Statewide Changes to Spotted Seatrout Regulations to go in Effect March 26, Public Comment Portal for Tag System now Open

Media Contact: TPWD News Business Hours, 512-389-8030

News Image Share on Facebook Share Release URL

Note: This item is more than a month old. Please take the publication date into consideration for any date references.

AUSTIN – Rule changes to bag and size limits for spotted seatrout will go into effect March 26 across the Texas coast. The new statewide changes consist of the following:

  • Three fish daily bag limit per angler
  • A minimum size of 15 inches and a maximum size limit of 20 inches
  • One oversized trout greater than 30 inches allowed as part of daily bag limit

Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission adopted these changes at its January meeting to assist spotted seatrout recovery after several years of below-average abundance.

In addition to these regulations, TPWD proposes an additional change to the harvesting of oversized trout, or those greater than 30 inches. The proposed change, which, if adopted, would prevent anglers from keeping fish greater than 30 inches as part of a daily bag limit until a tag system is implemented in the next license year, beginning Sept. 1.

This tag would allow anglers to harvest one spotted seatrout greater than 30 inches with the purchase of a saltwater fishing license or endorsement. In addition, the proposed rule would also implement a $3.00 Bonus Spotted Seatrout Tag and a $3.00 Exempt Angler Tag (for individuals who, by law, are exempted from license requirements) that would allow for the retention of one oversize spotted seatrout per license year.

TPWD encourages public input regarding the adoption of the oversized tag system. Members of the public who are interested in submitting comments for or against the new tag and associated fee rules can do so by accessing the public comment portal here.

The comment portal will be publicly accessible through 5 p.m. March 27.

Additionally, the Coastal Fisheries division of TPWD will host a virtual hearing on the proposed spotted seatrout tag regulations via Zoom at 6 p.m. March 19. Those interested in attending can register for the event here.

For the most up-to-date information about bag and size limits, check the Outdoor Annual or download the Outdoor Annual app.