

Texas Parks & Wildlife Prosecutor of the Year Award 2018 Nomination Instructions



Award Overview

The Texas Parks and Wildlife Department will present an award to formally recognize a courtroom champion for exemplary efforts in prosecuting fish, wildlife, water safety, natural and cultural resource or other environmental crimes in Texas. The award will recognize an individual who exhibits one or more of the following:

- 1. exceptional skill and an outstanding commitment to protecting Texas' fish, wildlife, natural and cultural resources;
- 2. superior performance in prosecuting wildlife, fisheries, water safety, natural and cultural resource and environmental crimes;
- 3. relentless pursuit of justice for the most egregious violators and keen ability to prosecute complex, controversial or landmark cases; or
- 4. exemplary work promoting and maintaining a collaborative working relationship with TPWD in pursuit of conserving Texas' natural resources.

FAQs

When is the deadline to submit a nomination? MAY 15th of each year.

Who is eligible? Any prosecutor at the county, district, state or federal level whose action occurred during the previous two calendar years.

Who may nominate? TPWD law enforcement, natural resource and state park staff, prosecutors or other state, federal or local law enforcement agency personnel.

How many nominations are accepted? Any number of nominations will be accepted but only one will be forwarded annually by each TPWD region/special operations for further consideration.

When is the selected awardee announcement? The award will be announced at the 2018 August TPW Commission meeting.

Where do I send my completed nomination? Submit your completed nomination to the appropriate TPWD Law Enforcement Major.

Region 1	Major Doug Seamands	doug.seamands@tpwd.texas.gov
Region 2	Major David Murray	david.murray@tpwd.texas.gov
Region 3	Major James Ranft	james.ranft@tpwd.texas.gov
Region 4	Major Edward Tanuz	edward.tanuz@tpwd.texas.gov
Region 5	Major Alan Teague	alan.teague@tpwd.texas.gov
Region 6	Major Ron VanderRoest	ron.vanderroest@tpwd.texas.gov
Region 7	Major Jeff Gillenwaters	jeff.gillenwaters@tpwd.texas.gov
Region 8	Major Chad Jones	chad.jones@tpwd.texas.gov
Special Operations	Major Chris Davis	chris.davis@tpwd.texas.gov

