Lone Star Land Steward Awards

Thursday, May 27, 2021 — Hyatt Regency Austin

Join the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department for and evening celebrating the 25th annual Lone Star Land Stewards and their achievements in conservation.

The annual Lone Star Land Steward Awards program recognizes and honors private landowners for their contributions to land, water and wildlife stewardship. More than 95 percent of land in Texas is privately owned or managed making private landowners effors important to all of us.

Established in 1996, the annual Lone Star Land Steward Awards is part of the Private Lands Program at TPWD. The Awards program is designed to educate landowners and the public and to encourage participation in habitat conservation.


Recognize private landowners for excellence in habitat management and wildlife conservation on their lands.

Publicize the best examples of sound natural resource management practices.

Encourage youth education and participation in promoting responsible habitat management and improved ecosystem health.

Promote long-term conservation of unique natural and cultural resources.

Promote ecosystem awareness and acknowledge the best conservation practices in the ecological regions of Texas.

Enhance relationships between private landowners and Texas' natural resource agencies.

Illustrate the important role of Texas' private landowners in the future of our natural resources.



Leopold Conservation Award


Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
Executive Director
c/o Justin Dreibelbis, PLPH Program Director

4200 Smith School Road
Austin, Texas 78744

Winner Selection

Ecoregion Award

Leopold Conservation Award

Special Category Awards

These special categories allow an opportunity for those individuals and organizations that do not fit the mold of a traditional ecoregion nominee to be recognized for their exemplary private land stewardship efforts. Special categories considered for recognition are:

Award Recognition

Ecoregion Award Winners

The Ecoregion Award winner from each ecoregion will receive:

Leopold Conservation Award Winners

The Leopold Conservation Award is presented to the overall winner of the Lone Star Land Steward Awards Recognition Program. The Leopold Conservation Award winner will receive:

Special Category Winners