Join the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department for an evening celebrating 26th annual Lone Star Land Stewards and their achievements in conservation.

The Lone Star Land Steward Awards recognize and honor private landowners for their accomplishments in habitat management and wildlife conservation.

Lone Star Land Steward Awards recognizes private landowners in Texas for their exemplary contributions to land, water, and wildlife stewardship. With 95% of the land in Texas under private ownership, the conservation and stewardship efforts of landowners are of vital importance to all Texans. We believe that celebrating the proud legacy, culture and heritage of stewardship in our state is of equal importance.

Funding from the Lone Star Land Steward Awards supports TPWD’s Private Lands Program. This program enables TPWD field staff and partners to strategically apply habitat conservation on private lands making a real and lasting impact on the conservation of Texas’ lands, waters and wildlife.


Launched in 1996, the Lone Star Land Steward Awards are part of the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department’s Private Lands Program. The awards program is designed to educate landowners and the public and to encourage participation in habitat conservation through the following objectives:



Leopold Conservation Award


Winner Selection

Ecoregion Award

Leopold Conservation Award

Special Category Awards

These special categories allow an opportunity for those individuals and organizations that do not fit the mold of a traditional ecoregion nominee to be recognized for their exemplary private land stewardship efforts. Special categories considered for recognition are:

Award Recognition

Ecoregion Award Winners

The Ecoregion Award winner from each ecoregion will receive:

Leopold Conservation Award Winners

The Leopold Conservation Award is presented to the overall winner of the Lone Star Land Steward Awards Recognition Program. The Leopold Conservation Award winner will receive:

Special Category Winners