Lone Star Land Steward Awards

To insure the safety of awardees, staff and partners during the current public health situation, the May 20, 2020 Ceremony has been cancelled. The next LSLS banquet will take place Spring 2021.

Celebrating 25 Years of Private Land Stewardship and excellence in Private Land Conservation. Established in 1996, the annual Lone Star Land Steward Awards recognizes and honors private landowners in Texas for their contributions to natural resource conservation and management.

Private landowners are the key to effective habitat management in Texas, since 95 percent of Texas is privately-owned or operated. The Lone Star Land Steward Awards program recognizes and honors private landowners for their accomplishments in habitat management and wildlife conservation. The program is designed to educate landowners and the public and to encourage participation in habitat conservation.


To recognize private landowners for excellence in habitat management and wildlife conservation on their land.

To publicize the best examples of sound natural resource management practices.

To encourage youth education and participation in promoting responsible habitat management and improved ecosystem health.

To promote long-term conservation of unique natural and cultural resources.

To promote ecosystem awareness and acknowledge the best conservation practices in the ecological regions of Texas.

To enhance relationships between private landowners and Texas' natural resource agencies.

To illustrate the important role of Texas' private landowners in the future of our natural resources.



Leopold Conservation Award


Texas Parks and Wildlife Department
Executive Director
c/o Justin Dreibelbis, PLPH Program Director

4200 Smith School Road
Austin, Texas 78744

Winner Selection

Ecoregion Award

Leopold Conservation Award

Special Category Awards

These special categories allow an opportunity for those individuals and organizations that do not fit the mold of a traditional ecoregion nominee to be recognized for their exemplary private land stewardship efforts. Special categories considered for recognition are:

Award Recognition

Ecoregion Award Winners

The Ecoregion Award winner from each ecoregion will receive:

Leopold Conservation Award Winners

The Leopold Conservation Award is presented to the overall winner of the Lone Star Land Steward Awards Recognition Program. The Leopold Conservation Award winner will receive:

Special Category Winners