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Operation Game Thief is privately funded.  Please consider supporting efforts to protect our 
precious natural resources and keep our waterways safe by sending your tax deductible 
donation to Operation Game Thief, or by becoming an Operation Game Thief Member.  Please 
visit www.ogttx.com for membership information.  Donations can be sent to Texas Parks and 
Wildlife Department, 4200 Smith School Road, Austin, Texas 78744, or you may also call 
(512) 389-8801 to make a donation by credit card.

You can make a difference by reporting  
poaching, pollution and dumping, arson in state parks, 
and intoxicated boaters! Up to $1,000 may be paid for 
information leading to arrest and conviction of a person 
for a violation of our state’s wildlife and fisheries 
laws, as well as for certain laws related to environ-
mental crime, arson, and intoxicated boaters.

Reward Hotline  (800) 792-GAME

Texas’ Wildlife Crime-Stoppers   Program



A GUIDE TO TEXAS COMMERCIAL 
FISHING INDUSTRY REGULATIONS

Commercial fishing is any activity involving taking or handling fresh or saltwater aquatic products for pay or 
for the purpose of barter, sale or exchange.
	 This publication is a summary of regulations for the commercial fishing industry in Texas and is designed 
as a guide only. Regulations concerning sport fishing are contained in the Texas Parks and Wildlife Outdoor 
Annual which is available free of charge from Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) offices and from 
bait, tackle and sporting goods dealers where fishing licenses are sold.
	 More detailed information concerning commercial fishing industry regulations can be obtained from 
TPWD game wardens or any law enforcement office of TPWD.
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IMPORTANT NOTICES
NOTICES BY TPWD
1.	 A Harvester/Shell Recovery Tag
	 a.	The tag must be affixed to the out-

side of each sack of oysters at the 
time of harvest, in the location of 
harvest, contain information required 
by the Department of State Health 
Services under the National Shell-
fish Sanitation Program, and remain 
affixed during transportation of the 
oysters to a dealer.

	 b.	The appropriate Harvester/Shell 
Recovery Tag (green or white) must 
be affixed to the sack regardless of 
the season or whether the require-
ments of 25 TAC §241.57 (relating to 
Molluscan Shellfish Harvesting and 
Handling) apply.

2.	 All commercial shipments of aquatic 
products must be accompanied by an 
invoice and containers must be labeled. 
(See Page 18 — SHIPPING REGULA-
TIONS.)

3.	 The Shipper and Receiver of commer-
cial shipments of aquatic products must 
keep the shipping invoices on file as a 
record for one year from the date of 
shipment. (See page 19 — RECORDS.)

4.	 Consumption of Clams, Mussels, and 
Other Molluscan Shellfish taken from pub-
lic fresh waters is prohibited by the Texas 
Department of State Health Services.

5.	 Clams, Mussels, Oysters, and Other 
Molluscan Shellfish taken from public 
salt waters may be taken only from 
waters approved by the Texas Depart-
ment of State Health Services. Maps 
identifying approved areas may be 
obtained from the Texas Department of 
State Health Services, Seafood Safety 
Division (512) 834-6757. Additional 
information concerning area closures 
may be obtained 24 hours a day, 7 days 
a week by calling (800) 685-0361.

CONSUMPTION ADVISORIES
Fish and shellfish can be a source of high-
quality protein in your diet. Fish and shellfish, 
however, can accumulate contaminants 

from the waters in which they live. The 
Texas Department of State Health Services 
(TDSHS) monitors fish in the state for the 
presence of environmental contaminants and 
alerts the public through bans and advisories 
when a threat to human health may occur 
from the consumption of contaminated fish. 

In waters with consumption bans, possession 
and consumption of fish and/or shellfish is 
prohibited. Catch-and-release fishing from 
these areas is allowed. A consumption advi-
sory is a recommendation to limit consump-
tion to specified quantities, species, and sizes 
of fish. For additional information, a listing 
of all consumption bans and advisories, or a 
listing of areas tested where no bans or advi-
sories were issued, call the TDSHS at (800) 
685-0361 (shellfish) or (512) 834-6757 (fish).

RETENTION BANS ON FINFISH AND 
SHELLFISH
By order of the Texas Department of State 
Health Services (TDSHS) retention bans on 
finfish and shellfish are in effect in the  
following areas:

1.	 The area of Lavaca Bay inshore of a 
line beginning at the last point of land 
at the northeastern approach of the 
Lavaca Bay Causeway, then in a south-
west direction to Aquatic Life Marker 
A to Aquatic Life Marker B to Channel 
Marker #12, then in a southeastern 
direction to Aquatic Life Marker C to 
Aquatic Life Marker D to Aquatic Life 
Marker E to Channel Marker #74, then 
in a northeastern direction to Aquatic 
Life Marker F to the southernmost point 
of land on the spoil island east of the 
ship channel, is closed to the retention 
of finfish and crabs. (Catch and release 
of finfish and crabs is lawful. This clo-
sure is due to mercury contamination.)

2.	 The Donna Irrigation System in Hidalgo 
County is declared a prohibited area for 
the taking of all species of aquatic life. 
This closure is due to elevated levels of 
polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs) found 
in fish samples.
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OFFSHORE AQUACULTURE REGULATIONS
The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
adopted rules that prescribe the procedures 
and conditions for operating an offshore 
aquaculture facility in Texas waters, and 
implement the department’s responsibilities 
under Agriculture Code, Chapter 134 by pro-
viding protection for marine resources in the 
wild, including endangered species. TPWD’s 
responsibility is to protect the health and 
viability of native populations of fish, shellfish, 
and aquatic life in state waters, including 
endangered species. In general, the new rules 
prescribe the conditions under which marine 
species may be introduced into an offshore 
aquaculture facility without damaging sur-
rounding water and marine resources.
	 The regulation of offshore aquaculture 
involves both state and federal jurisdic-
tions. With respect to state agencies, the 
Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) is 
the primary agency responsible for regulat-
ing aquaculture, the Texas Commission on 
Environmental Quality (TCEQ) has primary 
responsibility for establishing and enforcing 

water quality standards, the Texas General 
Land Office (GLO) is responsible for managing 
state-owned submerged lands, the Texas Ani-
mal Health Commission (TAHC) is responsible 
for management of animal disease necessary 
to protect agriculture, and the Texas Depart-
ment of State Health Services (TDSHS) is the 
primary agency for protecting human health 
and safety, including seafood safety. The 
United States Army Corps of Engineers (COE) 
and the United States Coast Guard (USCG) are 
responsible for establishing maritime naviga-
tion standards and the identification, marking, 
and mitigation of navigational hazards.  
	 The intent of this rulemaking is that individ-
uals applying to the various agencies for their 
necessary permissions be able to do so simul-
taneously so that the many needed reviews, 
inspections and other activities can be accom-
plished in the minimum amount of time. How-
ever, the rule also specifies that all of these 
other permissions be obtained before the per-
mit is approved by TPWD. For more informa-
tion, call Robert Adami at (361) 939-7784.

GENERAL REGULATIONS
These rules also apply to fish, shrimp, crabs 
or other aquatic life caught in the Exclusive 
Economic Zone and landed in Texas.

Texas residents 17 years of age or older while 
fishing, hunting or trapping MUST have on 
their person a driver’s license or personal 
identification certificate issued by the Depart-
ment of Public Safety. Non-residents must 
have similar documents issued by the agency 
of the state or country of which the person is 
a resident that is authorized to issue driver’s 
licenses or personal identification certificates.

Waste of Fish – It is unlawful to leave edible 
fish or bait fish taken from the public waters 
of the state to die without the intent to 
retain the fish for consumption or bait.

RULES REQUIRING DRAINING  
OF WATER FROM VESSELS  
AND HOLDING TANKS USED  
ON PUBLIC FRESH WATERS 

Persons leaving or approaching public fresh 
water are required to drain all water from their 

vessels and on-board receptacles (includes 
live wells, bilges, motors and any other recep-
tacles or water-intake systems coming into 
contact with public waters). This rule applies 
at all sites where boats can be launched and 
includes all types and sizes of boats whether 
powered or not, personal watercraft, sailboats, 
kayaks/canoes, or any other vessel used to 
travel on public waters. 
	 • Live fish, including personally caught live 

bait, cannot be transported in or aboard a 
vessel in water that comes from the water 
body where the fish were caught. Person-
ally caught live bait can be used in the 
water body where it was caught. 

	 • Transport and use of commercially  
purchased live bait in water while fishing 
from a vessel is allowed, provided persons 
in possession of the bait have a receipt 
that identifies the source of the bait. Any 
live bait purchased from a location on or 
adjacent to a public water body that is 
transported in water from that water body 
can only be used as bait on that same 
water body. 
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	 • A vessel leaving a public freshwater body 
may be transported on a public roadway 
without water being drained, provided the 
vessel is transported via the most direct 
route to another access point located on 
the same water body during that same day. 

	 • Marine sanitary systems are not covered 
by these regulations. 

Following these procedures does not exempt 
persons from complying with prohibitions 
against transporting exotic aquatic species 
that are visible to the unaided eye, such as 
adult zebra mussels, which may be attached  
to boats or trailers.

CIVIL RESTITUTION

When a Texas Game Warden encounters a 
violation of hunting and fishing regulations, 
there will be a criminal complaint filed in 
either a justice court or a county court. Fines 
for such violations are assessed by the presid-
ing judge hearing the case, and commercial 
aquatic products harvested in violation of the 
law may be confiscated and sold. In addition 
to assessed fines that may be associated with 
a criminal complaint, violators are also liable 
to civil restitution for the loss of or damage 
to wildlife resources that have resulted from 
the violation. Civil restitution will be assessed 
following each violation and each violator will 
receive an invoice for this restitution from the 
department. Failure to pay the civil recovery 
value will result in the department’s refusal to 
issue any license, tag or permit in the viola-
tor’s name until restitution is made. An indi-
vidual who hunts or fishes after such a refusal 
commits a Class A misdemeanor which is pun-
ishable by a fine not less than $500 or more 
than $4,000; punishment in jail not to exceed 
one year; or both fine and confinement. For 
questions concerning civil restitution call 
(512) 389-4630.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: A person who seeks 
reinstatement of license privileges following 
license revocation or denial must apply for 
license privilege reinstatement and pay a 
$100 application fee.

POSSESSION OF PROHIBITED  
FISHING DEVICES

It is UNLAWFUL to possess a device designed 
to catch fish or other aquatic life in or on the 
public water of this state where the use of 
the device is prohibited or are not identified 

in this document as legal devices.
	 In coastal waters, a prohibited device may 
be possessed on board a vessel if the vessel is 
in port or in a marked channel going directly 
to or from an area in this state where the use 
of the device is permitted.
	 Gill nets, trammel nets, strike nets and 
seines (other than minnow seines) may not 
be possessed within 500 yards of any public 
coastal waters.

DEFINITIONS

Aquaculture:  The business of producing 
and selling cultured species raised in private 
facilities.

Aquatic Product:  Any live or dead uncooked, 
fresh or frozen aquatic animal life.

Artificial Lure:  Any lure (including flies) with 
hook or hooks attached that is man-made 
and is used as a bait while fishing.

Bait:  Something used to lure any wildlife 
resource. It is UNLAWFUL to use game fish or 
any part thereof as bait.

Barrel of Oysters:  As defined in Parks and 
Wildlife Code, §76.001, a barrel of oysters is 
three boxes of oysters in the shell or two  
gallons of shucked oysters without shells.  
The dimensions of a box are ten inches by  
20 inches by 13 1/2 inches. In filling a box for 
measurement the oysters may not be piled 
more than 2 1/2 inches above the height of  
the box at the center.

Bycatch Reduction Device (BRD):  A device 
installed in the cod end (tail bag) of a shrimp 
trawl for the purpose of excluding finfish from 
the net. NOTE: BRDs are required in certain 
trawls.

Cast Net:  A net which can be hand-thrown 
or cast to drop over an area.

Charter Vessel:  A vessel less than 100 gross 
tons that meets the requirements of the U.S. 
Coast Guard to carry six or fewer passengers 
for hire and that carries a passenger for hire 
at any time during the calendar year. A char-
ter vessel with a commercial permit is con-
sidered to be operating as a charter vessel 
when it carries a passenger who pays a fee 
or when there are more than three persons 
aboard, including operator and crew.

Circle Hook:  A hook originally designed and 
manufactured so that the point of the hook is 
turned perpendicularly back toward the shank 
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of the hook to form a generally circular or  
oval shape. 

Community Fishing Lake:  All public impound-
ments 75 acres or smaller located totally 
within an incorporated city limits or a public 
park, and all impoundments of any size lying 
totally within the boundaries of a state park. 
For a list of community fishing lakes in your 
area, call (800) 792-1112 or visit www.tpwd.
texas.gov/fishboat/fish/recreational/lakes/cfl.
phtml.

Crab Line:  A baited line with no hook or pole 
attached.

Crab Measurement:  Blue crabs are measured 
across the widest point of the body from tip 
of spine to tip of spine. Stone crab claws are 
measured by the propodus length which is 
that distance from the tip of the immovable 
claw finger to the first joint behind the claw. 
(See Page 25 for details.)

Daily Bag Limit:  The quantity of a species 
that may be taken in one day.

Day:  A 24-hour period of time that begins at 
midnight and ends the following midnight.

Dip Net:  A mesh bag suspended from a 
frame attached to a handle.

Fishing:  Taking or attempting to take fish, 
shrimp, crabs, oysters, clams, mussels or any 
other aquatic life by any means.

Fishing Guide:  A person who, for compensa-
tion, accompanies, assists, or transports a 
person or persons engaged in fishing in the 
waters of this state.

Fishing Guide Deck Hand:  A person in the 
employ of a fishing guide who assists in oper-
ating a boat for compensation to accompany 
or to transport a person or persons engaged 
in fishing in the water of this state 

Gaff:  Any hand-held pole with a hook attached 
directly to the pole.

Game Fish (includes hybrids or subspecies of 
fish on this list):

	 •	 Bass, Guadalupe
	 •	 Bass, largemouth
	 •	 Bass, smallmouth
	 •	 Bass, spotted
	 •	 Bass, striped
	 •	 Bass, white
	 •	 Bass, yellow
	 •	 Catfish, blue
	 •	 Catfish, channel

	 •	 Catfish, flathead
	 •	 Cobia
	 •	 Crappie, black
	 •	 Crappie, white
	 •	 Drum, red
	 •	 Mackerel, king
	 •	 Mackerel, Spanish
	 •	 Marlin, blue
	 •	 Marlin, white

	 •	 Pickerel
	 •	 Sailfish
	 •	 Sauger
	 •	 Seatrout, spotted
	 •	 Sharks
	 •	 Snook
	 •	 Spearfish, longbill

	 •	 Swordfish, broadbill
	 •	 Tarpon
	 •	 Tripletail
	 •	 Trout, brown
	 •	 Trout, rainbow
	 •	 Wahoo
	 •	 Walleye

Gear Tag:  A tag constructed of material as 
durable as the device to which it is attached. 
The gear tag must be clearly legible and 
show the name and address of the person 
using the device and except for saltwater 
trotlines and crab traps, the date the device 
is set out. (See Page 7 for details.)

Gig:  Any hand-held shaft with single or  
multiple points, barbed or barbless.

Handfishing:  Fishing by the use of HANDS 
ONLY.  The use of ANY other fishing device 
while handfishing (including but not limited 
to gaff, pole hook, trap, spear, or stick) is 
UNLAWFUL. 

