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For complete regulations, please contact TPWD’s
Wildlife Permits Section at 1-512-389-4585 or toll-free
at 1-800-792-1112, menu 7, option 9.  Contact your
city and county for their rules on holding live wild
animals.

For other information regarding hunting and fishing
regulations, parks, wildlife or other subjects related to
Texas Parks and Wildlife Department, call our toll-free
number: 1-800-792-1112 during the regular business
hours.

At any time of the day or night, Texans may call toll-
free 1-800-792-GAME to report a violation of the
state’s game and fish laws.  A reward may be offered
to eligible callers who provide information which leads
to a conviction.

AFFECTED SPECIES

Frogs and Toads

Couch’s spadefoot (Scaphiopus couchii)
Plains spadefoot (Scaphiopus bombifrons)
Western green toad (Bufo debilis insidior)
Texas toad (Bufo speciosus)
Bull frog (Rana catesbeiana)

Salamanders

Barred tiger (Ambystoma tigrinum mavortium)

Turtles

Desert (western) box (Terrapene ornate luteola)
Ornate box turtle (Terrapene ornate ornate)
Three-toed (Eastern) box (Terrapene carolina triunguis)
Mississippi map (Graptemys pseuogeographica kohnii)
Ouachita map (Graptemys pseudogeographica ouachitensis)
Sabine map (Graptemys pseudogeographica sabinensis)
Texas map turtle (Graptemys versa)
Western chicken turtle (Deirochelys reticularia miaria)
Red-eared slider (Trachemys scripta elegans)
Midland smooth softshell (Apalone mutica mutica)
Texas spiny softshell (Apalone spinifera emoryi)
Guadalupe spiny softshell (Apalone spinifera guadalupensis)
Western spiny softshell (Apalone spinifera hartwegi)
Pallid spiny softshell (Apalone spinifera pallida)
Missouri river cooter (Pseudemys concinna metteri)
Texas river cooter (Pseudemys texana)
Western painted turtle (Chrysemys picta bellii)
Southern painted turtle (Chrysemys picta dorsalis)
Common snapping turtle (Chelydra serpentina serpentina)
Texas diamondback terrapin (Malaclemys terrapin littoralis)

Lizards

Texas banded gecko (Coleonyx brevis)
Southwestern earless (Cophosaurus texanus scitulus)
Roundtail horned lizard (Phrynosoma modestum)
Marbled whiptail (Cnemidophorus marmoratus)

Snakes

Plains garter (Thamnophis radix haydenii)
Prairie ringneck (Diadophis punctatus arnyi)
Western diamondback rattlesnake (Crotalus atrox)
Prairie rattlesnake (Crotalus viridis viridis)
Mottled rock rattlesnake (Crotalus lepidus lepidus)
Banded rock rattlesnake (Crotalus lepidus klauberi)
Northern blacktail rattlesnake (Crotalus molossus)
Western massasauga (Sistrurus catenatus tergeminus)
Desert massasauga (Sistrurus catenatus edwardsii)
Pigmy rattlesnake (Sistrurus miliarius)

Mammals

Black-tailed jack rabbit (Lepus californicus)
Black-tailed prairie dog (Cynomys ludovicianus)
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NEW REGULATION – A person possessing a valid non-
game permit may sell nongame wildlife only to a person
in possession of a valid dealer’s nongame permit.

Resident (Type 548) $18.00
Non-resident (Type 550) $60.00

DEALER’S NONGAME – A person possessing a dealer’s
nongame permit may sell nongame wildlife to anyone.
NEW REGULATION – No person may collect nongame
wildlife and subsequently treat it to create a processed
product for sale, offer for sale, exchange or barter unless
that person possesses a valid dealer’s nongame permit.

Resident (Type 549) $60.00
Non-resident (Type 551) $240.00

HOW TO OBTAIN YOUR
NONGAME PERMIT

NONGAME – These permits may be purchased at any of
the 2,000 locations statewide where licenses are sold.
Licenses are available 24 hours a day by calling 1-800-
895-4248, menu 2, with approved VISA or MasterCard.

DEALER’S NONGAME – An applicant for a dealer’s
nongame permit must submit a completed application
on a form supplied by the department and the nonre-
fundable permit fee.

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

All persons possessing a nongame permit shall maintain
and possess upon their person during permitted activity
a daily log indicating the date, location and number of
specimens of each species collected and/or possessed.
Nongame permittees must also maintain a current daily
record of all sales, to include the permit number of all
nongame dealers purchasing nongame wildlife from the
permittee.

All persons who purchase a dealer’s nongame permit
are required to submit an annual report for the period
of August 1st through July 31st due to the department
by August 15th of each year.  Records must be kept
available for inspection for two years following the
expiration of the permit.

A person possessing a dealer’s nongame permit must
maintain a current daily record of all purchases and
sales, as well as an invoice, receipt or collection log, as
described above, for all nongame specimens in posses-
sion.  A nongame dealer may, through commercial
activity, acquire nongame wildlife only from a person
permitted by TPWD or a lawful out-of-state source. 

DEFINITIONS

CAPTIVE-BRED – Any native Texas wildlife born in
captivity from parents held in captivity.

COMMERCIAL ACTIVITY – The sale, offer for sale,
exchange or barter of nongame wildlife.

POSSESSION – Actual care, custody or control of
nongame wildlife.

RESALE – Any transaction or activity in which a per-
son purchases nongame wildlife or otherwise acquires
nongame wildlife for a consideration and subsequently
transfers or delivers the same nongame wildlife to any
person in exchange for compensation or remuneration
of any kind.

PROCESSED PRODUCT – 
A. Nongame wildlife or parts of nongame wildlife that

have been treated or prepared, by means other than
refrigeration or freezing, to prevent decomposition;
or

B. Parts of nongame wildlife that do not require treat-
ment or preparation to prevent decomposition 
(examples: turtle shells, bones, snake rattles). 

GENERAL REGULATIONS

Nongame regulations have been put into effect to
assess the take and trade of certain nongame animals
in Texas. Hobbyists can still enjoy collecting a wide
variety of species but must obtain a valid nongame
or dealer’s nongame permit from Texas Parks and
Wildlife Department (TPWD) in order to possess more
than 25 specimens of listed nongame wildlife. A valid
nongame or dealer’s nongame permit is required to
sell nongame wildlife. Any person collecting animals
from the wild must also possess a valid Texas hunting
license. 

EXCEPTIONS 

Applicable to nongame wildlife species listed in
§65.331 (relating to Affected Species), living or dead,
including parts of nongame wildlife and captive-bred
nongame wildlife except:

1. The purchase, possession or sale of processed
products (see new regulation under dealer permit);

2. Nongame wildlife held only for educational pur-
poses by teachers at accredited primary or second-
ary educational institutions;

3. Selling nongame wildlife for and ready for immedi-
ate consumption in individual portion servings,
and which are subject to limited sales or use tax;

4. Persons 16 years of age or younger who are not
engaged in commercial activity involving
nongame wildlife; or

5. Aquatic specimens possessed under a valid bait
dealer’s license.

LICENSES

NONGAME – Required to possess nongame wildlife
(any number) for commercial purposes, or to possess
more than 25 specimens of nongame wildlife. 


