Executive Office

The executive director serves as the agency's chief executive officer and is accountable to the commission for the overall operation of the department and acts as liaison between the commission and the staff in accordance with established policies. He coordinates the development of agency strategy and policy, supervises senior agency management and serves as the senior decision authority. The executive director acts as official representative of the department with the public and has responsibility to ensure compliance with all commission policies and state and federal laws and regulations concerning the department. Is responsible for preparing the budget requirements for the commission to submit to the legislature and for budgetary administration of all appropriations to the department including federal funds.

The executive director has management and oversight of a very diverse agency consisting of thirteen divisions with a wide variety of programs, facilities and services. Executive staff coordinates all activities related to the commission, legislature, and foundation. This office includes both internal audit and internal investigation functions. Executive office staff receives and coordinates all incoming correspondence and most public contact.

Headquarters Location

4200 Smith School Road
Austin, TX 78744


Carter Smith
Executive Director
(512) 389-4802
(512) 389-4814 Fax

Executive Office

The executive office acts as the liaison between the Commission and Departmental staff in accordance with established policies and is responsible for the overall operation of the Department.

  • Clayton Wolf
    Chief Operating Officer
    (512) 389-8558
    • Allison Winney
      Intergovernmental Affairs
      (512) 389-4530
    • David Eichler
      Intergovernmental Affairs
      (512) 463-0840
    • Cidney Sunvison
      Intergovernmental Affairs
      (512) 389-4420
    • Jonathan Gray
      Internal Affairs Director
      (512) 389-4440
    • Mike Durand
      Internal Affairs
      (512) 389-4521
    • Patty Vela
      Staff Services Officer
      (512) 389-4458
    • Ann Bright
      Special Assistant to the ED and COO
      (512) 389-8550
    • Brandy Meeks
      Internal Audit
      (512) 389-4422
    • Dee Halliburton
      Executive Assistant
      (512) 389-4802
    • Caroline Brewton
      Executive Staff
      (512) 389-4804
    • Laurie Brown
      Executive Staff
      (512) 389-4898
    • David Buggs
      Chief Diversity and Inclusion Officer
      (512) 389-8595
    • Tammy Dunham
      Purchasing & Contracting Director
      (512) 389-4752