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BOBCAT PELTS:  TAGGING
Prior to purchase, sale, trade or transport outside Texas,  
bobcat pelts (see definition of bobcat) taken in Texas (includ-
ing tanned pelts and mounts) must be permanently tagged 
with a department issued federal Convention on International 
Trade in Endangered Species (CITES) tag valid for the year in 
which the bobcat was taken. Legally taken pelts may be tagged 
at no cost by any registered bobcat pelt dealer or at TPWD Law 
Enforcement offices. Individuals desiring to purchase and/or tag 
bobcat pelts taken in Texas must register with the Fur-bearing 
Animal Program (4200  Smith School Road, Austin, Texas 
78744) and be issued a Bobcat Pelt Dealer Permit and Tag 
Voucher. It is unlawful for any dealer to: (1)  possess untagged 
pelts; (2) transfer tags to any other dealer, or to use tags issued 
to another dealer; (3) refuse to tag a bobcat pelt presented as 
being legally taken in this state. This is not construed to mean 
the person must sell to the dealer from whom the tag is obtained.
	 Persons desiring to transfer bobcat pelts out of Texas for 
non-commercial purposes may obtain a tag by presenting the 
pelt to any dealer or Department Law Enforcement Office and 
completing and signing an Annual Bobcat Pelt Tag Report.

RABIES QUARANTINE

It is a Class C misdemeanor to transport or sell live  
foxes, coyotes and raccoons from, to, or within this state. 
For additional information, please contact the Zoonosis 
Control Division of the Texas Department of Health at  
(512) 458-7255.

For other information concerning hunting and fishing  
regulations, parks, wildlife or other subjects related to TPWD, 
call our toll-free number: (800) 792-1112 during regular 
business hours. At any time of the day, a person may call toll-
free (800) 792-GAME to report a violation of the state’s game 
and fish laws. A reward may be offered to eligible callers who 
provide information which leads to a conviction.
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LICENSES

HUNTING  —  Required to take fur-bearing animals or 
their pelts during the recreational season. A  
person taking fur-bearers with a trapper’s license is not 
required to possess a hunting license.

TRAPPER  —  Required to take fur-bearing animals or 
their pelts during the commercial harvest season for the 
purpose of sale. This license also allows a person to take 
fur-bearing animals.
Resident $19.00	 Non-resident $315.00

WHOLESALE FUR DEALER  —  Required of persons 
purchasing fur-bearing animals or pelts of fur- 
bearing animals from trappers, retail fur buyers,  
fur-bearing animal propagators or another wholesale fur 
dealer.
Resident $189.00	 Non-resident $263.00

FUR-BEARING ANIMAL PROPAGATION   —  
Entitles a person to take or possess a living  
fur-bearing animal and hold it for the purpose of propa-
gation or sale. Facility inspection required prior to initial 
licensing.	 $95.00
	 NOTE:  Persons 17 years of age or older while hunt-
ing, fishing or trapping MUST have on their person a 
driver’s license or personal identification certificate.

GENERAL REGULATIONS

No person may take a fur-bearing animal on  
privately-owned land or body of water without the  con-
sent of the owner of the land or water or his agent. Taking 
of fur-bearing animals on statutory wildlife sanctuaries, 
public roads and highways or  their rights-of-way is 
prohibited. 
	 All otters taken in Texas, except nuisance 
otters, shall be permanently tagged with a depart-
ment issued federal Convention on International 
Trade in Endangered Species (CITES) tag valid for 
the year in which the otter was taken within 90 
days of take. All otter pelts imported into Texas 
must be accompanied by evidence of lawful take or 
possession.
	 Persons violating laws involving fish and wild-
life may be fined; charged restitution cost of ille-
gally possessed fish and wildlife; and be subject to 
license suspension or revocation. Subsequent  
violations may result in jail terms.

DEFINITIONS

FUR-BEARING ANIMALS  —  badgers, beavers, fox, 
mink, muskrat, nutria, opossum, otter, raccoon, ring-
tailed cat, skunk and civet cat (spotted skunk).

COYOTES and BOBCATS are not classed as 
fur-bearing animals and are not subject to these 
regulations; however, see BOBCAT PELT tagging 
requirements and RABIES QUARANTINE described 
in other sections of this pamphlet.
DEPARTMENT  —  Texas Parks and Wildlife  
Department.

CARCASS  —  The body of a dead fur-bearing  
animal, with or without the hide attached.

