News Releases Filter

Texas Boating Law Administrator Elected NASBLA Chairman

Media Contact: TPWD News Business Hours, 512-389-8030

News Image Share on Facebook Share Release URL

Note: This item is more than a year old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references.

LEXINGTON, KY – During its 60th annual meeting, held in Anchorage, Alaska, Sept. 29 – Oct. 2, 2019, the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) elected Asst. Commander Game Warden Cody Jones, Boating Law Administrator for Texas, as Chairman of the nonprofit organization for the 2019-2020 year. He succeeds Mark Brown, Oklahoma’s Boating Law Administrator. NASBLA is a national nonprofit, 501(c)3 organization that works to develop public policy for recreational boating safety. NASBLA represents the recreational boating authorities of all 50 states and the U.S. territories.

Asst. Commander Jones is a 16-year veteran of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department and currently serves as the Boating Law Administrator for the state of Texas. Asst. CDR Jones is the  state’s representation to the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators Association and is responsible for being the voice of the state on boating safety matters. As a member of the NASBLA Executive Board, he is also responsible for moving recreational boating safety forward through education, enforcement, training and policy on a national level – to the benefit of all states and territories. Asst. CDR Jones was elected to the NASBLA Executive Board in 2013 and is currently serving his sixth year on the board.

“NASBLA is an extremely important partner both on a statewide and national basis regarding boating and water safety. We are seeing an increase in the recreational use of our public waterways which in turn, further demonstrates the need for consistent and strategic water safety enforcement and education. We are very proud of CDR Jones for being selected as the NASBLA Chair and look forward to maintaining a strong commitment to boating and water safety,” said Colonel Grahame Jones Director of Law Enforcement, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department.

As part of the executive management team for the Law Enforcement Division at the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, Asst. CDR Jones has worked to lead some of the most sweeping changes and build some of the strongest relationships with the agencies partners and constituents alike. He brings a very progressive mindset to implement best practices and new technologies when forwarding the mission and objectives of the agency. Asst. CDR Jones bring this same mindset to his work as a member of the NASBLA Executive Board. At the Texas Parks and Wildlife Dept., CDR Jones is tasked with the oversight and supervision of the State’s Recreational Boating Safety Grant, Marine Safety Enforcement Officer Program, Party Boat Operations Program and Coastal Floating Cabins Permit Program as well as the oversight of state boating laws and commission rules.

In May of 2018, Asst. Commander Jones was appointed to the National Boating Safety Advisory Council (NBSAC) for the United States Coast Guard for a three-year term. The NBSAC was established by the Federal Boat Safety Act of 1971. The law requires the Secretary of Homeland Security, and the Commandant of the Coast Guard by delegation, to consult with the Council in prescribing Federal regulations, and regarding other major boating safety matters. The Council has consistently provided invaluable advice to the Coast Guard on a broad range of boating safety matters.

Asst. Commander Jones is a graduate of Sul Ross State University with a Bachelor of Science degree and has attained many state and national leadership training accolades in his career. Asst. CDR Jones resides with his wife and three children in Dripping Springs, Texas.

Other officers of the association serving with Jones include:

  • Vice Chair – Tim Dunleavy, New Hampshire Department of Safety
  • Treasurer – Kenton Turner, Indiana Dept. of Natural Resources, Law Enforcement Division
  • Member-at-Large – Dan Hesket, Kansas Wildlife, Parks & Tourism
  • Member-at-Large – Susan Stocker, Iowa Dept. of Natural Resources, Conservation & Recreation Div.
  • Member-at-Large – Corey Britcher, Pennsylvania Fish & Boat Commission
  • Immediate Past President – Mark Brown, Oklahoma Dept. of Public Safety, Highway Patrol Marine Enforcement Section