Presenter: Scott Boruff
John Montford

Commission Agenda Item No. 2
State Parks
State Parks Advisory Committee Report
August 2006

I. Executive Summary: The State Parks Advisory Committee (SPAC) was established by Commission rule in late 2005. In early 2006, Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission Chairman Joseph Fitzsimons appointed members to the SPAC and charged the committee with exploring funding options for the state parks system among other things. The SPAC's recommendations will be presented to the Commission.

II. Discussion The State Parks Advisory Committee is composed of a diverse group of individuals with interests and background in state finance, tourism, recreation and local parks. The SPAC is chaired by former Texas State Senator John T. Montford who will formally present the committee's recommendations to the Commission. The members of the SPAC are as follows: