in Collin, Dallas, 
Grayson, and Rockwall counties, including during the 
general open season.

•  Any person, regardless of physical ability, may use a 
crossbow to hunt game animals or game birds in any 
county, including Collin, Dallas, Grayson, and Rockwall 
counties, during a general open season or Eastern spring 
turkey season. 

Projectiles (Arrows and Crossbow Bolts) 
While hunting game animals and game birds, a projectile may 
not be poisoned, drugged, or explosive.
•  When used to hunt turkey and all game animals other than 

squirrels, a projectile must be equipped with a broadhead 
hunting point. An archer may have arrows/bolts with field, 
target, or judo points in the quiver with the broadhead 
hunting points.

•  There are no restrictions or minimum requirements on 
arrow or bolt lengths, arrow material, arrow weight, lighted 
nocks, broadhead lengths or diameter, number of cutting 
edges, broadhead material, or mechanical broadheads.

Falconry
Please contact (512) 389-4481 for information on falconry 
permitting and regulations or visit: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/falconry. 
For open seasons and daily bag limits for migratory game 
birds visit: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/migratory.

UNLAWFUL ACTIVITIES
It is UNLAWFUL to:
•  knowingly discharge a firearm causing a projectile to cross 

a property line, unless the person owns both sides of the 
property line or has obtained written permission from the 
owner of any land crossed by the projectile.

•  discharge a firearm on or across a public road or hunt from 
public roads.

•  use a computer, or operate a facility that uses a computer, 
to assist in remote firearm or archery hunting, if the animal 
being hunted is located in Texas.  

•  hunt with the aid of artificial light of any form that casts 
or reflects a beam of light onto or otherwise illuminates 
a game animal or bird; EXCEPTION: hunters with legal 
blindness, or hunters who have a documented permanent 
physical disability that prevents them from using tradition-
al firearm sighting devices may use laser sighting devices.

 -  Hunters with blindness must possess a physician’s signed 
statement attesting to legal blindness; and be assisted 
by a licensed hunter at least 13 years of age who is not 
legally blind. Legal blindness is defined in section 62.104 
(c) of the Texas Government Code. 

 -  Hunter education and licensing requirements still apply to 
hunters with legal blindness, hunters with a documented 
permanent physical disability, and persons assisting 
hunters with blindness or other disability.

 - All hunters may use battery-powered scoping devices 
that project a light or dot only inside the scope or pin sight 
lights on archery equipment.

• use traps to hunt game birds or game animals.
• use dogs to hunt deer in this state.

 -  No person may possess a shotgun and buckshot or slugs 
while in the field with dogs on another person’s land 
during an open deer season in Angelina, Hardin, Jasper, 

Nacogdoches, Newton, Orange, Sabine, San Augustine, 
Shelby, and Tyler counties.

 - No more than two dogs may be used to trail a wounded 
deer in all counties; however, in Jasper, Newton, Sabine, 
and San Augustine counties, a person may trail a wound-
ed deer with no more than two leashed dogs held by the 
person in control of the dogs. A “wounded deer” is a deer 
leaving a blood trail.

•  use aircraft (including drones, except by activity-specific 
permit) to hunt, locate (including wounded animals),  
manage, harass, drive, trap or photograph any wild 
animal.

• hunt on Public Hunting Areas without the required permits.
•  hunt in a subdivision on lots 10 acres or less in an 

unincorporated area of a county if prohibited by local 
ordinance. Contact local county clerk and ask about 
§235.022, Local Government Code.

•  hunt on any area named as a wildlife sanctuary, nesting, 
or propagation area.

•  hunt in state and/or national parks or refuges except 
during scheduled hunts or under other special state or 
federal policies.

•  hunt any wild animal or wild bird on or over privately-owned 
land that is submerged under public freshwater due to 
seasonal or occasional inundation or submerged under 
saltwater above the mean high tide line. The property must 
be posted to indicate that hunting is prohibited. 

•  hunt any wild animal or wild bird, including exotic animals, 
on foot or from a vehicle on any public road or road right-
of-way, or a boat on public water, except that migratory 
waterfowl may be hunted from a boat or any floating craft 
(except a sinkbox) under certain conditions (Migratory 
Game Bird section, beginning pg. 59).

•  possess a firearm if a convicted felon, with limited 
exception. Texas law allows the possession and use of a 
muzzle loading firearm if it is an antique or curio firearm 
manufactured before 1899, or is a replica of an antique 
or curio firearm manufactured before 1899 that does 
not use rimfire or centerfire ammunition. For questions 
regarding the possession and use of firearms by convicted 
felons, refer to Texas Penal Code Ch. 46 and/or seek 
guidance from legal counsel.

See County Listings table for additional regulations 
(pgs. 69–84).

TAGGING GAME ANIMALS
Hunters in possession of a digital license and tags
should refer to tpwd.texas.gov/digitaltags for
tagging instructions.

Tagging a Deer or Wild Turkey
A tag from the hunting license of the person who killed the 
deer or turkey must be correctly and legibly completed 
(including name of property and county) and immediately 
attached to the animal (exception is properties with special- 
issued tags such as MLDP tags).  

The hunter MUST:
•  use the specific type of deer or turkey tag (for example, 

buck tags must be used only on buck deer, antlerless tags 
on antlerless deer, etc.).

•  have the month and date of kill clearly cut out on the 
tag by notching the respective month and day. Do not 
“ink out.”

•   immediately complete, date and cut out the appropriate 
hunting license tag after a deer is harvested but before the 
deer is field dressed, moved or tagged.

•   after a deer is harvested and tagged, but before the deer 
is field-dressed or moved, complete the log (in ink) on the 
back of the hunting license. Boxes with asterisks in the log 

must be checked for harvest in antler restricted counties 
for bucks with an inside main beam spread of at least 13″.

•  complete the mandatory harvest reporting for wild turkey 
in all counties with a 1-bird bag limit or for white-tailed 
deer in applicable counties using the My Texas Hunt 
Harvest app: tpwd.texas.gov/myhunt

Completion of the log is not required for mule deer, or for 
white-tailed deer or mule deer harvested under a MLDP tag, 
TPWD Special Drawn Public Hunt permit, or on a Big Time 
Texas Hunt.

Where to Attach Tag to Deer or Wild Turkey
The tag may be attached anywhere on a deer or turkey so 
that it is not damaged, defaced, or lost in transporting or 
handling. For deer, the appropriate tag or permit must remain 
attached until the deer reaches its final destination and is 
quartered. For tagging requirements at a Type 1 cold storage 
or processing facility, see pg. 47. If deer’s head is severed 
from the carcass (body), then the appropriate tag or permit 
must remain attached to its carcass (Proof of Sex section, pg. 
47). If the head does not accompany the carcass, then the 
head must be accompanied by a Wildlife Resource Document 
(WRD, pg. 89). For turkey, the tag must remain attached 
until the turkey reaches its final destination and is finally 
processed. During a season in which the bag composition for 
turkey is restricted to gobblers only or gobblers and bearded 
hens, proof of sex (pg. 47) must remain with the turkey, 
attached or unattached, until it reaches either the processor’s 
permanent residence or a cold  storage/processing facility 
and is finally processed. 

TIP: Remember that if the head and the carcass are 
separated, the tag from the hunting license goes with the 
meat and the WRD goes with the head.

NOTICE: Read the tag use description on your license care-
fully before attaching to harvested deer or turkey.

MANDATORY Harvest Reporting
Harvest reporting is mandatory for buck and antlerless deer in four 
counties near Dallas (pg. 54). Harvest reporting remains mandatory 
for wild turkeys in all counties with a 1- bird bag limit (pg. 57), 
antlerless white-tailed deer in 21 south-central Texas counties 
(pg. 54), and alligator gar statewide, except Falcon International 
Reservoir (pg. 29).
Report online or on the My Texas Hunt Harvest app: 
tpwd.texas.gov/myhunt 

On-site registration for public hunting is also available online or through 
the My Texas Hunt Harvest app. 

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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TAG # USE ON TURKEY ONLY

1 Rio Grande Turkey Only – valid in county with bag limit of 1 or 4 turkeys; NOT VALID in East Texas.

2 Rio Grande Turkey Only – valid in county with bag limit of 1 or 4 turkeys; NOT VALID in East Texas.

3 Rio Grande Turkey Only – valid in county with bag limit of 1 or 4 turkeys; NOT VALID in East Texas.

4 Eastern OR Rio Grande Turkey – valid in any county with bag limit of 1 or 4 turkeys.

TAG # USE ON WHITE-TAILED DEER ONLY

5 White-tailed Deer – Antlerless ONLY

6 White-tailed Deer – Antlerless ONLY

7 White-tailed Deer – Buck or Antlerless

8 White-tailed Deer – Buck or Antlerless

9 White-tailed Deer – Buck or Antlerless

IMPORTANT: Tags #5 and #6 are for white-tailed deer antlerless only.  Tags #7, #8, and #9 are for white-tailed deer buck 
or antlerless.  The white-tailed deer tags on the license may be used in any county during an open season for white-tailed 
deer. Be aware that if Tags #7, #8, and #9 are used on antlerless, you will no longer be allowed a buck that deer season. 

TAG # USE ON MULE DEER ONLY

10 Mule Deer – Antlerless Only
Valid ONLY during archery-only special season in Brewster, Pecos, or Terrell counties

11
Mule Deer – Buck or Antlerless
 Valid for bucks in any county during any open mule deer season AND for antlerless deer during archery-only 
special season in Brewster, Pecos, or Terrell counties

NOTE: The mule deer tags on the hunting license ARE NOT mule deer permits and MAY NOT be used in lieu of mule deer 
permits when required.

PROOF OF SEX
Deer or Pronghorn
It is unlawful to possess a deer or pronghorn with proof of 
sex removed unless the deer or pronghorn has reached the 
final destination other than a Type 1 cold storage or
processing facility (pg. 47) and has been at least quartered. 
Proof of sex includes one of the following:
•  the head (skinned or unskinned) of a buck deer with 

antlers attached, OR the tail and unskinned skull cap with 
antlers attached;

•  the head (skinned or unskinned) of an antlerless deer, OR 
the mammary organ (udder) or vulva AND the tail if the 
deer is female;

• the unskinned head of a pronghorn; or
•  a completed Managed Lands Deer Program (MLDP) Tag, 

Antlerless Mule Deer Permit, CWD Check Station Receipt,  
or TPWD Drawn Hunt Legal Deer Tag.

It is unlawful to remove the proof of sex of deer or pronghorn 
at a Type 1 commercial processor until the carcass has 
been entered into the cold storage logbook and the county 
and ranch of harvest has been recorded by the cold storage 
facility.

Pheasant or Wild Turkey
It is unlawful to possess a pheasant where applicable 
with proof of sex removed. The following is considered 
proof of sex and must accompany the pheasant or 
turkey until it reaches its final destination and is finally 
processed: 

•  Pheasant: one leg, including the spur, attached to the 
pheasant carcass or the entire plumage attached to the 
pheasant carcass; 

•  Wild turkey: During a season in which the bag composition 
for turkey is restricted to gobblers only or gobblers and 
bearded hens, proof of sex must remain with the turkey, 
attached or unattached, until it reaches either the proces-
sor’s permanent residence or a cold storage/processing 
facility and is finally processed.  Proof of sex for turkeys:

 - gobbler (male turkey): 
 ° one leg, including the spur or
 ° a patch of skin with breast feathers and beard attached

 - bearded hen (female turkey): a patch of skin with breast 
feathers and beard attached 

EXCEPTION to Proof of Sex
Instead of proof of sex, the hunter may obtain a receipt for a 
taxidermist or a Wildlife Resource Document (WRD) from the 
landowner or landowner’s agent containing the following; 
• name of the person who harvested the wildlife resource; 
• date the wildlife resource was harvested; and
•  one of the following, as applicable: Whether the deer was 

antlered or antlerless; the sex of the pronghorn; the sex of 
the turkey and whether a beard was attached; or the sex 
of the pheasant.

TRANSPORTING AND TRANSFERRING DEER 
OR PRONGHORN
IMPORTANT: Special regulations may apply within  
designated CWD zones (pg. 51).
•  A person may transport a deer or pronghorn to a final 

destination (definition, pg. 86), provided the carcass 
is tagged and proof of sex accompanies the carcass 
(pg. 47).

•  If any part of a carcass is transferred to another person 
before it reaches a final destination, then the transferred 
parts must be accompanied by a WRD (pg. 89). 

•  The parts retained by the person who harvested the deer 
or pronghorn must be accompanied by a tag until the 
carcass reaches a final destination.

PROCESSING OF GAME ANIMALS
Deer and Pronghorn
•  A deer and pronghorn may be skinned and quartered 

(two forequarters, two hindquarters, and two backstraps) 
for transport, provided the quartered deer or pronghorn 
is tagged and proof of sex accompanies the deer or 
pronghorn (see Cold Storage or Processing Facility, below, 
for exceptions). 

•  Deer or pronghorn may only be processed beyond 
quarters at a location that qualifies as a final destination 
(definition, pg. 86).

All Game Animals (including deer and pronghorn)
•  The four quarters and two backstraps are the only parts 

of a game animal required by law to be kept in edible 
condition.

•  Tagging and proof-of-sex requirements, if required, 
continue to apply until the wildlife resource reaches a final 
destination other than a Type 1 cold storage or processing 
facility, AND is quartered.

•  While in camp you may remove and prepare a part of a 
wildlife resource if the removal and preparation occur 
immediately before the part is cooked or consumed; 
however, all tagging and proof of sex regulations apply to 
remaining parts until the parts reach a final destination.

FACILITIES
A cold storage or processing facility may be established any-
where, including on property where hunting is conducted. It 
must be stationary and designed to process and/or store wild 
game. A vehicle, trailer, or other mobile storage or processing 
arrangement is NOT lawful.

COMMERCIAL COLD STORAGE OR 
PROCESSING FACILITY RECORD KEEPING 
REQUIREMENTS
A person may place and maintain, or possess, in a cold 
storage or processing facility, lawfully harvested game birds 
and game animals not in excess of the number permitted to 
be possessed by law, if the owner, operator, or lessee of the 
cold storage or processing facility maintains the record book 
as required by law with:

•  name, address, and hunting license number of all persons 
placing game animals or game birds in storage (if a person 
other than the person who harvested the game bird or 
animal, places a game bird or game animal in storage, 
that person’s name and address must be included);

•  number and species of all game animals and game birds 
in storage, and

•  date each game animal or game bird was placed in 
storage (information must be entered into the record book 
before game is placed in storage)

TYPE 1 COMMERCIAL COLD STORAGE OR 
PROCESSING FACILITY REQUIREMENTS
A place of business open to the public for the purpose of 
storing or processing game animals or game birds upon de-
mand on a for-profit basis or in exchange for anything of value 
must comply with the record keeping requirements described 
above, and as follows:
•   tags, permits, or WRDs, when applicable, must remain 

attached to birds until the birds are finally processed; 
•   tags, permits, or WRDs, when applicable, must remain 

attached to pronghorn until the carcass is quartered; for 
deer, tagging and proof of sex requirements cease once 
the required information detailed above has been entered 
in the cold storage log, and the county and name of the 
ranch or property where the deer was harvested has been 
recorded.

