Hunting Licenses, Stamps & Permits

All hunting licenses are valid from date of purchase until August 31 unless otherwise noted. In addition to a hunting license, additional endorsements may be required. For specific information on Lifetime, Disabled Veteran, Texas resident active duty military, and Combination licenses, view combination hunting and fishing licenses packages.

Exceptions

A hunting license is required of any person (resident or nonresident), of any age, to hunt any animal, bird, frog or turtle in this state, except the following:

  • coyotes, if the coyotes are attacking, about to attack, or have recently attacked livestock, domestic animals, or fowl.
  • depredating feral hogs, if a landowner (resident or non- resident) or landowner’s agent or lessee is taking feral hogs causing depredation on the landowner’s land.
  • fur-bearing animals, if the hunter possesses a commercial trapper’s license.
  • depredating fur-bearing animals, if a landowner (resident or non-resident) or landowner’s agent is taking fur-bearing animals causing depredation on the landowner’s land. No portion of the nuisance fur-bearer may be possessed, sold or retained for any purpose.

All laws and regulations governing hunter education requirements still apply.

Purchase a hunting license »

Youth Hunting License

License Package Item Fee Description
Youth Hunting License 169 $7 Valid for any person, resident or non-resident, under 17 years of age at the date of license purchase. Exempt from state hunting endorsement requirements, except for Reptile and Amphibian Endorsement. State endorsement exemptions remain valid for the entire license year.

Resident Licenses

Resident Hunting Licenses

License Package Item Fee Description
Resident Hunting 101 $25 Valid to hunt any legal bird or animal (terrestrial vertebrates). Endorsement requirements apply. Required of any resident unless the resident possesses a valid:
  • Senior Resident Hunting License;
  • Youth Hunting License;
  • Super Combo or Resident Combination Hunting and Fishing License Package;
  • Lifetime Resident Hunting License;
  • Disabled Veteran Super Combo Hunting and Fishing License Package;
  • Lifetime Resident Combination Hunting and Fishing License; or
  • Texas Resident Active Duty Military Hunting Package
  • Texas Resident Active Duty Military Super Combo Hunting and Fishing License Package.
Senior Resident Hunting 102 $7 Valid only for residents 65 years of age and older. Valid to hunt any legal bird or animal. Endorsement requirements apply.
Youth Hunting License 169 $7 Valid for any person, resident or non-resident, under 17 years of age at the date of license purchase. Exempt from state hunting endorsement requirements, except for Reptile and Amphibian Endorsement. State endorsement exemptions remain valid for the entire license year.
Resident Trapper's 106 $19 Required for all persons to hunt, shoot or take for sale those species classified as fur-bearing animals or their pelts. (See Nongame and Other Species and Fur-Bearing Animal Regulations for more information.)

Super Combo Hunting and All-Water Fishing Package

For residents who hunt and fish freshwater and/or salt water, the “Super Combo” package can save purchasers up to $18. It includes the following at a discount price:

  • a Resident Hunting License,
  • a Resident Fishing License
  • and all 5 state endorsements (archery, freshwater fishing, saltwater fishing with a red drum tag, upland game bird and migratory game bird).
  • The Federal Duck Stamp is not included.
License Package Item Fee Description
“Super Combo” License Package 111 $68 n/a
Senior “Super Combo” 117 $32 (for age 65 and over)
Disabled Veteran “Super Combo” 502 free Available to a resident or non-resident qualifying as a disabled veteran. Disabled veteran means a veteran with a service-connected disability, as defined by the Veterans Administration, consisting of the loss of the use of a foot or leg or a disability rating of 50% or more, and who is receiving compensation from the U.S. for the disability. Official proof of disability (issued by the V.A.) must be shown when applying for this license and must state the rate of disability. Includes all five state endorsements (archery, freshwater fishing, migratory game bird, saltwater fishing with a red drum tag, and upland game bird). The Federal Duck Stamp is not included.
Texas Resident Active Duty Military “Super Combo” 510 free Available to any Texas resident on active duty in the U.S. Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, Coast Guard, Reserves or National or State Guard. Proof of residency for this license is: military service record(s) indicating that the person’s home of record is in Texas or that the person’s duty station for the six months immediately prior to the time of application is in Texas.
Texas Resident Active Duty Military Hunting Package 512 free Available to any Texas resident on active duty in the U.S. Army, Navy, Marines, Air Force, Coast Guard, Reserves or National or State Guard. This package includes a resident hunting license and 3 state endorsements (archery, upland game bird and migratory game bird). NOTE: The Federal Duck Stamp is NOT included. Proof of residency for this license is: military service record(s) indicating that the person’s home of record is in Texas or that the person’s duty station for the six months immediately prior to the time of application is in Texas.

