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A Digest of the Texas 

WATER SAFETY ACT 
A Summary of Boating Laws 

THIS DIGEST IS NOT VALID AFTER AUGUST 31, 2025 

Information may change due to Legislative, Commission or U.S. Coast Guard action. 

TITLING REQUIREMENTS 
• All motorized vessels, regardless of length (including any sailboat with an auxiliary 

engine); 
• All non-motorized vessels (excluding canoes, kayaks, punts, and rowboats) 14 feet in 

length or longer; and 
• All internal combustion (gasoline/diesel/propane powered) outboard motors. 
• Trailers are registered/titled through the applicant’s local county tax office. 

Title applications, signed bill of sale, and either a manufacturer’s statement of origin 
(MSO) for new vessels/boats and outboard motors, or an original signed title for used 
vessels/boats and outboard motors, must be submitted to obtain title in applicant’s 
name. DO NOT purchase a used vessel/boat or outboard motor without receiving an origi-
nal title (signed on the front and back) along with a signed bill of sale from the person(s) 
listed on the title or from their legally documented representative. If a legal representative 
signs the title or bill of sale for the recorded owner(s), the applicant must obtain a copy of 
the documentation authorizing the legal representative to act on behalf of the owner(s). 
Applications for title must be submitted not later than 45 days from the date of purchase. 

Purchases or gifts of boats or outboard motors that do not acquire the title and signed bill 
of sale (or statement of gift) will not be eligible for immediate transfer. These may be titled 
through a more expensive and lengthy bonded title process requiring additional documen-
tation to be acquired and supplied. An abandoned boat or outboard motor may be eligible 
for titling through the bonded title process with appropriate documentation. An “aban-
doned vessel or outboard motor” means a vessel or outboard motor that has remained on 
private property without the consent of the owner or person in charge of the property for 
more than seven consecutive days. 

Vessels Exempted from Titling – All U.S. Coast Guard (USCG) documented vessels 
(documentation must be current), and all non-motorized canoes, kayaks, punts, 
rowboats, or rubber rafts (regardless of length), or other vessels under 14 feet in 
length when paddled, poled, oared, or windblown. 

RENEW/REPLACE ONLINE:  www.tpwd.texas.gov/boating 

REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 
A Texas boat registration is valid for two years. The following vessels/boats when on Texas 
public water are required to have current registration, including when docked, moored, or 
stored: 
• All motorized vessels, regardless of length (including any sailboat with an auxiliary 

engine); 
• All non-motorized vessels (including sailboats) 14 feet in length or longer; and 
• USCG documented vessels. 
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Vessels Exempted from Registration – Non-motorized canoes, kayaks, punts, 
rowboats, or rubber rafts (regardless of length), or other vessels under 14 feet in 
length when paddled, poled, oared or windblown. Exemption no longer applies 
when any of these vessel types are motorized. 
Exempted USCG Documented Vessels – Commercial tugboats; vessels exceeding 
115 feet in length; and pilot or crew boats transporting freight, supplies, or personnel 
to or from cargo ships, freighters, or offshore oil infrastructure. 

TAX AND BILL OF SALE REQUIREMENTS 
TPWD is required by law to collect tax for vessels/boats (115 feet or less in length) and 
outboard motors purchased in Texas or brought into Texas on or after January 1, 2000. 
The tax rate is 6.25% of the sales price. Tax is assessed at the time of title/registration 
transfer and is due within 45 working days from the date of sale or date brought to Texas. 
Applications filed later than 45 working days are subject to tax penalties and interest. 
A signed bill of sale or invoice is required for every transfer of ownership. Trailers are 
handled through the local county tax office and the price of the trailer must be separated 
from the price of the boat and motor. 
New Resident Tax – $15.00 New Resident tax is assessed (not sales tax) for new Texas 
residents bringing their previously titled or registered boat and/or outboard motor from 
another state into Texas. 

For more information call (800) 262-8755 or visit tpwd.texas.gov/boating. 