•  for deer:  tag, or WRD, as applicable, must be retained on 
the premises for as long as the carcass or any part of the 
carcass remains in the possession of the cold storage or 
processing facility.

TYPE 2 COMMERCIAL COLD STORAGE OR 
PROCESSING FACILITY ON HUNTING LEASE 
REQUIREMENTS
A cold storage facility that is not open to the public on an 
on-demand basis, and is utilized to store or process game 
taken by persons on properties where hunting by individuals 
in return for pay or other consideration occurs (a hunting 
lease) must comply with the record keeping requirements 
described above, and as follows:
•  For turkey, proof of sex and tagging requirements cease to 

apply when the turkey has been entered in a cold storage 
record book.

•  Once a deer or pronghorn has been entered in the cold 
storage record book it may be finally processed. Proof 
of sex and tagging requirements continue to apply until 
the deer or pronghorn has at least been quartered and 
entered into the record book.

PRIVATE, NON-COMMERCIAL, FAMILY-OWNED 
COLD STORAGE OR PROCESSING FACILITY
Except as noted below, a cold storage record book is not 
required for game animals or game birds placed in a private, 
family-owned, non-commercial cold storage or processing 
facility that is not used by paying hunters; however, all 
tagging and proof of sex requirements apply. At a private, 
non-commercial facility where a record book meeting the 

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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requirements of a commercial cold storage or processing 
facility is voluntarily maintained, proof of sex and tagging 
requirements are the same as for a Type 2 commercial facility 
(described above).
Save your tag and/or permit. After a wildlife resource 
reaches its final destination and tagging requirements have 

ceased, the possessor is encouraged to retain tags or permits 
in order to prevent delay or problems (cold storage or proces-
sor refusing to accept meat, etc.). When taking game (meat/
head/hide) that you have processed at home to a commercial 
processor, simply attach the appropriate hunting license tag 
or permit to the game.

TAXIDERMIST
Hunters who give any part of a game animal or game bird to a 
taxidermist for mounting must attach a WRD (not the tag from 
the hunting license or permit) to the part.
In return, for deer, pronghorn, turkey and pheasant, the 
taxidermist must give the hunter a receipt as prescribed 
in “EXCEPTION” (pg. 47). The taxidermist “proof of sex” 
receipt for the part must accompany the tagged carcass until 
it reaches its final destination and is finally processed. If the 
taxidermist places any game animal or game bird in cold stor-
age, then the cold storage or processing facility record book 

is required by law. Without the appropriate record book and a 
WRD accompanying the game animal or game bird, a taxider-
mist may be exceeding the prescribed possession limits for 
game animals and game birds. Taxidermy information packets 
may be obtained at tpwd.texas.gov/oa/TaxidermyForms. 
A taxidermist who accepts a deer or turkey shall retain the 
accompanying WRD or tag for two years following the return 
of the resource to the owner or the sale of the deer or turkey 
mount to recover taxidermy cost.

Youth Hunting Seasons
•  Only licensed hunters 16 years of age or younger are eligi-

ble to participate in youth seasons which generally occur 
before (or directly after) general hunting seasons.

•  Youth-only hunting seasons occur for turkeys, squirrels, 
white-tailed deer (season dates, pg. 69–83), and 
waterfowl (pg. 62).

•  Youth-only waterfowl season requires the youth to be 
accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older.

•  Special requirements, bag limits,  and restrictions may 
apply for youth-only white-tailed deer hunting seasons 
(pg. 56).

•  A Youth Hunting License (Type 169) is valid for the entire 
license year regardless if the 17th birthdate occurs during 
the license year. However, ONLY individuals 16 years of 
age or younger are allowed to participate in Youth-Only 
seasons.

Game Animals
Desert bighorn sheep Mule deer Squirrel (gray or fox)
Javelina (collared peccary) Pronghorn White-tailed deer

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE (CWD)
CWD is a fatal disease that has been discovered in white-tailed deer, mule deer, elk, and red deer in localized portions of Texas. 
To detect and manage this disease, the department has designated CWD Zones. 

Hunters who harvest mule deer, white-tailed deer, elk, or other exotic CWD-susceptible species (pg. 51) within the CWD 
Zones are REQUIRED to bring their animals to a TPWD check station within 48 hours of harvest. Hunters must check each 
animal harvested and receive a CWD receipt before taking any part of that animal from the CWD Zone, including any meat or 
quartered parts. 

PROOF OF SEX 
Sex:   
Buck or Antlerless

Species:
MD or WTD

Date: _____/_____/_____

Additional regulations may apply, and additional zones may be established without prior notice upon discovery of CWD. 
The department will make every effort to publicize the designation and location of CWD Zones and check stations,  
as well as any special regulations that may be adopted following the publication of this notice. For the latest updates,  
call (800) 792-1112, or visit tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD. A hunter who harvests a CWD-susceptible species outside a CWD 
Zone and wishes to have the animal tested for CWD should contact a wildlife biologist in that area:  
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/biologists. 

As an alternative to TPWD check stations, a list of Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC) Certified CWD Postmortem Sample 
Collectors who are also TPWD-approved is provided at tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD.

Please report any symptomatic CWD-susceptible species to your local Texas Game Wardens (tpwd.texas.gov/oa/GameWarden) or 
Wildlife Biologist (tpwd.texas.gov/oa/biologists).

CWD Precautions for Hunters

Infectious prions concentrate in the brain, spinal cord, eyes, 
lymph nodes and spleen. They are shed in saliva, urine, blood, 
soft-antler material, feces, and from decomposing  
infected animals. Proper disposal of carcass parts is import-
ant to prevent contamination and spread of this disease. 
Leave these inedible parts at the site of harvest, or preferably, 
dispose of them in a landfill, or bury them at least 6-feet deep 
on the property of harvest in any CWD Zone.

Use common sense precautions while handling and 
processing any species susceptible to CWD. Never eat meat 
from an animal that appears sickly. Never eat brain, eyeballs, 
spinal cord, spleen, or lymph nodes from CWD-susceptible 
species. The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) reports no 
strong evidence that CWD can infect humans; however, CDC 
recommends that hunters consider testing CWD-susceptible 
species harvested in CWD Zones before consumption. 

Harvest reporting is mandatory for buck and antlerless deer in 
four counties near Dallas (pg. 54). Harvest reporting remains 
mandatory for wild turkeys in all counties with a 1- bird bag limit 
(pg. 57), antlerless white-tailed deer in 21 south-central Texas 
counties (pg. 54), and alligator gar statewide, except Falcon 
International Reservoir (pg. 29).
Report online or on the My Texas Hunt Harvest app: 
tpwd.texas.gov/myhunt 
On-site registration for public hunting is also available online or through 
the My Texas Hunt Harvest app. 

MANDATORY Harvest Reporting

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/TaxidermyForms
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/biologists
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD
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Carcass Movement Restrictions in CWD Zones

No CWD-susceptible species carcasses or parts of carcasses can enter Texas from a state or country known to have CWD, 
and no CWD-susceptible species carcasses or parts of carcasses can be transported out of a CWD Zone EXCEPT:

• Cut quarters with all brain and spinal cord tissue removed
•  Boned meat/cut and wrapped — Texas regulations do not allow processing beyond quarters until reaching your final 

destination (possessor’s personal residence or commercial facility/private cold storage).
• Caped hides with skull not attached
• Skull plate with antlers attached and cleaned of all soft tissue
• Finished taxidermy products
•  The skinned or unskinned head of a susceptible species may be transported to a taxidermist (with a Deer Head Waiver), 

provided all brain material, soft tissue, spinal column and any unused portions of the head are disposed of in a landfill in 
Texas permitted by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ). The waiver should be kept on your person or 
with the deer head until it reaches the taxidermist. Obtain the Deer Head Waiver form (PWD 1410) to transport the intact 
head from a TPWD CWD check station or tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD. 

• Hunters bringing intact deer heads into Texas from a state or country with CWD should also have this waiver.

How to Bring Harvested Animals to Check Stations

• All CWD-susceptible species harvested within the CWD Zones are required to be sampled for CWD.
•  Carcass movement restrictions do not apply if the carcass will not be moved outside of a CWD Zone. However, it is  

recommended to always properly dispose of unused carcass parts.
•  A hunter who leaves a CWD Zone with a harvested animal must quarter the animal and remove the head from the carcass 

2–3 vertebrae below the head. 
• Place head in a plastic trash bag and keep cool until arriving at a CWD check station.
•  Heads can be disposed of at the CWD check stations provided the hunter has a CWD receipt, which serves as a proof-of-

sex document. 

Exotic CWD-Susceptible Species

•  Texas Animal Health Commission (TAHC) CWD rules apply statewide to harvested exotic CWD-susceptible species such as 
elk, red deer, sika, moose, and reindeer.

•  Each calendar year, the owner of any property in Texas is required to have adult mortalities of exotic CWD-susceptible 
species, including HUNTER-HARVESTED animals, CWD-tested. If the property is located outside a CWD zone, the property 
owner is responsible for sample submission and costs for CWD tests and must report results to Texas Animal Health 
Commission (TAHC).
For more information regarding CWD testing requirements of exotics, including number of required CWD tests:
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/ExoticCWD

CWD ZONES, CHECK STATION LOCATIONS

IMPORTANT: 
Additional CWD Zones may be established 
without prior notice upon discovery of 
Chronic Wasting Disease. 
For current information on CWD Zones, including zone maps, check station 
locations, dates and hours of operation, and any special regulations, 
call (512) 389-4505,  visit tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD, or scan the QR code below. 

Amarillo
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Fort Worth

Lubbock

San Antonio

Austin
Houston

El Paso
1

2

3

45

6

7

8

9
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General Location of 
Current CWD Zones

Scan for CWD Zone 
updates
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DEER

Buck Deer
A deer with an antler point protruding through the skin, or with 
antler growth in velvet greater than one inch. 
For tagging purposes, all other deer are antlerless deer, 
regardless of sex.

Mule Deer
Bag limits are established by county (County Listings table, 
pgs. 69–84). No person may exceed the annual bag lim-
it of two mule deer, no more than one of which may be a buck. 
The annual bag limit does not apply on MLDP properties. 

Special Antler Restriction – Mule Deer Bucks
Antler restriction for mule deer bucks applies in Andrews, 
Armstrong, Bailey, Briscoe, Castro, Childress, Cochran, 
Collingsworth, Cottle, Dawson, Donley, Floyd, Foard,  Gaines, 
Hale, Hall, Hardeman, Hockley, Lamb, Lynn. Lubbock, Martin, 
Motley, Parmer, Randall, Swisher, Terry, Terrell, and Yoakum 
counties: 
•  a legal buck deer is defined as a buck with an outside 

antler spread of the main beams of 20 inches or greater.

•  any buck with at least one unbranched antler (e.g., spike) 
is NOT legal to harvest, unless the outside spread of the 
main beams is at least 20 inches in width.

•  mule deer antler restriction does not apply within any 
CWD zone.

The average ear-tip to ear-tip spread of mule deer bucks 
standing in the alert position is 21 inches, as shown in 
the buck illustrations. The outside spread is estimated in 
a similar manner; however, the measurement is taken by 
using the outside spread of the main beams, as shown by the 
black arrows/dotted lines below. TPWD requests hunters to 
voluntarily present the entire head (intact) of any buck mule 
deer harvested in Terrell County to a designated check station 
to help assess the experimental antler-restriction regulation. 

For more information on the antler-restriction harvest 
strategy and location of the Terrell County check station: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/MDantlers.

CURRENT CWD ZONES (AT TIME OF PRINTING OF HUNTING REGULATIONS)

1. TRANS-PECOS
VAN HORN
(512) 221-8491
El Mercado, 604 W. Broadway

EAST US 62/180
(512) 221-8491
Pine Springs TXDOT Rest Area, US 62/180 - Eastbound, 
approximately 7 miles from Texas/New Mexico state line

HUECO MOUNTAINS
(512) 803-5822
Northern Hudspeth County Sheriff Substation on north side of 
US 62/180.  Approximately 0.15 miles east of Hueco Ranch 
Road and 3.2 miles west of Border Patrol checkpoint.

2. PANHANDLE
DALHART
(512) 803-5972
Rita Blanca Lake Park (RV Campground)

VEGA
(512) 803-6158
Walnut RV Park. Business Loop of I-40, 1403 Vega Blvd.

3. LUBBOCK
(806) 476-9741
No check station. Sample collection by appointment only. 

4. SOUTH CENTRAL 
HONDO
(512) 803-6184
1701 19th Street (located in the parking lot adjacent to God’s 
Country Pharmacy on Hwy. 90.)

TARPLEY - CHECK STATION SELF-SERVE DROP BOX
(512) 389-6184
264 Valentine Road (located next to the Tarpley Volunteer Fire 
Department)

CONCAN - CHECK STATION SELF-SERVE DROP BOX
(830) 399-5838
21563 Hwy 127 (located between the Uvalde County Visitors 
Center in Concan and the Frio Float Dessert Shop)

UVALDE
(830) 399-5838
Speer Ag, 3333 E. Main Street (US Hwy 90)

5. VAL VERDE COUNTY
DEL RIO 
(830) 353-2539
RV park at old Fisherman’s Headquarters, 4957 US-90

6. KIMBLE COUNTY
SEGOVIA 
(512) 803-6174  
North side of I-10, Exit 465 at Segovia, old truck stop on 
FM 2169

7. HUNT COUNTY
QUINLAN 
(903) 258-3474
3381 State Highway 276 West

TERRELL 
(903) 258-3474  
Gorman’s Meat Market, 1738 N. Frances Street

8. GILLESPIE COUNTY
DOSS
(830) 362-8892
Doss Community Center, 14174 N. Ranch Rd. 783

9. LIMESTONE COUNTY
Call (254) 645-0725 to make arrangements for CWD 
sampling or go online:  tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD.

10. DUVAL COUNTY
Check Station Location to be determined.
Call (830) 480-1677 or go online: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD.

11. WASHINGTON COUNTY
Check Station Location to be determined.
For more information, tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD.

12. GONZALES COUNTY
Check Station Location to be determined.
For more information, tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD.

