|  TPWD News Release 20130909a                                            |
|  This page contains only plain text, no HTML formatting codes.          |
|  It is not designed for display in a browser but for copying            |
|  and editing in whatever software you use to lay out pages.             |
|  To copy the text into an editing program:                              |
|    --Display this page in your browser.                                 |
|    --Select all.                                                        |
|    --Copy.                                                              |
|    --Paste in a document in your editing program.                       |
|  If you have any suggestions for improving these pages, send            |
|  an e-mail to webtech@tpwd.state.tx.us and mention Plain Text Pages.    |

[ Note: This item is more than three years old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references. ]
[ Media Contact: TPWD News, news@tpwd.texas.gov, 512-389-8030 ] [LH]
Sept. 9, 2013
Nominations Sought for Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame
Deadline for submission of nominations is December 31
ATHENS, Texas -- Individuals or organizations that have made a lasting contribution to freshwater fishing in Texas may be nominated through December 31 for induction into the Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame.
Nominations may be made in the categories of industry, angler or media. The nominee must be a Texan or Texas organization. Individuals may be either living or deceased. Selection will be made by an independent committee; induction will take place during the annual Hall of Fame banquet at the Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center in Athens.
Prior inductees include Floyd Mabry, Jackie Hewlett, R.D. Hull, Bob Kemp, Nick Crème, Charlie Inman, Sugar Ferris, Leonard Ranne, Earl Golding, Kathy Magers, the Sabine River Authority, Skeeter Boats, Michael ("Shorty") Powers, Ray Murski, Albert S. ("Buddy") Bradley, Richard M. Hart, William B. ("Doc") Shelton, Charlie Pack, Paul Hinton, Edward Bond, Philip Durocher, David Campbell, Tommy Martin, Lonnie Stanley and Edward Parten.
Members of the Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame committee include Philip Durocher, former director of the Inland Fisheries Division of Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD); Dave Terre, chief of management and research for the Inland Fisheries Division of TPWD; Alton Jones, professional angler; Dan Kessler, Assistant Director of Transportation for the North Central Texas Council of Governments and a member of the Texas State Bass Tournament committee; Dale Rabe, retired, former General Motors executive, current small business owner and member of the Texas State Bass Tournament committee.
Also, Amanda Murski, owner, Murski-Breeding Sales Company; Tim Cook, owner of Cook's Sharpening Service and conservation director for the Texas BASS Federation Nation; Bob Lusk, publisher of Pond Boss magazine and private waters management consultant; Buddy Bradley, retired, formerly customer relations manager for T.U. Electric and advisor to Shakespeare Tackle Company and Bomber Bait Company; Dr. Billy Higginbotham, professor and extension wildlife and fisheries specialist, Texas A & M University; and Richard Ray, anchor/reporter for Fox4 News in Dallas/Fort Worth.
Nomination forms and instructions are available on the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department web site or by calling (903) 670-2255.
On the Net: