New This Year: Hunting

Effective September 1, 2017

  • The Special White-Winged Dove Area now includes all of the South Zone. The daily bag limit for the new Special White-Winged Dove Days in the South Zone is 15 birds with no more than two mourning or white-tipped doves. Hunting hours for these days are from noon to sunset during the first two weekends in September. Dates and zone map

Effective September 1, 2016

  • Longest dove seasons in all zones in over 80 years, an increase from 70 days to 90 days.
  • Season dates in North and South Duck Zones and West Goose Zones changed.
  • Potential additional areas added for mandatory Chronic Wasting Disease testing of hunter killed white-tailed deer and mule deer. For details see the CWD informational page.
  • “Special Late Antlerless and Spike-buck Season” replaced with a “Special Late Season” for antlerless deer and “unbranched antlered bucks.”
  • Youth may harvest antlerless deer without a permit on U.S. Forest Service Lands during youth-only seasons.
  • White-tailed deer general and special archery-only seasons in 14 additional Panhandle counties.
  • Additional “doe days” in 26 East Texas counties.
  • Muzzleloader-only late season in 32 additional counties.

Effective September 1, 2015

  • Eastern turkey season is closed in 11 counties and on national forest lands in Jasper County.
  • Eastern turkeys now reported electronically.
  • Mandatory harvest reporting will no longer be required in Wharton and Matagorda Counties during the 30-day spring turkey season, which opens there April 1.
  • Youth-only late turkey season is expanded by 12 days in counties having a fall Rio Grande turkey season, to run 14 days concurrently with late youth-only white-tailed deer season.

Outdoor Annual Sponsor

Outdoor Annual Advertisers

Spotlight on TPWD