13. HAMILTON COUNTY
Check Station Location to be determined.
For more information, tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD. 

14. FRIO COUNTY
Check Station Location to be determined.
For more information, tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD.

15. ZAVALA COUNTY
Check Station Location to be determined.
For more information, tpwd.texas.gov/oa/CWD.

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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White-tailed Deer
Bag limits are established by county (County Listings table, 
pgs. 69–84). No person may exceed the annual bag limit 
of five white-tailed deer, no more than three of which may be 
bucks. The annual bag limit does not apply on MLDP properties. 

Mandatory Harvest Reporting – White-tailed Deer
White-tailed deer harvested and tagged with a hunting license 
tag in the counties listed below during any open season (archery, 
general muzzleloader, and youth) must be reported within 
24 hours of harvest via the “My Texas Hunt Harvest” mobile 
application or online version. 
For more information: tpwd.texas.gov/myhunt.

Counties with mandatory buck and antlerless deer harvest 
reporting: Collin, Dallas, Grayson, Rockwall. 
Counties with mandatory antlerless deer harvest reporting:
Austin, Bastrop, Caldwell, Colorado, Comal (East of I-35), De Witt, 
Fayette, Goliad (North of US 59), Gonzales, Guadalupe, Hays 
(East of I-35), Jackson (north of US 59), Karnes, Lavaca, Lee, 
Travis (East of I-35), Victoria (North of US 59), Waller, Washington, 
Wharton (North of US 59), and Wilson. 

Special Antler Restriction – White-tailed Deer 
Antler restrictions apply in certain counties (County Listings 
table, pgs. 69–84). In these counties, the bag limit is 
two legal bucks, but only ONE may have 2 branched antlers 
and an inside spread of 13 inches or greater. In these coun-
ties, a legal buck deer is defined as a buck deer with: 
•   at least one unbranched antler; OR 
•   an inside spread of 13 inches or greater (unbranched 

antlered bucks may be of any width and do not count 
against the limit of ONE buck 13” or greater).

It is unlawful to take more than one buck with an inside 
spread of 13 inches or greater or with two branched antlers 
(i.e. a person who takes a buck in violation of the antler
restriction regulation is prohibited from harvesting any buck deer 
with branched antlers on both main beams in that county during 
that hunting season).
The distance from the tip of one ear to the tip of the other ear, 
when the ears are in the “alert” position may be used as a 
guide to help estimate the inside spread. If the inside spread 
extends past the ears, it is likely to be at least 13 inches.

Definition of a point: a projection that extends at least 
one inch from the edge of a main beam or another tine. 

The tip of the main beam is also a point.

Special Late Season
In counties with a Special Late Season (County Listings table, 
pgs. 69–84), harvest is restricted to antlerless and 
unbranched antlered deer (a buck with at least one antler 
that has no more than one point). A point is a projection that 
extends at least one inch from the edge of a main beam or 
another tine. The tip of the main beam is also a point.

White-tailed Deer Youth-Only Seasons
•  Age Restriction: ONLY licensed hunters 16 years of age 

or younger are eligible to participate in youth-only deer 
seasons. 

•  Youth-only seasons may run concurrently with other 
seasons (Archery, Muzzleloader, Special Late) but do 
not prevent any person from lawfully hunting under the 
provisions established for those seasons.

•  Any lawful means may be used, except in Collin, Dallas, 
Grayson, and Rockwall counties, where lawful means are 
restricted to lawful archery equipment only.

•  Bag limits and any special requirements (e.g. antler 
restrictions or mandatory harvest reporting) apply for the 
county in which youth are hunting

•  Youth hunters may harvest any legal buck during youth-
only season, and antlerless deer during youth-only season 
in counties where antlerless harvest is allowed at any time 
during the general season. See County Listings table, pgs. 
69–84 for county specific deer harvest regulations.

PRONGHORN (BY PERMIT ONLY)
The harvest of pronghorn is by permit only. The permit must 
be completely filled out and attached to the pronghorn 
immediately following harvest. Permits are issued to land-
owners or their agents in areas where there are huntable 
populations (Trans-Pecos, Permian Basin and Panhandle). 
For more information on pronghorn regulations: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/pronghorn
For more information on pronghorn permits and harvest 
reports: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/pronghornpermits
NOTE: It is the hunter’s responsibility to verify the permits are 
issued to the property where they are hunting.

DESERT BIGHORN SHEEP (BY PERMIT ONLY)
The harvest of desert bighorn sheep (DBS) is by permit only. 
Permits are issued to landowners or their agents. A limited 
number of permits are also available through “Big Time Texas 
Hunts” tpwd.texas.gov/oa/btth, and other public hunting: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/PublicHunting.
No person may possess a DBS ram skull obtained after 
Sept. 1, 2003, unless the skull has been plugged by TPWD 
or the individual has proof that the skull was legally obtained 
outside of Texas. Skulls found in the wild may be possessed, 
provided the individual did not cause or participate in the 
death of the ram, and TPWD is notified within 48 hours 
of the skull/horns being found. Individual horns and 
hornless skulls may be possessed without identification or 
documentation.

JAVELINA AND SQUIRREL
See County Listings table, pgs. 69–84.

MANDATORY Harvest Reporting
Harvest reporting is mandatory for buck and antlerless deer in four 
counties near Dallas (pg. 54). Harvest reporting remains mandatory 
for wild turkeys in all counties with a 1- bird bag limit (pg. 57), 
antlerless white-tailed deer in 21 south-central Texas counties 
(pg. 54), and alligator gar statewide, except Falcon International 
Reservoir (pg. 29).
Report online or on the My Texas Hunt Harvest app: 
tpwd.texas.gov/myhunt 

On-site registration for public hunting is also available online or through 
the My Texas Hunt Harvest app. 

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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Alligator
GENERAL INFORMATION
FEEDING ALLIGATORS: Except when engaged in hunting, it is 
against the law to intentionally feed a free-ranging alligator. 

 REQUIRED LICENSE: Alligators may be taken under any 
resident or non-resident hunting license (except for a non-resi-
dent spring turkey license and a non-resident banded bird 
hunting license). 

LAWFUL HUNTING HOURS: One-half hour before sunrise to 
sunset. Between sunset and one-half hour before sunrise, no 
person shall set any baited line capable of taking an alligator, 
or remove an alligator from a line set.

 CITES TAGS: Required in both “Core” and “Non-core”  
counties and are issued by TPWD. CITES (Convention 
on International Trade in Endangered Species) is an 
international agreement between governments to ensure 
that international trade in wild animals and plants does not 
threaten their survival.

SALE OF ALLIGATORS: Only lawfully harvested alligators may 
be sold and only to a licensed wholesale dealer or alligator 
farmer.

It is unlawful to take an alligator by means of firearms from, 
in, on, across, or over public water. 

MEANS AND METHODS FOR ALLIGATORS
•  In non-core counties, no person may employ more than 

one taking device at any time.
• Alligators may only be taken on private property. 
•  Alligators may be taken from public water, however, the 

person and the taking device MUST be on private property.
•  Hook and line (line set) must be secured on private 

property with a portion of the line above water.  Minimum 
300 lb. test line. 

•  Hook-bearing lines may not be placed prior to the open 
season and shall be removed no later than sunset on the 
last day of the season. 

•  Each line set shall be labeled with a plainly visible, 
permanent, and legibly marked gear tag that contains the 
full name and current address of the person who set the 
line and the hunting license number of the person who 
set the line. 

•  Line sets shall be inspected daily, and alligators shall be 
harvested, documented, and removed IMMEDIATELY upon 
discovery. 

•  Firearms (excluding rimfire), air guns, and arrow guns may 
only be used to hunt on private land in non-core counties.

•  Firearms (including rimfire), air guns, and arrow guns may 
be used to dispatch alligators legally captured on a taking 
device in any county.

•  Gigs, hand-held snares (with integral locking mechanism), 
and lawful archery equipment (with barbed arrow), must 
have a float attached to the line. The float shall be no less 
than 6” X 6” X 8” or, if the float is spherical, no less than 
8 inches in diameter. 

NON-CORE COUNTIES
In non-core counties, the open season for alligators is 
Apr 1 – Jun 30. The bag limit in non-core counties is one 
alligator per person per license year. Alligators CAN NOT be 
taken during this season on any property where alligators 
were taken during the September season.

Upon killing an alligator in a non-core county, a person must 
IMMEDIATELY affix a WRD (pg. 89) to the alligator, which 
shall accompany the alligator until it is permanently tagged 
with a CITES tag.  WITHIN 72 hours, complete the Non-Core 
Alligator Hide Tag Report (pg. 89) and mail it to TPWD, 
4200 Smith School Road, Austin, TX 78744, along with a $21 
hide tag fee (check or money order only). The department will 
mail a CITES tag to the hunter. Upon receipt, the tag must be 
permanently affixed to the alligator within 10 inches of the tip 
of the alligator’s tail.

CORE COUNTIES
In Angelina, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Galveston, Hardin, 
Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Liberty, Matagorda, Nacogdoches, 
Newton, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Augustine, San 
Jacinto, Trinity, Tyler, and Victoria counties (core counties), 
and on properties in other counties for which TPWD has 
issued CITES tags to the landowner, the open season for 
alligators is Sept. 10-30. Core counties are those counties 
constituting the prime historical habitat for the American 
alligator in Texas, where commercial hunting is viable and the 
department engages in significant biological monitoring of 
the resource and manages harvest through tag issuance to 
landowners.

In core counties and on special properties, no person may 
hunt an alligator without possessing a valid CITES tag on 
their person prior to hunting an alligator. CITES tags in these 
counties are issued to landowners or landowners’ agents  
following a site inspection and evaluation by TPWD. CITES 
tags may only be used on the property they are allocated to, 
and cannot be transferred to other properties. For information 
about tag issuance and requirements, contact the Alligator 
Program at (409) 736-3625.

ALLIGATORS IN TEXAS: RULES, REGULATIONS 
AND GENERAL INFORMATION
A department publication that provides additional regulations 
and information, including how to determine  
sex of an alligator (required for Alligator Hide Tag Reports).  For 
a copy of the publication, call (800) 792-1112 (menu 5) or 
visit tpwd.texas.gov/oa/alligator.

Upland Game Birds
Bobwhite quail 
Chachalaca 

Gambel’s quail 
Pheasant

Scaled quail (or Blue quail)
Wild turkey

Species with no open season (cannot be hunted) include Attwater’s prairie-chicken, Mearn’s (Montezuma) quail, and lesser 
prairie-chicken.

It is unlawful to possess a pheasant with proof of sex removed.  
It is unlawful to hunt pheasant by the aid of dragging of a cable, chain, rope, or other device connected to or between a 
moving object or objects.

UPLAND GAME BIRDS SEASONS AND LIMITS
SPECIES SEASON OPEN COUNTIES DAILY BAG POSSESSION

Pheasant Dec 2-31 See county-level 
restrictions (pg. 68). 3 cocks 9 cocks

Quail (Bobwhite, 
Scaled or Blue, and 
Gambel’s)

Oct 28 - Feb 25 Statewide 15 in the aggregate 45 in the aggregate

Chachalaca Oct 28 - Feb 25
Cameron, Hidalgo, 
Starr, and Willacy 
counties ONLY

5 15

WILD TURKEY
See County Listings table for season dates and special requirements, pgs. 69–84.
Harvest reporting is mandatory for wild turkeys in all counties with a 1-bird bag limit.
It is unlawful to hunt roosting turkeys by any means at any time or to release turkeys without department authorization.  
All turkey must be tagged with a tag from the hunter’s license IMMEDIATELY upon harvest, and in a secure manner  
anywhere on the turkey (Tagging Turkey, pg. 46). Hunters in possession of a digital license and tags should refer to 
tpwd.texas.gov/digitaltags for tagging instructions.
Special regulations for Eastern Spring season in certain East Texas counties
Shotgun and lawful archery equipment are the only legal methods of take; no hunting over bait; all turkeys harvested in these 
counties must be reported within 24 hours to the department via mobile application or online. REPORT your eastern turkey 
harvest  with the “My Texas Hunt Harvest” app (App Store for IOS devices, or Google Play for Android devices), or online: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/turkey.

MANDATORY Harvest Reporting
Harvest reporting is mandatory for buck and antlerless deer in four 
counties near Dallas (pg. 54). Harvest reporting remains mandatory 
for wild turkeys in all counties with a 1- bird bag limit (pg. 57), 
antlerless white-tailed deer in 21 south-central Texas counties 
(pg. 54), and alligator gar statewide, except Falcon International 
Reservoir (pg. 29).
Report online or on the My Texas Hunt Harvest app: 
tpwd.texas.gov/myhunt 

On-site registration for public hunting is also available online or through 
the My Texas Hunt Harvest app. 

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
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Migratory Game Birds
Nothing in this publication authorizes any person to violate federal laws governing migratory game birds. Federal regulations 
related to migratory game birds are located in Title 50, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 20. For more information call the U.S. 
Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS) (505) 248-7889 or visit fws.gov/birds.

Includes all wild species of:
Coots
Doves (mourning, white-winged, 
white-tipped)

Ducks 
Gallinules
Geese

Mergansers
Rails 
Sandhill cranes

Snipe (Wilson’s or jacksnipe)
Woodcock

SPECIAL VETERANS - ACTIVE MILITARY PERSONNEL WATERFOWL HUNTING DAYS
A special season is now open to veterans and current members of the US Armed Forces on active duty, including members of 
the National Guard and Reserve on active duty (other than for training). The term “veteran,” is defined, per section 101 of title 
38, United States Code, as a person who served in the active military, naval, or air service, and who was discharged or released 
there from under conditions other than dishonorable.  

Proof of eligibility is required and must be carried on person while hunting. A driver’s license or other state-issued identification 
indicating that the person to whom it was issued is a veteran of the United States Armed Forces; a copy of the DD214 or 
DD215 discharge documentation issued to the person by the United States Department of Defense; or any other identification 
issued by the federal government indicating that the person to whom it was issued is a veteran or member of the armed forces 
on active duty is proof of eligibility.

HARVEST INFORMATION PROGRAM (HIP)
No person shall hunt migratory game birds in this state unless that person is HIP-certified in Texas. The federally-mandated 
Harvest Information Program (HIP) improves harvest information for all migratory game birds. Hunters who buy a Migratory 
Game Bird Hunting Endorsement, including Super Combos, will be asked a few simple questions about their migratory bird 
hunting activities.

Please report Migratory Game Bird bands. Check migratory game birds harvested (especially doves) for leg bands and report 
them to reportband.gov.

MEANS AND METHODS
•  Shotguns, lawful archery equipment, falconry, dogs, 

artificial decoys, and manual or mouth-operated bird calls 
are legal. 

