|  TPWD News Release 20100622b                                            |
|  This page contains only plain text, no HTML formatting codes.          |
|  It is not designed for display in a browser but for copying            |
|  and editing in whatever software you use to lay out pages.             |
|  To copy the text into an editing program:                              |
|    --Display this page in your browser.                                 |
|    --Select all.                                                        |
|    --Copy.                                                              |
|    --Paste in a document in your editing program.                       |
|  If you have any suggestions for improving these pages, send            |
|  an e-mail to webtech@tpwd.state.tx.us and mention Plain Text Pages.    |

[ Note: This item is more than seven years old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references. ]
[ Media Contact: TPWD News, news@tpwd.texas.gov, 512-389-8030 ]
[ Additional Contacts: James Booker, (903) 670-2266 ]
June 22, 2010
Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center Gearing up for July 4 Fireworks
ATHENS, Texas--Preparations are under way for the annual Fourth of July fireworks show at the Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center. The show will last approximately one-half hour and is one of the biggest in East Texas.
The fireworks show is directed and produced by Alpha-Lee Enterprises, Inc., of Liverpool, Texas. The show is a Keep Athens Beautiful event.
Even though July 4 is a holiday, the center will be open to visitors during regular Sunday hours, 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. After 4:00 p.m., admission is free for the fireworks show. Visitors are encouraged to fish in the stocked casting pond while waiting for the fireworks, which will begin at dark. No license is required to fish, and bait and tackle are furnished for free. Fishing ends approximately one-half hour before the fireworks begin.
Food and beverages will be available for purchase, and people are encouraged to bring picnics. KCKL (FM 95.9) will broadcast patriotic music during the show.
Pets, alcohol, tobacco products and private fireworks, including "snap caps" and sparklers, are not allowed.
The fireworks show is sponsored and paid for by the City of Athens, local businesses and individuals.
Contributors include: City of Athens; First State Bank, Kim Hodges; Athens Bank; Citizens State Bank; Athens Chamber of Commerce; The Cain Foundation; Lake Athens, LLC; Fiber Detection Technologies, Inc.; Pritchard Assoc.; Athens Marina, LTD.; Mega Motors, Inc.; The First State Bank; La De Da Boutique; Creative Employee Benefits, Inc.; East Texas Medical Center Athens; Southside Bank; McCord Properties; Prosperity Bank; Athens Steel Building Corporation; Heaton Eye Assoc.; Bateman & Bateman; Maxfield Investments, Inc.; Lake Bluff, LLC; East Texas Radiological Consultants P.A., Harold Smitson, M.D.; and Lake Athens Property Owners Assoc., Inc.
Also, P.J. Heidbrink, Charlie and Cindy Akin, Erik O. Earnshaw, The Carlock Companies, Byron and Laura Carlock, Joseph G. Bolin, Clark and Nancy Richardson, Rick Herrscher, Mamie Stafford, Allen B. Boswell, Ernestine King, Diann Bartholow, John and Sydna Guest, Chris Goodwin, Robert Bushnell, Byron and Tamara Lichtenberg.
Also, Slayden Diehl, Brad Davis, Catherine Pearson, Robert and Katherine Penn, L.J. and M.E. Traveland, W. J. Goodwin, Patrick and Carol Wallace, Nancy P. Strain, Carolea and Weldon Stone, Stuart and Suzanne Guthrie, Kenneth and Katherine Geeslin, Stephen and Karen Jones, Harrison and Virginia Markley, Sam and Karen Whitten, Bradford and Alicia Wagoner.
Also, David and Melinda Thomas, R.A. Martin, Charles and Carletta Ramsey, Michael and Jennifer Neill, William and Mimi Vanderstraaten, Pancho Hunt, C. Thomas and Becky Abbott, Nell and Neal Velvin, Susan Laird, James and Patricia Oestrerreicher, Lance and Kathryn Etcheverry, Fay Fern Akin Estate, Atlee Kohl.
Also, Stephen L. McCord, Douglas and Elizabeth Sheldon, Frank H. Edwards, Caryl and William Sinnott, George W. Killebrew IV, Joseph and Laurie Hillesheim, Corine Calder, Peggy Dwelle, Arch and Carmen Hunt, Carol Barton, S.R. Sparkman, Diana and Michael Miller, Earl and Pat Estep, Mary Jane Nettune, Richard and Elizabeth Naftalis, James and Cathy Bickle, Wayne and Nanette Stelter, Ellen Key, Wendy and Ashley Harkness, Art and Sue Laengrich.
Also, Mark and Sharon McCain, Camp Ficke, Brian A. Ficke, Jerrold and Vicki Beeler, P. L. Gould, Roger G. Williams, Peggy and Bob Gould, Carol Morton and Kevin Sutherlin.
The event has become an area tradition, with many people dressing in red, white and blue in keeping with the holiday theme.
Parking is available in the main TFFC parking lot and in an overflow parking area on Peninsula Point Road. Persons using the overflow parking area may enter through Gate C, which is across the street from the parking area.
For more information or directions, call (903) 676-2277.