|  TPWD News Release 20081010e                                            |
|  This page contains only plain text, no HTML formatting codes.          |
|  It is not designed for display in a browser but for copying            |
|  and editing in whatever software you use to lay out pages.             |
|  To copy the text into an editing program:                              |
|    --Display this page in your browser.                                 |
|    --Select all.                                                        |
|    --Copy.                                                              |
|    --Paste in a document in your editing program.                       |
|  If you have any suggestions for improving these pages, send            |
|  an e-mail to webtech@tpwd.state.tx.us and mention Plain Text Pages.    |

[ Note: This item is more than eight years old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references. ]
[ Media Contact: TPWD News, news@tpwd.texas.gov, 512-389-8030 ] [TH]
Oct. 10, 2008
Top Youth Shooters In Texas Compete In Annual Whiz-Bang
AUSTIN, Texas -- Fifteen of the top youth shotgun shooters from across Texas vied for more than $28,000 in prizes at the 15th Annual Whiz-Bang 4-H Shooting Sports event, held Oct. 3 at the Texas Parks and Wildlife Expo grounds in Austin.
The 9-to-18 year old shooters rose up from a pool of about 4,000 that competed in 4-H youth shooting events statewide this past year, making them the best of the best in Texas. The Whiz-Bang was hosted by Charlie Wilson, Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Shooting Sports coordinator. The top five shooters in the Senior, Intermediate and Junior Divisions were invited to compete in the shoot.
Senior Division winners placed in this order: 1st Place, Logan Gaskins of Knott; 2nd Place, Kyler Ford of Burleson; 3rd Place, Leo Ybanez of Corpus Christi; 4th Place, James Bryan of Lake Jackson and 5th Place, Tyler Martin of New Braunfels.
Intermediate winners were: 1st Place, Zach Charbula of Alvin; 2nd Place, Phillip Jungman of Caldwell; 3rd Place, T. J. Tuttle of Boerne; 4th Place, Jacob Perrine of Helotes; and 5th Place, Colt Woods of Kountz.
Junior Winners were: 1st Place, William Onderdonk, of Spring Branch; 2nd Place, Colton Anderson of Spring Branch; 3rd Place, Zach Gauntt of Teague; 4th Place, Konner Worthington of Childress; and 5th Place, Colt McBee of Brady.
First Place winners were awarded Lifetime Hunting and Fishing licenses sponsored by the Fort Worth Sportsmen's Club. Second place winners were each awarded a Browning X-Bolt Rifle in either 7mm-08 or .243 caliber, provided by Browning Arms. All participants were awarded trophies for their respective class, provided by Browning Arms.
Additional prizes awarded included custom gun fittings, shooting coats, vests, caps, a custom gun case by Americase, trap throwers, gun cleaning kits by Otis Technologies, videos, and several other items, with all prizes totaling around $28,000.