•  A shotgun is the only legal firearm for hunting migratory 
game birds. Shotguns must NOT be larger than 10-gauge, 
must be fired from the shoulder, and must be incapable 
of holding more than three shells. Shotguns capable of 
holding more than three shells must be plugged with a one-
piece filler which cannot be removed without disassembling 
the gun, so the gun’s total capacity does not exceed three 
shells.

•  Hunting is permitted in the open or from a blind or other 
type of concealment or from floating craft or motor boat 
provided that all motion resulting from sail or motor has 
ceased. Sails must be furled and motor turned off before 
shooting starts. 

•  A craft under power may be used to retrieve dead or 
crippled birds; however, crippled birds may not be shot 
from such craft under power.

•  No person, while hunting waterfowl anywhere in the state, 
may possess shotgun shells containing lead shot or loose 
lead shot for use in muzzleloaders. Approved shot includes 
steel (including copper, nickel or zinc-coated steel),  
bismuth-tin, tungsten-iron, tungsten-polymer (e.g. 
moly-shot), and any other nontoxic material approved by the 
Director of the USFWS. tpwd.texas.gov/oa/NontoxicShot

Baiting Regulations
Directly or indirectly placing, exposing, depositing,  
distributing or scattering of salt, grain, or other feed that could 
serve as a lure or attraction for migratory game birds to, on or 
over areas where hunters are attempting to take them is pro-
hibited by federal law. Hunters are responsible for knowing 
whether an area is baited or not. 

For further information on federal regulation regarding  
baiting: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/DoveBaiting and waterfowl 
hunting tpwd.texas.gov/oa/WaterfowlBaiting. 

A hunter MAY hunt migratory game birds including  
waterfowl, coots and sandhill cranes: 
•  on or over standing crops, standing flooded crops and 

flooded harvested crops; 
•  over natural vegetation (pg. 86) that has been  

manipulated (pg. 86);
•  on or over a normal soil stabilization practice that is 

defined as a planting for agricultural soil erosion control or 
post-mining land reclamation conducted in accordance 
with official recommendations of State Extension 
Specialists of the Cooperative Extension Service of the  
U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA);

•  on or over lands or areas where seeds or grains have 
been scattered solely as a result of a normal agricultural 
practice which is defined as a planting, harvesting or 
post-harvest manipulation conducted in accordance with 
official recommendations of State Extension Specialists of 

the Cooperative Extension Service of the USDA. Does not 
include the broadcast spreading of seed that is normally 
drill-planted;

•  over crops or natural vegetation where grain has been 
inadvertently scattered as a result of entering or leaving a 
hunting area, placing decoys or retrieving downed birds; 

•  using natural vegetation or crops to conceal a blind, pro-
vided that if crops are used to conceal a blind, no grain or 
other feed is exposed, deposited, distributed or scattered 
in the process.

A person may hunt doves over planted crops that have been 
manipulated for the purpose of hunting. Waterfowl and 
sandhill cranes may NOT be hunted where grain or feed has 
been distributed or scattered as a result of manipulation or 
livestock feeding.

UNLAWFUL ACTIVITIES
It is UNLAWFUL to:

•  hunt migratory birds with the aid of bait, or on or over any 
baited area (pg. 85); 

•  hunt over any baited area until 10 days after all baiting 
materials have been removed and a game warden has 
confirmed removal of baiting materials; 

•  place or allow the placement of bait on or adjacent to any 
area where migratory game birds could be attracted for the 
purpose of hunting migratory game birds by any person;

•  hunt waterfowl or sandhill cranes over manipulated 
planted millet in the first year after planting; 

•  hunt waterfowl or sandhill cranes over crops that have been 
manipulated, unless the manipulation is a normal agri-
cultural post-harvesting manipulation in accordance with 
official recommendations of State Extension Specialists of 
the Cooperative Extension Service of the USDA; 

•  use any firearm other than a legal shotgun; use a trap, 
snare, net, fishhook, poison, drug, explosive or stupefying 
substance; use live birds as decoys; use recorded or elec-
tronically amplified bird calls or sounds; or use a sinkbox 
(definition, pg. 87); 

•  hunt from or by means of motor vehicles or aircraft of any 
kind (including stationary) except paraplegics and single 
or double amputees of legs may hunt from stationary 
motor-driven conveyances;

•  use motor-driven land, water or air conveyances or sail-
boats to concentrate, drive, rally or stir up any migratory 
game bird; or

•  hunt where tame or captive live ducks or geese are 
present unless such birds are or have been for a period of 
10 consecutive days prior to such taking confined within 
an enclosure which substantially reduces the audibility of 
their calls and totally conceals such birds from the sight of 
wild migratory game birds.

DOCUMENTATION
All harvested migratory game birds not in the immediate pos-
session of the person who harvested them must be tagged 
with a WRD (pg. 89) until the birds reach the possessor’s 
personal residence and are finally processed. If a hunter’s 
personal birds have been finally processed at a cold storage 

or processing facility and the hunter transports someone 
else’s birds, then a WRD must accompany those birds until 
they reach the possessor’s permanent residence. A person 
may give, leave, receive or possess (e.g. cleaning or storage) 
any species of legally taken migratory game birds, or parts of 
birds, that are protected by a bag or possession limit, if the 
birds are accompanied by a WRD.
All hunters must keep migratory game birds included in their 
bag or possession limit separate and identifiable from other 
hunters’ birds while in the field or during transport to the 
possessor’s permanent residence, unless accompanied by 
a WRD.

PROCESSING OF MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS
Except for migratory game birds processed at a cold storage 
or processing facility, one fully feathered wing or head must 
remain attached to dressed migratory game birds (except 
doves) while being transported between the place taken and 
the personal residence of the hunter, the personal residence 
of another person receiving the dressed birds or a migratory 
bird preservation facility. 

Migratory game birds may be dressed for immediate cooking 
at a place other than a permanent residence (e.g., hunting 
camp). This does not include placing dressed birds in a cool-
er/refrigerator for later consumption while at a place other 
than a permanent residence. 

SHIPPING
When shipping migratory game birds, the package must be 
marked with the name and address of the sender, the name 
and address of the persons to whom the birds are being 
shipped and the number of birds of each species contained 
in the package.

IMPORTATION LIMIT
It is illegal to import migratory game birds belonging to an-
other person into the United States. The number of migratory 
game birds imported from Mexico or Canada may not exceed 
the export limit set by the Mexican state or Canadian province 
from which they were taken. One fully feathered wing or head 
must remain attached to all migratory game birds imported 
from Canada or Mexico.
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/MexicoImport

HUNTING ON PUBLIC WATERS
Waterfowl hunters utilizing public water are encouraged to 
contact a local TPWD Law Enforcement office (pg. 88)
or reservoir controlling authority for information on rules or 
permit requirements before hunting. On public hunting lands 
owned, administered, or leased by TPWD, a person is required 
to possess both a valid hunting license and Annual Public 
Hunting Permit to hunt migratory game birds. Licensed  
supervised youth under the age of 17 may hunt free of charge 
on these lands. For more information, check the TPWD Public 
Hunting Lands Map Booklet available at all TPWD offices, or 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/PublicHunting. 
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DOVE SEASONS, LIMITS, AND ZONES
There is no closed season or bag limit restrictions for Eurasian collared-doves or common pigeons (rock doves). However,  
it is recommended that hunters leave plumage on these birds for species identification to verify they are not part of a migratory 
game bird daily bag or possession limit (pg. 60).

Shooting hours are from one-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

ZONE SEASON DATES DAILY BAG LIMIT POSSESSION LIMIT

REGULAR DOVE SEASON

North Zone Sep 1 - Nov 12
Dec 15-31 15 mourning, white-winged and 

white-tipped doves in the aggregate, to 
include not more than 2 white-tipped 
doves

45 mourning, white-winged and 
white-tipped doves in the 
aggregate, to include not more 
than 6 white-tipped doves

Central Zone Sep 1 - Oct 29
Dec 15 - Jan 14

South Zone Sep 14 - Oct 29
Dec 15 - Jan 21

SPECIAL WHITE-WINGED DOVE DAYS

South Zone
Sep 1-3 & 8-10
Shooting hours are 
from noon to sunset

15 mourning, white-winged and 
white-tipped doves in the aggregate,  
to include not more than 2 mourning 
doves and 2 white-tipped doves

45 mourning, white-winged and 
white-tipped doves in the 
aggregate, to include not more 
than 6 mourning doves and  
6 white-tipped doves

HUNTING ZONES - DOVE

Corpus
Christi

DUCK SEASONS, LIMITS, AND ZONES
Shooting hours are from one-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

ZONE REGULAR DUCK SEASON YOUTH* & 
VETERANS** DUSKY DUCK***

Early Teal (statewide) 
Includes blue-winged, green-winged, 
and cinnamon teal

Sep 9-24

High Plains Mallard Management Unit Oct 28-29
Nov 3 - Jan 28 Oct 21-22 Nov 6 - Jan 28

North Zone Nov 11-26 
Dec 2 - Jan 28 Nov 4-5 Nov 16-26

Dec 2 - Jan 28

South Zone Nov 4-26
Dec 9 - Jan 28 Oct 28-29 Nov 9-26

Dec 9 - Jan 28

*

**

***

16 years of age or younger. Regular season bag limits apply for all legal species of geese, ducks, mergansers, 
coots, moorhens, and gallinules. Dusky ducks are legal during the Youth-only and Veteran Special season. Youth 
hunters must be accompanied by an adult at least 18 years of age. A Federal Ducks Stamp is required for all 
persons 16 years of age or older.

Restricted to veterans and current members of the US Armed Forces on active duty, including members of the 
National Guard and Reserve on active duty (other than for training). 

A dusky duck is defined as a mottled duck, Mexican-like duck, black duck and their hybrids. Due to similarities in 
appearance, all dusky ducks will be off limits during the first five days of the season in each zone. Recent concerns 
about the mottled duck populations by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service have forced a delay in harvest. 

HUNTING ZONES - DUCKS, MERGANSER, AND COOT

High Plains Mallard Management Unit:  West of a line from the 
International Toll Bridge at Del Rio, north along U.S. Hwy. 277 to 
Abilene, State Hwy. 351 and State Hwy. 6 to Albany, and U.S. 
Hwy. 283 to Vernon, east along U.S. Hwy. 183 to the Texas-
Oklahoma state line.

South Zone:  South of a line from the International Bridge and 
U.S. 277 Spur at Del Rio, east along U.S. 90 to San Antonio, east 
along IH 10 to the Texas-Louisiana state line.

North Zone:  Remainder of the state. 

DAILY BAG AND POSSESSION LIMIT 

EARLY TEAL - 6 in aggregate

REGULAR DUCK  - 6 in aggregate
(includes mergansers )

Includes no more than:
• 5 mallards (only 2 of which may be hens) 
• 3 wood ducks
• 2 redheads
• 2 canvasbacks
• 1 scaup
• 1 pintail
•    1 dusky duck (mottled duck, Mexican-like duck,   

black duck and their hybrids are closed the first   
five days of the season in each zone)

• All other species not listed: 6

COOT - 15

POSSESSION LIMIT  
Three times the daily bag limit

FALCONRY
Daily bag and possession limits shall not exceed 
3 and 9 migratory game birds, respectively, singly or  
in the aggregate.
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GOOSE SEASONS, LIMITS, AND ZONES
Shooting hours are from one-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

ZONE SPECIES DATES

East

Early Canada Goose Only Sep 9-24

Light Goose: Snow (including blue) and Ross’s geese
Dark Goose: All other geese (not light), including Canada and white-fronted Nov 4 – Jan 28

Light Goose Conservation Order Jan 29 – Mar 10

West

Light Goose: Snow (including blue) and Ross’s geese
Dark Goose: All other geese (not light), including Canada and white-fronted Nov 4 – Feb 4

Light Goose Conservation Order Feb 5 – Mar 10

Light Goose Conservation Order
During the Light Goose Conservation Order, the taking of light geese will be permitted by regulations established through 
the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service’s Conservation Order. Under the order, the following rules shall be in effect for the taking 
of light geese:

•  No daily bag or possession limits.  
•  The use of electronic calls is legal.
•  Unplugged shotguns holding more than 3 shells are legal.
•  Shooting hours will be one-half hour before sunrise until one half-hour after sunset.

It is UNLAWFUL to take any other species of migratory game birds during the Light Goose Conservation Order.

HUNTING ZONES - GOOSE

WESTERN ZONE:  West of a line from the International Toll Bridge 
at Laredo, north  following IH-35 and 35W to Fort Worth, northwest 
along U.S. Hwy. 81 and 287 to Bowie,  
north along U.S. Hwy. 81 to the Texas-Oklahoma state line. 

EASTERN ZONE:  Remainder of the state.

DAILY BAG & POSSESSION LIMIT 

WESTERN ZONE
Light Geese
10 in the aggregate

Dark Geese
5, to include no more than 2 white-fronted geese

EASTERN ZONE
Early Canada Goose
5

Regular Light Geese
10 in the aggregate

Regular Dark Geese
5, to include no more than 2 white-fronted geese

POSSESSION LIMIT
Three times the daily bag limit for dark geese;  
no possession limit for light geese

SANDHILL CRANE SEASONS, LIMITS, AND ZONES
Shooting hours are from one-half hour before sunrise to sunset.

ZONE DATES DAILY BAG LIMIT POSSESSION LIMIT

A Oct 28 – Jan 28 3 9
B Nov 24 - Jan 28 3 9
C Dec 16 – Jan 21 2 6

HUNTING ZONES - SANDHILL CRANE

OTHER MIGRATORY GAMEBIRDS, SEASONS, AND LIMITS (STATEWIDE)

SPECIES DATES DAILY BAG LIMIT POSSESSION LIMIT

King and Clapper Rails Sep 9-24
Nov 4 - Dec 27 15 in the aggregate 45 in the aggregate

Sora and Virginia Rails Sep 9-24
Nov 4 - Dec 27 25 in the aggregate 75 in the aggregate

Moorhens (Common Gallinules) 
and Purple Gallinules

Sep 9-24
Nov 4 - Dec 27 15 in the aggregate 45 in the aggregate

Woodcock Dec 18 – Jan 31 3 in the aggregate 9 in the aggregate

Wilson’s Snipe  
(Common snipe or jacksnipe) Nov 4 - Feb 18 8 in the aggregate 24 in the aggregate
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Nongame Species
A hunting license is required for the take of nongame species. There are no closed seasons, bag limits or possession limits; 
and, they may be hunted at any time by any lawful means or methods on private property. There may be restrictions for certain 
species of nongame animals, including possession limits (see below). In addition, be aware that public hunting lands may also 
have additional restrictions. If hunting at night, as a courtesy please contact your local game warden at 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/GameWarden.

