Texas Wetlands Discovery Trunk

These trunks contain:

  • lesson plans,
  • books, posters, videos,
  • Texas Amphibian Watch materials (including a frog and toad calls cd-rom),
  • field equipment to guide students in their investigations of wetland habitats.

 

The trunks emphasize hands-on learning both in the classroom and in the field. Suggested activities at different grade levels for a 1- to 3-week study of Texas wetlands are correlated to the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills.

 

Trunk Locations:

City  LocationContactEmail PhoneAddress 
Abilene Region XIV Service Center John Lineweaver jlineweaver@esc14.net 325-675-8667 1850 Highway 351
Abilene 79601
Athens Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center Zoeann Stinchcomb zoeann.stinchcomb@tpwd.texas.gov 903-670-2238 5550FM 2495
Athens 75751
Austin Texas Parks and Wildlife headquarters Robert Ramirez robert2.ramirez@tpwd.texas.gov 512-389-4528 4200 Smith School Rd.
Austin 78744
College Station Texas A&M University - Texas Cooperative Wildlife Collection Heather Prestridge hlprestridge@tamu.edu 979-845-5783 3380 University Dr.
East College Station, 77845
Dickinson TPWD office - Dickinson Marine Lab Greg Akins greg.akins@tpwd.texas.gov 281-534-0123 FM 517 E.
Dickinson 77539
Fort Worth Fort Worth Nature Center Laura Veloz laura.veloz@fortworthgov.org 817-392-7410 9601 Fossil Ridge Rd.
Ft. Worth 76135
Grand Prairie Grand Prairie Environmental Education Center Traci Hollis tracy.hollis@gpisd.org 972-264-8729 x3303 Corn Valley Rd.
Grand Prairie 75052
Grand Prairie Education Specialist-North Texas Keira Quam Keira.quam@tpwd.texas.gov 972-263-0427 (office) 469-644-2705 (state cell) P.O. Box 540066
Grand Prairie, 75054
Houston Sheldon Lake Environmental Ed. Center Tom Olson tom.olson@tpwd.texas.gov 281-456-2800 15315 Beaumont Hwy.
Houston 77049
Humble Jesse Jones Park - Humble Darlene Conley or Lon Goodrum

dconley@hcp4.net or

lgoorun@hcp4.net

281.446.8588 20634 Kenswick Dr.
Humble 77338
Lake Jackson Sea Center Texas Connie Stolte connie.stolte@tpwd.texas.gov 979-292-0100 300 Medical Dr.
Lake Jackson 77566
Laredo Laredo Community College Tom Miller lbvesc@laredo.edu 956-764-5701 West End Washington St.
Laredo 78040
San Antonio San Antonio Judit Green judit.green@tpwd.texas.gov 210-348-6350 134 Braniff Dr.
San Antonio 78216



Back to Top
Back to Top