New Instructors and Accomplishments

New Instructors

July - December 2023 (PDF)

January - June 2023 (PDF)

July - December 2022 (PDF)

January - June 2022 (PDF)





Aquatic Education Year in Review - 2023

September 2022 - August 2023

We want to extend our sincerest gratitude to all our dedicated volunteers for the hard work and time you gave this past year to safely share the joy of fishing. Whether you helped at one event or many throughout the year, taught online or in person, every hour contributed made a difference in someone's life and increased their love of the outdoors.

Everyone who documents 100 or more hours receives a special "100 hour" lapel pin. 

Annual Report , Top Lures (100 hours +), Volunteers and Staff(PDF)
(fiscal year 2023)

Tackle Loaner Report (PDF)
(fiscal year 2023)

Aquatic Education Program History

The TPWD Aquatic Education Program with federal funding was established in 1992. This history timeline tells the story of how the program evolved over the years. 

Area Chief Trainers

Our 21st annual Area Chief Training and Meeting was held on April 26-28, 2023 at Camp Aranzazu in Rockport, TX.  Please join us in welcoming our new Area Chiefs: 

  • Lanissa Campbell
  • Paula Ceaser
  • John Masterson
  • Chuck Miller
  • Martin Santana
  • Steven Teel
  • Butch Williams

Certified instructors who demonstrate leadership for teaching angler education to youth and adults (minimum of 1 lead report and 25 service hours during the past year) qualify to become an Area Chief Trainer. Please contact your regional Angler Education Training Specialist if you are interested in becoming an Area Chief.  

2023 Area Chief Training and Meeting group photo:

Area Chief Awards

There are six award levels including the new SAPPHIRE award that was added in 2023. The Sapphire award along with the Bronze, Silver, Gold, Platinum and Diamond awards are earned by Area Chiefs for their leadership and dedication to our Angler Education Instructor training program. The award is based on the number of instructors trained, cumulative from year to year, through January  31st of each year. Congratulations to all the awardees!


Legacy Members

Honoring those instructors who have served their communities as Angler Education Area Chiefs for 10 years or more.

The President's Lifetime Achievement Volunteer Award

Congratulations to TPWD Angler Education Area Chief Michael Scherer who earned The President's Lifetime Achievement Volunteer Award (4,000+ cumulative hours). The award was presented to Michael in March 2024 at the Katy Chapter of Fishing's Future meeting along with his family. The award package included a certificate, pin and letters from President Biden and TPWD Executive Director Dr. David Yoskowitz. 

phot o volunteer and his family
Michael Scherer and family

Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame

Shane Wilson, TPWD Area ChiefCongratulations to TPWD Angler Education Area Chief Shane Wilson who will be inducted into the Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame for 2020. Shane is the founder of the non-profit organization, Fishing’s Future. The Texas Freshwater Fishing Hall of Fame is housed at the Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center in Athens. Its mission is to “recognize and honor those who have made a lasting contribution to freshwater fishing in Texas, and to foster a sense of appreciation, awareness and participation in the sport of fishing.” Wilson will be formally inducted into the Hall of Fame at the Texas Freshwater Fisheries Center in June 2020.