NONGAME ANIMALS (included, but not limited to the following):

Armadillos
Bobcats
Coyotes

Flying squirrels
Frogs
Ground squirrel

Mountain lions
Porcupines 
Prairie dogs

Rabbits and Hares
Turtles (freshwater)

UNLAWFUL ACTIVITIES FOR TAKE, POSSESS OR SALE OF NONGAME WILDLIFE
It is UNLAWFUL to:
•  take ANY nongame species for commercial purposes 

(sale, offer for sale, barter, or exchange) from public lands 
or waters. 

• possess armadillos for the purpose of sale.

•  purchase, sell, trade, transport or ship out of state bobcat 
pelts without the appropriate pelt tag (CITES) attached. 
Pelt tags may be obtained from any permitted bobcat 
pelt dealer, or offices listed on pg. 88. For additional 
information contact TPWD at (800) 792-1112, menu 7, 
option 9 or (512) 389-4481.

•  transport or sell live coyotes, as they are currently  
under a statewide rabies quarantine. Additional 
information: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/TransportWildlife.

• possess a diamondback terrapin at any time.

•  hunt (capture, trap, take, collect, or kill) any wild animal 
or wild bird on a public road or the right-of-way of public 
roads, except that a person may capture indigenous 
reptiles and amphibians (for recreational purposes 
ONLY) on the shoulder or unpaved right-of-way of a 

public roadway, provided the person possesses a 
valid Reptile and Amphibian Endorsement, the person 
employs non-lethal means ONLY to capture the reptiles 
or amphibians, the person does not possess a trap, and 
the person is visibly wearing at least 144 square inches 
of reflective material, both front and back. No person 
may use artificial light from a motor vehicle to locate, 
capture, or attempt to capture a reptile or amphibian. 

•  collect from the wild, sell, offer for sale or exchange certain 
species of nongame wildlife (including rattlesnakes and 
other reptiles or amphibians) unless a proper nongame 
permit has been obtained from TPWD and all reporting and 
recordkeeping requirements are met: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/
CommercialPermits.

•  take or possess any freshwater turtles taken from the wild 
for commercial purposes.

•  possess more than 6 individuals of any species of fresh-
water turtle from the wild.

•  sell rattlesnakes at a roundup without a nongame permit/
license to do so.

For more information on nongame regulations, permit requirements, and lists of lawful and prohibited species, contact TPWD 
at (800) 792-1112, menu 7 or (512) 389-4481, or go to Nongame Permits online: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/NongamePermits.

Fur-bearing Animals
A person who possesses a hunting license may take a fur-bearing animal (furbearer), provided the furbearer (or any part there-
of) is not to be sold or exchanged for anything of value. There is no bag or possession limit on furbearers. A trapper’s license is 
required for the take of furbearers for the sale of pelts and/or carcasses.   

Fur-bearing animals include:
Badger
Beaver 
Fox

Mink
Muskrat
Nutria 

Opossum
Otter
Ring-tailed cat

Raccoon
Skunk

TAKE, POSSESS OR SALE OF FURBEARERS
•  Hunter education requirements apply.
•  A department-issued CITES tag is required to be attached 

to all otters taken and possessed in this state. No otters 
may be taken or collected from a public roadway.

•  Furbearers may be hunted at night on private property 
with the aid of an artificial light.

•  No license is required if nuisance furbearers are taken 
while causing loss or damage to agricultural crops, 

livestock, poultry, or personal property. However, such 
animals or their pelts may NOT be possessed or sold. 

• There is no closed season for recreational harvest. 

For more information on COMMERCIAL seasons, legal means, 
and other rules for furbearers and their pelts, consult the Fur-
bearing Animal Digest, available at TPWD Law Enforcement 
offices (pg. 88), calling (800) 792-1112, or online: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/FurBearing.

Endangered, Threatened and Other
Protected Animals
In Texas, animal or plant species of conservation concern may be listed as threatened or endangered under the authority of 
state law and/or under the U.S. Endangered Species Act (ESA). It is unlawful for any person to hunt threatened or endangered 
nongame species. To sell or purchase goods made from threatened or endangered species, proper documentation must 
accompany the goods. For a list of threatened and endangered species in Texas: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/endangered. 

PROTECTED BIRDS
All indigenous birds (including, but not limited to, raptors 
and songbirds) are protected by various state and federal 
laws and may not be killed, taken from the nest, picked up, 
or possessed for any reason, and their feathers may not be 
possessed or sold (except for the unprotected birds listed in 
the Non-Protected and/or Exotic Species section). Arts and 
crafts may not include these protected species under any 
circumstances. A federal depredation permit may be issued 
to individuals who have evidence clearly showing certain 
protected wildlife is causing serious damage to commercial 
agricultural, horticultural, or aquacultural interests, or 
presents a threat to public safety. For more information, 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/depredation.

BATS
May not be hunted, killed, possessed, purchased or sold; 
however, bats may be moved, trapped, or killed if inside or 
on a building occupied by people. A person may transport a 
bat for the purpose of laboratory testing if there is a rabies 
or white-nosed syndrome (WNS) concern. Excluding bats 
from buildings is discouraged from May 1 – August 15 when 
young are unable to fly and may be entrapped. Please report 
suspected WNS cases to wns@tpwd.texas.gov. 

BLACK BEARS
Black bears are listed as a state-threatened species by TPWD. 
They are protected and cannot be hunted or killed. Please 
report black bear sightings or mortalities by calling (512) 
389-4505. For more information visit 
tpwd.texas.gov/huntwild/hunt/resources/bear_safety

“CANNED HUNTS” 
(DANGEROUS WILD ANIMALS)
No person may kill or attempt to injure a dangerous wild 
animal (African or Asiatic lion, tiger, leopard, cheetah, hyena, 
bear, elephant, wolf, or rhinoceros, or any subspecies or 
hybrid of these animals) that is held in captivity in this state or 
that is released from captivity in this state for the purpose of 
being killed, nor may any person conduct, promote, advertise, 
or assist in the hunting of a dangerous wild animal.
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COUNTY LISTINGS
Restricted Areas in Counties

UNLAWFUL MEANS AND METHODS IN SPECIFIC COUNTY AREAS 
It is UNLAWFUL to: 

•  possess, shoot or hunt with a firearm or any archery 
equipment on all land and water in the Aransas River and 
Poesta Creek in Bee County; on all land and public water 
in the state-owned riverbeds of La Salle and McMullen 
counties; and on all land and public water in the state-
owned riverbeds of the Nueces, Frio and Atascosa rivers 
in Live Oak County; except for waterfowl hunting on any 
reservoir (existing or to be constructed) owned, operated, 
or maintained by a government entity.

•  discharge a firearm or shoot an arrow in or on the bed or 
bank of a navigable river or stream in certain areas of this 
state. This law does not apply to persons fishing by means 
of archery equipment (special gear requirements apply, 
pg. 24), lawful alligator hunting activity, or shotguns 
loaded with shot, including buckshot. A shotgun slug 
is prohibited. Exemptions allow the take of venomous 
snakes and non-indigenous rodents by landowners or their 
agent(s). Other exemptions may be in effect. Most current 
information: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/RestrictedAreas

•  hunt on water of Stillhouse Hollow Reservoir or land  
adjacent to the reservoir owned by the federal government 
in Bell County, except for game birds hunted with a 

shotgun. A hunter must be 600 feet from the nearest 
private property line.

•  discharge a pistol or rifle in, on, along, or across Wallisville 
Reservoir, and Lake Anahuac in Chambers County; the 
water of the Trinity River or Wallisville Reservoir in Liberty 
County.

•  discharge any firearm or shoot any crossbow or bow and 
arrow on, along, or across the waters of Oyster Bayou in 
Chambers County from State Hwy. 65 south to the mouth 
of Oyster Bayou in the East Bay.

•  hunt wild animals or wild birds or target shoot on land in 
Harris County owned by another without having in imme-
diate possession written consent of the landowner of that 
land. The written consent must contain the hunter’s name, 
identify the land on which hunting or target shooting is 
permitted, be signed by the landowner or legal agent for 
the owner, and must show the address and phone number 
of the person signing consent.

For additional restrictions in Callahan, Cass, Collin, 
Harrison, Marion, Morris, Panola and Wood counties: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/RestrictedAreas.

Hunting on Federal Lands
•   It is the responsibility of the hunter to be aware of applicable federal and state regulations on federal lands (Forest Service, 

National Recreation Areas, Corps of Engineers, etc.).
•  On the LBJ National Grasslands in Montague and Wise counties antlerless may only be taken during archery, youth-only, 

and during the 4-day season (known as doe days).
•  On all other US Forest Service (USFS) lands, antlerless deer may only be taken during archery, muzzleloader, and the 

youth-only seasons. 

HUNTING ON FEDERAL OR OTHER 
GOVERNMENTAL LANDS
When hunting on U.S. Forest Service, Army Corps of 
Engineers, River Authority properties or other lands owned or 
administered by units of government (federal, state, or local), 
additional regulations and/or requirements may apply. It is 
the responsibility of the hunter to determine if such additional 
regulations or requirements apply.
•  U.S. Forest Service (USFS) - on USFS properties managed 

by TPWD through the Public Hunting Program, antlerless 
deer may be taken by special drawn hunt permit. These 
properties include Alabama Creek WMA, Bannister WMA, 
Caddo National Grasslands WMA, Moore Plantation WMA, 
Sam Houston National Forest WMA.   
www.fs.fed.us/visit/know-before-you-go/hunting

• Army Corps of Engineers:  tpwd.texas.gov/oa/USACE
• River Authority:  tpwd.texas.gov/oa/RiverAuthorities 

ANNUAL PUBLIC HUNTING PERMIT
The Annual Public Hunting Permit (also known as walk-in) 
provides nearly year-round hunting on property that TPWD 
owns or leases from various agencies, corporations, and 
private landowners. In order to hunt on these public hunting 
lands, persons age 17 or older must possess a TPWD Annual 
Public Hunting Permit, a hunting license, and any required 
endorsements. Youth (under age 17) are required to have a 
Texas hunting license but are not required to possess their 
own permit to hunt or fish on these lands; however, they must 
hunt or fish under the supervision of an authorized adult (age 
18 or older) who possesses the permit. 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/publichunting

Non-protected and/or Exotic Species
On private property, there are no required means and methods of take, state bag or possession limits, or 
closed seasons (hunting hours) on exotic animals, exotic fowl or other species not included in any of the 
previously addressed categories. 

EXOTIC ANIMALS AND FOWL
An exotic animal is any animal that is not indigenous to Texas, 
including but not limited to aoudad sheep, axis deer, elk, sika 
deer, fallow deer, red deer, and blackbuck and nilgai antelope. 
An exotic fowl is any avian species that is not indigenous to 
Texas and is also not protected by the federal Migratory Bird 
Treaty Act, including but not limited to ratites (emu, ostrich, 
rhea, cassowary, etc.). Hunting License required.

It is UNLAWFUL to:
•   hunt an exotic without a valid hunting license  

(Class C misdemeanor);
•  hunt an exotic on a public road or right-of-way.  

(Class A misdemeanor);
•  hunt an exotic without the landowner’s permission.  

(Class A misdemeanor); or
•  possess an exotic or the carcass of an exotic without  

the owner’s consent (Class A misdemeanor).

FERAL HOGS AND COYOTES
• Hunter Education requirements apply. 

•  No hunting license is required to hunt feral hogs on private 
property with landowner authorization. 

•  Transportation and release of live feral hogs is unlawful, 
unless in compliance with Texas Animal Health 
Commission (TAHC) regulations. The TAHC regulates the 
movement of feral swine for disease-control purposes. For 
more information please call TAHC at (800) 550-8242 or 
visit tpwd.texas.gov/oa/tahc.

•  No hunting license is required to hunt depredating coyotes 
on private property with landowner authorization.

MOUNTAIN LIONS
Mountain lions are classified as nongame animals; they 
are not protected and can be harvested at any time. Please 
report mountain lion sightings, harvests or mortalities to 
(512) 389-4505.

UNPROTECTED BIRDS
Birds not protected by any state or federal law include 
European starlings, English sparrow (house sparrow), feral 
rock doves (common pigeon), Egyptian geese, Muscovy 
ducks (except in Hidalgo, Starr, Zapata counties) and 
Eurasian collared-doves; these species may be killed at 
any time, their nests or eggs destroyed, and their feathers 
possessed. Hunting license required.

MANDATORY Harvest Reporting
Harvest reporting is mandatory for buck and antlerless deer in four 
counties near Dallas (pg. 54). Harvest reporting remains mandatory 
for wild turkeys in all counties with a 1- bird bag limit (pg. 57), 
antlerless white-tailed deer in 21 south-central Texas counties 
(pg. 54), and alligator gar statewide, except Falcon International 
Reservoir (pg. 29).
Report online or on the My Texas Hunt Harvest app: 
tpwd.texas.gov/myhunt 

On-site registration for public hunting is also available online or through 
the My Texas Hunt Harvest app. 

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/RestrictedAreas
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ES Either sex
GB Gobblers or bearded hens
G Gobblers only

Turkey bag limit: Four, in the aggregate, no more 
than one of which may be an eastern turkey.

Javelina bag limit: Two per license year.  
Waste of game provisions apply (pg. 19).

AN Angelina National Forest closed to turkey hunting.
HR Mandatory harvest reporting for wild turkey  

(pg. 57). 
NB No bag limit.

Antlerless may be taken during archery, 
youth and muzzeloader seasons, except on 
properties where antlerless MLDP tags are 
issued or counties marked with W1. 
HR Mandatory harvest reporting  

(pg. 55).
W1 Antlerless by MLDP tag only,  

except during archery season.

W2 Nov 4-26 anterless may be taken.
W3 Nov 4-19 anterless may be taken.
W4 Nov 23-26 antlerless may be taken. 
M1 Mule deer general season:  

antlerless by antlerless mule deer 
permit or MLDP tag.

M2 Mule deer archery season:  
antlerless may be taken.

AC Means/methods restricted to  
lawful archery. No crossbows  
during archery season. 

AR Antler restrictions (pgs. 53-54).
CWD CWD required checks (pgs. 49-52).
DL Dogs must be on a leash.
FS Restricted season dates for antlerless 

harvest on USFS lands (pg. 67)

L =LATE SEASON
Harvest is restricted to 
antlerless deer and 
unbranched antlered  
bucks.

