The Texas Facilities Commission (TFC) has the statutory responsibility for the disposition of surplus property items from state agencies. TFC delegates a portion of their authority to larger agencies in order to accelerate the state’s disposal efforts.
TPWD’s surplus property must first be offered to other state agencies, political subdivisions and assistance organizations during a 10-day SPA advertisement period (see Advertisement to Public Entities). The Department may sell its surplus items to state agencies, political subdivisions and assistance organizations during this period through a direct sale or transfer. Once the advertisement period is complete, unsold items then can then be offered to the general public through one of the following competitive bidding methods:
Important Facts to Know:
- All surplus property is sold "as is, where is" with no expressed or implied warranty or guarantee of merchantability.
- Each sale contains specific terms and conditions which must be followed with no exception.
- Except for direct transfers to state agencies, political subdivisions and assistance organizations, a 7.5 percent purchaser’s fee is collected on all surplus sale transactions.
- In addition to the purchaser’s fee, a buyer must pay any applicable state sales and use tax unless the buyer provides a resale or tax-exempt certificate.
- A 1.5 percent surcharge for the Texas Emissions Reduction Plan (TERP) will be collected for off-road, heavy-duty diesel equipment.
- Texas Parks & Wildlife Code, Chapter 31 Water Safety Act requires that boats and outboard motors be taxed and titled. These fees are not included in the purchase price and will be collected at TPWD prior to release of your purchase. Trailer fees and transfers are to be processed at your local tax office at your expense.
- Failure to abide by the terms and conditions of the sale or retrieve any surplus property you purchased may result in the forfeiture of your funds and the item(s) back to TPWD. This action may negatively impact your ability to receive any future TPWD surplus property items.
- TPWD does not offer computers or computer-related equipment items to the general public for sale. In accordance with state law, these items are transferred to the Texas Department of Criminal Justice Computer Recovery Unit.
- TPWD policy prohibits department employees from buying the Department’s surplus property. However, this restriction does not extend to surplus property sold by other state agencies or political subdivisions.
- *** If for any reason the original title is lost or misplaced by the buyer, a money order will need to be provided to TPWD made payable to TxDMV to reimburse TxDMV fee for a certified certificate of title. ***
- Register to receive TPWD surplus auction notifications.
- Contact TPWD Surplus Property directly via email.