Harvester/Shell Recovery Tag: An identify-
ing marker that must be affixed to the out-
side of each sack of oysters at the time and 
location of harvest containing information 
required by the Texas Department of State 
Health Services under the National Shellfish 
Sanitation Program. The tag must remain 
affixed during transportation of the oysters 
to a dealer.

Headboat:  A vessel that holds a valid  
Certificate of Inspection issued by the U.S. 
Coast Guard to carry passengers for hire. A 
headboat with a commercial vessel permit 
is considered to be operating as a headboat 
when it carries a passenger who pays a fee or, 
in the case of persons aboard fishing for or 
possessing coastal migratory fish or Gulf reef 
fish, when there are more than three persons 
aboard, including operator and crew.

Individual Fishing Quota (IFQ):  A form of 
limited access that assigns a fixed share of 
the total allowable catch to each user of the 
resource.

Jug Line:  For use in FRESH WATER only. A 
fishing line with five or less hooks tied to an 
orange buoy.

Lawful Archery Equipment:  Includes long-
bow, recurved bow, compound bow, and 
crossbow.

Mussels and Clams:  Includes all freshwater 
and marine bivalve mollusks except oysters.
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	 •	 Freshwater mussels – bivalve mollusks of 
the family Unionidae.

Natural Bait:  A whole or cut-up portion of a 
fish or shellfish or a whole or cut-up portion 
of plant material in its natural state, provided 
that none of these may be altered beyond 
cutting into portions.

Nongame Fish:  All species not listed as 
game fish except endangered or threatened 
fish which are defined and regulated under 
separate rules.

Non-resident:  A person who does not meet 
the resident requirements.

Offshore Aquaculture Facility:  All enclosures 
and associated infrastructure used to produce, 
hold, propagate, transport or sell stock under 
authority of an offshore aquaculture permit.

Paddle Craft:  Any non-motorized vessel. 

Paddle-craft Fishing Guide:  A person who, 
for compensation, accompanies, assists, or 
transports a person or persons by means of 
a non-motorized vessel engaged in fishing in 
the coastal waters of this state. 

Permanent Structure:  A building designed, 
planned and constructed so as to remain at 
one location.

Place of Business:  means a permanent struc-
ture on land or a motor vehicle where aquatic 
products or orders for aquatic products are 
received or where aquatic products are sold or 
purchased, but does not include a boat or any 
type of floating device, a public cold-storage 
vault, the portion of a structure that is used as 
a residence, or a vehicle from which no orders 
are taken or no shipments or deliveries are 
made other than to the place of business of a 
licensee in this state.

Pole and Line (which includes rod and 
reel):  A line with hook, attached to a pole.

Possession Limit:  The maximum number of 
a species of game, fish or other animals that 
may be possessed at one time.

Purse Seine:  A net with flotation on the 
corkline adequate to support the net in open 
water without touching bottom with a rope 
or wire cable strung through rings attached 
along the bottom edge to close the bottom 
of the net.

Residence:  A permanent structure where a 
person regularly sleeps and keeps personal 
belongings such as furniture and clothes, 
but does not include a temporary abode or 
dwelling such as a hunting or fishing club, or 
any club house, cabin, tent, or trailer house 
or mobile home used as a hunting or fishing 
camp, or any hotel, motel or rooming house 
used on a temporary basis.

Resident:  A person who has lived in Texas 
continuously for more than 6 months imme-
diately before applying for a license. (This 
includes residents and their spouses or 
unmarried children living at home who enter 
the United States Armed Forces and con-
tinue to list Texas as their state of residency 
with the armed forces.)

Sack of Oysters:  A volume of oysters equiva-
lent to a box (see definition of Barrel of  
Oysters) that weighs no more than 110 pounds 
of oysters including dead shell and the weight 
of the sack.

Seine (includes a push net):  A section of 
non-metallic mesh webbing, with the top 
edge buoyed upwards by a floatline and the 
bottom edge weighted.

Shark Fin:  The fresh and uncooked, or 
cooked, frozen, dried, or otherwise pro-
cessed, detached fin or tail of a shark.

Spear:  Any shaft with single or multiple 
points, barbed or barbless, which may be 
propelled by any means, but does not include 
arrows.

Spear Gun:  Any hand operated device 
designed and used for propelling a spear,  
but does not include the crossbow.

Stock:  Native species of fish, shellfish, or 
aquatic plants intended for use in, being 
transported to, or contained within an off-
shore aquaculture facility under the terms of 
an offshore aquaculture permit.

Throwline:  For use in FRESH WATER only. A 
fishing line with five or less hooks and with 
one end attached to a permanent fixture. 
Components of a throwline may also include 
swivels, snaps, rubber, and rigid support 
structures.

Trap:  A rigid device of various designs and 
dimensions used to entrap aquatic organisms.

Trawl:  A beam trawl or otter trawl with a bag-
shaped net which is used to catch shrimp.
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	 •	 Beam Trawl  –  A trawl, without wings, the 
mouth of which is held open by a rigid 
beam of wood or metal.

	 •	 Otter Trawl  –  A funnel-shaped trawl, with 
wings, the mouth of which is held open 
by floats and weights and spread by trawl 
doors fastened to the wings.

Trotline:  A non-metallic main fishing line 
with more than five hooks attached and with 
each end attached to a fixture.

Turtle Excluder Device (TED):  A device 
installed in a shrimp trawl forward of the 
cod end (tail bag) for the purpose of exclud-
ing sea turtles from the net. NOTE: TEDs 
are required in certain trawls. (See Page 
40 — APPROVED TED DESIGNS or federal 
regulation CFR Part 223 §223.207 for TED 
specifications).

Umbrella Net:  A non-metallic mesh net that 
is suspended horizontally in the water by 
multiple lines attached to a rigid frame.

Wildlife Resources:  Any wild animal, wild 
bird, or aquatic life.

POTENTIALLY HARMFUL EXOTIC FISH, 
SHELLFISH AND AQUATIC PLANTS

The importation, sale, transportation and 
release of exotic fish, shellfish, or aquatic 
plants designated harmful or potentially 
harmful by the Texas Parks and Wildlife 
Commission are prohibited except by special 
permit from the department. The list of 
potentially harmful species may be obtained 
by calling (800) 792-1112 or visit:  
www.tpwd.texas.gov/huntwild/wild/species/
exotic/prohibited_aquatic.phtml.

FRESH WATER AND SALT WATER DEVICES, MEANS AND METHODS

ONLY DEVICES AND RESTRICTIONS LISTED MAY BE  
USED TO TAKE OR ATTEMPT TO TAKE AQUATIC LIFE

A person may fish with multiple poles or other 
devices, except as provided in this guide. In 
Fresh Water it is UNLAWFUL to fish with more 
than 100 hooks on all devices combined.

Bycatch Reduction Device (BRD):  
BRDs are required in certain trawls (See Page 
37 — SHRIMP for trawl design restrictions).

Cast Net: 
•	 Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and 

other aquatic animal life.
•	 May not be greater than 14 feet in diameter.
•	 In SALT WATER, NONGAME fish and other 

aquatic animal life may be taken for bait 
purposes only.

Circle Hook: It is UNLAWFUL to fish for red 
snapper using any kind of hook other than a 
circle hook when using natural bait.

Crab Trap: See Pages 41-43 — CRAB for crab 
trap design restrictions.

Dip Net: 

•	 Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and 
other aquatic animal life.

•	 May be used to aid in the landing of fish 
caught by other legal devices.

•	 In SALT WATER, NONGAME fish and other 
aquatic animal life may be taken for bait 
purposes only.

Gaff: 
•	 May only be used to aid in the landing of 

fish caught by other legal devices, means, 
or methods.

•	 Fish landed with a gaff may not be below 
the minimum, above the maximum, or 
within a protected length limit.

Gear Tag: The GEAR TAG must be legible, 
contain the name and address of the person 
using the device and the date the device was 
set out (See Page 5 — DEFINITIONS).

Gig: May be used to take NONGAME fish only.

Handfishing: 
•	 The use of ANY other fishing device while 

handfishing (including but not limited to 
gaff, pole hook, trap, spear or stick) is 
UNLAWFUL.

•	 No person may intentionally place a trap 
(including such devices as boxes, barrels 
or pipes) in public fresh water for the  
purpose of taking catfish by handfishing.

•	 May be used to take channel catfish and 
blue catfish in FRESH WATER only.

•	 For handfishing under a commercial 
license, flathead catfish may not be 
retained or possessed.
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Harvester/Shell Recovery Tag: 
•	 Must be affixed to the outside of each sack 

of oysters at the time of harvest.
•	 Must be filled out completely with all infor-

mation as indicated on the tag.  Must 
remain affixed during transportation of the 
oysters to a dealer.

Jugline: For use in FRESH WATER only. 
•	 May be used to take NONGAME fish,  

channel catfish and blue catfish only.
•	 For juglines fished under a commercial 

license, flathead catfish may not be 
retained or possessed.

•	 Placement and Location Restrictions:  
Juglines may not be used in:

•	 Community Fishing Lakes (See Page 5 
for definition)

•	 Reservoirs or sections of rivers lying 
totally within the boundaries of a state 
park

•	 Bellwood Lake in Smith County
•	 Boerne Lake in Kendall County
•	 Canyon Lake Project #6 in Lubbock 

County
•	 Dixieland Reservoir in Cameron County
•	 Gibbons Creek Reservoir in Grimes 

County
•	 Lake Bastrop in Bastrop County
•	 Lake Bryan in Brazos County
•	 Lakes Coffee Mill and Davy Crockett in 

Fannin County
•	 Lake Naconiche in Nacogdoches County
•	 Lake Pflugerville in Travis County
•	 North Concho River from O.C. Fisher 

dam to the Bell Street dam
•	 South Concho River from Lone Wolf 

dam to Bell Street dam
•	 Tankersley Reservoir in Titus County
•	 Wheeler Branch Reservoir in Somervell 

County

•	 Tagging and Marking Requirements:
•	 Must be used with a valid GEAR TAG 

(See Page 5) attached within 6 inches of 
the free-floating device; gear tag is valid 
for 10 days after the date set out and 
must include the number of the  
permit to sell nongame fish taken from 
fresh water, if applicable.

•	 For juglines, properly-marked buoys or 
floats qualify as valid GEAR TAGS.

•	 For commercial purposes, a jugline must 
be marked with an orange, free-floating 
device.

Lawful Archery Equipment:
•	 May be used to take NONGAME fish only.
•	 Any fish that is edible or can be used for 

bait (includes all gar species, common 
carp, and buffalo) may not be released 
back into the water after being taken with 
lawful archery equipment. See also “Waste 
of Fish” on Page 3.

•	 State regulations permit bow fishing in 
most public waters. EXCEPT it is UNLAW-
FUL to possess, shoot or hunt with a bow 
and arrow or crossbow on all water in the 
Aransas and Poesta rivers in Bee County; 
on all public water in the state-owned  
riverbeds of La Salle or McMullen counties; 
and on all public water in the state-owned 
riverbeds of the Nueces, Frio and Atascosa 
rivers in Live Oak County.

•	 Additionally, bow fishers are advised to 
check with local authorities that may have 
ordinances restricting use of archery 
equipment.

•	 A person fishing with lawful archery equip-
ment on a navigable stream in Dimmit, 
Edwards, Frio, Kenedy, Llano, Maverick, 
Real, Uvalde, or Zavala counties may not 
possess an arrow equipped with fletching 
of any kind, an unbarbed arrow, or a bow 
that is not equipped with a reel and line.

Minnow Trap:
•	 Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and 

other aquatic animal life.
•	 NONGAME fish may be taken for bait  

purposes only.
•	 Trap may not exceed 24 inches in length. 

The throat may not exceed 1 inch by  
3 inches.

•	 The trap must have a GEAR TAG attached 
(See Page 5) which is valid only for 10 
days.

Oyster Dredge: For use in SALT WATER only
•	 May be used to take OYSTERS only.
•	 Oysters may be taken by the use of a legal 

oyster dredge in places, at times, and in 
manners as authorized by TPWD (see  
section on Oysters for details).

•	 May not exceed 48 inches in width and a 
2-barrel capacity.
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Perch Traps: For use in SALT WATER only.
•	 Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and 

other aquatic animal life. 
•	 NONGAME fish and other aquatic animal 

life may be taken for bait purposes only.
•	 May not exceed 18 cubic feet.
•	 Must be marked with a floating visible 

orange buoy not less than 6 inches in 
height and 6 inches in width .The buoy 
must have a GEAR TAG (See Page 5) valid 
only for 10 days attached.

•	 Must be equipped with a degradable panel 
as described for crab traps (See Page 43 
for design details).

•	 Buoys or floats may not be made of plastic 
bottle(s) of any color or size.

•	 It is UNLAWFUL to place any type of trap 
within the area in Cedar Bayou between a 
department sign erected where Mesquite 
Bay flows into Cedar Bayou and the 
department sign erected near the point 
where the pass empties into the Gulf of 
Mexico.

Pole and Line (fished under a commercial 
fishing license):
•	 May be used to take NONGAME fish only.
•	 GAME FISH may not be retained or  

possessed EXCEPT for blue catfish and 
channel catfish.

•	 It is UNLAWFUL to use a pole and line to 
take or attempt to take fish by foul-hooking, 
snagging, or jerking. A fish is foul-hooked 
when caught by a hook in an area other 
than the fish’s mouth.

•	 For community fishing lakes, pole and line 
is the only lawful method for taking GAME 
FISH (EXCEPT blue catfish and channel 
catfish may be retained or possessed) and 
NONGAME fish from Community Fishing 
Lakes (See Page 5 — DEFINITIONS); includes 
impoundments lying totally within the 
boundaries of a state park), sections of riv-
ers lying totally within boundaries of a state 
park, the North Concho River from O.C. 
Fisher dam to the Bell Street dam, the South 
Concho River from Lone Wolf dam to Bell 
Street dam, Wheeler Branch Reservoir, Lake 
Pflugerville, and Canyon Lake Project #6.

Purse Seine: For use in SALT WATER only. 
•	 Purse seines with not less than 1-1/2 inch 

stretched mesh, not including the bag, 
may be used only for taking menhaden 
from the third Monday in April through the 
first day in November.

•	 Purse seines for taking menhaden may not 
be used in any bay, river, pass or tributary, 
nor within one mile of any barrier, jetty, 
island or pass, nor within 1/2 mile offshore 
in the Gulf of Mexico.

•	 When using a purse seine to take menha-
den, edible aquatic products may not 
exceed five percent by volume of the  
menhaden in possession.

Seine (Includes a push net): 
•	 Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and 

other aquatic animal life.
•	 May not be longer than 20 feet.
•	 May not have mesh exceeding 1/2-inch 

square.
•	 Must be manually operated.
•	 In SALT WATER, NONGAME fish and other 

aquatic animal life may be taken by seine 
for BAIT PURPOSES only.

Shad Trawl: For use in FRESH WATER only. 
•	 Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and 

other aquatic animal life.
•	 May not be longer than 6 feet or with a 

mouth larger than 36 inches in diameter.
•	 May be equipped with a funnel or throat 

and must be towed by boat or hand.

Shrimp Trawl: For use in SALT WATER only. 
•	 “Legal shrimping operations” means the 

use of a legal trawl in places, at times, and 
in manners as authorized by TPWD (See 
Page 27 — SHRIMP).

•	 Seasons, area restrictions and trawl design 
restrictions (See Page 27 — SHRIMP).

