Bow Hunter Ed Classroom Course

Courses are designed for new bow hunters, youth and adults, and cover the nationally-approved bow hunter education standards for archery equipment, and hunting safety, laws, hunting ethics and game recovery. Courses are offered throughout the state, year-round, and are taught by certified bow hunter education instructors – TPWD employees, professional educators in schools and VOLUNTEERS.

The Bow Hunter Education “Classroom Course” is 6 hours (min.), including registration, breaks, test or administration time. Certification fee is $15. Some instructors may charge an added range or facility fee based on location and use.

Find a Bow Hunter Ed Classroom Course

When you arrive at the course:

  • Pay the $15 fee to the instructor.
  • Attend the entire course.
  • Take the written exam and get at least 75% correct to pass.
  • Upon successful completion, you will PRINT out your permanent card once the instructor submits an online payment. The instructor will let you know. You may legally hunt with a valid Texas hunting license and proof of bow hunter education when and where required. Bow Hunter Education does not replace hunter education certification or related requirements. (Those born on or after Sept. 2, 1971 must still complete the state’s basic hunter education course to legally hunt in Texas.)

More questions? Check our FAQ page.