

AFFIDAVIT OF STATUTORY LIEN FORECLOSURE SALE BY LICENSED VEHICLE STORAGE FACILITY (PWD 309C)

For accessibility assistance with this document, contact TPWD by email at accessibility@tpwd.texas.gov, on a Text Telephone (TTY) at (512) 389-8915, or by Relay Texas at 7-1-1 or (800) 735-2989.

This form is completed when transferring ownership to the purchaser of a vessel and/or outboard motor sold under a storage lien (due to non-payment of charges) by a licensed vehicle storage facility that acquired the asset(s) from a self-service storage facility in accordance with Texas Property Code, Section 59.052. The form must be completed by the vehicle storage facility and include their notarized signature. For a description of each step and the additional forms required, see the Transfer of Title Checklist – Required Documents and Instructions for Statutory Foreclosure Lien Form & Process listed on pages 4-7. (If the vehicle storage facility did not acquire the asset(s) from a self-service storage facility, then they must use the Affidavit of Statutory Lien Foreclosure Sale for Storage or Mechanic's Lien form PWD 309A.)

A. THIS STATUTORY FORECLOSURE LIEN PROCESS CANNOT BE USED IF:

- (1) You did not acquire the asset(s) from a self-service storage facility in accordance with Texas Property Code, Section 59.052:
- (2) You cannot obtain owner and lienholder information from TPWD or comparable agency from another state [unless you have complied with Texas Occupations Code Section 2303.152];
- (3) You are unable to obtain a pencil tracing, legible photograph, or game warden verification of the hull identification number (HIN) and/or outboard motor identification number (MIN); or
- (4) You have not followed all the required statutory procedures for the foreclosure sale.

WARNING: FALSIFYING INFORMATION ON DOCUMENTS IS A PUNISHABLE OFFENSE.

Texas Penal Code, Section 37.10. Any person who knowingly makes a false entry in or false alteration of a governmental record is guilty of a felony of the third degree punishable by confinement in jail for any term of not more than 10 years or less than 2 years and punished by a fine not to exceed \$10,000.

	SENERAL INFORMATION. 1) This information is about the	foreclosure of a:	□ VESSEL	□ OUTBOARD N	1OTOR		
(2	2) Vessel Description:						
		Make	١	′ear Built	Length		
	HIN/Serial Number		State Reg	gistration Number	Horsepower		
(;	3) Outboard Motor Description:						
		Ma	ake	Year Built			
	MIN/Serial Number		State Reg	gistration Number	Horsepower		
(4	(4) Name and address of self-service storage facility transferring possession to vehicle storage facility:						
	Name	St	reet Address		City, State and Zip		
(Vehicle storage facility and li 	cense number:	Nar		License Number		
(2	Date vessel and/or outboard	motor was towed	to venicie stora	де тасшту:	Date		
(;	(3) Physical address of vehicle storage facility:						
`	· ,	3 7	St	reet Address	City, State and Zip		
	Mailing address (if different):						
		Str	eet Address		City, State and Zip		
	TITLE/REGISTRATION OWNER Title/registration owner verifica Or		n TPWD or com	iparable agency f	rom another state is attached.		
	Documentation of compliance	with Texas Occup	ations Code, S	ection 2303.152 is	s attached.		
		der(s) of record w			vessel and/or outboard motor and 51 or 2303.152, as applicable		
(:	2) Date law enforcement was q	iven notification of	abandonment	of asset(s) under	Texas Occupations Code, Section		

PWD 309C – A0900 (08/21) Page 1 of 7

2303.154(a), if applicable:

	and pay any charges o	due under Texas Occu ———	ipations Code,	Section 2303.154(d
(4)	Name of newspaper and publication	n date of foreclosure sale:		
(5)	Location of public (foreclosure) sale		Newspaper Name	Publication Date
	Street Address	City, State	and Zip	Date
LA	W ENFORCEMENT CERTIFICATIO	N [Only required if evidence of I	aw enforcement not	ification is unavailable]
	Law Enforcement Agency	Street Address	City, Sta	ate and Zip
rep on	behalf of the law enforcement authorted abandoned by the listed vehicl the date above. Further, I certify no stor described above within 30 days a	e storage facility in accordance volume action was taken by our agence	with Texas Transport by with regards to th	tation Code, Chapter 68
	Printed Name (Same as Signature)	Pos	sition	
	Signature of Officer/Authorized Agent	Da	te	
Ω Ε	R – A VSF must complete this certificat	tion if the law outsurement arrange		tian af ahandannant
	Signature of Agent	Printed Name		Date
As	FIDAVIT OF REPRESENTATIVE OF a duly authorized representative of	F STATUTORY LIENHOLDER.	older, I certify that th	
As and (1)	FIDAVIT OF REPRESENTATIVE OF a duly authorized representative of d correct: The vessel and/or outboard motor of storage facility in accordance with T	F STATUTORY LIENHOLDER. the undersigned statutory lienholdescribed above was transferred exas Property Code, Section 59	to the vehicle storag	e following facts are tr
As and (1) (2) (3)	FIDAVIT OF REPRESENTATIVE OF a duly authorized representative of d correct: The vessel and/or outboard motor of	the undersigned statutory lienhord described above was transferred fexas Property Code, Section 59 tice to the recorded owner(s) arcedures in accordance with Texa econd notice of intent to sell to the 21st day after the first notification	to the vehicle storage.052; and the lienholder(s), as Occupations Codene recorded owner(s	ne following facts are tr ge facility by a self-servi as required by statute, e, Section 2303.152;) and the lienholder(s) r
As and (1) (2) (3) (4) In derived and deri	a duly authorized representative of correct: The vessel and/or outboard motor of storage facility in accordance with The vehicle storage facility sent no complied with alternative notice proof the vehicle storage facility sent a searlier than 15 days and before the	the undersigned statutory lienholders. The undersigned statutory lienholders above was transferred fexas Property Code, Section 59 tice to the recorded owner(s) arcedures in accordance with Texa econd notice of intent to sell to the 21st day after the first notification res have been complied with. Pertificate of Title being applied for Wildlife Department, its employed or in connection with the issuance	to the vehicle storage.052; and the lienholder(s), as Occupations Code are recorded owner(s), as required by state, the statutory lienhees and officers from	ne following facts are true ge facility by a self-servic as required by statute, e, Section 2303.152;) and the lienholder(s) nute; and older agrees to indemn m and against all claim
As and (1) (2) (3) (4) In derived the content of th	a duly authorized representative of d correct: The vessel and/or outboard motor of storage facility in accordance with The vehicle storage facility sent no complied with alternative notice proof The vehicle storage facility sent a searlier than 15 days and before the All other statutory lien sale procedule consideration of the issuance of a Cod hold harmless Texas Parks and Mands, and judgments because of a	the undersigned statutory lienholders. The undersigned statutory lienholders above was transferred fexas Property Code, Section 59 tice to the recorded owner(s) arcedures in accordance with Texa econd notice of intent to sell to the 21st day after the first notification res have been complied with. Pertificate of Title being applied for Wildlife Department, its employed or in connection with the issuance	to the vehicle storage.052; and the lienholder(s), as Occupations Code ne recorded owner(s), as required by state, the statutory lienhees and officers from the requested	ne following facts are true facility by a self-service as required by statute, e, Section 2303.152; and the lienholder(s) nute; and claim and against all claim
As and (1) (2) (3) (4) In derived the control of th	a duly authorized representative of d correct: The vessel and/or outboard motor of storage facility in accordance with The vehicle storage facility sent no complied with alternative notice proof The vehicle storage facility sent a searlier than 15 days and before the All other statutory lien sale procedure consideration of the issuance of a Cod hold harmless Texas Parks and Mands, and judgments because of cove-described vessel or outboard motors.	the undersigned statutory lienholdescribed above was transferred fexas Property Code, Section 59 tice to the recorded owner(s) arcedures in accordance with Texa econd notice of intent to sell to the 21st day after the first notification res have been complied with. Pertificate of Title being applied for Wildlife Department, its employed or in connection with the issuance tor.	to the vehicle storage.052; and the lienholder(s), as Occupations Code are recorded owner(s a, as required by state or, the statutory lienhees and officers from the requested of the requested.	ne following facts are true ge facility by a self-servious as required by statute, e, Section 2303.152; and the lienholder(s) nute; and older agrees to indemn mand against all claim Certificate of Title for the