•	 NONGAME fish (EXCEPT those species regu-
lated by bag or size limits) taken by certain 
legal shrimping operations may be retained 
(See Page 27 — SHRIMP for details).

•	 May be used to take NONGAME fish only.

Spear Gun: 
•	 May be used to take NONGAME fish only. 
•	 Not a legal means to take fish in a  

community fishing lake.
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Throwline: For use in FRESH WATER only. 
•	 May be used to take NONGAME fish,  

channel catfish and blue catfish.
•	 For throwlines used under a commercial 

license, flathead catfish may not be 
retained or possessed.

•	 Must be used with a valid gear tag 
attached. Gear tag is valid for 10 days 
after the date set out.

•	 Placement and Location Restrictions: 
Throwlines may not be used in:

•	 Community Fishing Lakes (See Page  
5 — DEFINITIONS)

•	 Reservoirs or sections of rivers lying 
totally within the boundaries of a state 
park

•	 Bellwood Lake in Smith County
•	 Boerne Lake in Kendall County
•	 Canyon Lake Project #6 in Lubbock 

County
•	 Dixieland Reservoir in Cameron County
•	 Gibbons Creek Reservoir in Grimes County
•	 Lake Bastrop in Bastrop County
•	 Lake Bryan in Brazos County	
•	 Lakes Coffee Mill and Davy Crockett in 

Fannin County
•	 Lake Naconiche in Nacogdoches County
•	 Lake Pflugerville in Travis County
•	 North Concho River from O.C. Fisher 

dam to the Bell Street dam
•	 South Concho River from Lone Wolf 

dam to Bell Street dam
•	 Tankersley Reservoir in Titus County
•	 Wheeler Branch Reservoir in Somervell 

County

Trotline: 
•	 NONGAME fish, channel catfish and blue 

catfish may be taken by trotline.
•	 For trotlines fished under a commercial 

license, flathead catfish may not be 
retained or possessed.

•	 Red drum, spotted seatrout, and sharks 
caught on a trotline may not be retained 
or possessed.

•	 General Construction and Design Restric-
tions: Trotlines may not be used with:
•	 A mainline length exceeding 600 feet;
•	 Hooks spaced less than 3 horizontal feet 

apart;
•	 Metallic stakes; or
•	 The main fishing line and attached 

hooks and stagings placed above the 
water’s surface.

Trotlines in Fresh Water:
•	 Tag Requirements: Must be used with a 

valid GEAR TAG (See Page 5 — DEFINITIONS).
•	 Properly-marked buoys or floats qualify as 

valid GEAR TAGS.
•	  GEAR TAGS must be attached within 3 

feet of the first hook at each end of the 
trotline and are valid for 10 days after the 
date set out. 

•	 Construction and Design Restrictions: 
May not have more than 50 hooks on any 
one trotline.

•	 Placement and Location Restrictions:  
Trotlines may not be used in:
•	 Community Fishing Lakes (See Page 5 — 

DEFINITIONS)
•	 Reservoirs or sections of rivers lying 

totally within the boundaries of a state 
park

•	 Bellwood Lake in Smith County
•	 Boerne Lake in Kendall County
•	 Canyon Lake Project #6 in Lubbock 

County
•	 Dixieland Reservoir in Cameron County
•	 Fayette County Reservoir in Fayette 

County
•	 Gibbons Creek Reservoir in Grimes County
•	 Lake Bastrop in Bastrop County
•	 Lake Bryan in Brazos County	
•	 Lakes Coffee Mill and Davy Crockett in 

Fannin County
•	 Lake Naconiche in Nacogdoches County
•	 Lake Pflugerville in Travis County
•	 Pinkston Reservoir in Shelby County
•	 North Concho River from O.C. Fisher 

dam to the Bell Street dam
•	 South Concho River from Lone Wolf 

dam to Bell Street dam
•	 Tankersley Reservoir in Titus County
•	 Wheeler Branch Reservoir in Somervell 

County

Trotlines in Salt Water:
•	 Maximum Number of Trotlines Allowed: It is 

UNLAWFUL to fish for commercial purposes 
with more than 20 trotlines at one time.

•	 Tag Requirements:
•	 Must be used with valid GEAR TAGS 

(See Page 5 — DEFINITIONS) which must 
be attached within 3 feet of the first 
hook at each end of the trotline.

•	 For trotlines in SALT WATER fished 
under a commercial license, date is not 
required on a valid GEAR TAG.
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•	 Must be marked with yellow flagging 
attached to stakes or with a yellow buoy 
showing the commercial finfish fisher-
man’s license plate number. The letters 
must be in a contrasting color at least 
two inches high and attached to end  
fixtures.

•	 Construction and Design Restrictions:
•	 The mainline length may not exceed 

600 feet.
•	 May not use metallic stakes.
•	 May not place the main fishing line and 

attached hooks and stagings above the 
water’s surface.

•	 Must be marked with yellow flagging 
attached to stakes or with a yellow 
floating buoy not less than 6 inches in 
height and 6 inches in width, attached 
to end fixtures.

•	 Floats must be yellow.
•	 Buoys or floats may not be made of 

plastic bottle(s) of any color or size.
•	 May not be baited with other than natu-

ral bait. 
•	 Natural bait is whole or cut-up portion of 

a fish or shellfish or a whole or cut-up 
portion of plant material in its natural 
state, provided that none of these may 
be altered beyond cutting into portions.

•	 Hooks must be 3 feet apart.
•	 May not be used with hooks other than 

circle-type hook (comparable to Mustad 
11/0 circle hook Model #39960ST) with 
point curved in and having a gap (dis-
tance from point to shank) of no more 
than 1/2 inch, and with the diameter of 
the circle not less than 5/8 inch.

•	 Placement and Location Restrictions:
•	 May not be used in or on the waters of 

the Gulf of Mexico within the jurisdiction 
of this state;

•	 May not be placed closer than 50 feet 
from any other trotline, or set within 
200 feet of the edge of the Intracoastal 
Waterway or its tributary channels.

•	 May not be used in Aransas County in 
Little Bay and the water area of Aransas 
Bay within one-half mile of a line from 
Hail Point on the Lamar Peninsula, then 
direct to the eastern end of Goose 
Island, then along the southern shore of 
Goose Island, then along the causeway 
between Lamar Peninsula and Live Oak 

Peninsula, then along the eastern shore-
line of the Live Oak Peninsula past the 
town of Fulton, past Nine-Mile Point, 
past the town of Rockport to a point at 
the east end of Talley Island, including 
that part of Copano Bay within 1,000 
feet of the causeway between Lamar 
Peninsula and Live Oak Peninsula.

•	 No trotline or trotline components includ-
ing lines and hooks, but excluding poles, 
may be left in or on coastal waters 
between the hours of 1 p.m. on Friday 
through 1 p.m. on Sunday of each week, 
except that attended sail lines are 
excluded from the restrictions imposed by 
this clause. Under the authority of the 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
Code, §66.206(b), in the event small craft 
advisories or higher marine weather advi-
sories issued by the National Weather Ser-
vice are in place at 8 a.m. on Friday, 
trotlines may remain in the water until 6 
p.m. on Friday. If small craft advisories are 
in place at 1 p.m. on Friday, trotlines may 
remain in the water until Saturday. When 
small craft advisories are lifted by 8 a.m. 
on Saturday, trotlines must be removed 
by 1 p.m. on Saturday. When small craft 
advisories or higher marine weather advi-
sories are still in place at 1 p.m. on Satur-
day, trotlines may remain in the water 
through 1 p.m. on Sunday. It is a violation 
to tend, bait or harvest fish or any other 
aquatic life from trotlines during the 
period that trotline removal requirements 
are suspended under this provision for 
adverse weather conditions. For purposes 
of enforcement, the geographic area cus-
tomarily covered by marine weather advi-
sories will be delineated by department 
policy.

Turtle Excluder Device (TED): TEDs are 
required in certain trawls (See Page 40 —
SHRIMP REGULATIONS for trawl design 
restrictions).

Umbrella Net: 
•	 Legal only for taking NONGAME fish and 

other aquatic animal life.
•	 NONGAME fish and other aquatic animal 

life may be taken for bait purposes only.
•	 May not have within the frame an area 

that exceeds 16 square feet.
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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS
License requirements and fees are subject to change. (License fees are not refundable.)

RECREATIONAL LICENSE 
REQUIREMENTS FOR  

COMMERCIAL FISHERMEN
A commercial fisherman must purchase a 
recreational fishing license, either resident or 
non-resident, and appropriate fresh or salt-
water endorsement to fish for recreational 
purposes.  NOTE: commercial plates must be 
removed from any commercial vessel while 
being used for recreational purposes.
	 When fishing under a recreational sport 
license recreational size, bag and possession 
limits apply, and no aquatic species taken 
under a recreational license may be sold.

SHRIMP, CRAB, FINFISH AND  
OYSTER LICENSE MANAGEMENT

A moratorium on the sale of licenses or a 
license management program (limited entry) 
has been in effect for the Texas bay and bait 
shrimp fishery since 1996, the crab fishery 
since 1998, the saltwater finfish fishery since 
2000 and both the gulf shrimp and oyster 
fisheries since 2005. To retain eligibility 
in each of these fisheries, purchase of the 
previous year’s license is required. A license 
buyback provision is in place for bay and bait 
shrimp boat, crab and finfish commercial 
licenses, but not for gulf shrimp boat or  
oyster boat licenses.  
	 For further information regarding any  
limited entry requirements, license buybacks 
or other provisions of the program contact: 
Zack Thomas, Texas Parks and Wildlife 
Dept., Coastal Fisheries Division, 4200 Smith 
School Road, Austin TX 78744, (512) 389-
8448, email: zack.thomas@tpwd.texas.gov.

GENERAL LICENSES 

General Commercial Fisherman’s
	 Resident (Type 372)................................$26
	 Non-resident (Type 340)..................... $189

	 Required for any person who:
•	 catches aquatic products from the 

waters of this state for pay or for the 
purpose of sale, barter or exchange or 
any other commercial purpose; or

•	 unloads in this state aquatic products 

that were taken from water outside 
this state and have not been previously 
unloaded in another state or a foreign 
country, for pay or for the purpose of 
sale, barter or exchange or any other 
commercial purpose.

•	 a non-resident who is residing in a state 
that denies the privilege of commercial 
fishing in that state to a Texas resident 
because of residency status is not  
eligible for a non-resident general  
commercial fisherman’s license.

Exceptions:
• 	 a person who holds a commercial shrimp 

boat captain’s license, commercial oyster 
boat captain’s license, a bait dealer’s 
license and catching bait only, commercial 
crab fisherman’s license, commercial fin-
fish fisherman’s license, Class A and Class 
B menhaden boat license, or the crew of a 
licensed commercial shrimp boat or oys-
ter boat is not required to obtain a gen-
eral commercial fisherman’s license.

Commercial Finfish Fisherman’s
	 Resident (Type 371).............................. $360
	 Non-resident (Type 361)................... $1,440

	 This is a limited entry license. (See Page 12 — 
SHRIMP, CRAB, FINFISH AND OYSTER 
LICENSE MANAGEMENT.)
	 Required for any person who takes finfish 
for commercial purposes from the coastal 
waters of this state. 

•	 Finfish Fisherman:  defined as a person 
who catches finfish from the coastal 
waters of this state for the purpose of 
sale, barter, exchange or any other  
commercial purpose.

•	 Finfish:  defined as those living resources 
having either cartilaginous or bony skele-
tons (Chondrichthyes and Osteichthyes).

Exceptions:
•	 A person who is licensed as a bait dealer 

and who takes finfish for bait only is not 
required to obtain a commercial finfish 
fisherman’s license.

•	 A person who is in a vessel licensed as a  
menhaden boat and who takes menhaden 
is not required to obtain a commercial 
finfish fisherman’s license.
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•	 A person who holds a commercial shrimp 
boat captain’s license or the crew of a 
licensed commercial shrimp boat is not 
required to obtain a commercial finfish 
fisherman’s license when catching finfish 
incidental to legal shrimp trawling opera-
tions.

•	 A person may operate a boat bearing a 
commercial finfish fisherman’s license 
plate ONLY if that person possesses on 
board the following documentation:

	 •	 a commercial finfish fisherman’s 
license OR 

	 •	 a general commercial fisherman’s 
license, the original finfish fisherman’s 
license AND a copy of an affidavit  
permitting the boat operator to fish 
the commercial finfish fishing devices 
owned by the person to whom the 
commercial finfish fisherman’s license 
was issued. The affidavit must contain 
the date, original signature of the 
licensee, and commercial finfish 
license number which matches the 
commercial finfish license plate  
number on the boat.

•	 A person operating a boat for the  
purpose of commercial finfish fishing is 
not required to possess a commercial 
fishing boat license.

Note:
•	 A person purchasing this license will 

receive two (2) license plates bearing a 
number unique to that person.

•	 A boat operated for the purposes of com-
mercial finfish fishing is required to have 
commercial finfish fisherman’s license 
plates prominently displayed as to be 
clearly visible from both sides of the boat.

•	 No more than one set of commercial 
finfish license plates and license may 
be on board a commercial finfish fish-
ing boat at any one time.

Commercial Shrimp Boat Captain’s
	 Resident (Type 333)................................$50
	 Non-resident (Type 433)...................... $126

	 Required of any person who operates a  
commercial shrimp boat catching or attempt-
ing to catch shrimp and other aquatic products 
from the public waters of this state or 
unloading or attempting to unload in this 
state shrimp and other aquatic products 
taken from waters outside this state.

Commercial Oyster Boat Captain’s
	 Resident (Type 309)................................$32
	 Non-resident (Type 409)..................... $126

	 Required of any person who operates a 
commercial oyster boat while taking oysters 
from the public waters of this state.

Commercial Oyster Fisherman’s
	 Resident (Type 370).............................. $126
	 Non-resident (Type 470)......................$315

	 Required of any person who takes oysters 
from the public waters of this state for pay or 
for the purpose of sale, barter or exchange or 
any other commercial purpose. (Not required 
of the captain and crew onboard a licensed 
commercial oyster boat.)

Commercial Crab Fisherman’s
	 Resident (Type 338)............................. $630
	 Non-resident (Type 438)................ $2,520

	 This is a limited entry license. (See Page 12 — 
SHRIMP, CRAB, FINFISH AND OYSTER 
LICENSE MANAGEMENT.)
	 Required for any person who takes crabs 
for commercial purposes from the coastal 
waters of the state. 
	 NOTE:  No person may hold more than 
three  commercial crab fisherman’s licenses.

Exceptions:
•	 A person may operate a boat bearing 

a commercial crab fisherman’s license 
plate ONLY if that person possesses on 
board the following documentation:
•	 a commercial crab fisherman’s license 

OR 
•	 a general commercial fisherman’s 

license, AND a copy of an affidavit 
permitting the boat operator to fish 
the commercial crab fishing devices 
owned by the person to whom the 
commercial crab fisherman’s license 
was issued. The affidavit must contain 
the date, original signature of the 
licensee, and commercial crab license 
number which matches the commercial 
crab license plate number on the boat.

•	 A person operating a boat for the  
purpose of commercial crab fishing is 
not required to possess a commercial 
fishing boat license.

Note:
•	 A person purchasing this license will 

receive two (2) license plates bearing a 
number unique to that person.
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•	 A boat operated for the purposes of com-
mercial crab fishing is required to have a 
commercial crab fisherman’s license plate 
prominently displayed as to be clearly 
visible from both sides of the boat.

