- Online-only applications.
- Application deadlines on the 1st and 15th of each month.
- Email notification will be sent to drawn applicants.
- Your License ID number is your identifier.
- Pay with credit card on secure website.
- Check status of application at any time.
- Permits purchased online and sent by email.
Detailed Information About the System
Formerly known as Preference Points
Application fees, permit fees
Minimum age requirements for public hunts
Youth and Youth/Adult Hunts
Hunter education requirements, permits and fees
Public Hunting Regulations
Means restrictions, hunt methods, bag limits, prohibited acts
Secondary Draw and Standby Permits
Secondary draw process, standby instructions
If You Are Drawn
Before your hunt, cancellation of hunts, provisions for disabled hunters
Previous Years Statistics
Public hunt special permit statistics from previous years
Frequently asked questions about the Texas drawn hunts system and application process
Additional Hunting Opportunities
Big Time Texas Hunts Annual Public Hunting Permit
Secure Online Ordering
Throughout the transaction, sensitive personal information and credit card numbers are processed securely. The site is certified by Verisign. The Public Hunt Drawing System does not maintain credit card numbers on file after order processing.
You can purchase applications or permits for yourself or additional individuals in a single transaction.
Visa, MasterCard, and Discover are accepted. Payment for this transaction will be processed by Texas.gov, the official website of Texas. The price of this service includes funds paid to Texas.gov that support the ongoing operations and enhancements of Texas.gov, which is provided by a third party in partnership with the State. For example, if the transaction amount is $100, the total amount due will be $102.51.
Online Order Confirmation
A confirmation for your order will be emailed to the billing email address that you specify.
If you are applying for a hunt for a person other than yourself, you are confirming that you have the authority or consent of that person to apply for a hunt and to view that person's information. Under section Penal Code section 32.51, it is a state jail felony to use identifying information of another person without that person's consent.