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)    M =MUZZLELOADER    

County

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)

White-tailed Deer Mule Deer  Wild Turkey  Other Game

GENERAL LATE ARCHERY, YOUTH,
MUZZLELOADER

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS

GENERAL &
ARCHERY

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS
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Anderson • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Anderson • • 10
Andrews • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Andrews • NB •
Angelina • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS, W2 Angelina • • 10
Aransas • • • • 3 5 5 Aransas GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Archer • • • • 2 5 5 AR Archer ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Armstrong • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Armstrong ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Atascosa • • • • 2 5 5 AR Atascosa GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Austin • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Austin • NB
Bailey • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Bailey • NB •
Bandera • • • • 2 5 5 CWD Bandera ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Bastrop   • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Bastrop   G 1 HR • NB
Baylor • • • • 2 5 5 Baylor ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Bee • • • • 3 5 5 Bee GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Bell - E. of IH35 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3

Bell ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Bell - W. of IH35 • • • • 2 5 5 AR
Bexar • • • • 2 5 5 CWD Bexar ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Blanco • • • • 2 5 5 Blanco ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Borden • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Borden ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Bosque • • • • 2 5 5 AR Bosque ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Bowie • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Bowie G 1 HR • • 10
Brazoria • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Brazoria • NB
Brazos • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Brazos • NB
Brewster • • • • 2 4 4 • • 1 2 M2 Brewster GB GB 4 • NB •
Briscoe • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Briscoe ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Brooks • • • • 3 5 5 Brooks ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Brown • • • • 2 5 5 AR Brown ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Burleson • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Burleson • NB
Burnet • • • • 2 5 5 Burnet ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Caldwell • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Caldwell G 1 HR • NB •
Calhoun • • • • 3 5 5 Calhoun GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Callahan • • • • 2 5 5 Callahan ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB

COUNTY LISTINGS TABLECOUNTY LISTINGS TABLE
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ES Either sex
GB Gobblers or bearded hens
G Gobblers only

Turkey bag limit: Four, in the aggregate, no more 
than one of which may be an eastern turkey.

Javelina bag limit: Two per license year.  
Waste of game provisions apply (pg. 19).

AN Angelina National Forest closed to turkey hunting.
HR Mandatory harvest reporting for wild turkey  

(pg. 57). 
NB No bag limit.

Antlerless may be taken during archery, 
youth and muzzeloader seasons, except on 
properties where antlerless MLDP tags are 
issued or counties marked with W1. 
HR Mandatory harvest reporting  

(pg. 55).
W1 Antlerless by MLDP tag only,  

except during archery season.

W2 Nov 4-26 anterless may be taken.
W3 Nov 4-19 anterless may be taken.
W4 Nov 23-26 antlerless may be taken. 
M1 Mule deer general season:  

antlerless by antlerless mule deer 
permit or MLDP tag.

M2 Mule deer archery season:  
antlerless may be taken.

AC Means/methods restricted to  
lawful archery. No crossbows  
during archery season. 

AR Antler restrictions (pgs. 53-54).
CWD CWD required checks (pgs. 49-52).
DL Dogs must be on a leash.
FS Restricted season dates for antlerless 

harvest on USFS lands (pg. 67)

L =LATE SEASON
Harvest is restricted to 
antlerless deer and 
unbranched antlered  
bucks.

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)    M =MUZZLELOADER    

County

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)

White-tailed Deer Mule Deer  Wild Turkey  Other Game

GENERAL LATE ARCHERY, YOUTH,
MUZZLELOADER

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS

GENERAL &
ARCHERY

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS
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Cameron • • • • 3 5 5 Cameron GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Camp • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Camp • • 10
Carson • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Carson ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Cass • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Cass G 1 HR • • 10
Castro • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Castro • NB •
Chambers • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Chambers • • 10
Cherokee • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Cherokee • • 10
Childress • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Childress ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Clay • • • • 2 5 5 AR Clay ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Cochran • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Cochran • NB •
Coke • • • • 2 5 5 • • 1 M1 Coke ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Coleman • • • • 2 5 5 Coleman ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Collin • • • 2 2 4 AC, AR, HR Collin • NB
Collingsworth • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Collingsworth ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Colorado • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Colorado G 1 HR • NB
Comal - E. of IH35 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4

Comal ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •Comal - W. of IH35 • • • • 2 5 5
Comanche • • • • 2 2 4 AR Comanche ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Concho • • • • 2 5 5 Concho ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Cooke • • • • 2 2 4 AR Cooke ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Coryell • • • • 2 5 5 AR Coryell ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Cottle • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Cottle ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Crane • • • 1 2 3 W1 • • 1 M1 Crane ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Crockett • • • • 2 5 5 • • 1 M1 Crockett ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Crosby • • • • 1 5 5 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Crosby ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Culberson • • • • 2 4 4 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Culberson • NB •
Dallam • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Dallam • NB •
Dallas • • • 2 2 4 AC, AR, HR Dallas • NB
Dawson • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Dawson ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
De Witt • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 De Witt GB GB 4 • NB •
Deaf Smith • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Deaf Smith • NB •
Delta • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Delta • • 10
Denton • • • • 2 2 4 AR Denton ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Dickens • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Dickens ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
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ES Either sex
GB Gobblers or bearded hens
G Gobblers only

Turkey bag limit: Four, in the aggregate, no more 
than one of which may be an eastern turkey.

Javelina bag limit: Two per license year.  
Waste of game provisions apply (pg. 19).

AN Angelina National Forest closed to turkey hunting.
HR Mandatory harvest reporting for wild turkey  

(pg. 57). 
NB No bag limit.

Antlerless may be taken during archery, 
youth and muzzeloader seasons, except on 
properties where antlerless MLDP tags are 
issued or counties marked with W1. 
HR Mandatory harvest reporting  

(pg. 55).
W1 Antlerless by MLDP tag only,  

except during archery season.

W2 Nov 4-26 anterless may be taken.
W3 Nov 4-19 anterless may be taken.
W4 Nov 23-26 antlerless may be taken. 
M1 Mule deer general season:  

antlerless by antlerless mule deer 
permit or MLDP tag.

M2 Mule deer archery season:  
antlerless may be taken.

AC Means/methods restricted to  
lawful archery. No crossbows  
during archery season. 

AR Antler restrictions (pgs. 53-54).
CWD CWD required checks (pgs. 49-52).
DL Dogs must be on a leash.
FS Restricted season dates for antlerless 

harvest on USFS lands (pg. 67)

L =LATE SEASON
Harvest is restricted to 
antlerless deer and 
unbranched antlered  
bucks.

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)    M =MUZZLELOADER    

County

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)

White-tailed Deer Mule Deer  Wild Turkey  Other Game

GENERAL LATE ARCHERY, YOUTH,
MUZZLELOADER

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS

GENERAL &
ARCHERY

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS
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Dimmit • • • • 3 5 5 Dimmit GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Donley • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Donley ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Duval • • • • 3 5 5 CWD Duval GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Eastland • • • • 2 2 4 AR Eastland ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Ector • • • 1 2 3 W1 • • 1 M1 Ector ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Edwards • • • • 2 5 5 Edwards ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
El Paso • • 1 CWD, M1 El Paso • NB •
Ellis • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3

Ellis-E. of IH35 • NB
Ellis-W. of IH35 GB GB 4 • NB

Erath • • • • 2 2 4 AR Erath ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Falls • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Falls • NB
Fannin • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS, W3 Fannin G 1 HR • • 10
Fayette • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Fayette G 1 HR • NB
Fisher • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Fisher ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Floyd • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Floyd ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Foard • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Foard ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Fort Bend • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Fort Bend • NB
Franklin • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Franklin • • 10
Freestone • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Freestone • • 10
Frio • • • • 3 5 5 CWD Frio GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Gaines • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Gaines • NB •
Galveston • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Galveston • • 10
Garza • • • • 1 5 5 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Garza ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Gillespie • • • • 2 5 5 CWD Gillespie ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Glasscock • • • • 2 5 5 Glasscock ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Goliad - N. of Hwy 59 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4

Goliad GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •Goliad - S. of Hwy 59 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2
Gonzales • • • • 2 2 4 AR,CWD,HR,W4 Gonzales GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Gray • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Gray ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Grayson • • • 2 2 4 AC, AR, HR Grayson G 1 HR • NB
Gregg • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Gregg • • 10
Grimes • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Grimes • NB
Guadalupe • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Guadalupe GB GB 4 • NB •
Hale • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Hale • NB •
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ES Either sex
GB Gobblers or bearded hens
G Gobblers only

Turkey bag limit: Four, in the aggregate, no more 
than one of which may be an eastern turkey.

Javelina bag limit: Two per license year.  
Waste of game provisions apply (pg. 19).

AN Angelina National Forest closed to turkey hunting.
HR Mandatory harvest reporting for wild turkey  

(pg. 57). 
NB No bag limit.

Antlerless may be taken during archery, 
youth and muzzeloader seasons, except on 
properties where antlerless MLDP tags are 
issued or counties marked with W1. 
HR Mandatory harvest reporting  

(pg. 55).
W1 Antlerless by MLDP tag only,  

except during archery season.

W2 Nov 4-26 anterless may be taken.
W3 Nov 4-19 anterless may be taken.
W4 Nov 23-26 antlerless may be taken. 
M1 Mule deer general season:  

antlerless by antlerless mule deer 
permit or MLDP tag.

M2 Mule deer archery season:  
antlerless may be taken.

AC Means/methods restricted to  
lawful archery. No crossbows  
during archery season. 

AR Antler restrictions (pgs. 53-54).
CWD CWD required checks (pgs. 49-52).
DL Dogs must be on a leash.
FS Restricted season dates for antlerless 

harvest on USFS lands (pg. 67)

L =LATE SEASON
Harvest is restricted to 
antlerless deer and 
unbranched antlered  
bucks.

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)    M =MUZZLELOADER    

County

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)

White-tailed Deer Mule Deer  Wild Turkey  Other Game

GENERAL LATE ARCHERY, YOUTH,
MUZZLELOADER

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS

GENERAL &
ARCHERY

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS
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Hall • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Hall ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Hamilton • • • • 2 5 5 AR, CWD Hamilton ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Hansford • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 M1 Hansford • NB •
Hardeman • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Hardeman ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Hardin • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Hardin • • 10
Harris • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Harris • • 10
Harrison • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Harrison • • 10
Hartley • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Hartley ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Haskell • • • • 2 5 5 Haskell ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Hays - E. of IH35 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4

Hays ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •Hays - W. of IH35 • • • • 2 5 5
Hemphill • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Hemphill ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Henderson • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Henderson • • 10
Hidalgo • • • • 3 5 5 Hidalgo GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Hill • • • • 2 5 5 AR Hill ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Hockley • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Hockley • NB •
Hood • • • • 2 2 4 AR Hood ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Hopkins • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Hopkins • • 10
Houston • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS, W2 Houston • • 10
Howard • • • • 2 5 5 Howard ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Hudspeth • • 1 CWD, M1 Hudspeth • NB •
Hunt • • • • 2 2 4 AR, CWD, W3 Hunt • • 10
Hutchinson • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Hutchinson ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Irion • • • • 2 5 5 Irion ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Jack • • • • 2 5 5 AR Jack ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Jackson-N. of Hwy 59 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4

Jackson G 1 HR • NB
Jackson-S. of Hwy 59 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2
Jasper • • • • 2 2 4 AR,DL,FS,W2 Jasper G 1 AN, HR • • 10
Jeff Davis • • • • 2 4 4 • • 1 M1 Jeff Davis GB GB 4 • NB •
Jefferson • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Jefferson • • 10
Jim Hogg • • • • 3 5 5 Jim Hogg GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Jim Wells • • • • 3 5 5 Jim Wells GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Johnson • • • • 2 2 4 AR Johnson ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Jones • • • • 2 5 5 Jones ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
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ES Either sex
GB Gobblers or bearded hens
G Gobblers only

Turkey bag limit: Four, in the aggregate, no more 
than one of which may be an eastern turkey.

Javelina bag limit: Two per license year.  
Waste of game provisions apply (pg. 19).

AN Angelina National Forest closed to turkey hunting.
HR Mandatory harvest reporting for wild turkey  

(pg. 57). 
NB No bag limit.

Antlerless may be taken during archery, 
youth and muzzeloader seasons, except on 
properties where antlerless MLDP tags are 
issued or counties marked with W1. 
HR Mandatory harvest reporting  

(pg. 55).
W1 Antlerless by MLDP tag only,  

except during archery season.

W2 Nov 4-26 anterless may be taken.
W3 Nov 4-19 anterless may be taken.
W4 Nov 23-26 antlerless may be taken. 
M1 Mule deer general season:  

antlerless by antlerless mule deer 
permit or MLDP tag.

M2 Mule deer archery season:  
antlerless may be taken.

AC Means/methods restricted to  
lawful archery. No crossbows  
during archery season. 

AR Antler restrictions (pgs. 53-54).
CWD CWD required checks (pgs. 49-52).
DL Dogs must be on a leash.
FS Restricted season dates for antlerless 

harvest on USFS lands (pg. 67)

L =LATE SEASON
Harvest is restricted to 
antlerless deer and 
unbranched antlered  
bucks.

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)    M =MUZZLELOADER    

County

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)

White-tailed Deer Mule Deer  Wild Turkey  Other Game

GENERAL LATE ARCHERY, YOUTH,
MUZZLELOADER

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS

GENERAL &
ARCHERY

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS

RIO GRANDE
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Karnes • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Karnes GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Kaufman • • • • 2 2 4 AR, CWD, W3 Kaufman • NB
Kendall • • • • 2 5 5 Kendall ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Kenedy • • • • 3 5 5 Kenedy ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Kent • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Kent ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Kerr   • • • • 2 5 5 Kerr   ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Kimble • • • • 2 5 5 CWD Kimble ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
King • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 King ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Kinney - N. of US90 • • • • 2 5 5 Kinney - N. ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Kinney - S. of US90 • • • • 3 5 5 Kinney - S. GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Kleberg • • • • 3 5 5 Kleberg ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Knox • • • • 2 5 5 • • 1 M1 Knox ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
La Salle • • • • 3 5 5 La Salle GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Lamar • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Lamar G 1 HR • • 10
Lamb • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Lamb • NB •
Lampasas • • • • 2 5 5 AR Lampasas ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Lavaca • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Lavaca G 1 HR • NB
Lee • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Lee G 1 HR • NB
Leon • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Leon • • 10
Liberty • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Liberty • • 10
Limestone • • • • 2 2 4 AR, CWD, W3 Limestone • • 10
Lipscomb • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Lipscomb ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Live Oak • • • • 3 5 5 Live Oak GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Llano • • • • 2 5 5 Llano ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Loving • • • 1 2 3 W1 • • 1 M1 Loving • NB •
Lubbock • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 AR,CWD,M1 Lubbock • NB •
Lynn • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 AR,CWD,M1 Lynn ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Madison • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Madison • NB
Marion • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Marion G 1 HR • • 10
Martin • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Martin ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Mason • • • • 2 5 5 Mason ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Matagorda • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Matagorda G 1 HR • NB
Maverick • • • • 3 5 5 Maverick GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
McCulloch • • • • 2 5 5 McCulloch ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
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ES Either sex
GB Gobblers or bearded hens
G Gobblers only

Turkey bag limit: Four, in the aggregate, no more 
than one of which may be an eastern turkey.