•	 No more than one set of commercial 
crab fisherman’s license plates and 
license may be on board a commercial 
crab fishing boat at any one time.

Commercial Mussel and Clam Fisherman’s
	 Resident (Type 320)................................$38
	 Non-resident (Type 420)................. $1,008

	 Required of any person taking mussels, 
clams or their shells from the public waters 
of this state for commercial purposes. (See 
Page 44 — MUSSELS AND CLAMS.)

Fishing Guide Licenses:
	 Required for any person who for compen-
sation, accompanies, assists, or transports 
any person engaged in fishing in the public 
waters of the state.

	 Fresh Water
		  Resident and Non-resident 
		  (Type 600)............................................$132

	 All-Water
		  Resident (Type 610).......................... $210
		  Non-resident (Type 710)...............$1,050

		  Required of any person operating as 
a fishing guide in all public waters (salt 
water only or both fresh and salt water).

		  NOTE: No person operating a motorized 
vessel or boat as a fishing guide on or in 
the salt waters of this state may be issued 
a fishing guide license unless the person 
presents original documentation to the 
license agent that the applicant possesses 
a valid and appropriate U.S. Coast Guard 
(USCG) Operator’s License. It is the opera-
tor’s responsibility to assure compliance 
with USCG regulations. For additional 
information, contact the USCG Regional 
Examination Center in Houston, Texas at 
(713) 948-3350.  

	 All-Water Paddle Craft
		  Resident (Type 650)......................... $210
		  Non-resident (Type 750)..............$1,050

		  Required of any person operating as 
a fishing guide and utilizing paddle craft 
(canoes, kayaks, etc.) in all coastal waters.

		  NOTE: Persons operating as a fishing 

guide and utilizing paddle craft (canoes, 
kayaks, etc.) while guiding can qualify for a 
fishing guide license upon presentation to 
a license agent of certification or proof of 
completion of a TPWD boater safety course, 
CPR/First Aid training, and completion of 
the American Canoe Association Coastal 
Kayak Day Trip Leading Assessment or  
the British Canoe Union Four Star Leader 
Sea Kayak Certification. This license is 
applicable only to paddle craft and cannot 
be used when a person is operating a 
motorized vessel. 

		  Any person who possesses an All-Water 
fishing guide license and a valid USCG  
vessel operator’s license is qualified as an 
All-Water paddle craft fishing guide.

		  All-Water fishing guide and All-Water 
paddle craft licenses available only at 
TPWD Law Enforcement offices. Freshwa-
ter fishing guide licenses available at any 
location where licenses are sold.

BAIT DEALERS’ LICENSES 

All bait dealers who purchase aquatic 
product(s) from anyone except other deal-
ers, and all bait dealers who harvest aquatic 
product(s) themselves are required to report 
these landings under the Trip Ticket Program. 
(See Page 19 — COMMERCIAL HARVEST 
REPORTS.)

Bait Dealer – Individual 
	 (Type 312)...................................................$38

	 Required for any person who catches, 
transports or sells his own catch of minnows, 
fish or other aquatic products (except shrimp) 
for bait.
	 Note: In addition to this license, a permit 
to sell nongame fish taken from public fresh 
water is required. The fee for this license is 
$60 and can be obtained by calling (512) 
389-4444. (See Page 15 — OTHER BUSINESS 
LICENSES AND PERMITS and Page 7 — GEN-
ERAL COMMERCIAL FISHERMAN’S LICENSE.)

Bait Dealer – Place of Business/Building
	 (Type 515)...................................................$38

	 Required for any person who buys for the 
purpose of sale, minnows, fish, shrimp in non-
coastal counties or other aquatic products for 
bait.
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Bait Dealer – Place of Business/Motor Vehicle 
	 (Type 516)...................................................$38

	 Required for any person operating a place 
of business and buying, for the purpose of 
sale from a motor vehicle, minnows, fish, 
shrimp in non-coastal counties or other 
aquatic products for bait.

Bait-Shrimp Dealer – Place of Business/
Building (coastal counties) 
	 (Type 335)................................................ $215

	 Required for any person who operates an 
established place of business engaged in sell-
ing shrimp for fish bait. Minnows, nongame 
fish or other aquatic products may also be 
sold for fish bait under this license. Only the 
place of business/building bait dealer’s license 
is required for grocery stores which do not 
unload or purchase shrimp directly from  
commercial bait-shrimp boats.

OTHER BUSINESS LICENSES 
AND PERMITS 

“Place of business” means a permanent 
structure on land or a motor vehicle where 
aquatic products or orders for aquatic prod-
ucts are received or where aquatic products 
are sold or purchased, but does not include a 
boat or any type of floating device, a public 
cold-storage vault, the portion of a structure 
that is used as a residence, or a vehicle from 
which no orders are taken or no shipments 
or deliveries are made other than to the 
place of business of a licensee in this state.
	 Aquatic products lawfully taken from the 
waters of another state may be sold within 
this state by licensed dealers without regard 
to size limitations imposed on such products 
taken within this state. A record of the source 
and disposition of such undersized or over-
sized products shall be maintained by the 
dealer for as long as the undersized or over-
sized products are retained and for at least  
30 days thereafter.
	 All fish dealers who purchase aquatic 
product(s) from anyone except other dealers, 
and all fish dealers who harvest aquatic 
product(s) themselves are required to report 
these landings under the Trip Ticket Program. 
(See Page  19 — COMMERCIAL HARVEST 
REPORTS.)

*Wholesale Fish Dealer  
(each place of business except trucks) 
	 (Type 314)...............................................  $825
*Wholesale Fish Truck Dealer  
(for each truck used as a place of business) 
	 (Type 315)................................................ $590
	 Required for any person who operates a 
place of business for the purpose of selling, 
offering for sale, canning, preserving, process-
ing, or handling for shipments or sale aquatic 
products to retail or wholesale fish dealers, 
hotels, restaurants, cafes, or consumers.
	 *Note: HB 2470 of the 78th Legislature 
mandated a 10% surcharge on fees for these 
licenses. The funds generated by these 
increases will be dedicated to a shrimp mar-
keting and promotion program administered 
by the Texas Department of Agriculture.

*Retail Fish Dealer  
(each place of business except trucks) 
	 (Type 302)........................................... $92.40
*Retail Fish Truck Dealer  
(each truck used as a place of business) 
	 (Type 316)............................................ $171.60
	 Required for any person who operates a  
place of business and sells aquatic products 
to consumers.
	 *Note: HB 2470 of the 78th Legislature 
mandated a 10% surcharge on fees for these 
licenses. The funds generated by these 
increases will be dedicated to a shrimp mar-
keting and promotion program administered 
by the Texas Department of Agriculture.

Menhaden Fish Plant (Type 326)........... $180

	 Required for any person who operates, at 
a fixed location on land, any installation where 
fish and fish by-products are processed by 
pressure, heat or chemical means into fish 
oil, fish solubles, fish scraps or other products.

Texas Finfish Import License 
	 (Type 380)..................................................$95

	 Required of any person in this state receiv-
ing bass of the genus Micropterus, blue marlin, 
crappie, flathead catfish, goliath grouper (for-
merly called jewfish), longbill spearfish, muskel-
lunge, northern pike, red drum, sailfish, sauger, 
snook, spotted seatrout, striped bass, tarpon, 
walleye, white bass, white marlin, yellow bass 
or hybrids of any of these fish directly from 
another state or country; or importing, trans-
porting, or selling these fishes in this state. 
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(This license is not required for fishes raised 
under a Texas Department of Agriculture 
Aquaculture License, or persons transporting 
these fish by common carrier from outside this 
state to a point of delivery outside this state 
providing the fish are not unloaded in Texas 
and are accompanied by a bill of lading.)

Shell Buyer
	 Resident (Type 324).............................. $126
	 Non-resident (Type 424)...................$1,890

	 Required to purchase for commercial use  
mussel and clam shells that have been taken 
from the public waters. (See Page 44 —  
MUSSELS AND CLAMS.)

Permit to Sell Nongame Fish from Public 
Fresh Water....................................................$60
	 Required of any person who sells nongame 
fish taken from the public fresh waters of this 
state. Additional licenses such as a General 
Commercial Fisherman’s License, Individual 
Bait Dealer’s License, and/or a Commercial 
Fishing Boat License (if using a boat to catch 
nongame fish) may be required. (See Page 23 
— SALE OF FISH — FRESH WATER.) This permit 
can be obtained by calling (512) 389-4742.

BOAT LICENSES 

Current boat registration or documentation 
papers must be presented when purchasing a 
boat license.
	 A non-resident boat is defined as a boat 
that does not have a Texas Certificate of 
Number or a boat that does not have a United 
States Coast Guard Certificate of Documenta-
tion that lists the owner’s address in Texas.

Commercial Fishing Boat
	 (Type 304)..................................................$27

	 Required of each boat that must be regis-
tered under federal or state laws and is used 
in taking aquatic products except menhaden, 
oysters and shrimp from the public waters 
of the state or for boats unloading within the 
state such products taken outside the state’s 
waters for pay, barter, sale, exchange or any 
commercial purpose.

Class A Menhaden Boat 
	 (Type 325)........................................... $4,200

	 Required for each boat used in the coastal 
waters of this state for the purpose of catch-

ing, storing and transporting menhaden 
for pay, barter, sale or exchange. Persons 
aboard a menhaden boat for the purpose of 
taking menhaden are not required to possess 
a general commercial fisherman’s license or 
commercial finfish fisherman’s license.

Class B Menhaden Boat 
	 (Type 329)..................................................$50

	 Required for each boat used for the pur-
pose of assisting a Class A Menhaden boat in 
catching menhaden. Persons aboard a Class 
B Menhaden boat for the purpose of catch-
ing menhaden are not required to possess a 
general commercial fisherman’s license or 
commercial finfish fisherman’s license.

Bait-Shrimp Boat
	 Resident (Type 337)............................. $366
	 Non-resident (Type 437)..................... $758

	 This is a limited entry license. (See Page 12 — 
SHRIMP, CRAB, FINFISH AND OYSTER 
LICENSE MANAGEMENT.)
	 Required for each boat that must be regis-
tered under federal or state laws and is used in 
the inside waters of the state for taking bait 
shrimp for pay, barter, sale or exchange. A 
boat licensed as a commercial bait shrimp  
boat may also be used to take edible aquatic 
products, other than shrimp, for pay, barter, 
sale or exchange from inside waters.

Bay-Shrimp Boat
	 Resident (Type 336).......................$382.80
	 Non-resident (Type 436)..................... $825

	 This is a limited entry license. (See Page 12 — 
SHRIMP, CRAB, FINFISH AND OYSTER 
LICENSE MANAGEMENT.)
	 Required for each boat that must be regis-
tered under federal or state laws and is used 
in the inside major bay waters of the state for 
taking shrimp for pay, barter, sale or exchange. 
A boat licensed as a commercial bay shrimp 
boat may also be used to take other edible 
aquatic products for pay, barter, sale or 
exchange from inside waters.

Gulf-Shrimp Boat
	 Resident (Type 330)............................. $495
	 Non-resident (Type 430)................. $1,485

	 This is a limited entry license. (See Page 12 — 
SHRIMP, CRAB, FINFISH AND OYSTER 
LICENSE MANAGEMENT.)
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	 Required for each boat that must be regis-
tered under federal or state laws and is used 
in the Gulf of Mexico or “outside” waters of 
the state for taking shrimp and other edible 
aquatic products for pay, barter, sale or 
exchange or for boats unloading within the 
state such products taken outside the state’s 
waters.

Commercial Oyster Boat License
	 Resident (Type 306).............................. $441
	 Non-resident (Type 406)..................$1,764

	 Required for each boat used to transport 
or for taking oysters for pay or for the  
purpose of sale, barter, or exchange or any 
other commercial purpose from the public 
waters of this state by utilizing a dredge, 
tongs, or other mechanical means.

HARVESTER/SHELL 
RECOVERY TAGS 

	 Green Tag (Type 301)...........................$0.20
	 White Tag (Type 303)..........................$0.20

	 Harvester/Shell Recovery tag must be 
affixed to the outside of each sack of oysters 
at the time of harvest, in the location of  
harvest, contain information required by the 
Department of State Health Services under 
the National Shellfish Sanitation Program, 
and remain affixed during transportation of 
the oysters to a dealer.
	 The appropriate Harvester/Shell Recovery 
Tag (green or white) must be affixed to the 
sack regardless of the season or whether the 
requirements of 25 TAC §241.57 (relating to 
Molluscan Shellfish Harvesting and Handling) 
apply.

PURCHASE OF AQUATIC PRODUCTS FOR RESALE

EXOTIC SPECIES

Wholesale fish dealers and Retail fish  
dealers may display live tilapia, lawfully  
purchased from the holder of an exotic  
species permit, but must gut or behead the 
tilapia before selling or delivering to another 
person.  It is unlawful to transfer live tilapia 
between fish dealers that do not possess 
exotic species permits. Exotic species regula-
tions may be found at 31 TAC 57.111 – 57.137.

	 Wholesale fish dealers may purchase for 
resale, or receive for sale, barter, exchange, 
or any other commercial purpose aquatic 
products only from persons or entities in this 
state who hold a valid:
	 •	 general commercial fisherman’s license;
	 •	 commercial oyster fisherman’s license;
	 •	 commercial oyster boat license;
	 •	 wholesale fish dealer’s license;
	 •	 fish farmer’s license;
	 •	 commercial oyster boat captain’s license;
	 •	 commercial shrimp boat license; 
	 •	 commercial shrimp boat captain’s 

license;
	 •	 commercial crab fisherman’s license; or
	 •	 commercial finfish fisherman’s license.
	 All wholesale fish dealers who purchase 
aquatic product(s) from anyone except other 

dealers, and all wholesale fish dealers who 
harvest aquatic product(s) themselves are 
required to report these landings under the 
Trip Ticket Program. (See Page 19 —  
COMMERCIAL HARVEST REPORTS.)

	 Retail fish dealers may purchase for resale, 
or receive for sale, barter, exchange, or any 
other commercial purpose aquatic products 
only from persons or entities in this state who 
hold a valid:
	 •	 wholesale fish dealer’s license;
	 •	 fish farmer’s license;
	 •	 general commercial fisherman’s license; 
	 •	 commercial shrimp boat captain’s 

license;
	 •	 commercial shrimp boat license when 

the retail fish dealer has given written 
notification to the department of the 
dealer’s intent to purchase aquatic 
products from the holder of a general 
commercial fisherman’s license or a 
commercial shrimp boat license;

	 •	 commercial crab fisherman’s license; or
	 •	 commercial finfish fisherman’s license.
	 All retail fish dealers who purchase aquatic 
product(s) from anyone except other dealers, 
and all retail fish dealers who harvest aquatic 
product(s) themselves are required to report 
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these landings under the Trip Ticket Program. 
(See Page 19 — COMMERCIAL HARVEST 
REPORTS.)
	 Restaurant owners, operators or employ-
ees may purchase aquatic products (only for 
consumption by the restaurant’s patrons on 
the restaurant premises) only from persons 
or entities in this state who hold a valid:

	 •	 general commercial fisherman’s license;
	 •	 wholesale fish dealer’s license;
	 •	 fish farmer’s license; 
	 •	 commercial shrimp boat license; 
	 •	 commercial shrimp boat captain’s 

license;
	 •	 commercial crab fisherman’s license; or
	 •	 commercial finfish fisherman’s license.

SHIPPING REGULATIONS
AQUATIC PRODUCT  

TRANSPORTATION INVOICES

All aquatic products (uncooked, fresh or frozen 
fish, shrimp, oysters, crabs, etc.) shipped for 
commercial purposes must be accompanied 
by an invoice prepared by the shipper con-
taining the following information:
	 •	 Invoice Number
	 •	 Date of Shipment
	 •	 Name and Physical Address of Shipper 

(Fish Dealer)
	 •	 Name and Physical Address of Receiver
	 •	 Dealer Number of Shipper
	 •	 Quantity of Aquatic Products contained 

in the shipment; finfish by species, num-
ber or weight; oysters by volume; and all 
other aquatic products by weight.

	 Shippers shall sequentially number invoices 
during each license year. No number may be 
used twice during any one license period.
	 Shipper and receiver shall maintain a copy 
of invoice for a period of one year from date 
of shipment.

INTERSTATE TRANSPORTATION

No person may bring into this state and 
deliver aquatic products for commercial 
purposes unless the person has obtained a 
wholesale fish dealer’s license, a retail fish 
dealer’s license, a bait dealer’s license, or an 
exotic species interstate transport permit, 
as applicable, issued by the Texas Parks and 
Wildlife Department.
	 Aquatic products lawfully taken from the 
waters of another state may be sold within 
this state by licensed dealers without regard 
to size limitations imposed on such products 
taken within this state. A record of the source 
and disposition of such undersize or oversize 
products shall be maintained by the dealer for 
as long as the undersize or oversize products 
are retained and for at least 30 days thereafter.
	 No person may transport aquatic products 

out of this state for commercial purposes 
unless the transporter first obtains a whole-
sale fish dealer’s license or a retail fish deal-
er’s license. A person who delivers aquatic 
products for a licensed wholesale fish dealer 
or retail fish dealer must possess a copy of 
the dealer’s license while making deliveries.

CONTAINERS

All containers of aquatic products shipped 
for commercial purposes must have a label 
attached to the outside listing the following 
information:
	 •	 Aquatic Products Transportation Invoice 

number of the shipment of which the 
container is a part

	 •	 Kind of aquatic product contained
	 •	 Weight of aquatic product in the container
	 Finfish may not be shipped in individual 
packages that contain more than one species.
	 A commercial fisherman licensed to take 
aquatic products from Texas waters trans-
porting their own catch within this state is 
not required to invoice the shipment or label 
containers.

LICENSES

Any person transporting aquatic products for  
commercial purposes must have in his pos-
session the license authorizing the shipment.
	 •	 Commercial finfish fisherman’s license 

OR 
	 •	 General commercial fisherman’s license 

and an affidavit from the holder of the 
commercial finfish fisherman’s license 
authorizing the person to operate their 
fishing devices for shipments of the  
fisherman’s own catch.

	 •	 Commercial shrimp boat license (or 
copy of commercial shrimp boat license) 
and commercial shrimp boat captain’s 
license for shipments of shrimp and/or 
other aquatic products taken on a  
commercial shrimp boat.
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	 •	 Commercial oyster boat captain’s 
license and commercial oyster boat 
license (or copy of commercial oyster 
boat license), for shipments of oysters 
taken on a commercial oyster boat.

	 •	 Commercial oyster fisherman’s license 
for shipments of the fisherman’s own 
catch of oysters.

	 •	 Wholesale or retail fish dealer’s truck 
licenses (original license) or a copy of the 
wholesale or retail fish dealer’s business 
license for shipments going to or from the 
place of business of fish dealer.

	 No person may transport aquatic products 
out of this state for commercial purposes 
unless the shipper first obtains a wholesale 

fish dealer’s license, retail fish dealer’s 
license or a bait dealer’s license, whichever is 
applicable.
	 No person may bring into this state and 
deliver aquatic products for any commercial 
purpose unless he has obtained a wholesale 
fish dealer’s license or a retail fish dealer’s 
license, whichever is applicable.
	 A motor carrier providing contract car-
riage of aquatic products for a fish dealer is 
not responsible for invoicing or labeling the 
shipment or obtaining a wholesale or retail 
fish dealer’s license. The shipper (seller of 
the aquatic product) is responsible for  
invoicing and labeling the shipment and 
obtaining the proper dealer’s license.

RECORDS
COMMERCIAL HARVEST REPORTS

Trip Tickets
NOTE: All aquatic product transactions are 
required to be recorded by individual trip 
regardless of the species involved in the 
transaction, and each trip’s landings will be 
linked to information about the fisherman 
and his equipment. These transactions may 
be recorded electronically [using software 
provided by TPWD at the address below] or 
on paper using forms provided by TPWD [at 
the same address]. 
	 All dealers who purchase or receive aquatic 
product(s) from anyone other than another 
dealer MUST file a monthly report with the 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department on or 
before the 10th day of each month following 
the month in which the reportable activity 
occurred. The report must be filed every 
month, whether or not reportable activity 
occurs. The filing of an incorrect or false 
report is unlawful. This report must include 
the forms for all transactions conducted  
during the period covered by the report.  
All commercial fishermen who sell their 
catch to individuals other than wholesale 
fish dealer, retail fish dealer, wholesale 
truck dealer, retail truck dealer, bait dealer, 
bait-shrimp dealer, MUST report these sales 
by filing a monthly report with the TPWD on 
or before the 10th day of each month follow-
ing the month in which reportable activity 
occurred. Processed aquatic products not 
sold to the processing dealer must be 
reported by the commercial fishermen at 
the landing weight prior to processing.

	 A trip ticket must include: 
	 •	 the name of the seller;
	 •	 the commercial license number of the 

seller;
	 •	 commercial license type of seller;
	 •	 Texas driver’s license;
	 •	 the date of sale;
	 •	 the number of pounds sold by species;
	 •	 unit and condition codes
	 •	 count and/or market size
	 •	 the water body or bay system from 

which the aquatic products were taken;
	 •	 price paid per pound per species;
	 •	 gear used to harvest the aquatic product;
	 •	 trip time;
	 •	 fishing time;
	 •	 commercial fishing vessel name;
	 •	 commercial fishing vessel registration  

number;
	 •	 dealer name; and 
	 •	 the commercial license number of the 

dealer.
	 Trip tickets are required for all aquatic 
products and must be completed at the time 
the products are delivered from the fisherman 
to the dealer.

Source of Forms
Dealer report forms for aquatic products are 
available by writing: Commercial Harvest Pro-
gram, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, 
Dickinson Marine Laboratory, 1502 FM 517 E, 
Dickinson, TX 77539 or calling (281) 534-0117.
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MARKING OF VEHICLES
All motor vehicles, trailers or semi-trailers transporting 
aquatic products for commercial purposes are required to 
exhibit the inscription “FISH” on the rear of the vehicle. The 
inscription shall read from left to right, be attached or painted 
on the vehicle in block letters of good proportion in contrast-
ing color to the background and be at least six inches in 
height, or be marked in the lower left portion, on the rear of 
the vehicle with a decal (see illustration) as prescribed by the 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission. For information call  
(512) 389-4853. Each individual dealer or company is  
responsible for generating their own decal according  
to provided guidelines.

(Reduced version of truck decal. Must be at least six inches  
by six inches in size and in contrasting color to the truck.)

IMPORTATION REGULATIONS
No person may import into this state or  
possess a wildlife resource taken outside  
this state, unless the person possessing the 
wildlife resource produces on demand by a 
game warden a valid hunting, fishing or other 
applicable license, stamp, tag, permit or  
document for the state or country in which 
the wildlife resource was legally taken.
	 A person importing or possessing a wildlife 
resource from another state or country must 
produce upon demand by a game warden a 
valid driver’s license or personal identification 
certificate.
	 Fish imported into Texas and landed by 
boat, must comply with Texas bag and size 
limits. This does not apply to fish caught 
under the authority of an approved Federal 
Fishery Management Plan.

COMMERCIALLY PROTECTED FISH

All shipments of commercially protected finfish 
must be accompanied by a “Commercially 
Protected Finfish Shipping Invoice.” A copy 
of the invoice must accompany all commer-
cially protected finfish shipments through 
their place of final sale to the consumer.

Commercially Protected Finfish
•	 Bass of the genus 

Micropterus*
•	 Bass, striped*
•	 Bass, white*
•	 Bass, yellow
•	 Catfish, flathead*
•	 Crappie, black*
•	 Crappie, white*
•	 Drum, red*

•	 Grouper, goliath 
(formerly called 
jewfish)

•	 Marlin, blue
•	 Marlin, white
•	 Muskellunge
•	 Pike, northern
•	 Sailfish
•	 Sauger

•	 Seatrout, spotted
•	 Snook
•	 Spearfish, longbill
•	 Tarpon

•	 Walleye
•	 Hybrids of any of 

these fish*

*NOTICE: To be lawfully imported, sold or 
purchased in Texas, bass of the genus 
Micropterus, crappie, flathead catfish, red 
drum, striped bass, white bass or a hybrid 
of any of these fish must be farm raised 
and fed a prepared feed containing 20% or 
more of plant protein or grain by-products 
as a primary food source.

Commercially Protected Finfish Invoice
	 1.	 Shall accompany all shipments of  
commercially protected finfish imported, 
exported or shipped within the state.
	 2.	Shall contain all of the following infor-
mation, correctly stated and legibly written:
		  (a)	 Commercially Protected Finfish  

Shipping Invoice number;
		  (b)	 Date of shipment;
		  (c)	 Name and physical address of shipper;
		  (d)	 Name and physical address of receiver;
		  (e)	 Shipper’s and receiver’s Texas Finfish 

Import Dealer number when required;
		  (f)	 Number and weight of whole fish or  

fillets by species contained in the 
shipment; and

		  (g)	 State (or country, if outside the 
United States) of origin.

	 3.	Shall be on the form prescribed by the 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission and  
8-1/2 x 11 inches in size.
	 4.	Be sequentially numbered during the 
license period.
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	 5.	NEW. The shipper and receiver is 
responsible for reporting each shipment 
made within 24 hours of shipment through 
the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
approved internet application found at 
https://txfinfish.com, except a retail dealer or 
restaurant selling only to the consumer is not 
required to report through the department 
approved internet application. 
	 6.	One copy of each invoice must be 
retained by the shipper and receiver, including 
retail dealers and restaurants, for a period of 
at least one year from the date of shipment. 
For questions contact (512) 389-4853.

Package Requirements
Commercial shipments of commercially pro-
tected finfish must be shipped in containers 
whose volume is no greater than six cubic 
feet or in containers that do not contain 
more than three individual fish each.

Package Labels
Each package of commercially protected finfish 
shall be labeled as to its contents. Labels shall 
be placed on the outside of each package and 
contain the following information:
	 1.	 The commercially protected finfish 
invoice number of the shipment of which the 
package is a part.
	 2.	The number and weight of whole fish or  
fillets by species contained in the package.

Importation of Commercially Protected Fin-
fish from the EEZ by Commercial Fishermen

A commercially protected finfish lawfully 
taken or raised for commercial purposes in 
the Exclusive Economic Zone (EEZ) under the 
authority of a Federal Fishery Management 
Plan or Federal Permit may be transported 
into this state by the harvesting vessel. 
These commercially protected finfish may 
only be unloaded to the holder of a Texas 
Finfish Import License.
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FRESHWATER/SALTWATER BOUNDARY
All public waters east and south of the follow-
ing boundary are considered salt waters: 
beginning at the International Toll Bridge in 
Brownsville, northward along U.S. Hwy. 77 to 
the junction of Paredes Lines Road (FM Road 
1847) in Brownsville, thence northward along 
FM Road 1847 to the junction of FM Road 106 
east of Rio Hondo, thence westward along  
FM Road 106 to the junction of FM Road 508 
in Rio Hondo, thence northward along FM 
Road 508 to the junction of FM Road 1420, 
thence northward along FM Road 1420 to the 
junction of State Hwy. 186 east of Raymond-
ville, thence westward along State Hwy. 186 
to the junction of U.S. Hwy. 77 near Raymond-
ville, thence northward along U.S. Hwy. 77 to 
the junction of the Aransas River south of 
Woodsboro, thence eastward along the south 
shore of the Aransas River to the junction of 
the Aransas River Road at the Bonnie View 
boat ramp; thence northward along the Aran-
sas River Road to the junction of FM Road 136 
to FM Road 2678 to the junction of FM 
Road 774 in Refugio, thence eastward 
along FM Road 774 to the junction of 
State Hwy. 35 south of Tivoli, thence 
northward along State Hwy. 35 to the 
junction of State Hwy. 185 between 
Bloomington and Seadrift, thence  
northwestward along State 
Hwy. 185 to the junction of 
FM Road 616 in Bloom-
ington, thence 
northeastward 
along FM Road 
616 to the junc-
tion of State 
Hwy. 35 

east of Blessing, thence southward along 
State Hwy. 35 to the junction of FM Road 521 
north of Palacios, thence northeastward along 
FM Road 521 to the junction of State Hwy. 36 
south of Brazoria, thence southward along 
State Hwy.  36 to the junction of FM Road 
2004, thence northward along FM Road  2004 
to the junction of Interstate Hwy.  45 between 
Dickinson and La Marque, thence northwest-
ward along Interstate Hwy.  45 to the junction 
of Interstate Hwy.  610 in Houston, thence 
east and northward along Interstate Hwy. 610 
to the junction of Interstate Hwy. 10 in Hous-
ton, thence eastward along Interstate Hwy. 
10 to the junction of State Hwy. 73 in Winnie, 
thence eastward along State Hwy. 73 to the 
junction of U.S. Hwy. 287 in Port Arthur, 
thence northwestward along U.S. Hwy. 287 
to the junction of Interstate Hwy. 10 in  
Beaumont, thence eastward along Interstate 
Hwy. 10 to the Louisiana State Line.

The following  
public waters are not 

considered salt water:  
(1) waters of Spindletop 

Bayou inland from the concrete 
dam at Russels Landing on Spindle-

top Bayou in Jefferson County; (2) 
north of the dam on Lake Anahuac in 
Chambers County; (3) the waters of 
Taylor Bayou and Big Hill Bayou inland 
from the saltwater locks on Taylor 
Bayou in Jefferson County; (4) Galves-
ton County Reservoir on State Hwy. 146 
and Galveston State Park Ponds #1 
through #7 in Galveston County; (5) 
Lakeview City Park Lake, West Guth 
Park Pond, and Waldron Park Pond in 
Nueces County; (6) Lake Burke-Cren-
shaw and Lake  
Nassau in Harris County; (7) Fort Brown 
Resaca, Resaca de la Guerra, Resaca de 
la Palma, Resaca de los Cuates, Resaca 
de los Fresnos, Resaca Rancho Viejo, 
and Town Resaca in Cameron County; 
and (8) Little Chocolate Bayou Park 
Ponds #1 and #2 in Port Lavaca in  
Calhoun County.
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FISH

GENERAL REGULATIONS

It is UNLAWFUL to take, attempt to take, 
possess, sell or purchase fish within a pro-
tected length limit, in greater numbers, by 
other means, or at any time or place other 
than as provided in this guide.
	 It is UNLAWFUL to transport by boat or 
person any fish within a protected length 
limit, or in excess of the daily bag limit or 
possession limit established for those fish.
	 No person on board a licensed commercial 
fishing boat (a commercial fishing boat,  
commercial shrimp boat, menhaden boat, 
commercial oyster boat) may possess any  
fish species whose sale is prohibited. 
	 •	 On board a commercial shrimp boat fish 

legally taken incidental to a legal shrimp 
operation may only be possessed by a 
person with a shrimp boat captain’s 
license or a person who is the owner  
of a licensed commercial shrimp boat. 