PLACEMENT OF TX NUMBER AND DECAL ON VESSELS 
• The TX number must be painted on, or otherwise attached to, each side of the 

forward half of the vessel, in such position as to provide easy identification. 
• The TX number must read from left to right, be in BLOCK characters of good 

proportion not less than three inches in height and be of a color that contrasts 
with the background. 

• The numerals must be separated from the prefix and the suffix by hyphens or 
equivalent spaces such as the following examples: TX 0001 GG or TX-0001-GG. 

• The validation decal must be affixed in line with and three (3) inches towards the rear of 
the boat from the TX number. 

• The number printed on the decal must match the number listed on the certificate of 
number card issued for the vessel described on the card. 

• Vessels registered as antique boats are permitted to display the registration decal on 
the left portion of the windshield. In the absence of a windshield, the registration decal 
must be attached to the certificate of number and made available for inspection when 
the boat is operated on public water. 

Decals on USCG Documented Vessels: 
May display ONLY the Validation Decal (not the Registration Number) on both sides of the 
bow of the vessel and must maintain current USCG Documentation. 

TEXAS CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER 
The certificate of number (registration), if required: 
• must always be aboard and available for inspection by an enforcement officer; 
• is valid through the expiration date shown on the certificate; and 
• must also be aboard USCG Documented vessels that require Texas registration. 

HOMEMADE BOATS 
Homemade boats require an affidavit from the applicant as to the origin of the boat and 
proof of the materials used in the construction of the boat (i.e. invoices from marine and 
hardware dealers for parts, etc.). Homemade boats are required to be inspected and 
certified by a TPWD game warden. 
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HULL IDENTIFICATION AND MOTOR SERIAL NUMBERS 
It is illegal to possess or intentionally sell, offer for sale, or purchase a vessel with a 
hull identification number or an outboard motor with a serial number that has been 
altered, defaced, mutilated, or removed. To acquire registration or title for a vessel 
or outboard motor with a serial number that has been altered, defaced, mutilated 
or removed, a sworn statement must be filed with TPWD describing the vessel or 
outboard motor, providing proof of legal ownership, and stating the reason for the 
destruction, removal, alteration or defacement of the number. This statement must 
be accompanied by a fee of $25.00 and an inspection certificate from a game 
warden stating the vessel or outboard motor has been inspected. This section does 
not apply to USCG Documented vessels. 

SCHEDULE OF FEES 
VESSEL REGISTRATION 
Class A Motorboat (except Livery boat) 
 Less than 16 feet in length $32.00 
Sailboat (except Livery boat) 
 14 feet but less than 16 feet in length $32.00 
Class 1 Motorboat, Sailboat, or Livery boat 
 16 feet but less than 26 feet in length $53.00 
Class 2 Motorboat, Sailboat, or Livery boat 
 26 feet but less than 40 feet in length $110.00 
Class 3 Motorboat, Sailboat, or Livery boat 
 40 feet in length and over................................................................. $150.00 
Livery boat less than 16 feet in length $32.00 

CERTIFICATE OF NUMBER (REGISTRATION) ID CARD/DECALS 
Correction of Certificate of Number $11.00 
Transfer of ownership (Any TX titled/registered vessel).......................... $11.00 
Replacement Certificate of Number Card  $11.00 
Replacement Decals with new Certificate of Number card (required) $22.00 

TEXAS CERTIFICATE OF TITLE (VESSEL/OUTBOARD MOTOR) 
Original title, transfer of title, or standard replacement title ..................  $27.00 
Correction (Return incorrect title to TPWD) ............................................  $27.00 
“Quick” Title (expedited replacement title)  ............................................   $64.00 

OWNERSHIP TRANSFER (SALE, REMOVAL, ABANDONMENT 
OR DESTRUCTION) OF BOAT/OUTBOARD MOTOR 

The recorded owner must provide notice to TPWD within 20 days after the date the 
boat and/or outboard motor are: 
• sold, donated or gifted to a new owner; 
• permanently removed from this state to another state or country; or 
• abandoned or destroyed (the Certificate(s) of Title must be surrendered to TPWD). 

