# Where to go

## TPWD REGIONAL LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICES

Brownsville (956) 546-1952 5460 Paredes Line Rd., Suite 201 (78526) Corpus Christi (361) 289-5566 5541 Bear Lane, Suite 232 (78405) Fort Worth (817) 831-3128 5400 Airport Freeway, Suite E (76117) Houston (North) (281) 931-6471 350 N. Sam Houston Pkwy. E., Suite 100 (77060) Lubbock (806) 761-4930 1702 Landmark Lane, Suite 1 (79415) Mt. Pleasant (903) 572-7966 212 South Johnson (75455) Rusk (903) 683-2511 580 West 6th Street (75785) San Angelo (325) 651-4844 3407 South Chadbourne (76903) San Antonio (210) 348-7375 858 West Rhapsody (78216) Temple (254) 778-2851 3615 So. General Bruce Drive (76504)

## **Further Reading**

## BOOKS

- Bartlett, Dick and Joanne Krieger. A Sportsman's Guide to Hunting in Texas. Texas Parks and Wildlife (Library) Press. 1987.
- *Today's Hunter in Texas* (Hunter Education Manual). Kalkomey Enterprises. 2008.
- Leopold, Aldo. A Sand County Almanac. New York: Oxford University Press. 1949.
- Posewitz, Jim. *Beyond Fair Chase*. Falcon Publishing, Inc. Helena, MT. 1994.
- Posewitz, Jim. *Inherit the Hunt*. Falcon Publishing, Inc. Helena, MT. 1999.
- Posewitz, Jim. *Rifle in Hand*. Riverbend Publishing, Helena, MT. 2004.

## MAGAZINES AND PERIODICALS

Hunter's Handbook (TPWD Hunter Education) Texas Fish and Game Texas Parks & Wildlife Texas Sportsman



- Always point the muzzle or nocked arrow in a safe direction
- Treat every firearm or bow with the same respect you would show a loaded gun or nocked arrow
- Be sure of your target-what is in front of and beyond your target
- Unload firearms and unstring conventional bows when not in use
- Handle firearms, arrows and ammunition carefully
- Know your safe zone-of-fire and stick to it
- Control your emotions when it comes to safety
- Wear hearing and eye protection
- Don't drink alcohol or take drugs before or while handling firearms or bow and arrows
- Be aware of additional circumstances which require added caution or safety awareness

For hunter education or bowhunter education course information:

Texas Parks and Wildlife Dept.: (800) 792-1112 www.tpwd.state.tx.us/learning

#### For license sales by phone:

(800) TX LIC 4 U (800-895-4248 ext. 2 - License sales), 24-hrs/day, VISA or MasterCard

Hunting licenses and stamp endorsements are valid from September 1 or the date issued through August 31. Temporary hunting licenses have limited time frames.



4200 Smith School Road Austin, Texas 78744

In accordance with Texas State Depository Law, this publication is available at the Texas State Publications Clearinghouse and/or Texas Depository Libraries.

 $\odot$  2009 TPWD  $\,$  PWD BR K0700-0161 (9/09)  $\,$  Printed on recycled paper.







# **Hunter Education**

Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education training course. Proof of certification or deferral is required to be on your person while hunting. Minimum age of certification is 9 years, and cost is \$15.

If you were born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, and you are:

- under 9 years of age, you must be accompanied\*.
- age 9 through 16, you must successfully complete a hunter education course, or you must be accompanied\*.

 age 17 and over, you must successfully complete a hunter education course; or purchase a "Hunter Education Deferral," and you must be accompanied\*.

### Hunter Education Deferral (cost: \$10)

Allows a person 17 years of age or older who has not completed a hunter education program to defer completion for up to one year. A deferral may only be obtained once and is only valid until the end of the current license year. A person who has been convicted or has received deferred adjudication for violation of the mandatory hunter education requirement is prohibited from applying for a deferral. Take the course by August 31 of the current license year and receive a \$5 discount.

\*Accompanied means: By a person who is at least 17, who is licensed to hunt in Texas, who has passed hunter education or is exempt (born before Sept. 2, 1971), and you must be within normal voice control. Proof of certification or deferral is required to be on your person while hunting.

**Note:** Certification is not required to purchase a hunting license.

#### **Bowhunter Education**

Certification is required on certain areas of Texas (Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge, Pottsboro, and Camp Bullis, San Antonio). Note: Bowhunter education does not substitute for Hunter Education certification.

## **Events**

Annual National Hunting and Fishing Day 4th Saturday in September (statewide)

#### Special Youth Hunting Seasons

www.tpwd.state.tx.us

Texas Parks and Wildlife *Outdoor Annual* (available each year in August for hunting regulations beginning September 1)

## Public Hunting Opportunities

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department www.tpwd.state.tx.us

U.S. Army Corps of Engineers www.corpslakes.usace.army.mil www.swf-wc.usace.army.mil

U.S. Forest Service www.fs.fed.us/r8/texas/

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service www.fws.gov/south

National Park Service www.nps.gov/state/tx/

Federal Hunting Opportunities - General www.recreation.gov

# Hunter Orange

Hunters on public land must visibly wear at least 400 square inches of hunter orange material with orange headwear and at least 144 square inches appearing on both chest and back during daylight hours at times when hunting with firearms is permitted. For more information and exemptions, call (512) 389-4505.

# **Clubs and Associations**

## TEXAS HUNTING CLUBS AND ASSOCATIONS

Texas Wildlife Association (800) 839-9453 Dallas Safari Club (972) 980-9800 Houston Safari Club (713) 623-8844 Texas Game Warden Association (800) 322-8492 Texas State Rifle Association (800) 462-8772 Texas 4-H Shooting Sports (979) 845-5961 Texas Youth Hunting Program (210) 826-2904

### PRIVATE LAND HUNTING LEASE REGISTRIES

"Hunt Texas Online" https://www2.tpwd.state.tx.us/huntwild/hunt/ planning/hunt\_lease

### INTERNATIONAL/NATIONAL ASSOCIATIONS

National Rifle Assoc. (Hunter Services) (703) 267-3785 National Shooting Sports Foundation (203) 426-1320 Women's Shooting Sports Foundation (719) 638-1299 International Hunter Education Assoc. (303) 430-7233 Safari Club International (606) 620-7220 National Skeet Shooting & Sporting Clay Assoc. (National Gun Club) (800) 877-5338 Ducks Unlimited (800) 453-8257 Quail Unlimited (803) 637-5731 Pheasants Forever (877) 773-2070 National Wild Turkey Federation (800) 843-6983 Rocky Mountain Bighorn Society (720) 201-3791 Foundation for North American Wild Sheep (307) 527-6261 Big Horn Society (806) 745-3822



Get free e-mail updates on outdoor news, activities and promotions from Texas Parks and Wildlife, delivered right to your mailbox!

••••> www.tpwd.state.tx.us/email