	 •	 To legally fish recreationally from a 
licensed commercial fishing boat, the 
commercial plates must be removed 
from the boat. While no commercial 
plates are on board, all recreational  
fishing regulations apply including size, 
bag and possession limits. 

	 •	 While the commercial plates are on 
board, all commercial regulations apply, 
including size, bag and possession limits.

	 No person may possess a finfish of any 
species, except broadbill swordfish or king 
mackerel, taken from public water with the 
head and tail removed until such person 
finally lands the catch on the mainland, a 
peninsula or barrier island, not including  
jetties or piers. Sharks may have their head 
removed prior to landing the catch on the 
mainland, a peninsula or barrier island, not 
including jetties or piers. However the tail 
must remain attached to the carcass until 
finally processed or until delivered to the 
dealer.

Leaving fish to die. It is UNLAWFUL to leave 
edible fish or bait fish taken from the public 
waters of this state to die without the intent 
to retain the fish for consumption or bait.

PROHIBITED ACTS IN 
ALL PUBLIC WATERS

It is UNLAWFUL to fail to immediately 
remove the intestines from grass carp,  
tilapia, or any other harmful exotic species 
when caught or possessed. (For a complete 
listing contact TPWD at (800) 792-1112.)
	 It is UNLAWFUL for any person to use a 
gaff except to aid in the landing of fish 
caught by other legal devices, means, or 
methods. Fish landed with a gaff may not be 
below the minimum, above the maximum, or 
within a protected length limit.
	 It is UNLAWFUL for any person to release 
into the public waters of this state a fish 
with a device or substance implanted or 
attached that is designed, constructed or 
adapted to produce an audible, visual or  
electronic signal used to monitor, track, follow 
or in any manner aid in the location of the 
released fish.
	 It is UNLAWFUL to catch, possess, use,  
transport, purchase or sell any game fish  
or any part thereof as bait.
	 Billfish, except swordfish, may not be 
landed or possessed by the captain or crew 
of a commercial fishing vessel.

SALE OF FISH — FRESH WATER

It is UNLAWFUL to sell any fish taken from 
the public fresh water of Texas except for 
the following:
	 (1)  Channel and blue catfish over 14 
inches in length taken in the following:  

•	 Angelina County
•	 Bowie County
•	 Camp County
•	 Cass County
•	 Chambers County
•	 Franklin County
•	 Freestone County
•	 Gregg County
•	 Hardin County
•	 Harris County
•	 Harrison County
•	 Jasper County
•	 Jefferson County
•	 Lamar County
•	 Leon County
•	 Liberty County
•	 Madison County
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•	 Marion County
•	 Montgomery County
•	 Morris County
•	 Nacogdoches County
•	 Navarro County
•	 Newton County
•	 Orange County
•	 Panola County
•	 Polk County
•	 Red River County
•	 Sabine County
•	 San Augustine County
•	 San Jacinto County
•	 Shelby County
•	 Titus County
•	 Trinity County
•	 Tyler County
•	 Upshur County
•	 Walker County
•	 the Neches and Trinity rivers in  

Houston County
•	 the Colorado River in Bastrop,  

Colorado, Fayette, Matagorda or  
Wharton counties

	 (2)  A PERMIT TO SELL NONGAME FISH 
is required to sell alligator gar, shortnose 
gar, spotted gar, longnose gar, bowfin, giz-
zard shad, threadfin shad, common carp, 
goldfish, grass carp, bighead carp, bigmouth 
buffalo, black buffalo, smallmouth buffalo, 
river carpsucker, black bullhead, yellow bull-
head, freshwater drum (gaspergou), tilapia 
and their hybrids, Rio Grande cichlids (perch), 
silversides, mullet, listed shiners and minnows, 
and hybrids of these species taken from the 
public fresh waters of this state (See Page 15 – 
OTHER BUSINESS LICENSES AND PERMITS). 
Other nongame fish may not be sold. For per-
mit information call (512) 389-4742.

SALE OF FISH — SALT WATER

All fish listed below taken from the public 
salt water of Texas may NOT be sold for any 
purpose. All other fish taken from public salt 
water may be sold provided all commercial 
fishing regulations including licensing, and 
size, possession and bag limits are met.

•	 Bass of the genus Micropterus
•	 Bass, striped
•	 Bass, white
•	 Bass, yellow
•	 Catfish, flathead
•	 Crappie, black
•	 Crappie, white
•	 Drum, red
•	 Grouper, goliath  

(formerly called jewfish)
•	 Marlin, blue
•	 Marlin, white
•	 Muskellunge
•	 Pike, northern
•	 Sailfish
•	 Sauger
•	 Seatrout, spotted
•	 Snook
•	 Spearfish, longbill
•	 Tarpon
•	 Walleye
•	 Hybrids of any of these fish

Commercial Fishing Seasons
The commercial fishing seasons for red 
snapper, sharks and king mackerel caught 
in Texas waters shall run concurrently with 
commercial seasons established for these 
species in federal waters of the Exclusive 
Economic Zone (more than 9 nm off shore).

Sale or Purchase of Shark Fins
NEW: It is UNLAWFUL for any person to 
buy, sell, offer to buy or sell, or possess for 
the purpose of sale, transport, or shipment 
a shark fin regardless of where the shark 
was taken or caught. A person who violates 
this provision commits an offense that is 
a Class B Parks and Wildlife misdemeanor. 
Exception: A shark carcass that retains all 
of its fins naturally attached to the carcass 
through some portion of uncut skin may be 
bought, sold, or possessed for sale, transport 
or shipment.
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TEXAS STATE WATERS — 
FEDERAL WATERS

Texas recreational and commercial fisher-
men fishing more than 9 nautical miles off 
the coast of Texas are in federal waters and 
are subject to rules and regulations that 
may differ from those in state waters. It is a 
violation of state law to possess aquatic  
animal life in Texas that was unlawfully 
taken in violation of federal law in the Exclu-
sive Economic Zone. To insure you are in 
compliance with federal regulations, you 
should contact the Gulf of Mexico Fishery 
Management Council at (888) 833-1844 
(toll-free) or visit www.gulfcouncil.org and 
click on REGULATIONS.

INDIVIDUAL FISHING QUOTA 
(IFQ) FOR RED SNAPPER

No person aboard any vessel shall sell,  
barter, trade, or exchange red snapper;  
land or attempt to land red snapper for the 
purpose of sale, barter, trade, or exchange; 
or possess red snapper for the purpose of 
sale, barter, trade, or exchange unless the 
person possesses a valid federal permit for 
the harvest of Gulf of Mexico Reef Fish, a 
valid federal red snapper Individual Fishing 
Quota (IFQ) vessel endorsement and a  
sufficient allocation for red snapper.

TOTAL ALLOWABLE CATCH (TAC) 
FOR GULF MENHADEN

The commercial season for menhaden 
(Brevoortia patronus) is open beginning on 
the third Monday in April and will continue 
until whichever of the following first occurs: 
the first day in November; or the total catch 
for the season has reached 31,500,000 
pounds.

PADRE ISLAND NATIONAL  
SEASHORE —  

SPECIAL REGULATIONS

Starting March 7, 2009 anyone, excluding 
vendors and concessionaires, who makes 
money from a public resource at the Padre 
Island National Seashore or within its 
aquatic perimeter is required to possess a 
National Park Service issued “Commercial 
Use Authorization” permit while operating 
their service. Direct questions at (361) 949-
9239, ext. 33. Also check the website for a 
full explanation of the rule: www.nps.gov/
pais

HOW TO MEASURE  
FISH AND CRABS

The length to be measured is that 
straight line distance from the tip of the 
snout to the extreme tip of the tail or 
caudal fin. All measurements are to be 
made as that straight line distance (not 
over the curve of the body) with the fish 
lying on its side and with the jaw closed 
in a normal position, not extended in 
any way. The tail should be squeezed or 
rotated to produce the maximum overall 
length.
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COMMERCIAL BAG, POSSESSION AND LENGTH LIMITS

			   Minimum	 Maximum
	 Bag	 Possession	 Length	 Length
Species	 Limit	 Limit	 (Inches)	 (Inches)

Amberjack, greater	 1	 2	 38	 No limit

Drum, blacka	 No limit	 No limit	 14	 30

Catfish: blue and 	 25b	 50	 14	 No limit
   channel	 (In any 	 (In any 
	  combination)	 combination)

Catfish, gafftopsail	 No limit	 No limit	 14	 No limit

Cobia	 2	 4	 37	 No limit

Flounderc	 30/2c	 30/2c	 14	 No limit

Gar, alligatord	 1e	 2e	 No limit	 No limit

Grouper, gag	 2	 4	 22	 No limit

Mackerel, king	 2	 4	 27	 No limit

Mackerel, Spanish	 15	 30	 14	 No limit

Mullet: all species	 No limit	 No limit	 No limit	 12
   their hybrids and				    during Oct., Nov.,
   subspecies f				    Dec. & Jan.

Shark: 	
1
	

   Atlantic sharpnose, 	
See Special

	
2

	
24	 No limit   blacktip, bonnethead	

Regulation g below
   Allowable shark species			   64	 No limit   

   Prohibited shark species h	 0	 0	 Catch and	 Catch and
   			   release only	 release only

Sheepsheada	 No limit	 No limit	 15	 No limit

Snapper, lane	 No limit	 No limit	 8	 No limit

Snapper, red i	 4	 8	 15	 No limit

Snapper, vermilion	 No limit	 No limit	 10	 No limit

Triggerfish, gray	 20	 40	 16	 No limit

Tripletail	 3	 6	 17	 No limit

a Only the holder of a commercial finfish fisherman’s license is exempt from recreational bag and  
possession limits while commercial fishing for black drum or sheepshead.

b Exceptions to catfish daily bag limit:
	 1)	 in Lake Livingston (Polk, San Jacinto, Trinity and Walker counties) the daily bag limit for channel 

and blue catfish is 50 in any combination;
	 2)	 in lakes lying totally within a state park and community fishing lakes (see the Texas Parks and 

Wildlife Outdoor Annual), the daily bag limit for channel and blue catfish is 5 in any combination 
and fish may be taken by pole and line only.

c Flounder Special Regulation:  Daily bag is 30 fish except from Nov. 1-30, when the daily bag limit is 2 
fish (flounder may be taken only by pole-and-line); and from December 1-14, when the daily bag limit is 
2 fish (flounder may be taken by any legal means). Possession limit is equal to the daily bag.

	 On board a licensed commercial shrimp boat the limit is equal to the recreational limit per each per-
son with a current shrimp boat captain’s license and is subject to the 50% bycatch rule  
(See Page 27 — SHRIMP) 

d Fishing Restrictions for Spawning Alligator Gar:  When conditions such as water temperature and 
flooding events would be conducive for spawning of alligator gar, the TPWD Executive Director may tempo-
rarily prohibit taking or attempting to take alligator gar in a specified area for a period not to exceed 30 
days. Conditions that would be used to invoke this action include water temperatures between 68 to 82°F 
and occurrence of moderate flood levels as defined and reported by U.S. Geological Survey gauges (see 
www.srh.noaa.gov/wgrfc). Notice of this action will be posted on the TPWD website, distributed to print and 
broadcast media, and shared through social media. The notice will specify the area to be closed and when 
lawful fishing for alligator gar may resume. For current closure notices, visit tpwd.texas.gov/gar-closure
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e In Falcon International Reservoir (Starr and Zapata counties), daily bag limit is 5, and possession limit is 10.
f May not take from public waters or possess on board a boat mullet over 12 inches during October, 

November, December and January. No limits apply during other months.
g	Special Regulation:  The daily bag limit is one (1) fish for all allowable shark species INCLUDING Atlantic 

sharpnose, blacktip and bonnethead.
h Prohibited shark species: Atlantic angel, Basking, Bigeye sand tiger, Bigeye sixgill, Bigeye thresher, 

Bignose, Caribbean reef, Caribbean sharpnose, Dusky, Galapagos, Longfin mako, Narrowtooth, Night, 
Sandbar, Sand tiger, Sevengill, Silky, Sixgill, Smalltail, Whale, White.

i Special Regulation:  Red snapper may be taken using pole and line, but it is UNLAWFUL to use any kind 
of hook other than a circle hook when using natural bait.

	 The possession limit does not apply to fish 
in the possession of:
	 (1)	 a person who has an invoice or sales 
ticket showing the name and address of the 
seller, number of fish by species, date of the 
sale, and other information required on a 
sales ticket or an invoice.
	 (2)	 for all wildlife resources (including 
fish) taken for personal consumption and 

for which there is a possession limit, the pos-
session limit shall not apply after the wildlife 
resource has reached its final destination 
and/or point of sale with required invoices.
	 It is UNLAWFUL for any person while  
fishing on or in public waters to have in  
possession fish in excess of the daily bag 
limit or fish within a protected length limit  
as established for those waters.

SHRIMP
GENERAL REGULATIONS

LICENSE REQUIRED
	 •	 Commercial Shrimp Boat Captain’s 
		  License
	 •	 Commercial Shrimp Boat License
		  (Bay, Bait or Gulf)

(See Pages 6 and 13  
for licensing details)

To legally sport fish from a licensed  
commercial shrimp boat and to legally catch 
and retain fish species prohibited from sale, 
the commercial plates must be removed from  
the boat. While no commercial plates are on 
board, all sport fishing regulations apply 
including licenses, size, bag and possession 
limits. All commercial regulations apply  
when the commercial plates are on board.

It is UNLAWFUL to:
•	 take or attempt to take shrimp within the 

boundaries of any natural or man-made 
pass leading from the inside waters to the 
outside waters (Gulf of Mexico) of the state.

•	 use a trawl or fail to have the spreading 
devices on deck and the trawl bag untied 
at a time when shrimping is prohibited.

•	 possess a trawl that is too wide or has 
small mesh in an area where the trawl  
is prohibited. Such trawls may be pos-
sessed on vessels in port or in a marked 

channel going directly to or from an area 
in this state where the use of the trawl is 
permitted.

•	 head shrimp aboard a boat in inside waters. 
•	 possess a device designed to catch fish  

or other aquatic life, including a shrimp 
trawl, in or on the public waters of the 
state where the use of the device is  
prohibited.

•	 catch and retain fish species prohibited 
from sale on a licensed commercial shrimp 
boat while the commercial plates are on 
board. 

•	 retain a red drum, spotted seatrout or  
lightning whelk on board a licensed  
commercial shrimp boat if there is a  
trawl on board the boat.

It is UNLAWFUL for any person:
•	 aboard a vessel licensed as a commercial 

bay shrimp boat to off-load, transfer, sell, 
or barter any amount of live or dead 
shrimp to a person aboard another vessel;

•	 aboard a vessel to off-load, transfer,  
purchase, or barter from a person aboard 
a vessel licensed as a commercial bay 
shrimp boat any amount of live or dead 
shrimp;

•	 aboard a vessel licensed as a commercial 
bait shrimp boat to off-load, transfer, sell, 
or barter any amount of live or dead 
shrimp, except an amount of live or dead 
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shrimp not to exceed two quarts per sport 
fisherman or one gallon (by volume) for 
two or more sport fishermen may be off-
loaded, transferred, sold, or bartered to a 
person aboard a sport fishing vessel; or

•	 aboard a vessel to off-load, transfer,  
purchase, or barter from a person aboard 
a vessel licensed as a commercial bait 
shrimp boat any amount of live or dead 
shrimp, except a person aboard a  
recreational fishing vessel may off-load, 
transfer, purchase, or barter an amount of 
shrimp not to exceed two quarts per sport 
fisherman or one gallon (by volume) for 
two or more recreational fishermen.