BOAT SEWAGE DISPOSAL 
Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) 

Effective November 11, 2010, any boat with a permanently installed marine 
sanitation device (MSD) is required to obtain an MSD certification and display a 
certification decal if the boat is operated on any waters in Texas, including coastal 
waters up to three nautical miles. For certification and decal information contact: 
www.tceq.texas.gov or (512) 239-0400.
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  9. Operate while intoxicated (loss of mental or physical faculties, or blood alco-
hol content of .08 or higher). 1st conviction punishable by a fine not to exceed 
$2,000, confinement in jail not to exceed 180 days or both; 2nd conviction 
punishable by a fine not to exceed $4,000, confinement not to exceed one year or 
both; 3rd conviction punishable by a fine not to exceed $10,000, imprisonment 
for not more than 10 years or less than 2 years. **Failure to submit a specimen 
to determine blood alcohol content may result in suspension of your driver’s 
license. 

10. Operate any vessel or manipulate any water skis, aquaplane or similar device, 
in a willful or wanton disregard of the rights or safety of others and at a speed or 
in a manner so as to endanger or be likely to endanger any person or property. 
(Violation of this provision shall be punishable, upon conviction, by a fine of not 
less than $200 nor more than $2,000 or by confinement in jail not to exceed 180 
days or both.) 

11. Swim or dive within 200 yards of any sight-seeing or excursion boat except for 
maintenance purposes or unless within an enclosed area. 

12. Operate within 50 feet of a “Diver Down Flag” or operate a boat within 150 feet of a 
“Diver Down Flag” except at headway/steerage speed. 

13. Fail to comply with the U.S. Coast Guard Inland Rules of the Road. 

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT 
See Mandatory Boater Education requirements. Personal watercraft (PWC) is 
defined as a type of motorboat which is specifically designed to be operated by a  
person or persons sitting, standing, or kneeling ON the vessel rather than INSIDE the 
vessel. Includes jet skis, wet bikes, etc. Any person being towed by a PWC is consid-
ered an occupant of the PWC and is required to wear a life jacket. 

REQUIRED SAFETY EQUIPMENT FOR PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC) 
All equipment requirements for regular motorboats also apply to PWC. In addition 
to those requirements: (1) each occupant must wear a USCG approved wearable 
personal flotation device, (2) if the PWC is equipped with a cut-off or kill switch, it 
must be attached to the operator or operator’s clothing. Inflatable life jackets are NOT 
approved for use on PWC. 

OPERATION OF YOUR PERSONAL WATERCRAFT (PWC) 
NOTE: Children under 13 are specifically prohibited from operating a PWC unless 
accompanied on board by a person at least 18 years of age who can lawfully 
operate the PWC. 
All operational rules for regular motorboats also apply to PWC. In addition to those 
requirements, it is unlawful for any person to: (1) operate PWC at night (sunset until 
sunrise); (2) operate PWC within 50 feet of another PWC, motorboat, vessel, platform, 
person, object, or shore except at headway speed (headway speed—slow, idle speed,  
or speed only fast enough to maintain steerage) without creating a swell or wake; 
and (3) operate a PWC and jump the wake of another vessel recklessly or unnecessar-
ily close. 