COMMERCIAL HARVEST  —  The take of a fur-bearing 
animal under a trapping license during the season for 
commercial harvest.

DEPREDATION  —  Loss of, or damage to, agricultural 
crops, livestock, poultry, wildlife or personal property.

FINISHED PRODUCT  —  The tanned pelt of a fur-bear-
ing animal or any part of a fur-bearing animal (or its 
resulting products) that has been treated to prevent 
decomposition (by means other than refrigeration or 
freezing) and/or packaged for sale. A dried pelt is not a 
finished product.

LAWFUL ARCHERY EQUIPMENT  —  The longbow, 
recurved bow and compound bow.

NUISANCE FUR-BEARING ANIMAL  — A fur- 
bearing animal that is depredating or a threat to human 
health or safety.

TRAPPER  —  A person who takes a fur-bearing  
animal or the pelt of a fur-bearing animal.

PELT  —  The untanned, green or dried hide or skin of 
a fur-bearing animal, whether or not the hide or skin is 
attached to the carcass.

RECREATIONAL HARVEST—  The take of a  
fur-bearing animal at any time under a hunting license 
or under a trapper’s license outside of the season for 
commercial harvest.

SALE  —  Includes barter and other transfers of owner-
ship for consideration.

TAKE  —  The act of snaring, trapping, shooting, killing 
or capturing by any means and includes an attempt to 
take.

PLACE OF BUSINESS  —  A place where fur-bearing 
animals or their pelts are sold, received, transported, 
possessed or purchased, and includes a vehicle used by 
a trapper, wholesale fur buyer and fur-bearing animal 
propagator.
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SALE OR PURCHASE OF FUR- 
BEARING ANIMALS OR PELTS

•	 Fur-bearing animals and their pelts can only be sold by:
	 (1)	licensed trappers;
	 (2)	wholesale fur dealers;
	 (3)	fur-bearing animal propagators.
•	 Fur-bearing animals and their pelts can only be pur-

chased for resale by wholesale fur dealers.
•	 Fur-bearing animals and their pelts may be  

purchased by consumers only for personal use (no 
resale).

•	 Trappers may sell non-living fur-bearing animals or 
their pelts taken during commercial harvest at any time 
during the year.

•	 Live fur-bearing animals may be sold only by a licensed 
fur-bearing animal propagator, and only sold to per-
sons authorized by permit issued by the department or 
to another licensed fur-bearing animal propagator.

•	 A person who sells fur-bearing animals prepared for 
immediate consumption may purchase the carcass of a 
fur-bearing animal only from a wholesale fur dealer.

•	 A wholesale fur dealer may purchase the car-
cass or pelt of a fur-bearing animal at any time,  
provided it was lawfully taken during the commercial 
season.

•	 Fur-bearing animals offered for sale may only be taken 
during the commercial season.

•	 Finished products may be sold by anyone.
•	 No person may purchase, possess after purchase or 

transport for commercial purposes a pelt or carcass 
taken in this state unless the person has acquired and 
possesses a wholesale fur dealer’s license.

•	 A trapper may sell the carcass or pelt of a fur-bearing 
animal only to a wholesale fur dealer or a puchaser 
outside Texas. Trappers selling fur-bearing ani-
mals to purchasers outside Texas must complete 
and submit an annual report accounting for all 
sales out of state.

	 A report on a form provided by the department must be 
completed and filed with the department on or before May 
31 by holders of wholesale fur dealer’s licenses. Licensed 
fur-bearing animal propagators must file reports by August 31 
of each year. Failure to meet these reporting require-
ments will prevent renewal of the dealer or propaga-
tion license.

	 Live fur-bearing animals may be taken and  
possessed for three days or less by representatives of 
recognized organizations for approved instruction or 
demonstration purposes at scheduled meetings provided 
prior written authorization has been obtained from the 
department.
	 Taxidermists may possess a fur-bearing animal or 
the pelt of a fur-bearing animal that was lawfully taken or 
possessed provided the animal or pelt is labeled with a 
wildlife resource document (see the current Texas Parks 
and Wildlife Outdoor Annual). For pelts imported from 
other states or countries, see IMPORTATION section.

MEANS AND METHODS

Fur-bearing animals may be legally taken with firearms; 
foothold, body-gripping-style, live or box traps; dogs; 
snares; lawful archery equipment; electronic or hand-held 
calls; artificial light; or by falconry except as prohibited 
below.

EXCEPTIONS

It is illegal to:
•	 Shoot at, take or attempt to take any fur-bearing animal 

from a boat on public waters in Texas.
•	 Take fur-bearing animals by means of falconry without 

a valid falconry permit issued by the department.
•	 Take fur-bearing animals with a foothold or body- 

gripping-style trap except during the season for  
commercial harvest.

•	 Take fur-bearing animals with a foothold or body- 
gripping-style trap within 400 yards of any school.

•	 Use smoke, explosives or chemical irritants of any kind 
to harry or flush fur-bearing animals.

•	 Take fur-bearing animals with body-gripping-style traps 
with a diagonal opening greater than 10  inches set on 
land or in less than 6-inch deep water.

•	 Take fur-bearing animals with snare, foothold, body-
gripping-style traps, and live or box trap unless 
such devices are examined at least once every  
36 hours and animals are removed on discovery.

	 Each fur-bearing animal taken or possessed in viola-
tion of these general laws is a separate offense. The Texas 
Department of Health and local public health agencies 
may take and possess, for analysis and disposal, any 
fur-bearing animal posing a potential or known health 
hazard. Anyone may transport a suspected diseased 
fur-bearing animal to a public health facility for diagnosis.

SEASONS AND BAG LIMITS

RECREATIONAL HARVEST —
•	 September 1-August 31
•	 Fur-bearing animals taken as a result of  

recreational harvest may not be sold
•	 No bag or possession limit

COMMERCIAL HARVEST —
•	 Nutria: September 1-August 31
•	 Beaver: October 1-May 31
•	 All other furbearers: November 1-March 31
•	 No bag or possession limit

To voluntarily report mountain lion harvest, call  
(512) 389-8047.

PROPAGATORS

Possession of live fur-bearing animals at any time is restricted 
to licensed fur-bearing animal propagators, persons 
authorized under Parks and Wildlife Code, Chapter 43, or 
representatives of recognized organizations for approved 
instruction or demonstration purposes. Fur-bearing  
animal propagators may take fur-bearing animals alive only 
during the commercial harvest season and live fur-bearing  
animals may be held only in facilities that 
meet required specifications. Details on prop-
agator requirements are given in a separate leaflet  
available from the Fur-bearing Animal Program, 4200 
Smith School Road, Austin, Texas 78744.

POSSESSION

No person may possess the pelt or carcass of a fur-bear-
ing animal at any time except as indicated below. For 
fur-bearing animals taken by a recreational hunter, there 
is no bag or possession limit. A licensed trapper may 
possess a pelt or carcass of a fur-bearing animal at any 
time. Nutria pelts may be possessed at any time. Pelts 
that have been reduced to a finished product shall not be 
considered part of the possession limit.

NUISANCE FUR-BEARING  
ANIMALS

Landowners or their agents may take nuisance fur-bearing 
animals in any number by any means at any time on that 
person’s land without the need for a hunting or trapping 
license. However, fur-bearing animals or their pelts taken 
for these purposes may not be retained or possessed 
by anyone at any time except licensed trappers during 
the lawful open season and possession periods.
	 Nuisance fur-bearing animals may be captured and 
relocated if the person has received authorization from the 
department and the owner of the property where the release 
will occur. A monthly report is required and must be sub-
mitted to the department on number and kind of fur-bearers  
captured, location of release site, name and address of 
person authorized to release.

IMPORTATION, EXPORTATION 
AND RELEASE OF FUR-BEARING 

ANIMALS OR THEIR PELTS

Importation of fur-bearing animals or their pelts into 
Texas from another state or country requires proof of legal 
take, purchase or possession. Importation from another 
country is prohibited without first completing the import 
documentation required by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife  
Service and U.S. Customs Service. No person may import 
live fur-bearing animals taken from the wild into Texas from 
another state or country without a permit. An importation 
permit will only be issued to licensed fur propagators. 
Written authorization shall be obtained from the depart-
ment prior to sale or export of live fur-bearing animals 
to persons outside of Texas. Applicants shall provide  
written verification that recipients of live fur-bearing  
animals have complied with applicable regulations in 
the destination state. A copy of the import permit or 
export authorization must accompany any live fur-bearing  
animal being imported or exported. Each shipment must 
be accompanied by a health certificate signed by a veteri-
narian accredited in the state of origin and if the imported 
animals are foxes, raccoons or skunks, a signed letter of 
authorization issued by the Texas Department of Health. 
Imported live fur-bearing animals and live fur-bearing  
animals previously held in captivity may not be released into 
the wild in this state.


