

Lake McClellan Recreation Area

Background

Lake McClellan Recreation Area is located approximately 60 miles east of Amarillo and 3 miles north of I-40 (exit 128) on FM 2477. The U. S. Forest Service administers the 1,440-acre area surrounding Lake McClellan. The site is predominately bottomland, surrounded by rough rangeland terrain. Brushy draws extend down from upland rangeland into the bottomlands containing cottonwood, hackberry and elm. The portion of the area that is being hunted



will be closed to the general public during the hunt periods. Hunters may use designated park facilities for which the standard fee will be charged. Commercial lodging is available in Pampa, Groom or Clarendon. For more information, call the U.S. Forest Service office in Cheyenne, Oklahoma (580) 497-2143.

Hunting Information

All area rules and regulations must be adhered to unless superseded by hunting regulations.

Permitted hunters should report to the Area headquarters by noon on the first day of their assigned hunt period. Hunters must contact the area as soon as possible if they are unable to attend their accepted hunt or not able to arrive on the first day for orientation. Following a brief orientation, U.S. Forest Service and Texas Parks and Wildlife personnel will direct hunters to a hunt area. Hunters will hunt from assigned blinds and will be taken to their assigned blinds along with their supervisors by Forest Service and TPWD staff. Hunting will end at noon on the final day of the assigned hunt.

Hunters must visibly wear a minimum of 400 square inches of daylight fluorescent orange material, with at least 144 square inches appearing on both chest and back and orange headwear.

Use of dogs is prohibited.

Non-permitted visitors and family members will not be allowed on the area during hunts except that a non-hunting adult assisting a permitted hunter with mobility disabilities will be allowed.

Legal means include centerfire rifles only. Hunters will be responsible for the reasonable care of their game after harvest. No facilities for deer storage will be available on the Area, but commercial facilities are available in Groom, White Deer or Shamrock.

Hunters are reminded that they must have a valid Texas Hunting License and any stamp required by statute. It is no longer necessary to use a hunting license tag or bonus tag for a deer taken during a Special Permit drawn hunt. However, a TPWD Legal Deer Tag, issued at the area, must be attached to a harvested deer prior to leaving the hunt area. Hunters 17 years of age and older must have in their possession a valid I.D. Hunter Safety Education is required of Texas hunters born on or after September 2, 1971 (see the Texas Parks & Wildlife Outdoor Annual for more information). Each hunter should also bring a flashlight, food, drinking water and foul weather gear.

Disturbance or removal of plants, rocks, artifacts or other objects is prohibited.

The display or consumption of alcoholic beverages is prohibited.

Off-road vehicle use and hunting from a vehicle is prohibited, except that hunters with mobility disabilities may hunt from a stationary motor vehicle. Operation of an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) or off-road vehicle (ORV) is prohibited, except by a hunter with mobility disabilities or an adult directly assisting the permitted hunter with mobility disabilities.

Camping will be available on the area for permitted hunters. Primitive as well as multi-purpose campsites with electricity and water will be available on a first come, first served basis. The normal overnight camping fee will be charged to those hunters using the Area's facilities.

Accommodations for hunters with disabilities on public hunt sites vary between areas. If you would like to request accommodation, please contact each area directly at least 2 weeks in advance of your hunt to discuss the options that may be available.

Phone (806) 779-2092 or (580) 497-2143 for more information about the area.