FOR MORE INFORMATION, CONTACT YOUR LOCAL GAME WARDEN OR: 
tpwd.texas.gov/boating 

(800) 792-1112  General Information  (800) 262-8755  Boat Registration 

© 2023 Texas Parks and Wildlife Department PWD BR L2000-001 (8/23) 
TPWD receives funds from DHS and USFWS. TPWD prohibits discrimination based on race, color, religion,  
national origin (including limited English proficiency), disability, age, and gender, pursuant to state and federal  
law. If you believe you have been discriminated against by TPWD, visit tpwd.texas.gov/nondiscrimination or call  
(512) 389-4800 for information on filing a complaint. To obtain information in an alternative format, contact  
TPWD on a Text Telephone (TTY) at (512) 389-8915, by Relay Texas at 7-1-1, (800) 735-2989, or by email at  
accessibility@tpwd.texas.gov. If you speak a language other than English and need assistance, email lep@tpwd. 
texas.gov. You can also contact Department of the Interior Office of Diversity, Inclusion, and Civil Rights, 1849 C  
Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20240, and/or U.S. Department of Homeland Security Office for Civil Rights and  
Civil Liberties (CRCL), Mail Stop #0190 2707, Martin Luther King, Jr. Ave., S.E. Washington, D.C. 20528. 
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REQUIRED SAFETY EQUIPMENT  

OPERATING VESSELS WITHOUT REQUIRED EQUIPMENT PROHIBITED 
No person may operate or give permission for the operation of a vessel that is not  
provided with the required safety equipment. 

LIFE PRESERVING DEVICES 
All PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICES (PFDs) must be U.S. Coast Guard approved, in  
serviceable condition, readily accessible, and of the appropriate size for intended 
user. 
All children under 13 years of age in all vessels under 26 feet in length must wear a 
U.S. Coast Guard approved wearable PFD while underway. Underway means not at 
anchor, made fast to the shore, or aground. 
All vessels, including canoes, paddle craft, and kayaks, must be equipped with one 
USCG approved wearable PFD for the activity taking place for each person on board.  
A USCG Approved PFD is acceptable only if used in accordance with the specific 
instructions on the label of the device. 
Vessels 16 feet and longer, excluding canoes and kayaks, are required to be equipped 
with one Type IV throwable PFD in addition to the USCG approved wearable PFDs 
required for each person on board. 
Inflatable PFDs are authorized only when used in accordance with requirements as 
presented on U.S. Coast Guard approval labels. 

ENGINE CUT-OFF SWITCH DEVICE (ECOS) 
If the vessel is equipped, the cut-off switch, lanyard, or wireless device must be 
attached to operator, operator’s clothing, or operator’s PFD at all times when a PWC is 
underway, and at greater-than headway speed for all other motorboats under 26 ft. in  
length other than a PWC. The operator of the vessel is also responsible for verifying 
that the ECOS system is operation. Headway speed means slow, idle speed, or speed 
only fast enough to maintain steerage without creating a swell or wake. 

SOUND PRODUCING DEVICES 
Any vessel less than 12 meters in length (39.4 ft.) is required to carry a whistle or horn, 
or some other means to make an efficient sound to signal intentions and position in 
periods of reduced visibility. Vessels 12 meters (39.4 ft.) or more in length are required 
to carry on board a whistle or horn, and a bell. 

MIRRORS REQUIRED 
Every motorboat towing a person must have an observer, other than the operator,  
13 years of age or older OR be equipped with a rearview mirror of a size no less than 
four inches (4") in measurement from bottom to top and across from one side to the 
other.  

LIGHTS REQUIRED 
All vessels including motorboats, canoes, paddle craft, kayaks, punts, rowboats,   
rubber rafts, or other vessels when not at dock must have and exhibit at least one 
bright light, lantern or flashlight visible all around the horizon from sunset to sunrise  
in all weather and during restricted visibility.  

Navigation Lights 
Power Driven Vessels Underway:  Power driven vessels of less than 20 meters  
(65.6 ft.) but more than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) shall exhibit navigation lights as shown 
in Figure 1. Vessels of less than 12 meters (39.4 ft.) in length, shall show the lights in 
either Figure 1 or Figure 2. 
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Figure 1 

Figure 2 

Manually Driven Vessels: Manually driven vessels when paddled, poled, oared, or 
windblown; 
• A sailing vessel of less than 20 meters (65.6 ft.), while underway shall exhibit 

sidelights and a sternlight which may be combined in one lantern carried at or 
near the top of the mast where it can best be seen. 

