Regular (Daily) Permit Hunts
Public Hunting in Texas 2020-2021
A Regular Permit is available for certain small game and waterfowl hunts in specific areas on a first-come first-served basis.
A $20 fee is charged for each Regular Permit issued; however, the fee will be waived for youth hunters under age 17 and for persons possessing an Annual Public Hunting Permit.
A valid hunting license and any required stamp endorsements are required to participate in these hunts.
All participants must check in and out each day at the Wildlife Management Area (WMA) or State Park (SP) check station before entering the hunt area and before leaving for the day.
The check station will open one hour before legal shooting hours; except on waterfowl hunts, when the station will open approximately two hours before legal shooting hours.
The Texas Parks & Wildlife Department reserves the right to limit the number of hunters, cancel or modify hunts or hunt dates, alter bag limits or modify hunt procedures at any time to address resource and safety concerns.
Refer to the Prohibited Acts on Public Hunting Lands section on the "What you need to Know" web page for additional information and restrictions.
Youth and Youth/Adult Hunts by Regular Permit
There is no minimum age to participate in these hunts. Youth must be accompanied by a supervising adult who is 18 years of age or older.
Youth hunts are designated as either Youth Only or Youth/Adult. During Youth Only Hunts, only the youth is authorized to hunt. During Youth/Adult Hunts, both youth and adults may hunt and require that each hunting party have at least one hunting youth under 17 years of age.
Reminder: vaccination of hunting dogs against rabies is required by the Department of State Health Services, and owners must be able to show documentation of current vaccinations whenever the animal is transported.
Hunts Available by Regular Permit
Copper Breaks State Park
Dates: September 5 to 26, 12 to 13, 19 to 20 and 26 to 27.
Bag Limit: bag and possession limits for dove corresponds to limits during the Regular Season.
Requirements: Hunts are limited to 10 hunters per weekend.
Shooting Hours: noon to sunset.
Call the Copper Brakes SP at (940) 839-4331
Huntsville State Park
Dates: December 2 and 3.
Bag Limit: bag and possession limits correspond to limits for squirrel in Walker County.
Means: Shotguns with no larger than #4 lead shot are the only legal means allowed.
Restrictions: use of dogs is prohibited.
Notes: Park is closed to public during these hunts.
Shooting Hours: 30 minutes before sunrise to noon.
Call the Huntsville SP at (936) 295-5644.
Resaca de la Palma State Park
Dates: September 5, 6, 7 and 8.
Bag Limit: bag and possession limits correspond to limits during the Special Season in the Special White-winged Dove Area.
Shooting Hours: noon to sunset.
Dates: September 26 to 27.
Bag Limit: bag and possession limits for dove correspond to limits in the South Zone Dove Season.
Restrictions: Hunters will enter hunting area through the south gate only.
Notes: Park will remain open.
Shooting Hours: 30 minutes before sunrise to sunset.
Call the Resaca de la Palma SP at (956) 350-2920.