Presenter: Frances Stiles

Commission Agenda Item No. 8
Artwork Approval
November 2001

I. Discussion: Under the terms of the state artwork design and marketing contract with Collectors Covey for Departmental print programs, the Commission approves the artwork for the design of four of the collector stamps each year. The artwork for the remaining four collector series stamps is provided by the TPW in-house artists. Other connected efforts have included a newly designed poster depicting the agency’s historical waterfowl stamps and is now offered to the public through the TPW catalog.

The artwork offered for fiscal year 2002 stamps consists of:

Print Year Artwork Subject Artist
2001 Waterfowl Redhead Duck Joe Hautman
2001 Nongame Avocet Sherrie Russell Meline
2001 Turkey Rio Grande Turkey John Dearman
2001 Saltwater Flounder John Dearman

The original artwork will be available for Commission review during the committee meeting and in electronic format for the public meeting. If the Commission finds the artwork satisfactory, the motion shown below is proposed for Commission consideration.

II. Recommendation: Staff recommends that the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission adopt the following motion:

"The Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission approves the use of the above listed artwork for the print and stamp designs. The Executive Director is authorized to take the necessary steps to provide these stamps for sale to the public."

Attachment – 1

  1. Exhibit A – Fiscal Note (Available upon request)

Top of Page