Summary of Texas Hunting, Fishing & Boating Regulations
Get the Official Mobile App of Texas Hunting, Fishing and Boating
What's New for 2021-2022
New in Hunting
- New CWD Zones and check stations may be established in and around Hunt, Kaufman, Lubbock, Matagorda, Uvalde, and Van Zandt counties.
- New mandatory reporting for wild turkeys in south central Texas (Western 1 Gobbler Counties).
- Expansion of the Special White-winged Dove Days in the South Zone from 4 to 6 days.
- Elimination of the pronghorn experimental season in the northern Panhandle and extension of the general pronghorn season from 9 to 16 days statewide.
- Non-resident spring turkey license holders must now purchase an Upland Game Bird Endorsement in addition to the license.
- Alignment of the North and South Zone boundaries for the spring and fall hunting seasons of wild turkeys. Traditional hunting dates may have changed in select counties.
- Additional squirrel hunting opportunities in previously closed counties.
- Closing of Panola County to Eastern turkey hunting.
- Alignment of chachalaca and quail hunting season dates.
- Expect more public hunting opportunity with the addition of Caddo Lake NWR and Neches River NWR to the TPWD’s Public Hunting Program.
New in Fishing
- Allow additional methods to legally possess exotic species such as tilapia and grass carp.
- Modified length and bag limits for blue and channel catfish statewide and at specific locations.
- Allow the use up to three crab traps per angler in currently restricted areas of Aransas County. Traps must be securely attached to fixed object such as docks, piers, or bulkheads.
- Clarify red snapper bag limits. Anglers may never have more than 4 red snapper in their possession while fishing.
- The entire flounder fishery is closed from Nov 1 — Dec 14.
The Texas Parks and Wildlife Outdoor Annual includes regulations for recreational freshwater and saltwater fishing and hunting in Texas. While Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD) strives to provide accurate information in the Outdoor Annual, hunting and fishing regulations may change due to legislative or Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission actions. The Outdoor Annual Mobile App may automatically update to reflect published changes upon establishment of a data connection, but users should independently check the associated statutes and regulations to verify their accuracy. For commercial fishing regulations, see the "Commercial Fishing Guide". For more detailed information on game and fish regulations, contact the Texas Parks and Wildlife Law Enforcement offices, or the Texas Parks and Wildlife Department at 800-792-1112 or 512-389-4800 (Mon–Fri 8AM – 5PM).
TPWD receives funds from the USFWS. TPWD prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, disability, age, and gender, pursuant to state and federal law. To request an accommodation or obtain information in an alternative format, please contact TPWD on a Text Telephone (TTY) at 512-389-8915 or by Relay Texas at 7-1-1 or 800-735-2989 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org. If you believe you have been discriminated against by TPWD, please contact TPWD, 4200 Smith School Road, Austin, TX 78744, or the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Office for Diversity and Workforce Management, 5275 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church, VA 22041.