Javelina bag limit: Two per license year.  
Waste of game provisions apply (pg. 19).

AN Angelina National Forest closed to turkey hunting.
HR Mandatory harvest reporting for wild turkey  

(pg. 57). 
NB No bag limit.

Antlerless may be taken during archery, 
youth and muzzeloader seasons, except on 
properties where antlerless MLDP tags are 
issued or counties marked with W1. 
HR Mandatory harvest reporting  

(pg. 55).
W1 Antlerless by MLDP tag only,  

except during archery season.

W2 Nov 4-26 anterless may be taken.
W3 Nov 4-19 anterless may be taken.
W4 Nov 23-26 antlerless may be taken. 
M1 Mule deer general season:  

antlerless by antlerless mule deer 
permit or MLDP tag.

M2 Mule deer archery season:  
antlerless may be taken.

AC Means/methods restricted to  
lawful archery. No crossbows  
during archery season. 

AR Antler restrictions (pgs. 53-54).
CWD CWD required checks (pgs. 49-52).
DL Dogs must be on a leash.
FS Restricted season dates for antlerless 

harvest on USFS lands (pg. 67)

L =LATE SEASON
Harvest is restricted to 
antlerless deer and 
unbranched antlered  
bucks.

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)    M =MUZZLELOADER    

County

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)

White-tailed Deer Mule Deer  Wild Turkey  Other Game

GENERAL LATE ARCHERY, YOUTH,
MUZZLELOADER

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS
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McLennan • • • • 2 5 5 AR McLennan ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
McMullen • • • • 3 5 5 McMullen GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Medina - N. of US90 • • • • 2 5 5 CWD Medina - N. ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Medina - S. of US90 • • • • 3 5 5 Medina - S. GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Menard • • • • 2 5 5 Menard ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Midland • • • 1 2 3 W1 • • 1 M1 Midland ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Milam • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Milam G 1 HR • NB
Mills • • • • 2 5 5 AR Mills ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Mitchell • • • • 2 5 5 Mitchell ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Montague • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS Montague ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Montgomery • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS, W2 Montgomery • • 10
Moore • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Moore ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Morris • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Morris • • 10
Motley • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 AR, M1 Motley ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Nacogdoches • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS, W3 Nacogdoches G 1 HR • • 10
Navarro • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Navarro • • 10
Newton • • • • 2 2 4 AR,DL,FS,W2 Newton G 1 HR • • 10
Nolan • • • • 2 5 5 Nolan ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Nueces • • • • 3 5 5 Nueces GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Ochiltree • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Ochiltree ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Oldham • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Oldham ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Orange • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Orange • • 10
Palo Pinto • • • • 2 5 5 AR Palo Pinto ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Panola • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Panola • • 10
Parker  • • • • 2 2 4 AR Parker  ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Parmer • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 AR,CWD,M1 Parmer • NB •
Pecos • • • • 2 5 5 • • 1 2 M2 Pecos ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Polk • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Polk G 1 HR • • 10
Potter • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Potter ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Presidio • • • • 2 4 4 • • 1 M1 Presidio • NB •
Rains • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Rains • • 10
Randall • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 AR,CWD,M1 Randall ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Reagan • • • • 2 5 5 • • 1 M1 Reagan ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Real • • • • 2 5 5 Real ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
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ES Either sex
GB Gobblers or bearded hens
G Gobblers only

Turkey bag limit: Four, in the aggregate, no more 
than one of which may be an eastern turkey.

Javelina bag limit: Two per license year.  
Waste of game provisions apply (pg. 19).

AN Angelina National Forest closed to turkey hunting.
HR Mandatory harvest reporting for wild turkey  

(pg. 57). 
NB No bag limit.

Antlerless may be taken during archery, 
youth and muzzeloader seasons, except on 
properties where antlerless MLDP tags are 
issued or counties marked with W1. 
HR Mandatory harvest reporting  

(pg. 55).
W1 Antlerless by MLDP tag only,  

except during archery season.

W2 Nov 4-26 anterless may be taken.
W3 Nov 4-19 anterless may be taken.
W4 Nov 23-26 antlerless may be taken. 
M1 Mule deer general season:  

antlerless by antlerless mule deer 
permit or MLDP tag.

M2 Mule deer archery season:  
antlerless may be taken.

AC Means/methods restricted to  
lawful archery. No crossbows  
during archery season. 

AR Antler restrictions (pgs. 53-54).
CWD CWD required checks (pgs. 49-52).
DL Dogs must be on a leash.
FS Restricted season dates for antlerless 

harvest on USFS lands (pg. 67)

L =LATE SEASON
Harvest is restricted to 
antlerless deer and 
unbranched antlered  
bucks.

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)    M =MUZZLELOADER    

County

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)

White-tailed Deer Mule Deer  Wild Turkey  Other Game

GENERAL LATE ARCHERY, YOUTH,
MUZZLELOADER

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS

GENERAL &
ARCHERY

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS
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Red River • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Red River G 1 HR • • 10
Reeves • • • • 2 4 4 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Reeves • NB •
Refugio • • • • 3 5 5 Refugio GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Roberts • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Roberts ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Robertson • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Robertson • • 10
Rockwall • • • 2 2 4 AC,AR,CWD,HR Rockwall • NB
Runnels • • • • 2 5 5 Runnels ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Rusk • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Rusk • • 10
Sabine • • • • 2 2 4 AR,DL,FS,W3 Sabine G 1 HR • • 10
San Augustine • • • • 2 2 4 AR,DL,FS,W3 San Augustine • • 10
San Jacinto • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS, W2 San Jacinto • • 10
San Patricio • • • • 3 5 5 San Patricio GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
San Saba • • • • 2 5 5 San Saba ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Schleicher • • • • 2 5 5 Schleicher ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Scurry • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Scurry ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Shackelford • • • • 2 5 5 Shackelford ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Shelby • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS, W3 Shelby • • 10
Sherman • • • 1 2 3 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Sherman • NB •
Smith • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Smith • • 10
Somervell • • • • 2 5 5 AR Somervell ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Starr • • • • 3 5 5 Starr GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Stephens • • • • 2 5 5 AR Stephens ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Sterling • • • • 2 5 5 Sterling ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Stonewall • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Stonewall ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Sutton • • • • 2 5 5 CWD Sutton ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Swisher • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Swisher ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Tarrant • • • • 2 2 4 AR Tarrant ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Taylor • • • • 2 5 5 Taylor ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Terrell • • • • 2 5 5 • • 1 2 AR, M2 Terrell ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Terry • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Terry • NB •
Throckmorton • • • • 2 5 5 Throckmorton ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Titus • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Titus • • 10
Tom Green • • • • 2 5 5 Tom Green ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
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ES Either sex
GB Gobblers or bearded hens
G Gobblers only

Turkey bag limit: Four, in the aggregate, no more 
than one of which may be an eastern turkey.

Javelina bag limit: Two per license year.  
Waste of game provisions apply (pg. 19).

AN Angelina National Forest closed to turkey hunting.
HR Mandatory harvest reporting for wild turkey  

(pg. 57). 
NB No bag limit.

Antlerless may be taken during archery, 
youth and muzzeloader seasons, except on 
properties where antlerless MLDP tags are 
issued or counties marked with W1. 
HR Mandatory harvest reporting  

(pg. 55).
W1 Antlerless by MLDP tag only,  

except during archery season.

W2 Nov 4-26 anterless may be taken.
W3 Nov 4-19 anterless may be taken.
W4 Nov 23-26 antlerless may be taken. 
M1 Mule deer general season:  

antlerless by antlerless mule deer 
permit or MLDP tag.

M2 Mule deer archery season:  
antlerless may be taken.

AC Means/methods restricted to  
lawful archery. No crossbows  
during archery season. 

AR Antler restrictions (pgs. 53-54).
CWD CWD required checks (pgs. 49-52).
DL Dogs must be on a leash.
FS Restricted season dates for antlerless 

harvest on USFS lands (pg. 67)

L =LATE SEASON
Harvest is restricted to 
antlerless deer and 
unbranched antlered  
bucks.

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)    M =MUZZLELOADER    

County

A =ARCHERY    Y =YOUTH ONLY  (pg. 48 for youth-only bag limits and requirements)

White-tailed Deer Mule Deer  Wild Turkey  Other Game

GENERAL LATE ARCHERY, YOUTH,
MUZZLELOADER

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS

GENERAL &
ARCHERY

BAG LIMITS &
RESTRICTIONS
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Travis - E. of IH35 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4
Travis ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB

Travis - W. of IH35 • • • • 2 5 5
Trinity • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS, W2 Trinity • • 10
Tyler • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2 Tyler • • 10
Upshur • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Upshur • • 10
Upton • • • • 2 5 5 • • 1 M1 Upton ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Uvalde - N. of US90 • • • • 2 5 5 CWD Uvalde - N. ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Uvalde - S. of US90 • • • • 3 5 5 Uvalde - S. GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Val Verde-N. of 239/90 • • • • 2 5 5 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Val Verde - N. ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Val Verde-S. of 239/90 • • • • 3 5 5 CWD • • 1 CWD, M1 Val Verde - S. GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Van Zandt • • • • 2 2 4 AR, CWD, W3 Van Zandt • • 10
Victoria - N. of Hwy 59 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4

Victoria GB GB 4 • NB •Victoria - S. of Hwy 59 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2
Walker • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS, W2 Walker • • 10
Waller • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Waller • NB
Ward • • • 1 2 3 W1 • • 1 M1 Ward ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Washington • • • • 2 2 4 AR,CWD,HR,W4 Washington • NB
Webb • • • • 3 5 5 Webb GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Wharton-N. of Hwy 59 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4

Wharton G 1 HR • NB
Wharton-S. of Hwy 59 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W2
Wheeler • • • • 1 5 5 • • 1 M1 Wheeler ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Wichita • • • • 2 5 5 AR Wichita ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Wilbarger • • • • 2 5 5 Wilbarger ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB • •
Willacy • • • • 3 5 5 Willacy ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB •
Williamson-E. of IH35 • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3

Williamson ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Williamson-W. of IH35 • • • • 2 5 5 AR
Wilson • • • • 2 2 4 AR, HR, W4 Wilson GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Winkler • • • 1 2 3 W1 • • 1 M1 Winkler • NB •
Wise • • • • 2 2 4 AR, FS Wise ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Wood • • • • 2 2 4 AR, W3 Wood • • 10
Yoakum • • • 1 2 3 • • 1 AR, M1 Yoakum • NB
Young • • • • 2 5 5 AR Young ES ES ES GB GB 4 • NB
Zapata • • • • 3 5 5 Zapata GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
Zavala • • • • 3 5 5 CWD Zavala GB GB GB GB GB 4 • NB •
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Definitions - Hunting, Fishing, and Boating
Active duty 
Full-time military service in the U.S. Army, Navy, Marines, Air 
Force, Coast Guard, Reserves, National Guard or Texas State 
Guard; includes full-time training duty and attendance while 
in active service at a school designated as a service school by 
law or by the Secretary of the military department. 
Note: Veteran Waterfowl and Active Military Waterfowl season 
definitions differ (pg 61).

Aggregate limit
A daily bag or possession limit composed of more than 
one species or a single bag limit that applies to a group of 
counties.

Aircraft
Any mechanical or other device used for flight; this includes 
unmanned aerial vehicles (aka drones). Aircraft may not be 
used, or any attempt, to hunt, locate (including wounded 
animals), photograph, count, harass, drive any animal without 
a department-issued permit. 

Air gun
A device that fires a bullet solely by the use of unignited 
compressed gas as the propellant. 

Annual bag limit
(alligator, deer, pronghorn, turkey or javelina)
The maximum number of these species that may be lawfully 
taken by a hunter during a license year.

Antler Point
A projection that extends at least one inch from the edge of 
a main beam or another tine. The tip of a main beam is also 
a point.

Antlerless Deer
A deer with no antler point protruding through the skin or a 
deer that has no antlers.

Artificial lure
Any lure (including flies) with hook or hooks attached that is 
man-made and is used as a bait while fishing. 

Arrow gun
A device that fires an arrow or bolt solely by the use of unignit-
ed compressed gas as the propellant.

Bait
Something that intentionally or unintentionally lures any 
wildlife resource. Includes, but not limited, to salt, grain, 
minerals, or other feed, directly or indirectly placed, exposed, 
deposited, distributed, or scattered. Does not include scent 
attractants for animals. It is unlawful to use game fish or any 
part thereof as bait.

Baited area
Any (public or private) area where bait is found. For migratory 
game birds, this could include adjacent properties. There 
is no set distance from a baited area that a bird/animal 
may be hunted if the flight path or behavior is altered by its 

placement. It is the hunter’s responsibility to know if an area is 
baited. These areas are unlawful for ALL migratory game birds 
and eastern wild turkeys and Public Hunting Land. 

Barotrauma 
A condition caused by expansion of gases inside a fish, 
such as the stomach coming out of the mouth, bulging eyes, 
bloated belly, and/or distended intestines.

Buck deer
A deer with an antler point protruding through the skin or a 
deer with antler growth in velvet of greater than one inch.

Buck Pronghorn 
A pronghorn with black cheek patches below the ears.

Catch
To take or kill and includes an attempt to take or kill.

CITES
Convention on International Trade in Endangered Species is 
an international agreement between governments to ensure 
that international trade in wild animals and plants does not 
threaten their survival.

Community fishing lake
All public impoundments 75 acres or smaller located totally 
within an incorporated city limits or a municipal, city, county, 
or state park. For a listing of specific fishing regulations for 
these waters, pg. 32. For a list of Community Fishing Lakes 
in a specific area, call (512) 389-4444 or check online: 
tpwd.texas.gov/oa/LakeFinder. 

Closed season
For any species, the period of time, if any, when fishing or 
hunting that species is not permitted.

Culling
Release of a fish after it was held in an angler’s possession to 
be replaced with another fish of the same species.

Daily bag limit (Anglers)
Quantity of a species of a resource, such as fish, that may be 
taken in one day.

Daily bag limit (Hunters)
The maximum number of game animals/birds that may be 
lawfully taken or possessed by a hunter in one day. No person 
shall possess more than one daily bag limit while in the field 
or travelling to or from the field.

