|  TPWD News Release 20130829b                                            |
|  This page contains only plain text, no HTML formatting codes.          |
|  It is not designed for display in a browser but for copying            |
|  and editing in whatever software you use to lay out pages.             |
|  To copy the text into an editing program:                              |
|    --Display this page in your browser.                                 |
|    --Select all.                                                        |
|    --Copy.                                                              |
|    --Paste in a document in your editing program.                       |
|  If you have any suggestions for improving these pages, send            |
|  an e-mail to webtech@tpwd.state.tx.us and mention Plain Text Pages.    |

[ Note: This item is more than four years old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references. ]
[ Media Contact: TPWD News, news@tpwd.texas.gov, 512-389-8030 ]
Aug. 29, 2013
TPWD Law Enforcement Division's Annual Award Ceremony Recognizes Peace Officers and Private Citizens
AUSTIN -- The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department Law Enforcement Division has recognized more than 30 peace officers from multiple agencies and four private citizens for their professionalism and dedication in serving the people of Texas.
The awards were presented by TPWD Executive Director Carter Smith and Game Warden Col. Craig Hunter at 10 a.m. Thursday at TPWD headquarters.
This year, the awards highlighted TPWD game wardens and state troopers from the Department of Public Safety who worked together and responded to the fertilizer plant explosion in West, Texas earlier this year. The responding officers were instrumental in the success of response and recovery operations, as well as the actions of more than 350 other state troopers and game wardens.
Game wardens, fellow peace officers and private citizens who have saved lives on public waters were also recognized. Three recipients of this award were Asst. Commander Brandi Reeder, her husband, game warden Derek Reeder, and their friend Mike Amidon, who were recognized for saving the life of a kayaker who was struggling to hang on to the side of the kayak after he went underwater.
The Medal of Valor award was given to Game Warden Jacob Crumpton of Concho County who had put himself in the line of fire last May 26 to aid Concho County Sheriff Richard Doane after he was struck twice by a gunman who had already killed two people.
Two special agents with the FBI, who have supported and offered continuing educational efforts for game wardens, were awarded the Director's Award.
Also recognized, were TPWD employees and private citizens who have helped with fundraising and other administrative functions of the TPWD Law Enforcement Division, and special recognition was given to all game wardens who have served in the armed forces during a time of conflict.
The recipients are:
Director's Humanitarian Award
--Game Warden Capt. Kevin Davis- Llano County
--Game Warden Kenny Lee- Kerr County
--Game Warden Kevin Webb- Llano County
Director's Citation Award
--Game Warden Lt. Trey Shewmake- Cherokee County
--Game Warden Brent Tucker- Borden/ Dawson Counties
--Game Warden Kenneth Zuber- El Paso County
--Game Warden Jason Campbell-Falls County
--Game Warden Andrew Alexander- Bastrop County
--Game Warden Jim Daniels- Hamilton County
--Game Warden Mark Hammonds- Hill County
--Game Warden Dayton Isaacs- Bosque County
--Game Warden Trent Marker- Limestone County
--Game Warden Jeff Powell- Ellis County
--Game Warden Michael Serbanic- McLennan County
--Game Warden Doug Volcik- Hill County
Director's Life Saving Award
--Game Warden Asst. Commander Gary Teeler- Travis County
--Game Warden Asst. Commander Brandi Reeder- Travis County
--Game Warden Derek Reeder- Aransas County
--Game Warden Dewayne Noble- Rains County
--Game Warden Derek Spitzer- Wood County
--Game Warden Kris Bishop- Bastrop County
--Game Warden Joann Garza-Mayberry- Caldwell County
--Game Warden David Lewis- Brazos County
--Game Warden Charles Tweedle- Castro/Parmer/Deaf Smith Counties
--Game Warden Mallory Brodrick- Lubbock County
Medal of Valor
--Game Warden Jacob Crumpton- Concho County
Veteran's National Defense Service Award
--Game Warden Capt. James Ranft (receiving on behalf of all eligible game wardens)- McLennan County
Director's Award
--Scott Boruff- TPWD Deputy Executive Director
--Jeannie Munoz - TPWD Project Management Office
--Larry Sieck - TPWD Project Management Office
--Anne Brown - Executive Director Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation
--Susan Houston - Philanthropy Director Texas Parks and Wildlife Foundation
--David Schmachtenberger's- FBI Special Agent
--Mike Rodriquez­- FBI Special Agent
--Texas Department of Public Safety state troopers
--Sgt. Victor Panicera - South Padre Island Police Department
--Capt. David Blevins - U.S. Food and Drug Administration
--Mike Amidon
--Alex Campos
--Mike Fugate
--Gene Cozart
On the Net:
Photos: http://www.flickr.com/photos/texasparkswildlife/sets/72157635285206187/