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Commercial Fishing License Requirements for Holders of  
Permits to Sell Nongame Fish taken from Public Fresh Water 

 

 

A permit to sell nongame fish taken from public fresh water is required for any person to catch for sale, sell or 

offer for sale nongame fish taken from the public fresh water of the state. However, holders of nongame fish 

permits are not exempted from following all applicable regulations regarding bag and slot limits and legal 

freshwater devices, means, and methods.  

 

Additional guidance can be found in the Texas Commercial Fishing Guide, available at Texas Parks and Wildlife 

Department Regional and Field Law Enforcement Offices or online at 

http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/publications/pwdpubs/media/pwd_bk_v3400_0074.pdf.  

 

Holders of nongame fish permits must also hold all applicable commercial fishing licenses. The following 

additional guidance will help you to determine which licenses are needed. For more information, you can also call 

(512) 389-8292.   

 

Catching and Selling Bait Only 

• Permit holder: must have a current Bait Dealer – Individual License (Type 312; $38). This license is 

required for any person who catches, transports or sells his own catch of minnows, fish or other aquatic 

products (except shrimp) for bait. If the permit holder is only catching nongame fish to sell as bait and has 

the Bait Dealer – Individual License, a General Commercial Fisherman’s License is not needed. [A Bait 

Dealer – Business License will not substitute for the Bait Dealer - Individual License!] 

• Assistants: must each also have a current Bait Dealer – Individual License—a General Commercial 

Fisherman’s License will not suffice. 

Catching and Selling Fish Other Than as Bait (e.g.., as food) 

• Permit holder: must have a current General Commercial Fisherman’s License (Type 372 - $26; or 340 if 

non-resident - $189). 

• Assistants: must each also have a current General Commercial Fisherman’s License. 

Catching and Selling BOTH Bait AND Fish Other Than as Bait (e.g.., as food) 

• Permit holder: must have a current Bait Dealer – Individual License (Type 312; $38) AND a current 

General Commercial Fisherman’s License (Type 372 - $26; or 340 if non-resident - $189). [A Bait Dealer 

– Business License will not substitute for the Bait Dealer - Individual License!] 

• Assistants: must each also must have a current Bait Dealer – Individual License (Type 312; $38) AND a 

current General Commercial Fisherman’s License (Type 372 - $26; or 340 if non-resident - $189). 

Additional licenses may be required if the permit holder is a retail or wholesale fish dealer or for boats used for 

commercial fishing purposes. Please refer to the Texas Commercial Fishing Guide or call the phone number 

above for more information. Proof of these licenses will not be requested for issuance of a Nongame Fish Permit. 

http://www.tpwd.state.tx.us/publications/pwdpubs/media/pwd_bk_v3400_0074.pdf