As and (1) (2) (3) (4) In der about	a duly authorized representative of d correct: The vessel and/or outboard motor of storage facility in accordance with The vehicle storage facility sent no complied with alternative notice proof The vehicle storage facility sent a searlier than 15 days and before the All other statutory lien sale procedure consideration of the issuance of a Cod hold harmless Texas Parks and Mands, and judgments because of cove-described vessel or outboard model. Name of Vehicle Storage Facility	the undersigned statutory lienholders. The undersigned statutory lienholders as Property Code, Section 59 tice to the recorded owner(s) arcedures in accordance with Texa econd notice of intent to sell to the 21st day after the first notification res have been complied with. Dertificate of Title being applied for Wildlife Department, its employed or in connection with the issuance tor. Street Address	to the vehicle storage.052; and the lienholder(s), as Occupations Code are recorded owner(s and a required by state or, the statutory lienhees and officers from the centre of the requested code.	ne following facts are true facility by a self-service as required by statute, e, Section 2303.152; and the lienholder(s) nute; and colder agrees to indemning and against all claims. Certificate of Title for the fact and Zip
As and (1) (2) (3) (4) In der about	a duly authorized representative of d correct: The vessel and/or outboard motor of storage facility in accordance with The vehicle storage facility sent no complied with alternative notice proof The vehicle storage facility sent a see arlier than 15 days and before the All other statutory lien sale procedure consideration of the issuance of a Cod hold harmless Texas Parks and Mands, and judgments because of cove-described vessel or outboard modules. Name of Vehicle Storage Facility Mailing Address (if different) gnature of Affiant (representative of Venature of Venature of Affiant (representative of Venature of Affiant (representa	the undersigned statutory lienholders. The undersigned statutory lienholders as Property Code, Section 59 tice to the recorded owner(s) arcedures in accordance with Texa econd notice of intent to sell to the 21st day after the first notification res have been complied with. Dertificate of Title being applied for Wildlife Department, its employed or in connection with the issuance tor. Street Address	to the vehicle storage.052; and the lienholder(s), as Occupations Code are recorded owner(s), as required by state. The statutory lienholes and officers from the requested. City, States and officers from the requested.	ne following facts are true for facility by a self-service as required by statute, e., Section 2303.152; and the lienholder(s) nute; and colder agrees to indemnify and against all claims. Certificate of Title for the fate and Zip
As and (1) (2) (3) (4) In contact about the state of the	a duly authorized representative of d correct: The vessel and/or outboard motor of storage facility in accordance with The vehicle storage facility sent no complied with alternative notice proof The vehicle storage facility sent a see arlier than 15 days and before the All other statutory lien sale procedure consideration of the issuance of a Cod hold harmless Texas Parks and Mands, and judgments because of cove-described vessel or outboard modules. Name of Vehicle Storage Facility Mailing Address (if different) gnature of Affiant (representative of Venature of Venature of Affiant (representative of Venature of Affiant (representa	the undersigned statutory lienholders. The undersigned statutory lienholders as Property Code, Section 59 tice to the recorded owner(s) arcedures in accordance with Texal econd notice of intent to sell to the 21st day after the first notification res have been complied with. Pertificate of Title being applied for Wildlife Department, its employed or in connection with the issuance tor. Street Address Street Address ehicle Storage Facility):	to the vehicle storage.052; and the lienholder(s), as Occupations Code are recorded owner(s), as required by state. The statutory lienholes and officers from the requested. City, States and officers from the requested.	ne following facts are true facility by a self-service as required by statute, e., Section 2303.152; and the lienholder(s) nute; and colder agrees to indemning and against all claims. Certificate of Title for the fact and Zip