	 Commercial shrimp boat license plates 
must be prominently displayed as to be 
clearly visible from both sides of the boat.
	 Fresh shrimp may be held in possession 
only through open seasons and five days 
thereafter, except that bait dealers and sport 
fishermen may possess bait shrimp through-
out the year.
	 The captain of a licensed commercial 
shrimp boat is required to hold a Commer-
cial Shrimp Boat Captain’s license.
	 Nongame fish and other aquatic products 
taken incidental to legal shrimp trawling 
operations may be retained provided each 
person that retains a lawful limit of fish has a 
current shrimp boat captain’s license, or is 
the licensed owner of the shrimp boat, and:
	 •	 the total weight of aquatic products 

retained, in any combination, do not 
exceed 50% by weight of shrimp on a 
shrimping vessel; or

	 •	 from May 1 to Sept. 30 up to 1,500 live 
nongame fish not regulated by bag or 
size limit and/or 300 dozen ribbonfish 
may be retained daily for bait purposes 
only on board a vessel licensed for  
commercial bait shrimp fishing.

	 The taking of aquatic products of illegal 
size on board a licensed commercial shrimp 
boat engaged in the lawful taking of shrimp 
is not a violation if the aquatic products of 
UNLAWFUL size are returned to the waters 
from which taken in a manner to ensure their 
best chance of survival.

DISPLAY BOAT NUMBERS

All commercial shrimp boats are required to 
exhibit the vessel’s documentation or regis-
tration number on the port and starboard 
sides of the deckhouse or hull and on an 
appropriate weather deck. The number in 
block Arabic numerals in contrasting color to 
the background must be at least 18 inches in 
height on vessels over 65 feet and 10 inches 
in height for all other vessels and be perma-
nently attached.

METHOD OF NET  
MEASUREMENT

All total widths specified for commercial 
otter trawls, including try nets, are measured 
along the uninterrupted corkline from lead-
ing tip of door to leading tip of door, includ-
ing any and all add-on devices or 
attachments to the corkline. All beam trawl 
widths are measured along the beam in its 
fully extended position. (See Page 36 for 
details.)
	 Mesh sizes specified for commercial trawls 
apply to the trawl, bag and trawl liner and 
are measured in inches of length between 
the two most widely separated knots in any 
consecutive series of five stretched meshes 
after the trawl has been placed in use.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS
(Bay and Bait Shrimping)

A boat having on board or displaying a  
bait shrimp boat license must operate  
only under commercial bait shrimp regula-
tions, including: 1)  200 pound daily limit;  
2) maintaining 50% of the shrimp alive;  
3) places authorized for bait shrimping; and 
4) sale or unload to a bait shrimp dealer or 
sportsman. (See Page 27 — SHRIMP.)
	 A shrimp boat licensed both as a bay shrimp 
boat and a bait shrimp boat may not shrimp in 
both a major bay and any other water on the 
same calendar day during the period May 15 
through July 15 (Spring Open Season).
	 A shrimp boat licensed both as a bay 
shrimp boat and a bait shrimp boat may not 
take more than 800  pounds of heads-on 
shrimp per calendar day during the period 
May 15 through July 15 (Spring Open Season).
	 See tables on pages 34-35 for open sea-
sons, limits and requirements for the Com-
mercial Bay-Shrimp and Bait-Shrimp Boats.



	 2016-2017 Texas Commercial Fishing Guide	 29

WATERS DEFINED

Outside Waters—That part of the Gulf of  
Mexico extending from the shoreline seaward 
to nine nautical miles.

Inside Waters—All bays, passes, rivers or other 
bodies of water landward from the Gulf of 
Mexico. In these waters, the tide rises and falls 
and saltwater shrimp are found or migrate.

Major Bays (arranged geographically north 
to south)
•	 Sabine Lake (north of Cameron Causeway 

to the south of a line marked by the GIWW 
[Sabine Neches Canal/Sabine River] 
between the eastern most tip of Goat Island 
to the western most tip of Stewts Island)

•	 Trinity Bay (southward from a line extend-
ing from the mouth of Double Bayou in 
Chambers County to Double Bayou Channel 
Marker 14, to Separator C-2, to Point Barrow 
in Chambers County)

•	 Galveston Bay
•	 East Bay (westward from a line extending 

from Frozen Point to the GIWW Marker 12)
•	 Matagorda Bay (westward of a line extend-

ing from a location on the mainland where 
a line running immediately northwest 
[bearing 330 degrees] from Shellfish 
Marker A intersects the mainland; thence 
southeasterly to Shellfish Marker A located 
near the mainland, thence to Shellfish 
Marker B located near the end of Shell 
Island Reef, thence to the tide gauge 
located near the Matagorda Peninsula, and 
thence southeasterly [bearing 153 degrees] 
to the Matagorda Peninsula)

•	 East Matagorda Bay
•	 Tres Palacios Bay (south of a line from 

Grassey Point to the mouth of Pilkington 
Bayou)

•	 Espiritu Santo Bay
•	 Lavaca Bay (seaward of State Hwy. 35)
•	 San Antonio Bay (seaward of a line from  

McDowell Point to Mosquito Point)
•	 Aransas Bay
•	 Corpus Christi Bay (exclusive of the area 

bounded by a line extending from the 
GIWW at the southwest point of Dagger 
Island chain, along Dagger Island to the 

southeast tip of Ransom Island, then 
southeast to the westernmost point of 
land north of Marker 14 in the Corpus 
Christi Ship Channel)

•	 All exclusive of tributary bays, bayous and 
inlets, lakes and rivers.

Bait Bays include major bays and the  
following (arranged geographically north to 
south)
•	 Gulf Intracoastal Waterway (GIWW)  

exclusive of all tributaries
•	 Chocolate Bay
•	 West Bay (south and west of Interstate 

Hwy. 45 Causeway Bridge and the GIWW 
inclusive of the area south of a line 
extending westward from the Interstate 
Hwy. 45 Causeway Bridge at Virgina Point, 
along the southern edge of Tiki Island to 
the northeastern tip of North Deer Island 
at Channel Marker 48)

•	 Trinity Bay (northward from a line extend-
ing from the mouth of Double Bayou in 
Chambers County to Double Bayou Channel 
Marker 14, to Separator C-2, to Point Barrow 
in Chambers County)

•	 The Old Brazos River (lying north of the 
GIWW in Brazoria County)

•	 Baroom Bay
•	 Upper Laguna Madre
•	 Alazan Bay
•	 Baffin Bay, and
•	 Lower Laguna Madre including the  

Brownsville Ship Channel

Nursery Areas (Those coastal waters not 
specifically named above as Major Bays or 
Bait Bays are considered Nursery Areas)—
Includes tributary bays, bayous, inlets,  
lakes and rivers that provide growth and 
development environments for postlarval  
and juvenile shrimp. Does not include  
outside waters, major bays or bait bays.
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MAP OF GULF SHRIMP  
FISHERY MANAGEMENT ZONES



	 2016-2017 Texas Commercial Fishing Guide	 31

OUTSIDE WATERS

Commercial Gulf-Shrimp Boats — Closed 
Seasons, Limits and Gear Restrictions

Closed Seasons:
•	 Federal Waters (from 9 nautical miles to 

200 nautical miles from the Texas Coast), 
shrimping is closed:

	 •	 from May 15** – July 15**
		  IMPORTANT NOTICE: The rules  

regarding the Summer Closed Season 
for Federal Waters off Texas may have 
changed prior to publication of this 
guide. For current rules, please call the 
National Marine Fisheries Service at 
(727) 824-5305 or contact your near-
est TPWD Law Enforcement office.

•	 Within 5 nautical miles of the Texas 
coast (Zones N1, N2, S1, S2), shrimping is 
closed:

	 •	 at night (30 minutes after sunset to 30 
minutes before sunrise)

	 •	 from Dec. 1 – Feb. 15
•	 Within 5 nautical miles of the Texas 

coast in the South Zone (Zones S1, S2), 
shrimping is closed:

	 •	 from Feb. 16 – May 15**
•	 Within 9 nautical miles of the Texas 

coast (Zones N1, N2, N3, S1, S2, S3), 
shrimping is closed:

	 •	 from 30 minutes after sunset May 15** 
to 30 minutes after sunset July 15**

**SPECIAL NOTICE: These dates may be 
changed by the department providing 72 
hours public notice on new closing dates and 
24 hours notice on new opening dates.

Net Limitations:
•	 Net Type I:
	 •	 Trawl Size: Otter trawls must have 

doors at least 3 feet long as measured 
along the door centerline from leading 
tip of door to trailing edge of door; and 
each net cannot exceed any of the  
following dimensions as measured  
along an uninterrupted corkline from 
leading tip of door to leading tip of 
door including any and all add-on 
devices or attachments to the corkline.

	 •	 Net Dimensions:
		  Door Length (ft.)	 Total Width (ft.)
		    3' or more but less than 4'	 71'
		    4' or more but less than 5'	 73'
		    5' or more but less than 6'	 75'
		    6' or more but less than 7'	 77'
		    7' or more but less than 8'	 79'
		    8' or more but less than 9'	 81'
		    9' or more but less than 10'	 83'
	   	   10' or more but less than 11'	 85'
		    11' or more but less than 12'	 87'
		    12' or more	 89'

•	 Net Type II:
	 •	 Trawl Size: Otter trawls must have 

doors at least 3 feet long as measured 
along the door centerline from leading 
tip of door to trailing edge of door; and 
each net cannot exceed any of the  
following dimensions as measured  
along an uninterrupted corkline from 
leading tip of door to leading tip of 
door including any and all add-on 
devices or attachments to the corkline.

	 •	 Net Dimensions:
		  Door Length (ft.)	 Total Width (ft.)
		    3' or more but less than 4'	 40'
		    4' or more but less than 5'	 42'
		    5' or more but less than 6'	 44'
		    6' or more but less than 7'	 46'
		    7' or more but less than 8'	 48'
		    8' or more but less than 9'	 50'
		    9' or more but less than 10'	 52'
		    10' or more 	 54'

•	 Seabob Net:
	 •	 Trawl Size: Otter trawls must have 

doors at least 3 feet long as measured 
along the door centerline from leading 
tip of door to trailing edge of door; and 
each net cannot exceed any of the  
following dimensions as measured  
along an uninterrupted corkline from 
leading tip of door to leading tip of 
door including any and all add-on 
devices or attachments to the corkline.

	 •	 Net Dimensions:
		  Door Length (ft.)	 Total Width (ft.)
		    3' or more but less than 4'	 48'
		    4' or more but less than 5'	 50'
		    5' or more but less than 6'	 52'
		    6' or more but less than 7'	 54'
		    7' or more but less than 8'	 56'
		    8' or more but less than 9'	 58'
		    9' or more but less than 10'	 60'
		    10' or more	 62'

•	 Try Nets (Gulf and Inshore – Bay Shrimp-
ing):

	 •	 Otter Trawls:
		  •	 Total width: 21 feet
		  •	 Doors: 450 square inches
	 •	 Beam Trawls: May not exceed 10 feet in 

width
•	 Try Nets (Inshore – Bait Shrimping):
	 •	 Otter Trawls:
		  •	 Total width: 12 feet
		  •	 Doors: 450 square inches
	 •	 Beam Trawls: May not exceed 5 feet in 

width

See tables on pages 32-33 for open seasons, 
limits and requirements for the Southern 
and Northern Zones for Commercial Gulf-
Shrimp Boats.
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OTTER TRAWL 
MEASUREMENTS

Shrimp trawls in Texas are  
measured from leading tip of one 
door along the uninterrupted cork 
line to the leading tip of the other 
door. (Any devices added to the 
cork line, except the corks, will not 
be considered interrupting the cork 
line and will be included in the  
total measurement of the trawl.)  
THESE ATTACHMENTS/ADDITIONS 
INCLUDE BUT ARE NOT LIMITED 
TO BIBS, CHAINS, AND  
SLED/DUMMY DOORS.

BRD MEASUREMENTS

All measurements must be 
taken with gear in a hanging 

position.

For additional information on specifications for trawls, BRDs and TEDs, call the nearest Coastal 
Law Enforcement office (see page 46).

Diagrams are derived from images provided by the National Marine Fisheries Service.

Add-on devices become 
part of the total length 

of the trawl.
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FISHEYE AND SEA EAGLE BRDs

For additional information on specifications for trawls, BRDs and TEDs, call the nearest Coastal 
Law Enforcement office (see page 46).

Diagrams are derived from images provided by the National Marine Fisheries Service.
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JONES-DAVIS BRD

For additional information on specifications for trawls, BRDs and TEDs, call the nearest Coastal 
Law Enforcement office (see page 46).

Diagrams are derived from images provided by the National Marine Fisheries Service.
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LARGE MESH EXTENDED FUNNEL BRD

For additional information on specifications for trawls, BRDs and TEDs, call the nearest Coastal 
Law Enforcement office (see page 46).

Diagrams are derived from images provided by the National Marine Fisheries Service.
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APPROVED TED DESIGNS

For additional information on specifications for trawls, BRDs and TEDs, call the nearest Coastal 
Law Enforcement office (see page 46).

Diagrams are derived from images provided by the National Marine Fisheries Service.
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CRABS
NOTE: It is UNLAWFUL to place, fish or leave 
a crab trap component in the coastal waters 
of this state from Feb. 17–26, 2017.

•	 There are no public salt waters, seasons  
or times closed to the taking and retaining 
of crabs and ghost shrimp, EXCEPT as  
provided in this guide.

•	 It is lawful to take, attempt to take or  
possess crabs and ghost shrimp by  
means, in numbers, and of sizes ONLY  
as described below.

BAG, POSSESSION AND LENGTH LIMITS

Blue crab	
•	 Daily Bag: No limit
•	 Possession: No limit
	 •	 Except that not more than 5% by num-

ber, of undersized blue crabs may be 
possessed for bait purposes only and 
must be placed in a separate container.

	 •	 May not possess egg-bearing (sponge) 
crabs.

	 •	 May not possess a female crab that has 
its abdominal apron detached.

•	 Minimum Length: five inches
	 •	 Measured across the widest point of the 

body from tip of spine to tip of spine 
(see page 25).

Stone crab (right claw only)
•	 Daily Bag: No limit	
•	 Possession: No limit
	 •	 Only the right claw may be retained or  

possessed.
	 •	 The body of the stone crab must be 

returned immediately to the water from 
which it was taken.

•	 Minimum Length: 2-1/2 inches claw  
measurement

	 •	 Measured from the tip of the immovable 
claw to the first joint behind the claw 
(see page 25).

DEVICES AND RESTRICTIONS

Crab Line: A baited line with no hook attached.
•	 Must be marked with a white floating buoy 

not less than 6 inches in height, 6 inches 
in length and 6 inches in width.

•	 Buoys must be marked with a commercial 
crab fisherman’s license plate number in 
letters of a contrasting color at least 2 
inches high attached to the trap.

•	 Buoys or floats may not be made of plastic  
bottle(s) of any color or size.

Crab Traps:
•	 May only remove crab traps from the 

water or remove crabs from crab traps 
during the period from 30 minutes before 
sunrise to 30 minutes after sunset.

•	 Maximum Number of Traps Allowed:
	 •	 Only 200 crab traps at a time may be 

used while fishing under the authority of 
a commercial crab fisherman’s license.

