CWD Check Stations

Valid Sep. 1, 2017 through Aug. 31, 2018.

CWD Check Stations

Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) is a fatal deer disease that has been discovered in white-tailed deer and mule deer in localized portions of Texas. In order to detect and manage this disease, the department has designated CWD zones within which the intact, unfrozen head of any white-tailed or mule deer harvested by a hunter must be presented at a TPWD-designated check station within 48 hours of harvest.

Current CWD zones exist in all or portions of the following counties:

  • Bandera
  • Culberson
  • Dallam
  • Deaf Smith
  • El Paso
  • Hartley
  • Hudspeth
  • Medina
  • Moore
  • Oldham
  • Parmer
  • Potter
  • Randall
  • Sherman
  • Uvalde

See the map of check stations and CWD zones.

Additional regulations may apply and additional zones may be established without prior notice anywhere in the state upon discovery of CWD. The department will make every effort to publicize the designation and location of CWD zones and check stations, as well as any special regulations that may be adopted following the publication of this notice. For additional or updated information visit the CWD informational page, call any TPWD office or call 1-800-792-1112.

Updated May, 2017