Fishing Endorsements, Tags & Permits

Freshwater Fishing Endorsement

Required in addition to a valid fishing license if you take or attempt to take fish in the public fresh waters of Texas. If you are not required to hold a fishing license, this endorsement is not required. This endorsement is automatically included as part of the freshwater package, all-water fishing package, lifetime combination and lifetime fishing license.

Freshwater Fishing Endorsement
Endorsement Eligibility Item Fee Availability
Freshwater Fishing Endorsement Texas resident and non-resident 256 $5 Buy online or Find a retailer

Saltwater Fishing Endorsement

Required in addition to a valid fishing license if you take or attempt to take fish in the public salt water of Texas. If you are not required to hold a fishing license, this endorsement is not required. A red drum tag will be issued at no additional charge with each saltwater fishing endorsement. This endorsement is automatically included as part of the saltwater package, all-water fishing package, lifetime combination and lifetime fishing license.

Saltwater Fishing Endorsement
Endorsement Eligibility Item Fee Availability
Saltwater Fishing Endorsement Texas resident and non-resident 211 $10 Buy online or Find a retailer

Red Drum Tag

Required to take one red drum longer than 28 inches per license year. Included with the purchase of a saltwater fishing endorsement or any package that includes the saltwater fishing endorsement. See tagging information.

Red Drum Tag
Tag Eligibility Item / Fee / Availability
Red Drum Tag Texas resident and non-resident Included in package

One-Day Red Drum Tag

Required to take one red drum longer than 28 inches per license year. Included with the purchase of a One-day All-Water Fishing License. See tagging information.

One-Day Red Drum Tag
Tag Eligibility Item / Fee / Availability
One-Day Red-Drum Tag Texas resident and non-resident Included in package

Exempt Angler Tag

Anglers who want a red drum tag and are exempt from fishing license requirements may purchase an Exempt Angler Tag.

Exempt Angler Tag
Tag Eligibility Item Fee Availability
Exempt Angler Tag Texas resident and non-resident 257 $3 Buy online or Find a retailer

Bonus Red Drum Tag

Required to take an additional red drum longer than 28 inches per license year. Can be purchased at any license sales location. Only one allowed per angler per year.

Bonus Red Drum Tag
Tag Eligibility Item Fee Availability
Bonus Red Drum Tag Texas resident and non-resident 599 $3 Buy online or Find a retailer

Saltwater Trotline Tag

Required for each 300 feet, or fraction thereof, on all non-commercial trotlines and sail lines placed in the coastal waters of Texas. Available at TPWD Coastal Law Enforcement offices.

Saltwater Trotline Tag
Tag Eligibility Item Fee Availability
Saltwater Trotline Tag Texas resident and non-resident 307 $5 Purchase at a TPWD coastal law enforcement sales office

Individual Bait-shrimp Trawl Tag

Required for trawls used to take shrimp for any purpose under a recreational license. Available at TPWD Coastal Law Enforcement offices.

Individual Bait-shrimp Trawl Tag
Tag Eligibility Item Fee Availability
Individual Bait-shrimp Trawl Tag Texas resident and non-resident 334 $37 Purchase at a TPWD coastal law enforcement sales office

Limited Public Use Permit

Required to fish on public hunting land areas. Full details on the Limited Public Use Permit.

Limited Public Use Permit
Permit Eligibility Item Fee Availability
Limited Public Use Permit Texas resident and non-resident 175 $12 Buy online or Find a retailer