PWD 309C - A0900 (08/21) Page 2 of 7

Н.	BILL OF SALE [Sales price mus	t be the same as shown on the PWD 143/144.	. Do not include price of trailer.]
	of the undersigned statutory lien	ed above and in accordance with the laws of the holder, for the sum of \$, motor to the highest bidder at said sale, namely	hereby sell and assign the above-
	Name of Purchaser	Street Address	City, State and Zip
	Signature of Seller or Agent (repre	esentative of Vehicle Storage Facility)	
	Subse	cribed and sworn to before me this day o	
	NOTARY SEAL		Month Year
		Notary Publi	ic, County, Texas

I. TRANSFER TITLE OF VESSEL AND/OR OUTBOARD MOTOR.

As the statutory lien holder, it is your responsibility to ensure all required forms and attachments are present and completed correctly. (See the Transfer of Title Checklist – Required Documents on the next page for a complete list of the required forms and attachments to submit.)

For additional information on submitting the transaction, see Step Eight (Section H) – Transfer Title of Vessel and/or Outboard Motor.

If <u>all</u> required documentation is not provided, the asset will <u>not</u> be titled. Tax is due within 45 working days of the date of sale. If not paid within that time, penalty and interest will accrue.

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department maintains the information collected through this form. With few exceptions, you are entitled to be informed about the information we collect. Under Sections 552.021 and 552.023 of the Texas Government Code, you are also entitled to receive and review the information. Under Section 559.004, you are also entitled to have this information corrected.

PWD 309C – A0900 (08/21) Page 3 of 7

AFFIDAVIT OF STATUTORY LIEN FORECLOSURE SALE BY LICENSED VEHICLE STORAGE FACILITY (PWD 309C) Transfer of Title Checklist – Required Documents

Use the following checklist to ensure all required forms and attachments are submitted to transfer title of the vessel and/or

	oard motor:
	PWD 309C - Affidavit of Statutory Lien Foreclosure Sale by Licensed Vehicle Storage Facility for the vessel and/or
.,_	outboard motor (pages one and two of this form);
2)□	PWD 143 - Vessel/Boat Application, and/or PWD 144 - Outboard Motor Application, as appropriate; Application form(s) must be completed in full with the same purchaser name, address, sales date and sales price as shown on
	the second page of this form (PWD 309C – Affidavit of Statutory Lien Foreclosure Sale by Licensed Vehicle Storage Facility). The vehicle storage facility must sign and date the application form(s) as the seller. If the vehicle storage facility receives no bids, or is the highest or only bidder on the vessel and/or outboard motor, the purchase price is considered to be the full amount of the charges due to the facility when calculating sales tax owed. List the amount of charges due in the sales price section of the PWD 143 and/or PWD 144 (section N1), and PWD 309C. When a
3)□	licensed marine dealer purchases a vessel and/or outboard motor at auction, the dealer must pay sales tax if they do not indicate that the vessel and/or outboard motor is for "resale purposes only" on the PWD 143 and/or PWD 144. PWD 504 - Verification of Vessel or Outboard Motor Serial Number; A pencil tracing or legible photograph of the hull
	identification number/motor identification number/serial number on form PWD 504. If the vessel or outboard motor does not have a serial number, inspection by a Game Warden is required.
	Photocopy of newspaper publication of public (foreclosure) sale;
5)□	First notice to all owner(s)* and lienholder(s)* under Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.151, as evidenced by the following:
	☐ Photocopy of notice(s);
	■ Evidence of mailing certified mail with return receipt requested or electronic certified mail. One of the following must be submitted:
	☐ The signed, certified mail return receipt PS form 3811 (original or photocopy of green card); or ☐ Evidence of mailing by certified mail, return receipt requested from the USPS website; or
	☐ Unopened certified letters returned by the post office as undeliverable, unclaimed, or no forwarding address.
	OR
6 \□	* Notice by newspaper publication if unable to obtain title/registration owner verification under Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.152(a) [see item #8 Title/Registration Owner Verification requirements below].
6)山	Notification to Law Enforcement, as evidenced by one of the following:
	□ Dated acknowledgement of the report from the law enforcement agency; or □ Completion of the "Law Enforcement Cortification" on page 3: or
	□ Completion of the "Law Enforcement Certification" on page 2; or □ Evidence of mailing certified mail with return receipt requested or electronic certified mail to the law enforcement
	agency.
7\□	Second notice to all owner(s)* and lienholder(s)* under Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.154(d), as evidenced
, , _	by the following:
	□ Photocopy of notice(s);
	□ Evidence of mailing certified mail with return receipt requested or electronic certified mail. One of the following
	must be submitted:
	☐ The signed, certified mail return receipt PS form 3811 (original or photocopy of green card); or
	□ Evidence of mailing by certified mail, return receipt requested from the USPS website; or
	☐ Unopened certified letters returned by the post office as undeliverable, unclaimed, or no forwarding address. OR
	□ * Notice by newspaper publication if unable to obtain title/registration owner verification under Texas Occupations
	Code, Section 2303.152(a) [see item #8 Title/Registration Owner Verification requirements below].
8)□	Title/Registration Owner Verification, as evidenced by one of the following:
-,-	☐ Written verification from TPWD or state agency of another state.
	OR
	■ Evidence the identity and/or address of the last known owner(s) and lienholder(s) cannot be determined. The following items must be submitted:
	☐ A photocopy of the published notice.
	☐ The original response letter from the appropriate governmental entity advising they are either unwilling or unable to provide information on the last known owner/lienholder of record; or
	☐ A statement on a signed PWD 314 Affidavit of Fact noting that either no response from the governmental entity
	was received on or before the 21st day after the request to the governmental entity was sent or that the identity
	and/or address of the last known owner(s) of record and any lienholder(s) of record cannot be determined; and
	☐ A photocopy of the written request that was submitted to the proper governmental entity as a request under
	Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.152(a)(2) or 2303.1521(b)(1); and
	■ Evidence of mailing certified mail with return receipt requested or electronic certified mail. One of the following must be submitted:

PWD 309C - A0900 (08/21) Page 4 of 7

☐ The signed, certified mail return receipt PS form 3811 (original or photocopy of green card); or ☐ Evidence of mailing by certified mail, return receipt requested from the USPS website; or

☐ Unopened certified letters returned by post office as undeliverable, unclaimed, or no forwarding address.

AFFIDAVIT OF STATUTORY LIEN FORECLOSURE SALE BY LICENSED VEHICLE STORAGE FACILITY (PWD 309C) - Instructions for Statutory Foreclosure Lien Form & Process -

STEP ONE (Section A) - THIS STATUTORY FORECLOSURE LIEN PROCESS CANNOT BE USED IF:

Determine if you (as the statutory lien holder) can use this process to foreclose on the boat and/or motor in your possession. If you do not have one of the items listed, or are unable to perform one of the steps involved, you **cannot** use this process.

STEP TWO (Section B) - GENERAL INFORMATION.

- (1) Select the asset type (vessel and/or outboard motor) that is being foreclosed.
- (2) If a vessel is being foreclosed, include the complete description.
- (3) If an outboard motor is being foreclosed, include the complete description.
- (4) List the name and complete address of the self-service storage facility that is transferring possession to the vehicle storage facility.

STEP THREE (Section C) – VEHICLE STORAGE FACILITY INFORMATION.

- (1) List the name and the license number of the vehicle storage facility.
- (2) List the date that the vessel and/or outboard motor was towed to the vehicle storage facility.
- (3) List the name and complete address of the vehicle storage facility, and the mailing address if it differs from the physical location address.

STEP FOUR (Section D) – TITLE/REGISTRATION OWNER VERIFICATION.

You must obtain the title/registration owner verification in writing from TPWD* or comparable agency from another state. The verification must be either a printout by the state agency or a document on the state agency's letterhead, describing the vessel/outboard motor and listing the owner(s) and the lienholder(s) names and addresses.

- * You can obtain Owner of Record Information free from TPWD through:
- (1) The agency web site at www.tpwd.texas.gov/fishboat/boat/ (select Request Ownership Information listed under Boat Ownership). You will need to provide your name and address and either the TX number or serial number; or
- (2) In person at a TPWD or participating Tax Assessor Collector office, or through the mail, by submitting an Ownership/Lien Holder Information Printout request (form PWD 763).

<u>If this process is used</u>, select "Title/registration owner verification in writing from TPWD or comparable agency from another state is attached".

In the alternative, if you are unable to obtain the above information regarding current owner(s) and lienholder(s) and/or the identity/address of the last known owner(s) and lienholder(s) cannot be determined, you must submit evidence that you have provided notice by publication to the owner(s) and lienholder(s) in accordance with Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.152. The notice must be published once in a newspaper of general circulation in the county in which the vessel/outboard motor is stored. If such notice is used, appropriate evidence must be submitted to TPWD. [See the Transfer of Title Checklist – Required Documents, item #8 for acceptable forms of documented evidence.]