• A sailing vessel of less than 7 meters (23 ft.) shall, if practicable, exhibit the 
sidelights and a sternlight, or shall exhibit at least one bright light, lantern or 
flashlight from sunset to sunrise when not at dock. 

• All other manually driven vessels may exhibit sidelights and a sternlight, or shall 
exhibit at least one bright light, lantern, or flashlight from sunset to sunrise when 
not at dock. 

In vessels of less than 12 meters (39.4 feet), white lights shall be visible at a distance of 
at least two (2) miles. Colored lights shall be visible at a distance of at least one (1) mile. 
“Visible” when applied to lights, means visible on dark nights with clear atmosphere. No 
other lights may be exhibited that may be mistaken for those prescribed. 

FIRE EXTINGUISHERS REQUIRED  
Outboard motorboats less than 26 feet in length, of open construction, not carrying 
passengers for hire, are not required to carry fire extinguishers; however, a fire 
extinguisher is required if one or more of the following conditions exist: (1) Closed 
compartment under thwarts and seats wherein portable fuel tanks may be stored. 
(2) Double bottoms not sealed to the hull or which are not completely filled with 
flotation material. (3) Closed living spaces. (4) Closed storage compartments in which 
combustible or flammable materials are stored. (5) Permanently installed fuel tanks. 
(6) Inboard engines. 
U.S. Coast Guard approved extinguishers are identified by the following marking on the 
label: “Marine Type USCG approved, Size .... Type ::::, 162.028/.../” Check  extinguishers 
annually to assure that they are properly charged. NOTE: All fire extinguishers must be 
readily accessible and in condition for immediate and effective use at all times. 
Fire extinguishers approved for motorboats are hand-portable, of either B (for gasoline, 
oil & grease fires) or BC (also extinguishes electrical fires) classification. 

Classification
(Type-size) 

Foam  
(min. gallons) 

Dry CO2   
(min. pounds) 

Dry Chemical 
(min. pounds) 

Halon 
(min. pounds) 

5-B 1 1/4 4 2 2 1/2 

20-B 2 1/2 15 10 10 

The number of approved extinguishers required depends upon the class of the motorboat. 
When the engine compartment of the motorboat is equipped with a fixed (built-in) extin-
guishing system of an approved type, one less 5-B extinguisher is required. 

Without fixed system in machin-
ery space 

With fixed system in 
machinery space Vessel length 
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less than 26' 1 5-B 1 5-B 
26' to less than 40' 2 5-B OR 1 20-B 1 5-B 
40' to 65' 3 5-B OR 1 20-B and 1 5-B 2 5-B or 1 20-B 

FLAME ARRESTERS (BACKFIRE FLAME CONTROL) REQUIRED 
Gasoline engines installed in a vessel after April 25, 1940, except outboard motors, 
must be equipped with an acceptable means of backfire flame control. The device must 
be suitably attached to the air intake with a flame tight connection and is required to 
be Coast Guard approved or comply with SAE J-1928 or UL 1111 standards and marked 
accordingly. 

EXHAUST WATER MANIFOLD; MUFFLER 
A motorboat must have an exhaust water manifold or a factory-type muffler installed on 
the engine. 

VISUAL DISTRESS SIGNALS 
Vessels operating in coastal waters are required to have a working and unexpired, 
(if expiration is shown), visual distress signal if they are 16 feet or more in length; are an 
uninspected passenger vessel; or are a vessel less than 16 feet in length that is operated 
between sunset and sunrise. 

BOATING REGULATIONS 

INSPECTION OF VESSELS  
In order to enforce the provisions of the Water Safety Act, game wardens and other peace 
officers certified as marine safety enforcement officers by TPWD, may stop, board, and 
inspect any vessel to determine compliance with applicable provisions. 

INCIDENTS AND CASUALTIES 
Operators of vessels involved in any collision, incident or other casualty that results in: 
• Death (or missing person); or 
• Injury (requiring treatment beyond first aid) to any person; or 
• Property damage exceeding $2,000 must report the incident to the Texas Parks and 

Wildlife Department within 30 days of the occurrence (48 hours if a fatality). 
TO REPORT A BOATING INCIDENT 

Contact the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department at (800) 792-1112 or 
(512) 389-4848 (24-hour dispatch). 

STOP AND RENDER AID 
The operator of any vessel involved in a boating incident must stop and render whatever 
assistance is necessary unless such action would endanger his own vessel, crew or pas-
sengers. The operator must give his/her name, address and vessel identification number 
in writing to any injured person and to the owner of any damaged property. Failure to do so 
in an incident that results in death or serious bodily injury is punishable as a Texas Parks 

and Wildlife Code felony. Failure to do so in an incident that does not result in death or 
serious bodily injury is punishable as a Texas Parks and Wildlife Class A misdemeanor. 

MANDATORY BOATER EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 
A TPWD certified boater education course and photo I.D. is required for any person 
born on or after September 1, 1993 to operate: (1) a vessel powered by a motor of 
more than 15 horsepower; or (2) a windblown vessel over 14 feet in length. 
No person may operate a PWC or motorboat powered by a motor of more than 15 
horsepower on the public waters of this state unless the person is at least 13 years of 
age and has successfully completed a Boater Education Course or is supervised by 
another person who: (1) is at least 18 years of age; (2) can lawfully operate the 
motorboat; and (3) is on board the motorboat when under way.  
Proof of completion of the requirements to obtain a vessel operator’s license issued 
by the United States Coast Guard will satisfy the requirement for completing a boater 
education course in this state. 
**Boater education courses from other states are acceptable if NASBLA (National 
Association of State Boating Law Administrators) approved. 
A person adjudged guilty of one of the following (operating) violations: (1) any  
personal watercraft (operating) violation, (2) reckless or negligent operation,  
(3) excessive speed, (4) reckless operation and excessive speed, (5) hazardous wake 
or wash, (6) circular course around any swimmer or occupant of a vessel engaged in 
water activities, (7) interference with markers or ramps, (8) obstructing passage,  
(9) operating boats in restricted areas, (10) operating vessels in scuba diving or 
snorkeling areas, (11) skiing during illegal hours or in a manner that endangers life or 
property,  shall be required to successfully complete an approved boater education 
course AND pay a fine. Failure to complete the boater education course within 90 
days will result in the person committing an offense that is a Parks and Wildlife Class 
A misdemeanor. 

BOATER EDUCATION TRAINING 
Recommended for all boat operators and required for those persons born on or  
after September 1, 1993. For information on boater education courses, call  
(800) 792-1112, or visit www.tpwd.texas.gov/boatered. 

OPERATION OF YOUR BOAT 
It is UNLAWFUL for any person to:

1. Operate at a rate of speed greater than is reasonable and prudent or greater than 
will permit him to bring such boat to a stop within the assured clear 
distance ahead. 

2. Operate so as to cause a hazardous wake or wash. 
3. Operate in a circular course around another vessel, PWC, or individual engaged 

in water activities unless retrieving a downed or fallen water skier or a person 
engaged in similar activity.

4. Moor or attach to any buoy, beacon, light marker, stake, flag or other aid to safe 
operation, or to move, remove, displace, tamper with, damage or destroy the same.

5. Anchor in the traveled portion of a river or channel so as to prevent, impede, or 
interfere with safe passage of any other boat through the same area. 

6. Operate within an area designated as bathing, fishing, swimming, or otherwise 
restricted.

7. Operate within a designated “no wake” area except at headway speed without 
creating a swell or wake. 

8. Engage in water skiing, surfboarding or other similar activity between the hours of 
1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before sunrise; provided that this shall not apply 
to vessels used in recognized water ski tournaments, competitions, exhibitions or 
trials, provided that the water area is adequately lighted. 
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