Combo License Package

The “Combo” packages include:

  • a Resident Hunting License,
  • a Resident Fishing License
  • and either the saltwater endorsement (with a red drum tag), freshwater endorsement or both, depending on the specific package purchased.
License Package Item Fee Description
Resident Combination Hunting and Freshwater Fishing 503 $50 n/a
Resident Combination Hunting and Saltwater Fishing 504 $55 n/a
Resident Combination Hunting and All-Water Fishing 505 $60 n/a
Senior Resident Combination Hunting and Freshwater Fishing 506 $16 (for age 65 and over)
Senior Resident Combination Hunting and Saltwater Fishing 507 $21 (for age 65 and over)
Senior Resident Combination Hunting and All-Water Fishing 508 $26 (for age 65 and over)

Residents who purchase “Combo” packages specific to either salt or freshwater fishing may upgrade to the All-Water package through the purchase of the endorsement not included in the initial license package purchased.

Lifetime Licenses

Lifetime License Information

Residents may buy hunting and fishing licenses valid for the lifetime of the license holder. The holder of a lifetime license is exempt from all state endorsement requirements except the Reptile and Amphibian endorsement; however, the red drum license tag and federal duck stamp requirements still apply. Not valid for commercial trapping.

Beginning August 15th of each license year, existing lifetime license holders may obtain current year tags immediately, at no fee, at any one of our license agents located across the state. A Request for Lifetime License Tags may also be printed.

Applications for lifetime licenses may be obtained:

Lifetime licenses are only available for sale from the TPWD Austin Headquarters and TPWD Law Enforcement Offices.

License Package Item Fee
Lifetime Resident Combination Hunting and Fishing 980 $1,800
Lifetime Resident Hunting 981 $1,000
Lifetime Resident Fishing 982 $1,000
Upgrade from Lifetime Resident Hunting to Combination Hunting and Fishing 983 $800
Upgrade from Lifetime Resident Fishing to Combination Hunting and Fishing 984 $800

Lifetime License Drawing

Enter to win a Lifetime Super Combo license in TPWD's Lifetime License Drawing.

Non-Resident Licenses

Valid only to hunt banded game birds (bobwhite quail, partridge, pheasant, mallard ducks) on private bird hunting areas. Upland and Migratory Game Bird endorsement requirements apply.

License Package Item Fee Description
Non-resident General Hunting 105 $315 Valid to hunt any legal bird or animal (including deer). Endorsement requirements apply.
Non-resident Spring Turkey 118 $126– Available after February 1st Valid to hunt turkey only during the open spring turkey season. Holders of this license are exempt from the upland game bird endorsement requirements. (Unlawful to possess both this license and a valid Non-Resident General Hunting License.)
Non-resident Special Hunting 107 $132 Valid to hunt:
  • Exotic animals,
  • all legal game birds (not valid for turkey)
  • all nongame animals, squirrel, javelina and alligator (not valid for other game animals, not valid for deer).
Endorsement requirements apply.
Non-resident 5-Day Special Hunting 157 $48 Legal for any period of 5 consecutive days (valid hunting dates will be printed on the license when issued). Valid to hunt:
  • exotic animals,
  • all legal game birds (except turkeys),
  • all nongame animals, squirrel, javelina and alligator (not valid for other game animals, not valid for deer).
Endorsement requirements apply
Non-resident Banded Bird Hunting 120 $27 Valid only to hunt banded game birds (bobwhite quail, partridge, pheasant, mallard ducks) on private bird hunting areas. Upland and Migratory Game Bird endorsement requirements apply.
Non-resident Trapper's 115 $315 Required for all persons to hunt, shoot or take for sale those species classified as fur-bearing animals or their pelts. (See Nongame and Other Species and Fur-Bearing Animal Regulations for more information.)
Disabled Veteran Super Combo Hunting and All-Water Fishing Package 502 free Available to a resident or non-resident qualifying as a disabled veteran. Disabled veteran means a veteran with a service-connected disability, as defined by the Veterans Administration, consisting of the loss of the use of a foot or leg or a disability rating of 50% or more, and who is receiving compensation from the U.S. for the disability. Official proof of disability (issued by the V.A.) must be shown when applying for this license and must state the rate of disability. Includes all five state endorsements (archery, freshwater fishing, migratory game bird, saltwater fishing with a red drum tag, and upland game bird). The Federal Duck Stamp is not included.

Hunting Lease License

Item Fee Description
132 $79 small: 1 - 499 acres
133 $147 medium: 500 - 999 acres
134 $252 large: 1,000 acres or more

Required of a landowner or landowner's agent who leases hunting rights to another person on property they own or control for pay or other consideration. The license must be displayed on the property. Note: Hunting lease license record book no longer required.

Permits, Certifications & Stamps

135$7Required to hunt deer or turkey during an Archery-Only open season. Required to hunt deer at any time in Collin, Dallas, Grayson or Rockwall counties

Permit Item Fee Description
Federal Sandhill Crane Hunting Permit 590 free This permit is required to hunt sandhill cranes. The permit can be obtained:
  • in person ONLY at TPWD Law Enforcement offices and TPWD headquarters in Austin
  • by phone at (800) 792-1112, #4820 or (512) 389-4820, 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday through Friday
  • online any time - a $5 administrative fee will be charged for online orders.
For phone and online orders, a transaction receipt will be issued in lieu of a permit. Permittees should keep a record of hunting activities because 26% of crane hunters are chosen for a federal harvest survey
Harvest Information Program (HIP) Certification 137 free This certification is required to hunt any migratory game bird.
Experimental Pronghorn Antelope Permit n/a free This permit is required to hunt buck pronghorn antelope on certain properties.

Special Note: Except for the Reptile and Amphibian Stamp (see below), state stamp endorsements are not required for anyone under 17 years of age (resident or non-resident), holders of Lifetime Resident Combination or Lifetime Resident Hunting licenses. The youth hunting license and state stamp exemptions remain valid for the entire license year.

Archery Endorsement 135 $7 Required to hunt deer or turkey during an Archery-Only open season. Required to hunt deer at any time in Collin, Dallas, Grayson or Rockwall counties.
Texas Migratory Game Bird Endorsement 168 $7 Required to hunt any migratory game bird (waterfowl, coot, rail, gallinule, snipe, dove, sandhill crane and woodcock). A valid Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp and HIP Certification are also required of waterfowl hunters 16 years of age or older. A free Federal Sandhill Crane Hunting Permit is required to hunt sandhill cranes. The permit is available:
  • in person only at TPWD Law Enforcement offices,
  • online,
  • or by phone: (800) 792-1112.
Upland Game Bird Endorsement 167 $7 Required to hunt turkey, pheasant, quail or chachalaca. Non-residents who purchase the Non-resident Spring Turkey License are exempt from this endorsement requirement. May not be used to hunt turkey with a Non-resident Special Hunting License (Type 107) or a Non-resident 5-Day Special Hunting License (Type 157).
Federal Migratory Bird Hunting and Conservation Stamp (Duck Stamp) n/a $25, plus fulfillment fee Required for all waterfowl hunters 16 years of age or older; available at most U.S. Post Offices, TPWD Law Enforcement offices, Austin headquarters and all license retail sales locations. The stamp must be signed on its face by the person using it. A valid hunting license, HIP Certification and a valid Texas Migratory Game Bird Endorsement are also required.
Reptile and Amphibian Endorsement 178 $10 Required for any person to capture indigenous reptiles or amphibians on the shoulder of a public road or any unpaved area of a public right of way. Holders of lifetime licenses and persons under 17 years of age are not exempt from this endorsement.

Hunter Education

Hunter Education Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after September 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education Training Course.

Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after September 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education Training Course.

  • Proof of certification or deferral is required to be on your person while hunting.
  • Minimum age of certification is 9 years.
  • Single-day in-person course cost is $15.
  • Persons 17 years of age and older have the option of taking the course in person or online.
  • *The cost of an approved online course varies by provider.
  • Call (800) 792-1112 or visit the TPWD Hunter Education webpage for information about various course options.

If you were born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, and you are

  • under 9 years of age, you must be accompanied.*
  • age 9 through 16, you must successfully complete a hunter education course or be
  • age 17 and over, you must successfully complete a hunter education course; or purchase a “Hunter Education Deferral” and be accompanied.*
Course Item Course fee Description
Hunter Education n/a $15* Every hunter (including out-of-state hunters) born on or after September 2, 1971, must successfully complete a Hunter Education Training Course.
  • Proof of certification or deferral is required to be on your person while hunting.
  • Minimum age of certification is 9 years.
  • Single-day in-person course cost is $15.
  • Persons 17 years of age and older have the option of taking the course in person or online.
  • *The cost of an approved online course varies by provider.
  • Call (800) 792-1112 or visit the TPWD Hunter Education webpage for information about various course options.
If you were born on or after Sept. 2, 1971, and you are
  • under 9 years of age, you must be accompanied.*
  • age 9 through 16, you must successfully complete a hunter education course or be
  • age 17 and over, you must successfully complete a hunter education course; or purchase a “Hunter Education Deferral” and be accompanied.*
Hunter Education Deferral 135 $10 Allows a person 17 years of age or older who has not completed a hunter education program to defer completion for up to one year. A deferral may only be obtained once and is only valid until the end of the current license year. A person who has been convicted or has received deferred adjudication for violation of the mandatory hunter education requirement is prohibited from applying for a deferral.

* "Accompanied" means: By a person (resident or non-resident) who is at least 17, who is licensed to hunt in Texas, who has passed hunter education or is exempt (born before Sept. 2, 1971), and within normal voice control.

Note: Certification is not required to purchase a hunting license.

Bowhunter Education: Certification is required on the Hagerman National Wildlife Refuge, Pottsboro.

Note: Bowhunter education does not substitute for Hunter Education certification.

For course information, please consult TPWD Hunter Education or call toll-free (800) 792-1112 (menu 6) or call (512) 389-4999.