If this process is used, select "Documentation of compliance with Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.152 is attached".

STEP FIVE (Section E) - FORECLOSURE NOTICES AND PUBLIC SALE.

(1) FIRST NOTIFICATION TO OWNER(S) AND LIENHOLDER(S).

List the date the first notice(s) were mailed to all recorded owner(s) and lienholder(s).

Under Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.151, notification must be mailed to all owner(s)* and lienholder(s)* of the vessel and/or outboard motor not later than the fifth day after possession, if the vessel/outboard motor was last registered in Texas. If the vessel/outboard motor was last registered outside Texas, the notice must be sent not later than the 14th day after possession. The notice must include:

- (1) the date the vessel/outboard motor was accepted for storage;
- (2) the first day for which a storage fee is assessed;
- (3) the daily storage rate;
- (4) the type and amount of any other charge to be paid when the vessel/outboard motor is claimed;
- (5) the full name, street address, and telephone number of the vehicle storage facility;
- (6) the hours during which the owner may claim the vessel/outboard motor: and
- (7) the facility license number preceded by "Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation Vehicle Storage Facility License Number" or "TDLR VSF Lic. No."

All notifications must be sent certified mail, return receipt requested, or electronic certified mail, to their respective addresses according to TPWD records or other state's records. Evidence of mailing must be provided to TPWD. [See the Transfer of Title Checklist – Required Documents, item #5 for acceptable forms of documented evidence.]

PWD 309C – A0900 (08/21) Page 5 of 7

- * Notice by newspaper publication may be given if unable to obtain title/registration owner verification [see Step Four (Section D) Title/Registration Owner Verification (second paragraph)]. A notice by publication must include:
- the vessel/outboard motor description;
- (2) the total charges;
- (3) the full name, street address, and telephone number of the facility; and
- (4) the department registration number.

(2) LAW ENFORCEMENT NOTIFICATION.

List the date law enforcement was given notification of abandonment, if applicable.

Under Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.154(a), if a vessel and/or outboard motor is not claimed by a person permitted to claim the asset(s) before the 10th day after the first notification is mailed or published, the operator of the vehicle storage facility shall consider the asset(s) to be abandoned and, if required by the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction where the asset(s) are located, report the abandonment to the law enforcement agency. Evidence of the law enforcement notification must be provided to TPWD. [See the Transfer of Title Checklist – Required Documents, item #6 for acceptable forms of documented evidence.]

(3) SECOND NOTIFICATION TO OWNER(S) AND LIENHOLDER(S).

List the date the second notice(s) were mailed to all recorded owner(s) and lienholder(s).

Under Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.154(d), if the law enforcement agency either did not require notification, or did require notification but took no action, a second notification must be mailed to all owner(s)* and lienholder(s)* of the vessel and/or outboard motor not earlier than the 15th day and not later than 21 days after the first notification is sent. The notice must include:

- (1) the date the vessel/outboard motor was accepted for storage;
- (2) the first day for which a storage fee is assessed;
- (3) the daily storage rate;
- (4) the type and amount of any other charge to be paid when the vessel/outboard motor is claimed;
- (5) the full name, street address, and telephone number of the vehicle storage facility;
- (6) the hours during which the owner may claim the vessel/outboard motor;
- (7) the facility license number preceded by "Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation Vehicle Storage Facility License Number" or "TDLR VSF Lic. No.";
- (8) a statement of the right of the facility to dispose of the vessel/outboard motor under Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.157; and
- (9) a statement that "the failure of the owner or lienholder to claim the vessel/outboard motor before the 30th day after the date the notice is provided is a waiver by that person of all right, title or interest in the vessel/outboard motor and a consent to the sale of the vessel/outboard motor at a public sale."

All notifications must be sent certified mail, return receipt requested, to their respective addresses according to TPWD records or other state's records. Evidence of mailing must be provided to TPWD. [See the Transfer of Title Checklist – Required Documents, item #7 for acceptable forms of documented evidence.]

- * Notice by newspaper publication may be given if unable to obtain title/registration owner verification [see Step Four (Section D) Title/Registration Owner Verification (second paragraph)]. A notice by publication must include:
- (1) the vessel/outboard motor description;
- (2) the total charges;
- (3) the full name, street address, and telephone number of the facility;
- (4) the department registration number; and
- (5) a statement that "the failure of the owner or lienholder to claim the vessel/outboard motor before the date of sale is a waiver by that person of all right, title or interest in the vessel/outboard motor and a consent to the sale of the vessel/outboard motor at a public sale."

(4) NEWSPAPER PUBLICATION OF PUBLIC (FORECLOSURE) SALE.

List the name of the newspaper in which the notice advertising the sale was posted and the date of publication.

The notice advertising the sale must contain a general description (make, TX or serial number, year built) of the property and the time, place and terms of the sale. The advertisement must be published in a newspaper of general circulation. (A copy or proof of the publication must be submitted. Acceptable proof of publication is written documentation provided by the newspaper that provides the date(s) and contents of the publication.)

(5) PUBLIC (FORECLOSURE) SALE.

List the address of the location at which the sale was held and the date of the sale.

Under Texas Occupations Code, Section 2303.157, if the vessel/outboard motor is not claimed by the owner/lienholder(s) or taken into custody by a law enforcement agency before the 30th day after the date the second notice is mailed or published, the vehicle storage facility may sell the vessel/outboard motor at a public sale and apply the proceeds to the charges. If the proceeds of the sale are greater than the amount of the charges, then the vehicle storage facility must pay the excess to the person entitled to them.

PWD 309C – A0900 (08/21) Page 6 of 7

STEP SIX (Section F) - LAW ENFORCEMENT CERTIFICATION.

If evidence of law enforcement notification [see Step Five (Section E) – Foreclosure Notices and Public Sale – (2) Law Enforcement Notification] is unavailable, **one** of the following is required:

- (1) If the law enforcement agency with jurisdiction where the vessel and/or outboard motor are located required the vehicle storage facility to report the abandonment of the asset(s) to the law enforcement agency, but took no action, then the law enforcement agency must complete the applicable certification; or
- (2) If the law enforcement agency did not require notification of abandonment, then the vehicle storage facility must complete the applicable certification.

STEP SEVEN (Section G) - AFFIDAVIT OF REPRESENTATIVE OF STATUTORY LIENHOLDER.

The authorized representative of the statutory lienholder must complete the affidavit in this section attesting that they have complied with all required procedures for the statutory foreclosure lien. The name and complete address of the vehicle storage facility, and the mailing address if it differs from the physical location address, must be listed and the signature of the authorized representative must be notarized.

STEP EIGHT (Section H) - BILL OF SALE.

The authorized representative of the statutory lienholder must complete the bill of sale, including the purchase amount, the purchaser's name and complete address. The sales price must be the same as shown on the PWD 143/144 (do not include the price of the trailer). The signature of the authorized representative must be notarized.

STEP NINE (Section I) - TRANSFER TITLE OF VESSEL AND/OR OUTBOARD MOTOR.

As the statutory lien holder, it is your responsibility to ensure all required forms and attachments are present and completed correctly. In addition to pages 1-3 of this form, the following TPWD forms are required:

- (1) PWD 143 Vessel/Boat Application and/or PWD 144 Outboard Motor Application, as applicable; and
- (2) PWD 504 Verification of Vessel or Outboard Motor Serial Number.

[See the Transfer of Title Checklist – Required Documents on page 4 of this form for a complete list of the required forms and attachments to submit.]

It is strongly recommended that you either:

- (3) meet the purchaser at a TPWD office or participating county tax office to complete the transaction to ensure that the required documents are submitted; or
- (4) submit all documentation, with the required title, registration and sales tax fees, to TPWD or your participating county tax collector on behalf of the purchaser in case of any unresolved issues. To submit the transaction on behalf of the purchaser, you will need to have the purchaser sign a completed Letter of Authorization (PWD 581) form and the PWD 143 and/or PWD 144, or a Limited Power of Attorney (PWD 1055) so you can sign on their behalf.

If <u>all</u> required documentation is not provided, the asset will <u>not</u> be titled. Tax is due within 45 working days of the date of sale. If not paid within that time, penalty and interest will accrue.

PWD 309C – A0900 (08/21) Page 7 of 7