HUNTER EDUCATION BEGAN AS A VOLUNTARY PROGRAM IN [972.
“MANDATORY" HUNTER EDUCATION BECAME LAW IN 1988, REQUIRING
HUNTERS BORN ON OR AFTER SEPT. 2, 1971, TO PASS THE COURSE.

SINCE THAT TIME, TEXAS PARKS AND WILDLIFE (TPW) HAS CERTIFED OVER
| MILLION STUDENTS! MINIMUM AGE FOR CERTIFICATION IS 9 YEARS.

Your local instructor is:
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IT’S UP TO YOU

Hunter education is the first step in a lifelong
commitment to responsible outdoor behavior,
conservation and stewardship. Your efforts
will safeguard hunting opportunities and other
outdoor adventures. Your contributions
through federal sports tax dollars will continue
to be used to conserve our natural resources
for present and future generations. We thank
the hunter conservationists of yesterday and
welcome you as we continue the heritage of
hunting in Texas. Always be a safe and
responsible hunter!

@“DL’{% TEXAS

- z PARKS &

!3} @ WILDLIFE
ORS>

Life's better outside®

This publication was funded by sportsmen’s dollars derived from the sale of
hunting licenses and by federal excise taxes on sporting arms and ammunition as
authorized by the Pittman-Robertson Act, Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration.

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department receives federal financial assistance from the U.S. Fish and
Wildlife Service. Under Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation
Act of 1973, Title Il of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the Age Discrimination Act
of 1975, and Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, the U.S. Department of the Interior
and its bureaus prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, age, disability
or sex (in educational programs). If you believe that you have been discriminated against in
any Texas Parks and Wildlife Department program, activity, or facility, or if you desire further
information, please call or write: The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Office for Diversity and Civil
Rights Programs - External Programs, 4040 N. Fairfax Drive, Webb 300, Arlington, VA 22203,
(703) 358-1724.
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THE INSTRUCTORS

About 3,000 certified volunteer instructors,
professional educators and game wardens have been
trained to teach hunter education across Texas.
Many instructors wish to give back their time and
experience to ensure that hunting heritage in Texas
continues. Instructors must: be 2| years of age, of
high moral character, pass the basic student course,
complete an application, interview with a game
warden, and attend a new instructor course.

THE COURSE

There are four ways to become certified
in Texas Hunter Education.

* Basic Hunter Education Course
6 hours of classroom instruction by a
TPW certified instructor.

* Enhanced Hunter Education Course
Completion of an online course plus a
one-day, 4-hour class with a TPW
certified instructor.

¢ Advanced Hunter Education Course
More than 6 hours of instruction by a
TPW certified instructor.

* Online Course for Complete Certification
Completion of a TPW approved online
course. You must be |7 years of age or
older to be eligible for the Online Course
for Complete Certification.

SCHEDULED COURSES

Courses are taught by volunteer instructors,

trained and certified by the Texas Parks and
Wildlife hunter education staff. Courses are
scheduled across the state. For availability, visit
www.tpwd.texas.gov/huntered and select the
desired course, or call (800) 792-1112, menu 62.

THE COURSE COVERS:

* Hunting Rules and Regulations
* Ethics and Responsibilities

* Wildlife Management/Conservation

* Modern and Primitive Sporting Arms/
Ammunition

* Safe Firearm Handling, Cleaning and Storage
* Outdoor Skills, Survival and First Aid
* Wildlife Identification

* Live-Firing and Field Exercises (often included)




CAN | FAIL THE COURSE?

Yes. You can fail the course because of
unsatisfactory knowledge, skill or attitude as
evaluated by your instructor. The minimum
score on any Texas hunter education final
exam is 75 percent. However, if you achieve a
higher score but lack safe skills during live-firing
or field exercises, or as a result of classroom
disruptions, improper attitude or incomplete
attendance, you may fail the course.

CERTIFICATION

When you successfully complete the course,
you'll receive a certification card.

* Certification is good for life.
* Other states, provinces or jurisdictions honor
Texas certification.

* You must carry proof of certification on your
person while hunting.

* Proof of certification is either your card or
your hunter education number printed on
your hunting license. Check your license upon
purchase.

* Proof of certification is NOT required to
purchase a license.

If you lose your card, you may request a free
duplicate at www.tpwd.texas.gov/huntered
under Duplicate Card Request. Or you may call
(800) 792-1112 (menu 62), or (512) 389-4999.

MAY | TAKE THE COURSE BEFORE AGE 9?
Yes. Anyone may take the course before age 9

and upon successful completion, will receive a
“Certificate of Attendance.” Certification is required
for individuals to participate in the Texas Youth
Hunting Program youth hunts. You will not
automatically receive certification upon turning

age 9; you must retake the course after turning

age 9 for official certification.

ADDITIONAL OPTION: ONE-TIME,
ONE YEAR HUNTER EDUCATION
DEFERRAL

Hunter Education Deferral (cost: $10) allows a
person |7 years of age or older who has not
completed a hunter education program to defer
completion for up to one year. A deferral may
only be obtained once and is only valid until the
end of the current license year. A person who
has been convicted or has received deferred
adjudication for violation of the mandatory
hunter education requirement is prohibited from
applying for a deferral. The one-time Hunter
Education Deferral is available at license vendors.

WHO MAY PURCHASE THE DEFERRAL
Any individual 17 years of age or older who has
not completed the hunter education course
may purchase the deferral. The deferral will be
available at any license vendor. The deferral is
to accommodate those who:

e are taking up hunting at a later age.

* have been out of hunting for a while.

* are military personnel home on leave or
stationed in Texas.

* are college students home during the holidays.

* are from out-of-state and do not have similar
requirements in their jurisdiction or country.

In all cases, a person 17 years of age or older,
who is licensed to hunt in Texas, and has

completed hunter education (or was born prior to
Sept. 2, 1971), must accompany a hunter with a
deferral and be within normal voice control.

COST
Hunter education certification by the state is $15.

I”

However, there may be additional “optional” costs
associated with the course, such as building/facility
use fees, parking fees and range fees. Students may
select another location to attend the course to
avoid paying these additional fees. Check with the

instructor regarding any additional fees.

BOWHUNTERS

Additional bowhunter education courses are
available, and certification is required on certain
areas of Texas (Hagerman National Wildlife
Refuge, Pottsboro; Camp Bullis, San Antonio;
and Schreiner Park, Kerrville).

Note: Bowhunter education does not substitute for
hunter education certification. Several other states and
provinces require bowhunter education certification in
addition to hunter education. Always check with the
jurisdiction in which you hunt.

For course information, visit
www.tpwd.texas.gov/huntered

HUNTER
EDUCATION

Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born * age 916, you must successfully complete a hunter *Accompanied means: by a person who is at least

on or after Sept. 2, 1971, must successfully complete education course, or you must be accompanied.* 17, who is licensed to hunt in Texas, who has passed

a hunter education course. [f you were born on or hunter education or is exempt (born before Sept. 2,

* age |7 and over, you must successfully complete a

after Sept. 2, 1971, and you are: 1971) and who is within normal voice control.

REQUIREMENTS:

Note: Certification is not required to

hunter education course; or purchase a one-time : : : :
OrP Proof of certification or deferral is required to

only “Hunter Education Deferral,” and you must

* under 9 years of age, you must be accompanied.® be on your person while hunting.

purchase a hunting license. be accompanied.




