Note: This item is more than a year old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references.

PrintPlain TextPermalink

News Release
Media Contact:
TPWD News,, 512-389-8030

July 30, 2018

Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame Nominations Accepted Through Nov. 1

ATHENS — The Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame committee is seeking nominations for next year’s hall of fame winners through Nov. 1, 2018.

“Since 1997, the Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame has recognized 34 outstanding individuals and organizations for their contributions to Texas fishing,” said Dan Kessler, TFF Hall of Fame Committee Chair. “There are undoubtedly many, many more who deserve recognition for their efforts. Please help raise their profile by nominating them for the Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame.”

The nominees will be evaluated by the 10 members of the Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame committee made up of anglers, industry professionals and organizations in Texas freshwater fishing. Inductees will be chosen based on the following criteria: ethics, leadership and commitment, unselfish contributions to the sport, scope of impact on freshwater fishing and fishing/fisheries management expertise and impact.

The winners will be announced in Spring 2019 and will be presented with their awards in a special ceremony during Toyota Bassmaster Texas Fest, a Bassmaster Elite Series tournament held May 2-6, 2019.

“This year we were thrilled to formally induct our 2018 winners on stage at one of the most exciting bass fishing events in Texas,” Kessler said. “We are excited to continue that tradition moving forward, and we look forward to reviewing all of this year’s nominations and welcoming the winners on stage surrounded by Texas fishing fans and professionals again next year.”

The most recent inductees to the Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame include Shannon Tompkins and Lake Fork Sportsman’s Association in 2018; and Bobby Whiteside and Gulf States Toyota in 2017.

The Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame is housed at the Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center in Athens. Its mission is to “recognize and honor those who have made a lasting contribution to freshwater fishing in Texas, and to foster a sense of appreciation, awareness and participation in the sport of fishing.”

Nomination forms and instructions are available online or by calling (903) 676-2277.

Videos highlighting the 2018 TFF Hall of Fame winners can be found on the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department’s YouTube Channel under the titles: Shannon Tompkins inducted into 2018 Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame and Lake Fork Sportsman’s Association inducted into 2018 Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame.


More Information:

Publication — Permission is granted to publish, in whole or in part, any news releases on this page.

Print — A print-friendly version of the news release shows only the release with font sizes set to the browser default.

Plain Text — Plain text versions of TPWD news releases are provided for copying and pasting into editing software.

To copy text into an editing software:

  • Click a Plain Text link to display the plain text page in your browser.
  • Select all.
  • Copy.
  • Paste in a document in your editing program.

Permalink — This is a direct link to the news release, omitting the navigation context from the URI.

English/Spanish — News releases posted in both English and Spanish have one of these links.

If you have any suggestions for improving these pages, send an e-mail to and mention Plain Text Pages.