Reservation Information

Find information about making reservations at state parks:

Online Basics

  • You can make reservations for specific campsites, shelters, cabins and motel rooms 24 hours a day, seven days a week, up to five months in advance, until 5 a.m. on the arrival date.
  • You can change or cancel site reservations until 5 a.m. on the day of arrival. You cannot change parks.
  • Some sites require phone reservations. This includes most ADA sites, group sites and some specific parks’ sites. Visit the Phone Reservations section of our main reservations page for phone numbers.
  • You can now reserve “Save the Day” entrance permits up to one month before your arrival date. This will be particularly helpful if you plan to visit one of our busiest parks.
  • We require a credit card to confirm reservations.
  • Consider buying a Texas State Parks Pass Pass purchases help support Texas State Parks and save you money!

Please email Customer Service or call (512) 389-8900 with questions and comments.

Note:  We cannot check site availability or make reservations by email.

Reservation Procedures

We recommend reservations for day and overnight sites, day entrance at busy parks and seasons, and some tours and activities.

Popular parks fill months in advance; reserve those sites early.

To make a reservation, you will need:

  • Email address
  • Home and work telephone numbers
  • Trailer or motor home lengths (if applicable)
  • Credit card for payment.

Payment

credit card graphic showing Visa, MasterCard and Discover cards

We require payment of all charges, including entrance fees, to confirm (guarantee) a reservation. We accept Discover, MasterCard and Visa.

Same-day reservations are not refundable.

Changing or Cancelling a Reservation

Most reservations can be changed or cancelled online. Call the Customer Service Center if you need help. If you do not understand a term, please look for it in our reservations definitions section.

Rate changes

Administrative charges and site fees are subject to change at any time. If fees change, we will honor the fees in effect when you made the reservation, as long as you do not change the reservation. If you make changes, we will apply the new fees.

TPWD will not apply a penalty (administrative) charge if you:

  • Change or cancel a reservation within 24 hours of making the reservation.
  • Extend a reservation.
  • Upgrade a reservation to a higher-priced site or activity (ticket/tour).
  • Change a reservation to a different site in the same site type and at the same fee.

TPWD will apply a penalty charge if you:

  • Drop any dates on a reservation.
  • Change arrival date, except to extend a reservation by arriving earlier.
  • Downgrade to a lower-priced site or activity (ticket/tour) in the same park.

The penalty charge is limited to the amount previously paid.

Overnight camping

This includes individual campsites and screened shelters.

Change reservation

  • Change five days or more before the arrival date:
    Penalty = $10 or amount paid (excluding entrance fees), whichever is less
  • Reduce number of nights less than five days from the arrival date, upon arrival, or after arrival:
    Penalty = $10 per night reduced with a maximum penalty of $50

Cancel reservation

  • Cancel five days or more before the arrival date:
    Penalty = $10 or amount paid (excluding entrance fees), whichever is less
  • Cancel less than five days from the arrival date:
    Penalty = $10 per night with a maximum penalty of $50
  • Do not cancel and do not show up:
    Penalty = forfeiture of the entire amount paid (excluding entrance fees)

Note:  If a site's price is less than $10, the penalty will be the cost of the site.

Overnight lodging

This includes yurts, cabins, lodges and lodge rooms.

You may not transfer reservations for overnight lodging from one park to another.

Change reservation

  • Change five days or more before the arrival date:
    Penalty = $25 or amount paid (excluding entrance fees), whichever is less
  • Reduce number of nights less than five days from the arrival date, upon arrival, or after arrival:
    Penalty = $25 per night reduced with a maximum penalty of $75

Note:  If a site's price is less than $25, the penalty will be the cost of the site.

Cancel reservation:

  • Cancel five days or more before the arrival date:
    Penalty = $25 or amount paid (excluding entrance fees), whichever is less
  • Cancel less than five days from the arrival date:
    Penalty = 100 percent of the site fee; the maximum penalty is $75
  • Do not cancel and do not show up:
    Penalty = forfeiture of the entire amount paid (excluding entrance fees)

Group sites

This includes group camps, barracks/bunkhouses, pavilions, picnic areas, group halls, amphitheaters, auditoriums, gymnasiums and pools.

You may not transfer group or day-use site reservations from one park to another.

Change reservation

  • Change reservation more than six months before arrival date:
    Penalty = 25 percent of the reservation (excluding entrance fees)
  • Change reservation six or fewer months before arrival date:
    Penalty = 50 percent of the reservation (excluding entrance fees)

Cancel group site reservation

  • Cancel more than six months before the arrival date:
    Penalty = 25 percent of the reservation (excluding entrance fees).
  • Cancel two to six months before the arrival date:
    Penalty = 50 percent of the reservation (excluding entrance fees).
  • Cancel less than two months before the arrival date:
    Penalty = 100 percent of the reservation (excluding entrance fees).  

Tickets/tours (activities)

You may not transfer tickets from one park to another.

  • Change or cancel ticket/tour reservations:
    Penalty = forfeiture of the fee paid.

“Save the Day” day entrance permits

You may not transfer day entrance permits from one park to another.

  • Cancel or change reservation five or more days in advance of arrival date:
    No penalty (full refund)
  • Cancel or change reservation less than five days from the arrival date:
    Penalty = forfeiture of the day permit fee paid

Reservation Definitions

ADA sites - Contact specific parks or the CSC for information about accessible sites.

Cancellation - Complete cancellation of an entire reservation prior to arrival.

Capacity limits - Determined by the local park. Most shelters and drive-up campsites can hold up to eight persons per site, including children. Most primitive hike-in campsites can hold up to four persons. We may charge a per-person excess occupancy fee.

Changes - Any date, site or park change.

Check-in time - Normal check-in time is:

  • 2 p.m. for campsites and screened shelters
  • 3 p.m. for all other overnight sites
  • 8 a.m. for day use sites.

Checkout time - Normal checkout time is:

  • Noon for campsites and screened shelters
  • 11 a.m. for all other overnight sites
  • 10 p.m. for day-use sites.

Customer Service Center - The central location in Austin where we make reservations. Contact the CSC by email or call (512) 389-8900.

Empty campsites - Empty campsites may be available. Always check the sign at the site or at the park office before setting up camp.

Penalty (administrative) charge - The amount we charge for cancelling or changing a reservation.

Site fee - The amount you pay to rent a park site such as a campsite, shelter, cabin or picnic pavilion.

Late arrivals - Call the park to verify late arrival policies.

Park hours - Most park office hours are 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., but some vary. Most parks close for day use at 10 p.m. and close their gates. Check the park’s website or call the park to verify.

Reservation - When a facility has been reserved for you (one campsite for five nights = one reservation; five campsites for one night = five reservations).

  • Confirmed (guaranteed) reservation - When we have received full payment on a reservation.
  • Unconfirmed reservation - When we have not received payment on a reservation, or the payment was returned (check) or declined (credit card).

Rules and regulations - Texas Parks & Wildlife Department Rules and Regulations.

Special functions - Some parks have designated areas or facilities for meetings, social events and celebrations; site fees vary.

Transfer - Any change to a reservation's date of arrival, park location, length of stay, site type, etc.