

Palmetto State Park

Located in Gonzales County, six miles South of Luling and 12 miles North of Gonzales near U.S. 183. Named for the dwarf palmetto plants found throughout the park. Palmetto State Park is a 300-acre botanical wonderland riverside refuge along the San Marcos River. This riparian refuge resembles the tropics more than the surrounding brush country and attracts more than 200 species of birds and other wildlife. A historic cistern/water tower releases water into a swampy woodland along a nature trail.

Reporting/Orientation

Orientation will be Saturday, December 13th at 6:00am at the Park Refectory building.

If you will be camping in the park, please call (830) 203-7734 with your estimated time of arrival.

- When: 2:00pm on December 12th the park will be open for set up and check-in, sign-in and orientation will be a must. Hunters must contact the area as soon as possible if they are unable to attend their accepted hunt or not able to arrive in time of orientation.
- **Where**: Check In Station will be the CCC Refectory on the South side of the park, near the campgrounds.
- **Preparation**: Hunters should bring their valid hunting license, firearms, ammo, and hunting gear.
- All persons afield must visibly wear a minimum of 400 square inches of daylight fluorescent orange material, with at least 144 inches appearing on both chest and back and fluorescent orange headwear. Hunter orange clothing can be removed during the hunt in the hunting blinds but must be worn to and from the blind.
- Only one legally permissible weapon per hunter will be allowed into the hunt area. Pistols and rifles are prohibited.
- Baiting is allowed and encouraged. Corn must be certified for livestock and wildlife consumption (aflatoxin free). Buc-ee's off I-10 4 miles north of the park sells it.
- Non-permitted visitors and family members will not be allowed in the park during hunts.
- Hunters will be responsible for the care of their game after harvest. Facilities for cleaning
 and skinning deer and hogs are available. Hunters need to bring their own ice, cooler, and
 game processing tools for cleaning and storage.
- Hunters are reminded that they must have a valid Texas Hunting License as required by statue. Hunters 17 years of age or older must have in their possession a valid I.D. Hunter

Safety Education is required of Texas hunters born on or after September 2, 1971 (see the TPWD Outdoor Annual for more information).

- Each hunter should also bring a flashlight, food, drinking water, weather gear, insect repellant, and hunting clothing/boots.
- Check Station Hours: Opens at 2:00pm on December 12th.
- Facilities: Refrigeration is **not** available. Buc-ee's off I10 is 4 miles north of the park on U.S. 183 for deer corn and ice.
- Check In/Out: All hunters must check in/out with hunting staff as explained in the orientation.
- Latecomers Check In: Hunters unable to report in on time for the December 12th
 orientation must still report to the check station upon arrival to the park to receive the
 orientation information. Those arriving after closing of the check station in the evening must
 report to the check station the following morning for registration and orientation prior to going
 to the field.

• Legal Game:

White-tailed Deer: Antlerless (Does), bag limit of 3.

Feral Hogs: unlimited bag limit.

Hunting Conditions

- **Pop-Up Blinds:** Blinds locations are predetermined with a marked location with blinds already set up. Hunting areas will be assigned during orientation. There will be no chairs, or bait provided, all hunters are responsible for providing their own. All hunters are required to be in assigned blind/location, no stalking or still hunting allowed.
- Firearms: Shotguns and muzzle loads are the only legal means of harvest.
- **Terrain:** All blinds are walk in only, no ATVs or UTVs allowed. Blinds will be located on easy to walk trails.
- **Camping:** Camping will be allowed in the electric side of the park for hunters and permitted family members.
- **Note:** During the dates of the hunts the park will be closed to the general public access.

Accommodations for hunters with disabilities on public hunt sites vary between areas. If you would like to request accommodation, please contact each area directly at least 2 weeks in advance of your hunt to discuss the options that may be available.

Please email Park Superintendent Nathan Reynolds with Texas Parks and Wildlife for additional information (Nathan.Reynolds@tpwd.texas.gov) or call Palmetto State Park at (830) 672-3266.