Day
A 24-hour period of time that begins at midnight and ends 
at midnight.

Depredation
Causing damage or destruction to property, commercial crops 
or native environments.

Descending Device 
An instrument capable of releasing a fish at the depth from 

which the fish was caught with a weighted hook, lip clamp, or 
container that will hold the fish while it is lowered to depth to 
effect release. The device must be capable of releasing the 
fish automatically, by actions of the operator of the device, or 
by allowing the fish to escape on its own when at depth. The 
device must use a minimum of a 16-ounce (454-gram) weight 
and a minimum of a 60-ft (15.2-m) length of line.

Final destination
The permanent residence (definition, pg. 87) of the hunter; 
the permanent residence of any other person receiving the 
animal/bird carcass part of an animal/bird carcass; or a Type 
1 cold storage or processing facility.

Final processing
The cleaning of a dead wildlife resource for cooking or 
storage purposes. For a deer or pronghorn carcass, the 
term includes the processing of the animal more than by 
quartering.

Fishing
The act of taking or attempting to take aquatic animal life by 
any means. 

Fishing guide
A person who, for compensation, accompanies, assists, or 
transports a person or persons engaged in fishing in the water 
of this state. tpwd.texas.gov/fishboat/fish/commercial

Fishing guide deck hand
A person in the employ of a fishing guide who assists in oper-
ating a boat for compensation to accompany or to transport a 
person or persons engaged in fishing in the water of this state. 
tpwd.texas.gov/fishboat/fish/commercial

Gear tag
A tag constructed of material as durable as the device to 
which it is attached. The gear tag must be legible, contain the 
name and address, or customer number, of the person using 
the device, and the date the device was set out. Date is not 
required for saltwater trotlines or crabtraps fished under a 
commercial license. For juglines, freshwater trotlines, minnow 
traps, and throwlines properly marked buoys or floats qualify 
as valid gear tags.

Hunt
To capture, trap, take, or kill, and includes the act of attempt-
ing to capture, trap, take, or kill.

Immediate consumption
The preparation process for a carcass portion to be imme-
diately cooked and eaten. This would not include processed 
portions stored while marinating for later consumption.  

Legal shooting hours for all game animals and 
nonmigratory (upland) game birds
The period from one-half hour before official sunrise to 
one-half hour after official sunset. For information on sunrise/
sunset hours: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/sun 

Livestock
Includes but is not limited to cattle, horses, mules, sheep, 
goats and domesticated/non-feral swine.

Manipulation
The alteration of natural vegetation or agricultural crops, in-
cluding but not limited to mowing, shredding, discing, rolling, 
chopping, trampling, flattening, burning and herbicide treat-
ments. Only lawful for dove hunting, NOT waterfowl or cranes. 
Manipulation does not include the incidental distributing or 
scattering of grain, seed or other feed after removal from or 
storage on the field where grown. 

Migratory bird preservation facility
A stationary facility designed and constructed to store or 
process game birds.  

Motorboat
Any vessel propelled or designed to be propelled by 
machinery, whether or not the machinery is permanently or 
temporarily affixed or is the principal source of propulsion.

Natural vegetation
Any non-agricultural, native or naturalized plant species that 
grows at a site in response to planting or from existing seeds 
or propagule. Natural vegetation does not include planted 
millet. However, planted millet that grows on its own in subse-
quent years after the planting is considered natural vegetation 
(only natural vegetation may be manipulated for waterfowl 
and crane hunting.)

Nongame fish
All species not listed as game fish except endangered and 
threatened fish, which are defined and regulated under 
separate rules. 

Normal agricultural planting, harvesting, and post-harvest 
manipulation
A normal agricultural planting or harvesting undertaken for the 
purpose of producing and gathering a crop, or manipulation 
(including post-harvest) after such harvest and removal of 
a crop, that is conducted in accordance with official recom-
mendations of State Extension Specialists of the Cooperative 
Extension Service of the U.S. Department of Agriculture. 
Includes commercial harvest, loading and unloading. Does 
not include the broadcast spreading of seed that is normally 
drill-planted.

Normal stabilization practice
A planting for agricultural soil-erosion control or post-mining 
land-reclamation conducted in accordance with official 
recommendations of State Extension Specialists of the 
Cooperative Extension Service of the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture.

Open season
The period of time during which it is lawful to pursue, hunt, 
take, or attempt to take a specified animal, bird, or fish. The 
dates in this guide are opening and closing dates for the open 
season which includes all dates between them. 

Operate
To navigate or otherwise use a motorboat or a vessel.

Outboard motor
Any self-contained internal combustion propulsion system, 
excluding fuel supply, which is used to propel a vessel and 
which is detachable as a unit from the vessel.
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Party boat
A vessel, other than a sailboat, of 30 feet or more in length 
that is operated on inland waters of the state by the owner 
of the vessel or an employee and is rented or leased for a 
recreational event for more than six passengers. 

Permanent residence
One’s principal or ordinary home or dwelling place. This 
does not include one’s temporary abode or dwelling such as 
a hunting/fishing club, or any club house, cabin, tent, car, 
truck, or trailer house used as a hunting/fishing club, or any 
hotel, motel, or rooming house used during a hunting, fishing, 
pleasure, or business trip.

Personal watercraft
A type of motorboat that is specifically designed to be 
operated by a person or persons sitting, standing, or kneeling 
on the vessel rather than in the conventional manner of sitting 
or standing inside the vessel. 

Possession limit (hunters)
The maximum number of any animal or bird that may be 
possessed by any person at any place. This limit only ceases 
when a bird or animal is legally finally processed or reaches 
its final destination. Final processing may only occur at final 
destination or cold storage facility. 

Possession limit (anglers)
The maximum number of fish a person may possess before 
returning to their residence. Possession limit is twice the 
daily bag on game and nongame fish, except as provided in 
this guide, and does not apply to fish in the possession of or 
stored by a person at their residence.

Pre-charged pneumatic
An air gun or arrow gun for which the propellant is supplied or 
introduced by means of a source that is physically separate 
from the air gun or arrow gun. Note: Air guns or arrow guns 
powered by CO2 canisters are NOT pre-charged pneumatics.

Pronghorn (Antilocapra americana)
In this document, “pronghorn” means “pronghorn antelope.” 
More information: tpwd.texas.gov/oa/pronghorn

Residence (anglers)
A permanent structure where a person regularly sleeps and keeps 
personal belongings such as furniture and clothes, but does 
not include a temporary abode or dwelling such as a hunting 
or fishing club, or any club house, cabin, tent or trailer house or 
mobile home used as hunting or fishing camp, or any hotel, motel 
or rooming house used on a temporary basis.

Sell
To transfer the ownership or the right of possession of an item 
to a person for consideration and includes a barter and an 
even exchange. 

Sinkbox
A low floating device concealing a person below the surface of 
the water. Sinkboxes are unlawful.

Tag
A label attached to a harvested resource (such as animal, 
fowl, fish). The type of license (physical or digital) may affect 
the type of tag authorized for use.

Venting tool 
A device capable of penetrating the abdomen of a fish for 
purposes of releasing gases accumulated in the body cavity 
as a result of retrieving the fish from depth. It must be a 
sharpened, hollow instrument that allows air to escape and of 
at least a 16–gauge, with an outside diameter of no less than 
0.065 inches (1.65 mm).

Veteran
A person who served in the active military, naval, or air 
service, and who was discharged or released there from under 
conditions other than dishonorable. Note: Veteran Waterfowl 
and Active Military Waterfowl season definitions differ (pg 61).

Vessel
Any watercraft, other than a seaplane on water, used or 
capable of being used for transportation on water.

Waterfowl
Ducks (including teal), geese, mergansers, and coots. Does
NOT include Sandhill Crane.

Wildlife resource
Any wild animal, wild bird, or aquatic life. 

Wildlife Resource Document (WRD)
A document that allows a person to give, leave, receive, or 
possess any species (or part of) of legally taken game birds, 
game fish or game animals; WRD must contain:
(A)  name, signature, address, and hunting license number of 

the person who harvested or caught the wildlife resource; 
(B)  name of the person receiving the wildlife resource; 
(C)  description of the wildlife resource (number and type of 

species or parts);
(D)  date the wildlife resource was harvested or caught; and
(E)  location where the wildlife resource was harvested or 

caught (name of ranch; area; county).

Wounded deer
A deer leaving a blood trail.

Youth (for the purposes of participation in Youth-Only hunting 
seasons or special youth events) 
Any person 16 years of age or younger.

Commonly Used Abbreviations
CDC Centers for Disease Control
CITES Convention on International Trade in 
   Endangered Species
CWD Chronic Wasting Disease
EEZ Exclusive Economic Zone
HIP Harvest Information Program
IWVC Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact
MLDP Managed Lands Deer Program
OGT Operation Game Thief
PFD Personal Flotation Device

PWC Personal Watercraft
TAHC Texas Animal Health Commission
TCEQ Texas Commission on Environmental Quality
TDSHS Texas Department of State Health Services
TPWD Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
USCG United States Coast Guard
USDA United States Department of Agriculture
WMA Wildlife Management Area
WRD Wildlife Resource Document
WTD White-tailed Deer

TPWD REGIONAL AND FIELD LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICES
Abilene 281 North Willis (79603)
 (325) 673-3333

Amarillo 203 SW 8th Street, Suite 200 (79101)
 (806) 379-8900

Beaumont 5655 Eastex Frwy., Suite A (77706) 
 (409) 892-8666

Brownsville 5460 Paredes Line Road, Ste. 201 (78526)
 (956) 546-1952

Brownwood 301 Main, Suite D (76801)
 (325) 646-0440

College Station 12815 FM 2154 (Wellborn Road) 
 Suite 160 (77845)   (979) 696-4148

Corpus Christi 5541 Bear Lane, Suite 232 (78405)
 (361) 289-5566

El Paso 401 East Franklin, Suite 520 (79901)
 (915) 834-7050

Fort Worth 5400 Airport Frwy, Suite E (76117)
 (817) 831-3128

Garland 346 Oaks Trail, Suite 100 (75043)
 (972) 226-9966

Houston (north) 350 North Sam Houston Pkwy E., Ste. 100 
 (77060) (281) 931-6471

Houston (south) 10101 Southwest Frwy, #206 (77074)
 (713) 779-8977

Kerrville 309 Sidney Baker South (78028)
 (830) 257-7611

LaMarque 14037 Delany Road (77568)
 (409) 933-1947

Laredo 5119 Bob Bullock Loop (78041)
 (956) 718-1087

Lubbock 1702 Landmark Lane, Suite 1 (79415)
 (806) 761-4930

Lufkin Old Texas Plaza, 4100 S. Medford Drive, 
 Suite 204B (75901)   (936) 632-1311

Midland 4500 West Illinois, Suite 307 (79703)
 (432) 520-4649

Mt. Pleasant 212 South Johnson (75455)
 (903) 572-7966

Rockport 715 South Hwy. 35 (78382)
 (361) 790-0312

Rusk 580 West Sixth Street (75785)
 (903) 683-2511

San Angelo 3407 South Chadbourne (76903)
 (325) 651-4844

San Antonio 2391 N.E. Loop 410, Suite 409 (78217)
 (210) 348-7375

Temple 3615 South General Bruce Drive (76504) 
 (254) 778-8913

Tyler 11942A FM 848, Suite 100 (75707) 
 (903) 534-0388

Victoria 2805 N. Navarro, Suite 600A (77901)
 (361) 575-6306

Waco 1601 East Crest Drive (76705)
 (254) 867-7951

Wichita Falls 4822 Kemp Blvd., Suite 1300 (76308)
 (940) 723-7327

Get the most up-to-date regulations at 
OutdoorAnnual.com
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WILDLIFE RESOURCE DOCUMENT
Refer to sections on Transfer of Wildlife Resources, Cold Storage/Processing Facility, and Taxidermist for an 
explanation of requirements to complete and possess this document.

I,  
 (1) Name (2) Phone

 (3) Address  City / State / Zip

give, donate, leave the wildlife resource(s) or parts therof, listed below to: (complete Sections 4 through 12), OR possess 
the wildlife resource(s) or parts therof, listed below, without other applicable licenses, stamps, tags, or permits (complete 
Sections 6 through 12):

(4) Receiver’s Name

 (5) Address  City / State / Zip

(6) Number and Type of Species or Parts

which was killed or caught on (7) Date _______________________________________ at the following location:

(8) Name of Ranch, Area, Lake, Bay, or Stream and County, State, or Country

(9) Hunt and/or Fish License of person who killed or caught the wildlife resource described in Section 6     (10) State

 (11) Signature (12) Date

NOTE: Reproduction of this information is allowed, in any form, including a legible handwritten version. 
Form is also available online:  tpwd.texas.gov/oa/transfer

PWD 304A–W7000 (5/21) 

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department maintains the information collected through this form. 
With few exceptions, you are entitled to be informed about the information we collect. Under 
Sections 552.021 and 552.023 of the Texas Government Code, you are also entitled to receive 
and review the information. Under Section 559.004, you are also entitled to have this information 
corrected. Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, 4200 Smith School Rd., Austin, TX 78744, 
www.tpwd.texas.gov

Complete and submit to the Department, accompanied by a 
$21.00 payment for a CITES tag within 72 hours of harvest.

Submit to:  Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, 
Alligator Program
4200 Smith School Road, Austin, TX 78744

Name of Ranch/Landowner __________________________________________

Harvest Date _________________  County of Take _______________________

Hunter’s Name ___________________________________________________

Physical Address _________________________________________________

City  ______________________________    Zip Code ____________________

Address for Tag Delivery ____________________________________________

City  ______________________________    Zip Code ____________________

Phone __________________________________________________________

Hunting Lic. No. __________________________________________________

Customer No. ____________________________________________________

I CERTIFY THAT THE INFORMATION LISTED HEREON IS TRUE AND CORRECT.

Hunter’s Signature

Sex of Gator ______________________________ 

Carcass Length (unskinned) _________________

Dispatch Method __________________________ 

Hide Use:  Sale Personal
Skinning Method:  Belly  Hornback

Method of Take:  Hook & Line  Archery
 Snare  Gig
 Firearm Other

NOTE: Failure to SUBMIT ALL INFORMATION or enter a false 
statement in a government record is a Class A misdemeanor or 
a felony of the third degree under the Texas Penal Code.

NON-CORE ALLIGATOR HIDE TAG REPORT

Hide Tag No. __________________________
TPWD USE

NON-CORE ALLIGATOR HIDE TAG REPORT

http://www.OutdoorAnnual.com
http://tpwd.texas.gov/oa/transfer
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