	 •	 Only 20 crab traps at a time may be used 
while fishing under the authority of a 
commercial finfish fisherman’s license.

•	 Tag Requirements: Must be used with a  
valid GEAR TAG (See Page 5) attached 
within 6 inches of the buoy.

•	 Construction and Design Restrictions  
(See Page 43):

	 •	 Crab traps may not exceed 18 cubic feet.
	 •	 Crab traps must be equipped with at least 

two escape vents in each crab-retaining 
chamber and located on the outside trap 
walls.

		  •	 Escape vents must be at least  
2-3/8 inch in diameter.

	 •	 Crab traps must be marked with an 
attached white floating buoy not less 
than 6 inches in height, 6 inches in 
length and 6 inches width.

	 •	 Crab traps fished under the authority of 
a commercial crab fisherman’s license 
must have buoys marked with a com-
mercial crab fisherman’s license plate 
number in letters of a contrasting color at 
least 2 inches high.

	 •	 Crab traps fished under the authority of 
a commercial finfish fisherman’s 
license must have buoys marked with a 
commercial finfish fisherman’s license 
plate number preceded with the letter 
“F” in letters of a contrasting color at 
least 2 inches high attached to the trap.

	 •	 Buoys or floats may not be made of 
plastic bottle(s) of any color or size.

	 •	 Crab traps must be equipped with a 
degradable panel. A trap is considered 
to have a degradable panel if one of the 
following methods is used in construc-
tion of the trap:

		  •	 the trap lid tie-down strap is secured 
to the trap at one end by a simple 
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loop of untreated jute twine (compa-
rable to Lehigh brand #530), sisal 
twine (comparable to Lehigh brand 
#390) or untreated steel wire with a 
diameter of 20 gauge or smaller. The 
trap lid must be secured so that when 
the twine or wire degrades, the lid will 
no longer be securely closed; or

		  •	 the trap contains at least one side-
wall, not including the bottom panel, 
with a rectangular opening no smaller 
in either dimension than 3 inches by 
6 inches. Any obstruction placed in 
this opening may not be secured in 
any manner EXCEPT it may be laced, 
sewn, or otherwise obstructed by a 
single length of untreated jute twine 
(comparable to Lehigh brand #530), 
sisal twine (comparable to Lehigh 
brand #390) or untreated steel wire 
with a diameter of 20 gauge or 
smaller knotted only at each end and 
not tied or looped more than once 
around a single mesh bar. When the 
twine or wire degrades, the opening 
in the sidewall of the trap will no  
longer be obstructed; or

		  •	 the obstruction may be loosely hinged 
at the bottom of the opening by no 
more than two untreated steel hog 
rings and secured at the top of the 
obstruction in no more than one place 
by a single length of untreated jute 
twine (comparable to Lehigh brand 
#530), sisal twine (comparable to 
Lehigh brand #390) or untreated steel 
wire with a diameter of 20 gauge or 
smaller. When the twine or wire 
degrades, the obstruction will hinge 
downward and the opening in the  
sidewall of the trap will no longer be 
obstructed.

•	 Placement and Location Restrictions:
	 •	 May not place a crab trap or portion 

thereof closer than 100 feet from any 
other crab trap, EXCEPT when traps are 
secured to a pier or dock.

	 •	 May not fish a crab trap in public fresh 
waters.

	 •	 May not fish a crab trap within 200  
feet of a marked navigable channel in  
Aransas County; and in the water area 
of Aransas Bay within one-half mile of  
a line from Hail Point on the Lamar  
Peninsula, then direct to the eastern 

end of Goose Island, then along the 
southern shore of Goose Island, then 
along the eastern shoreline of the Live 
Oak Peninsula past the town of Fulton, 
past Nine Mile Point, past the town of 
Rockport to a point at the east end of 
Talley Island including that part of 
Copano Bay within 1,000 feet of the 
causeway between Lamar Peninsula  
and Live Oak Peninsula.

	 •	 May not possess, use or place more 
than three crab traps in waters north 
and west of Highway 146 where it 
crosses the Houston Ship Channel in 
Harris County.

	 •	 May not use or place more than three 
crab traps in public waters of the San 
Bernard River north of a line marked 
by the boat access channel at Bernard 
Acres.

•	 Baiting Crab Traps: It is UNLAWFUL to use 
any part of a game fish for bait, except  
for processed catfish heads used as  
crab-trap bait by a licensed crab fisherman, 
provided the catfish is obtained from an 
aquaculture facility permitted to operate 
in the United States. A person who uses 
catfish as bait under this subparagraph 
shall, upon the request of a department 
employee acting within the scope of  
official duties, furnish appropriate authen-
ticating documentation, such as a bill of 
sale or receipt, to prove that the catfish 
was obtained from a legal source.

Other Devices:
•	 Devices legally used for taking of fresh or  

saltwater fish or shrimp may be used to 
take crab if operated in places and at 
times authorized by a proclamation of the 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission or 
the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department 
Code.

•	 See applicable pages in this guide to  
determine authorized uses, places and 
times for other legal devices.

ARANSAS NATIONAL WILDLIFE REFUGE — 
SPECIAL REGULATIONS

Beginning March 1, 2009 the Aransas 
National Wildlife Refuge began enforcing a  
no commercial crabbing regulation within  
refuge marshes. For more information  
contact the Aransas National Wildlife  
Refuge at (361) 286-3559.
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ESCAPE RINGS
A crab trap must be equipped with at 
least two escape vents in each crab-
retaining chamber and located on the 
outside trap walls (saltwater perch 
traps are not required to be equipped 
with escape rings). Escape vents must 
be at least 2-3/8 inches in diameter.

DEGRADABLE PANELS
A crab trap and a saltwater perch trap must be equipped with a degradable panel.  
A trap is considered to have a degradable panel if one of the following methods is used 
in construction of the trap:

Option 1	 The lid tie-down strap is hooked into a LOOP of 
	 approved material.

Option 2	 The lid tie-down strap is hooked into a BRIDLE  
	 of approved material.

Option 3	 A hole (minimum of 3 in. x 6 in.) may be cut in 
	 the trap sidewall AND EITHER

	 a.	The hole is laced over with a single strand of 
		  approved material; OR

	 b.	Wire mesh is laced into the hole with a single 
		  strand of approved material; OR

	 c.	The hole is covered by a hinged door tied 
		  once at the top with a single strand of 
		  approved material.

Escape 
rings

Escape 
rings
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OYSTERS
NOTICES – 
1.	As authorized by Section 3 of SB 932, the executive director of the department may close 

an oyster area upon finding that the area is being overworked or damaged, or if the area needs 
to be reseeded or restocked.  Information on closures will be available at all TPWD offices.

2.	A Harvester/Shell Recovery Tag must be affixed to the outside of each sack of oysters at 
the time of harvest, in the location of harvest, contain information required by the Depart-
ment of State Health Services under the National Shellfish Sanitation Program, and remain 
affixed during transportation of the oysters to a dealer.

3.	The appropriate Harvester/Shell Recovery Tag (green or white) must be affixed to the  
sack regardless of the season or whether the requirements of 25 TAC §241.57 (relating to 
Molluscan Shellfish Harvesting and Handling) apply.

Commercial Oystering Seasons—Nov. 1 
through Apr. 30 except in all private leases 
with permits from the Texas Parks and  
Wildlife Department where there is no closed 
season. During open season, oysters may be 
taken only from sunrise to 3:30 p.m.

Commercial Oyster Limits—No oyster boat 
may take more than 50 sacks of oysters 
per boat per day, and may possess no more 
than six sacks (equivalent of two barrels) of 
unculled oysters which must be unsacked 
and separate from the rest of the cargo. 
A sack is defined as 110 pounds of oysters 
(including dead oyster shell and the sack).

Legal Size Limits—Three (3) inches (greatest 
length of shell) or larger. Oysters 3/4 inch 
to 3 inches and dead oyster shell greater 
than 3/4 inch (measured along any axis) are 
to be culled and returned to the reef from 
which taken; provided, however, that each 
cargo may contain not more than 15 percent  
of oysters and/or dead shell of these sizes. 
Not more than the equivalent six sacks of 
unculled oysters are permitted on board 
while on a reef and must remain unsacked 
and separate from the culled cargo.

Legal Means and Methods—It is UNLAWFUL 
while taking or attempting to take oysters 
for pay or the purpose of sale, barter or 

exchange or any other commercial purpose 
to use more than one dredge, use a dredge 
which exceeds 48 inches in width and a two-
barrel capacity, have more than one dredge 
connected in any manner to a winch, chain 
or other lifting device during the open public 
season; or have any additional dredge(s) 
on board unless secured below deck, to the 
wheelhouse or to the deck in such a manner 
as to be lashed, tied, shackled or chained as 
to prevent its immediate use. Commercial 
oyster boats are limited to not more than 50 
sacks of legal size oysters. 

Special Provisions—Oysters may be taken 
only from waters approved by the State  
Commissioner of the Department of State 
Health Services.

	 New Laws: The penalty for a commercial 
oyster boat taking oysters in a closed  
area has increased to a Parks and Wildlife  
Class “A” Misdemeanor (See Page 45 — 
CRIMINAL PENALTIES AND CIVIL VALUE 
RECOVERY) and everyone on the vessel will 
be in violation.
	 The harvesting, shucking, processing and 
sale of oysters must conform to all regula-
tions specified by the Texas Department of 
State Health Services.  

MUSSELS AND CLAMS
A moratorium on the sale of new licenses is in effect for the Texas commercial freshwater 
mussel fishery. 
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SEA TURTLES AND OTHER AQUATIC LIFE
It is UNLAWFUL for any person to knowingly 
take, kill or disturb any sea turtle or sea 
turtle eggs in the State of Texas. To report 
stranded sea turtles or nests, please call 
1-866-TURTLES.
	 There is no open season in any county  
for ALL MARINE MAMMALS INCLUDING  
PORPOISES, DOLPHINS AND WHALES.

	 Any other aquatic life (except threatened 
and endangered species) not addressed in  
this guide may be taken only by hand or  
with the devices defined as lawful for taking 
fish, shrimp, oysters or crabs in places and at 
times as provided in this guide.

CRIMINAL PENALTIES AND  
CIVIL VALUE RECOVERY

If you violate fish and wildlife laws, in  
addition to civil restitution you may:
	 •	 be fined (Class C – $25–$500; Class B 

– $200–$2,000;  
Class A – $500–$4,000; State Jail 
Felony, $1,500–$10,000);

	 •	 be jailed (Class B and higher offenses);
	 •	 face automatic suspension or revoca-
tion of licenses for up to five years;
	 •	 forfeit hunting gear, including firearms, 
used to commit a violation.

CIVIL RESTITUTION:  In addition to the 
criminal penalty for hunting and fishing 
violations, the department will seek the civil 
recovery value for the loss or damage to 
wildlife resources.  The civil restitution cost 
is payable to Texas Parks and Wildlife 
Department and is in addition to the fine 
assessed by the court.  Failure to pay the 
civil recovery value will result in the 
department’s refusal to issue a license, tag, 
or permit.  An individual who hunts or fishes 
after the refusal commits a Class A 
misdemeanor which is punishable by a fine 
not less than $500 or more than $4,000; 
punishment in jail not to exceed one year; or 
both fine and confinement. 

LICENSE REINSTATEMENT:  A person who 
seeks reinstatement of license privileges 
following license revocation or denial must 
apply for license privilege reinstatement 
and pay a $100 application fee.  For 
questions concerning civil restitution call 
(512) 389-4630. 

IMPORTANT NOTE: Texas is now a member 
of the Interstate Wildlife Violator Compact 
(IWVC).  The IWVC is a multi-state compact 
that allows member states to share 
information about wildlife violators and to 
deny licensure to persons who have failed to 
comply with conservation law in member 
states.  For example, if a person has had 
their hunting, fishing or trapping privileges 
suspended in one member state, the 
suspension may be recognized by any 
member state.  For more information call 
(512) 389-4381.
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WHERE TO GET INFORMATION AND LICENSES 
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Regional and District Law Enforcement Offices 

ABILENE, 281 North Willis (79603)   
(325) 673-3333

AMARILLO, 203 West 8th, Suite #200,  
(79101)  (806) 379-8900

BEAUMONT, 5655 Eastex Freeway, Suite A 
(77706)  (409) 892-8666

BROWNSVILLE, 5460 Paredes Line Road,  
Suite 201 (78526)  (956) 546-1952

BROWNWOOD, 301 Main, Suite D (76801)   
(325) 646-0440

COLLEGE STATION, 12845 FM 2154 (Wellborn 
Road), Suite 160 (77845)  (979) 696-4148

CORPUS CHRISTI, 5541 Bear Lane, Suite 232  
(78405)  (361) 289-5566

EL PASO, 401 East Franklin, Suite 520 (79901)   
(915) 834-7050

FORT WORTH, 5400 Airport Freeway, Suite E  
(76117)  (817) 831-3128

GARLAND, 346 Oaks Trail, Suite 100 (75043)   
(972) 226-9966

HOUSTON (NORTH), 350 North Sam Houston  
Pkwy E., Suite 100 (77060)  (281) 931-6471

HOUSTON (SOUTH), 10101 Southwest Frwy, #206  
(77074)  (713) 779-8977

KERRVILLE, 309 Sidney Baker South (78028)   
(830) 257-7611

LAMARQUE, 14037 Delany Road (77568)   
(409) 933-1947

LAREDO, 5119 Bob Bullock Loop (78041)   
(956) 718-1087

LUBBOCK, 1702 Landmark Lane, Suite 1 (79415)   
(806) 761-4930

LUFKIN, 4100 S. Medford Drive, Suite 204B  
(75901)  (936) 632-1311

MIDLAND, 4500 West Illinois, Suite 307 (79703)   
(432) 520-4649

MT. PLEASANT, 212 South Johnson (75455)   
(903) 572-7966

ROCKPORT, 715 South Highway 35 (78382)   
(361) 790-0312

RUSK, 580 West 6th Street (75785) (903) 683-2511

SAN ANGELO, 3407 South Chadbourne (76903)   
(325) 651-4844

SAN ANTONIO, 2391 N.E. Loop 410, Suite 409 
(78217)   (210) 348-7375

TEMPLE, 3615 So. General Bruce Drive (76504)   
(254) 778-8913

TYLER, 3330 South Southwest Loop 323 (75701)   
(903) 534-0388

VICTORIA, 2805 N. Navarro, Suite 600A (77901)   
(361) 575-6306

WACO, 1601 East Crest Drive (76705)   
(254) 867-7951

WICHITA FALLS, 4822 Kemp Blvd., Suite 1300 
(76308)   (940) 723-7327
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COMMERCIAL FISHING LICENSE  
LIMITED ENTRY AND BUYBACK PROGRAMS

For further information regarding any commercial license management program or 
license buyback program contact: 

Zack Thomas, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Coastal Fisheries Division,  
4200 Smith School Road, Austin TX 78744, (512)  389-8448
email: zack.thomas@tpwd.texas.gov

OPERATION GAME THIEF
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

4200 Smith School Road • Austin, Texas 78744

STOP POACHING! 

FOR 24-HOUR REPORTING OF VIOLATIONS, you may call: 

(800) 792-GAME

AUSTIN — (512) 389-4848

HOUSTON — (281) 842-8100

TOLL FREE INFORMATION
 (Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.) 

For information concerning fishing regulations or other subjects related to TPWD.

(800) 792-1112 (general information)      OR     (512) 389- + extension #
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