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TEXAS PARKS AND WILDLIFE

	 Achieve your management goals
	 Supplement your income
	 Support the hunting heritage of Texas

Lease your land to 
Texas Parks and Wildlife

How can I contact TPWD 
about the Short-Term  
Hunting Lease program? 
Contact Texas Parks and Wildlife Department by:

	 Calling (800) 792-1112, menu 5, selection 1  
or at (512) 389-4505.

	 E-mailing us at hunt@tpwd.state.tx.us 

	 Consulting your local wildlife biologist.

Would Parks and Wildlife be 
interested in my property?  
TPWD does not sign up all property offered 
for lease.  When evaluating potential lease 
sites, preferred properties are generally  
100+ acres in size, provide sufficient food, 
water and cover for wildlife, and are easy to 
access.  Ideal lease sites have a food source 
(such as a sunflowers, croton, grain crops  
or recently fallowed fields) surrounded by 
rangeland.  Planting, harvesting, post-harvest 
cultivation and habitat management also affect 
lease price.  



What is a Short-Term  
Hunting Land Lease? 
It is a contract between Texas Parks and 
Wildlife and a private landowner. The  
landowner agrees to give APH and LPU 
Permit holders access to their land to enjoy 
recreational activities including hunting and 
fishing. Texas Parks and Wildlife pays the 
landowner for this access, sets up an  
information station and posts signs. 

Who can hunt on  
Short-Term Hunting  
Lease lands? 
Only those hunters who purchase the  
APH Permit (approximately 38,000 are sold 
annually statewide) are allowed to hunt.  
Texas Parks and Wildlife biologists or game 
wardens periodically monitor the hunting 
area and are available to hunters and  
landowners.

What are my liability risks?  
The Texas Legislature has enacted  
statutes that offer liability protection  
to landowners that lease recreational 
(including hunting) rights.  

How much does Texas  
Parks and Wildlife pay  
for these leases?
Payments vary widely depending upon 
things such as location, size, habitat  
quality, game species and hunt dates  
provided. Currently, lease prices range 
from about $2 to $10 per acre. Areas  
with high quality managed habitat and  
those within close proximity to  
population centers receive the  
best price.

What is the length of the  
hunt period and leases? 
The length of the lease is negotiable and 
depends on the species being hunted. A  
partial season, multi-seasons and special late 
seasons are all options.  The deadline for 
lease agreements is early June.

What species may be hunted? 
Texas Parks and Wildlife is interested in dove, 
waterfowl (ducks and geese), pheasants, quail, 
feral hog, squirrel and rabbits.


